Altaro VM Backup Reviews

25 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 19, 2020
Jarret Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
In the handful of times I have needed support, they were helpful and straight-forward. The system to me is very simple to use so my need for support has been limited.
Read Jarret Schwartz's full review
February 15, 2020
Stefano Sanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Support Rating

10
One of the most important benefits of the Altaro HyperV backup solution is the support. From the free edition, you're able to chat with the support that can assist you in a remote session an find a quick solution that solves the issue. It is always available. The email support is also.
Read Stefano Sanna's full review
March 02, 2020
Paul Tedder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
I personally have never worked with the support team so I will not rate, however, our rep who does has reported that it has been good.
Read Paul Tedder's full review
February 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The chat is very responsive. They work hard to find you a solution. They are very competent and very friendly. Most of the time they will simply open a request for you and ask to send the support package (bunch of logs and files) and will come back by email, but you can also click on the chat button inside Altaro to talk to someone.
Read this authenticated review
November 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
  • Luckily I have only had to use support two times since using Altaro VM Backup for more than five years. Both times was quick and easy to get some information and links to the relevant KB articles they had to resolve my issue.
  • Last time I contacted support, they also gave me an option to do a remote session so they could help resolve the issue for me.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Support has a fast response time and is always available.
Read this authenticated review
October 25, 2019
Calin Popescu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Support Rating

7
At this time the support for Altaro has not been tested by our organization. There has not been a need to contact support much as every system tested performed as expected and all access to the required systems is simple. However, the few times where support was contacted (generally for questions on ability of the software), support was good.
Read Calin Popescu's full review
October 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
They are responsive and available 24 hours, they provide log files that help them remedy the issues more rapidly. They also provide a very thorough knowledge base that is very easy to maneuver through and find common issues that help you get back on track. They have live chat as well.
Read this authenticated review

What is Altaro VM Backup?

Altaro VM Backup is a virtual machine backup and replication solution for Hyper-V and VMware environments. The vendor reports that It is used by 50,000+ businesses worldwide.

Designed for IT departments, IT resellers, IT consultants and Managed Service Providers (MSPs), the solution provides robust, streamlined, enterprise-level functionality. It’s characterized by ease of use, speed and affordability.

With its WAN-Optimized Replication and Continuous Data Protection (CDP), the vendor claim that companies can achieve minimal RPO and RTO, i.e., drastically reduce the length of time virtual machines are down and the amount of data lost when disaster strikes – to just minutes.

According to the vendor, Altaro’s Augmented Inline Deduplication slashes storage costs.

For organizations with multiple sites, Altaro provides a cloud-based management platform that gives a central view of all installations. This gives Altaro IT resellers/consultants a centralized multi-tenant view across all their customers.

The vendor promises that Altaro provides 24/7 support, with a Lightning Fast Support Call Response Guarantee of <30 seconds.

Altaro VM Backup Features

Has featureFast performance
Has featureMinimal RPO and RTO through CDP
Has featureWAN-Optimized Replication
Has featureBoot from Backup

Altaro VM Backup Competitors

Veeam, Acronis, StorageCraft

Altaro VM Backup Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
FreeFree
Subscription License - Standard Edition59.80per VM/per year
Subscription License - Unlimited Edition73.80per VM/per year
Subscription License - Unlimited Plus Edition89.20per VM/per year
Perpetual License - Standard Edition$595per host
Perpetual License - Unlimited Edition$695per host
Perpetual License - Unlimited Plus Edition$875per host

Altaro VM Backup Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Altaro VM Backup Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Hyper-V, VMware
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Altaro VM Backup?

Altaro Hyper-V Backup, from Altaro, is a data center backup and disaster recovery solution.

What is Altaro VM Backup's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses Altaro VM Backup?

The most common users of Altaro VM Backup are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.