Anaplan Reviews

217 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (26-50 of 103)

Jeffrey Perkes | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2017

3 big strengths of Anaplan and their benefits to our sales budgeting process

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan is used by our organization to support the sales budgeting process. Anaplan's strengths fit our model perfectly and make the sales budgeting process easier and more efficient across the organization. These strengths are the use of hierarchies, multidimensionality, and being web-based. Instead of sending out dozens of Excel sheets to our budgeters, and then compiling them when they are done, all changes and compilations are done in real time. Also, instead of having 20 tabs in a sheet to account for a 3rd dimension, Anaplan uses multi-dimension dropdowns to keep a clean, efficient model
Read Jeffrey Perkes's full review
Dan Ossmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2017

Anaplan Fan

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Beginning with financial planning and analysis 3 years ago, we retired a legacy program coupled with spreadsheets. Our main audience remains finance though we have a few models that help us generate business activity that feeds our finance model.
Read Dan Ossmann's full review
Steven Cox | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2017

Anaplan - Realtime Modeling at Enterprise Scale

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Anaplan in our sales organization for territory planning. We have built a model with the help of Anaplan Professional services to provide a unique view of our 3000 people sales organization, what accounts are being covered, what is the expected revenue, and how to optimally deploy our team to maximize revenue. Leadership is also able to set our annual goals and matriculate them down to an individual level. The tool is heavily used in our annual planning process but is also leveraged by sales operations leaders throughout the year to make informed decisions around resource deployment.

We also implemented a custom security model as we sell to the US government and there are specific requirements needed to mask government information to non-approved viewers.
Read Steven Cox's full review
Garrett Womack | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2017

Anaplan - Data Crunching

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is now our primary forecasting tool. We use it to forecast different flavors of our P&L, Balance Sheet, and Cash flow. We use it to do our workforce planning as well as a bottoms up revenue and billings forecast. We are using the system to report as well. We take the information out of Anaplan and send it to users who do not have access to the system.
Read Garrett Womack's full review
Tiffany Chu | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2017

New to Anaplan

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're currently implementing Anaplan as our budgeting and forecasting tool for FP&A. It's helping to make our forecasting process more robust than the previous system we had.
Read Tiffany Chu's full review
Jessica Seilhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2017

Anaplan is Flexible but Comes with Drawbacks

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Anaplan for Financial Planning for the past 2 years. Overall, the tool is very flexible, robust and has a lot of very useful features, but also comes with a number of noteworthy drawbacks. The learning curve to become fluent on the platform is relatively steep and it is essential to build up and maintain a level of competency across the team of core users. There are also structural modeling constraints the are inherent to the multi-dimensional nature of the tool that require very thoughtful architecting when building new, complex models.
Read Jessica Seilhan's full review
Neil Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2017

Anaplan gives you the flexibility and scale you need.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Anaplan for both our financial models: P&L, balance sheet, cash flow, as well as for our revenue model and channel (VAR) commissions payouts. The main advantage it provides us is being able to do quick ad-hoc analysis through pivoting multi-dimensional data. Excel was simply not able to handle the data set we have and would slow to a crawl in our previous models.
Read Neil Young's full review
Arpit Shrivastava | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2017

Anaplan for Sales Ops

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan currently is used in various organizations within Cisco for purposes such as goaling and compensation and sales operations. Within sales operations we are using it to discover renewal opportunities, scrub data, pricing and consolidate these opportunity lines to be uploaded in Salesforce.
Read Arpit Shrivastava's full review
Parker Camp | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2017

Happy User and Hope To Learn More

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan is mainly used as a single platform by our finance, business intelligence, and sales management teams. Anaplan allows for updates to flow through interactive models in a way software like Excel cannot. Individual drivers like headcount, FX rates, cost key, sales forecasts, etc., though seemingly unimportant across some departments, suddenly reveal their relevance in real time. This dissolves barriers, creates a more collaborative environment, and allows for common drive toward end goals.
Read Parker Camp's full review
David Cintron | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2016

Five Years and Counting

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan is used only by FP&A. It is great for modeling scenarios for the forecast as well as collecting the data, pivoting the data, and keeping a clean hierarchy. It is also used to consolidate all parts of the business. Cash flow statements and balance sheets have been constructed on a master model that brings everything together.
Read David Cintron's full review
Jake Cosenza | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2016

Anaplan is a great tool for finance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan is being used as our financial planning, forecasting and reporting tool. We build departmental budgets, manage headcount costs, do scenarios/modelling, and prepare financial reports (Budget v Actuals, Executive Finance Summary, etc.). Anaplan addresses the problems of using Microsoft Excel for this process. It eliminates tons of manual 'grunt' work and allows our team to focus on analysis instead of copying/pasting and reconciling data.
Read Jake Cosenza's full review
Michael McIntosh | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2016

Anaplan Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan is used for financial planing and reporting on budgets to department heads. We have 4 users actively modeling in Anaplan and around 25 users who access Anaplan to input and review their budgets. Anaplan is used for our revenue projections and to produce our forward looking income statement, balance sheet, and cashflow statement.
Read Michael McIntosh's full review
Steve Favorito | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2016

My Anaplan Reveiw

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Anaplan for financial planning and analysis and sales forecasting. This touches all elements of our P&L from revenue, cost of goods, operating expense and headcount planning. We also generate balance sheet and cash flow statements in Anaplan by bringing in limited amounts of GL data. The inherent benefit is seamless and on the fly flow through any data changes from the bottom to the top line.
Read Steve Favorito's full review
Brent Orr | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2016

