8x8 X Series (Formerly Virtual Office) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
359 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 156)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 16, 2021
Craig Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The global availability of 8x8 [X Series (Formerly Virtual Office)] was critical to our company wide adoption, ensuring Kaseya can use the platform regardless of geography and with no call degradation or issues. Historically we have found other providers with global exposure have their systems hosted in the US or EMEA exclusively leading to poor telephone quality in the APAC region.
Read Craig Allen's full review
December 19, 2020
Brian Goffron | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We previously used the Allworx on-site VOIP system. Having migrated away from Allworx, we are finding the administration of 8x8 very similar, so we came from a background of VOIP administration. Using that experience, helped us transition to 8x8 very easy. Also, not being tied to internal hardware made for a better, more flexible deployment.
Read Brian Goffron's full review
February 26, 2021
Joel Harrison | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose the plan and options we are on because we needed phones to work in countries like Azerbaijan and Uzbekistan. Having a system that works natively in countries where we operate was huge for us. It would be great if it included China, but unfortunately it doesn't.
Read Joel Harrison's full review
February 07, 2021
Meredith Duke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Microsoft Teams internally, and 8x8 can do all of these things and includes voice calling. The 3CX integrated app can do all of the things that 8x8 can do, if the account is configured with SMS.
Read Meredith Duke's full review
February 07, 2021
Paul Locke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Stability and service... two terms that are critical to a well-provided phone network. 8x8 X series provides us the services across a broad range of devices and environments that permit non-interrupted consistency to employee productivity and process management.
Read Paul Locke's full review
February 04, 2021
Anthony Castellano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Much superior product in all aspects of the features. My predecessor has set up the relationship with 8X8 and it was new to me as I was used to one of the competitors. Once I started using the 8X8 and was trained, which was very easy. on the system, I found it much more user friendly and versatile.
Read Anthony Castellano's full review
February 02, 2021
Chris Meader | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

8x8 X Series (Formerly Virtual Office) provides more functionality for more users at a cost slightly lower than the competition.
Read Chris Meader's full review
February 02, 2021
John Mendoza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I selected 8X8 because of the ease of using the VOIP system. Lot's of great features like adding additional phones from another location and to have all the phone answering options. However, the answering options are not user friendly and I normally need to call customer service. The voice quality is normally good.
Read John Mendoza's full review
February 02, 2021
Lucas Persell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's right up there with Nextiva. The on-boarding process is best with Nextiva. The Call Path design is easiest with LogMeIn

The overall is between Nextiva and 8x8, with 8x8's biggest issue being e911 routing issues, and all the services that require extra fees or licenses that others provide free of charge.
Read Lucas Persell's full review
February 01, 2021
RAY SOTO | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had a traditional phone system and the difference in cost and available services was like night and day. There is no contest there.
Read RAY SOTO's full review
January 13, 2021
Sally Botwick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

8X8 is the only product that I have used, so I can not compare
Read Sally Botwick's full review
December 14, 2020
Marc Kirst | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I evaluated all the main competitive offerings and 8x8 seemed to be the best solution in early 2015.

So far, 8x8 has never disappointed us. We were never interested in any other competitor product since we use 8x8.
Read Marc Kirst's full review
November 05, 2020
Bill Richcreek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I found 8x8 to be much more versatile than YouMail, especially since 8x8 provides multiple access and use options, whereas YouMail was more of a mobile phone solution - it was clumsy with desktop use as well as with laptops.