I Enjoy My Job Again! Thanks Anaplan

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Anaplan primarily for demand and inventory planning of our physical product. It is used by sales operations, supply chain, and finance. However, since the initial application has been so successful we are now exploring using Anaplan in other areas: quota setting, sales forecasting, and call center management.
Read Brent Orr's full review
Jacob Edds | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

Anaplan - First Use Case

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently we are in the initial implementation of phase 1 for Unum. This phase includes moving the following processes out of excel and essbase: financial planning process, monthly management reporting, risk based capital management, and expense reporting. Phase 2 will consist of bringing on our capital planning processes.
Read Jacob Edds's full review
Bryant Gonzales | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2017

Anaplan - Helping the FP&A function of a Business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan is currently being used primarily by one department, Finance, and is in the process of being rolled out to other departments. Anaplan has helped the finance team build a budget and a quick and reliable reporting structure. On the reporting side Anaplan has substantially cut down turnaround time for reporting results packages to upper management as well as more accurately allocating costs down to our lowest reporting level.
Read Bryant Gonzales's full review
Scott Ellsworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2017

Happy TQM user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan has enabled us to run our business. Before we implemented it there were things we just couldn't do-- and those things we were doing were highly manual. The platform has allowed us to streamline operations and has enabled better sales plans for our team
Read Scott Ellsworth's full review
Rodolfo Salomon Hernandez Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2017

Our experience with Anaplan

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan is being used in my organization as planning and forecasting tool. 4 years ago we had the need to improve and digitalize our budgeting and forecasting process, and since then the implementation impacted a big and positive change, by creating a change management culture, procesess improvement, and focusing on analysis rather than creating reports.
Read Rodolfo Salomon Hernandez Rodriguez's full review
Tommy Bettles | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2016

Rev-u

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan is used for our entire financial forecast process including bookings, revenue, expenses, balance sheet and cash flow. All budget managers are responsible for the input associated with their budget, so we have fairly wide use, but it is limited to only a few touch points a quarter. The main problem it solves is the centralization of the planning process.
Read Tommy Bettles's full review
Joseph Bradbury | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2016

Anaplan is on it's way, but not quite a Hyperion replacement

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Anaplan to do Workforce Planning and Tracking. It is integrated with regional payroll systems to manage employee retention statistics, salary planning, compensation, etc..
We have also just implemented a Long Range Plan that is allowing each individual region to plan for long-term goals and objectives. Growing Revenue, COGS, and expense at specific rates and drivers.
Read Joseph Bradbury's full review
Zach Eskelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2016

Anaplan offers real solutions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Anaplan is used primarily as an FP&A tool. We use it to plan and analyze financial performance across our business lines, budget for operating expenses, and roll this into a consolidated corporate view for executive reporting. We also use it for demand based headcount needs and variable compensation planning.
Read Zach Eskelson's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customizable dashboards (3)
7.5
Publish to PDF (3)
8.3
Report Versioning (3)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (3)
7.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (3)
7.5
Long-term financial planning (76)
7.2
Financial budgeting (79)
8.6
Forecasting (90)
9.0
Scenario modeling (92)
8.4
Management reporting (95)
8.1
Financial data consolidation (56)
9.0
Journal entries and reports (32)
7.7
Multi-currency management (11)
6.2
Intercompany Eliminations (8)
6.0
Minority Ownership (7)
6.0
Local and consolidated reporting (48)
8.0
Detailed Audit Trails (51)
8.9
Financial Statement Reporting (60)
9.0
Management Reporting (70)
9.0
Excel-based Reporting (65)
5.2
Automated board and financial reporting (13)
8.7
Personalized dashboards (90)
7.2
Color-coded scorecards (77)
6.9
KPIs (17)
7.0
Cost and profitability analysis (61)
7.1
Key Performance Indicator setting (68)
6.5
Benchmarking with external data (12)
7.1
Flat file integration (91)
8.6
Excel data integration (81)
7.2
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (63)
8.9

About Anaplan

Anaplan, Inc. (NYSE: PLAN) aims to be an pioneer in the category of Connected Planning. The Anaplan platform, powered by our proprietary Hyperblock® technology, is purpose-built for Connected Planning to enable dynamic, collaborative, and intelligent planning. The vendor boasts large global enterprises presently use Anaplan to connect people, data, and plans to enable real-time planning and decision-making in rapidly changing business environments, to give our customers a competitive advantage. Based in San Francisco, Anaplan has over 20 offices globally, 175 partners, and more than 1,400 customers worldwide. They invite readers to learn more, at anaplan.com.

Anaplan Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Does not have featureMulti-currency management
Does not have featureIntercompany Eliminations
Does not have featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Does not have featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Does not have featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Does not have featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Does not have featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Does not have featureDrill-down analysis
Does not have featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Does not have featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Does not have featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Does not have featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Does not have featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Does not have featureRole-Based Security Model
Does not have featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Additional Features
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureSalesforce
Has featurePixel-perfect reports
Has featureOutput raw supporting data
Has featureMultiple pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots, etc.)
Has featureMultiple access permission levels (Create/Read/Delete)
Has featureDashboard/Report/Visualization mobile interactivity
Has featureMicrosoft Office integration
Has featureUser defined modeling/configuration
Has featureOut of the box data integration

Anaplan Screenshots

Anaplan Videos (4)

Anaplan Downloadables

Anaplan Integrations

Salesforce

Anaplan Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Request a personal demo: https://www.anaplan.com/request-demo/ Free trial for existing customers for any app in the App Hub: https://apphub.anaplan.com/

Anaplan Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
10%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
90%

Anaplan Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Anaplan Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All countries
Supported Languages: Multi-lingual support