.Also, 8x8 offered much more features for the cost.
Read Bill Richcreek's full review
October 15, 2020
Christopher Alcumbrack | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I briefly reviewed Mitel's product. While it appeared to be a comparable product to 8x8, I was put off by having to use proprietary hardware. Any system will have a list of compatible hardware (e.g. desk phones, conference phones, wireless phones). Being limited to a small specific list of hardware options made me fear escalating costs for new phones in the future. Having broad options was significant in the decision making process.
Read Christopher Alcumbrack's full review
February 06, 2021
Leighton Miles | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

8x8 is much better. Lower cost and richer features.
Read Leighton Miles's full review
October 07, 2020
Craig Funk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I had to change to another provider due to all the problems with 8x8. The new provider's capabilities are equal to 8x8 at half the cost and I have local support via phone or on-site if ever needed.
Read Craig Funk's full review
February 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had Fusion Connect which was sparse at best and hard to program. We needed to step it up and get a system that had more features and was easy for us to program ourselves. 8x8 X Series does all of that for us out of the box. We looked at Ring Central and it seemed like they had a bunch of disjointed apps that they said were always being updated. That scared us away since we didn't want our users to constantly having to relearn the product. Nextiva seemed adequate, but had limitations we felt didn't match up to 8x8's features. In the end we made the right choice going to 8x8.
Read this authenticated review
January 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

8x8 seemed to be a more established business platform than Vonage, which seemed to still be a little stuck in its consumer roots. We also checked out RingCentral which was pricier and we didn't particularly like the fact that it would have a virtual answer instead of just ringing for the caller.
Read this authenticated review
January 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

8x8 provides the most user friendly portal that is simple to use & understand. 8x8 also has the most budget friendly pricing with all of the same features that you can get with the other providers at a higher price.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Hosted PBX (107)
6.4
Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR) (50)
7.5
User templates (105)
7.5
Call reports (139)
7.3
Directory of employee names (149)
8.0
Answering rules (179)
7.4
Call recording (146)
8.0
Call park (138)
7.5
Call screening (128)
7.0
Message alerts (171)
7.9
Video conferencing (86)
7.6
Audio conferencing (126)
7.8
Video screen sharing (47)
7.3
Instant messaging (59)
7.8
Mobile app for iOS (142)
7.7
Mobile app for Android (104)
6.2

What is 8x8 X Series (Formerly Virtual Office)?

8x8 X series promises smarter, more efficient ways to connect with customers and employees. 8x8 says its X Series delivers a powerful Unified Communications platform that provides one solution for voice, video and chat across any device, anytime and anywhere. The vendor says 8x8 X Series includes these communication tools:

Cloud phone service—Reliable, feature-rich cloud based phone service
Advanced call forwarding—Never miss an important call again by forwarding your office calls to your cell phone, home phone
Chat/Messaging—Quickly resolve questions with inter-company chat that’s safe and secure
Business SMS—Send, receive and track text messages
Presence —See who is on the phone and who is available by checking their status icon; no more chasing people down
Mobile and Desktop apps—8x8 Work desktop and mobile apps make it simple to call, IM, schedule meetings and more
Online meetings—Collaboration with web, audio and video conferencing
Internet faxing—Send and receive unlimited faxes online
Call recording—Easily record and save telephone calls
Global dial plan—With a global plan, you get unlimited calling to 40 international locations
Call Quality Analytics —Visibility into all communications
Supervisor Analytics - Trend analysis and metrics on sites, endpoints and call queues

8x8 X Series (Formerly Virtual Office) Features

Cloud PBX Features

Has featureHosted PBX
Has featureUser templates
Has featureCall reports
Has featureDirectory of employee names

Call Management Features

Has featureAnswering rules
Has featureCall recording
Has featureCall park
Has featureCall screening
Has featureMessage alerts

VoIP system collaboration Features

Has featureVideo conferencing
Has featureAudio conferencing
Has featureVideo screen sharing
Has featureInstant messaging

Mobile apps Features

Has featureMobile app for iOS
Has featureMobile app for Android

8x8 X Series (Formerly Virtual Office) Video

What is 8x8 X Series?

8x8 X Series (Formerly Virtual Office) Integrations

8x8 X Series (Formerly Virtual Office) Competitors

8x8 X Series (Formerly Virtual Office) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

8x8 X Series (Formerly Virtual Office) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android