TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/hM/GE/XR6UW80OQAQ8.PNG7 Years with AnaplanWe use Anaplan for financial reporting, planning and customer reporting. Anaplan allows us to spend time on value added instead of spending time consolidating planning results in Excel. We can look at reviewing key trends. Forecasts are broken down into smaller tasks and distributed to the business resulting in less pressure on the FP&A team during forecast/budget rounds. The reporting timeline is shorter as dashboards can be used for users to login and see their areas results which means we dont have to send out manual reports. Anaplan allows very complex business modelling but without any of the complex language used in other tools and can be run by the users themselves. Results are recalculated on the fly with no wait time to run the recalc process.,Forecast consolidation and recalcuation Dashboards for entry and review Ease of modelling. Its like Excel but simpler to use.,Some of the charting is limited Some formatting options could be better Excel Add-in has only just been revamped,10,Anaplan for Finance,Great product for most, probably not for me though.We use Anaplan to set up our annual budget and do monthly projections. The model is used by 12 users in the department.,Anaplan does automatically what we had to do manually using Excel in the past. This saves both time and energy for the users.,Unless you're a technically-minded person, Anaplan doesn't logically make sense. It takes a lot of training and notes to learn how to use the system and can be incredibly frustrating. I often miss Excel and want to dump Anaplan for the archaic process.,3,Anaplan for Finance,,The budget set-up process has, in the past, taken several weeks or months to set up and often left the users confused, frustrated, and irritable because it was so involved. The worst part was it was only done once a year, so at the beginning of the process each year, a good day or two would be spent just trying to remember how to even do it. With Anaplan, the system basically remembers for us and will expedite the process for all of the users. When we do our monthly projections, it's the same thing. Everything is automatically exported in for us and broken down to the levels we need, which saves us time and prevents potential errors.Excel on steroids!Anaplan is used across the whole organization, at WW level. The key problem was to remove offline spreadsheets for sales quota planning, deployment, and ensure automatic, real-time coverage analysis for the sales teams.,Real - time - the cloud based technology allows all changes & its impact is visible in real time.,Performance - in the case of complex business cases, the size of Anaplan is increasing drastically, and even a simple click would take more than it should. UI - The User interface needs to be improved: group/expand hierarchy, "Ctrl " + select option to allow multi selection, Content page clean up, easier "Drag & drop" when customizing or building exports. Review & enhance the type of security user roles.,7,Time saving for business analysts - no need to spend time on collecting & crunching complex data, rather spending that time to provide meaningful business justifications,Anaplan for Sales,MS Excel,The time it takes for the sales letter to be prepared and given to the sales representatives reduced significantly, as a result, sales can truly focus on selling.The vision is to have a real cloud based quota and planning tool, with users as business managers & business planners, not operational users who are just importing & exporting to Anaplan.Anaplan as a strategic tool, that can provide meaningful analytics in real-time.Anaplan for Modeling of Sales IncentivesI purchased Anaplan to perform complex modeling of potential changes to our sales incentive programs. In addition to our usage, our finance team is beginning to explore the use of the tool for sales forecasting. With a sales organization in excess of 5000 people, it is critical to be able to adjust multiple variables across lines of business and understand the impact on each of our operating areas. Anaplan allows us to model multiple "what if" approaches simultaneously, perform side-by-side scenario analysis, and convey to our executive team what the specific tradeoffs are between options. Our responsiveness has been accelerated by orders of magnitude, and our conclusions are rooted in data.,I think the greatest strength of Anaplan is that the entire model is interconnected. The ability to update a single variable and have that change propagated through the entire model is unparalleled. Another strength is the ability to have multiple users working in a given model simultaneously. We have had the experience of actively modeling to meet a deadline and realizing that some of the underlying assumptions and/or layout needed to be changed to support a new approach. While our model-builder made the back-end adjustments in Florida, our analyst continued to work through a new set of variables. We ended up with a completely refreshed approach in less than a half hour. With only two hours before our deadline, we NEVER would have even entertained making the change in Excel. The thing that Anaplan does -- that I haven't seen elsewhere -- is the ability to get to data-driven analysis of the future. BI tools are great for reporting what has already happened, but fall short of predictive analytics and sensitivity analysis. Anaplan handles those with ease.,The reporting/dashboarding capability is adequate but could be enhanced. Anaplan is somewhat intuitive ... but it DOES require an investment of time and energy to become proficient in it. The ability to use it for more and more use cases is limited by the number of personnel who truly understand the tool. The corollary is that unless that knowledge is spread to multiple people on the team, there can be substantial risk were a key resource to leave the group. Building a new model does require a fair amount of up-front planning and construction. So there are some things we would rather do in Anaplan than Excel ... but unless they have continuing utility, we find ourselves unlikely to perform quick analyses in Anaplan.,10,Anaplan for Finance Anaplan for Sales,,Better decisions, faster.,9Seagate Anaplan ReviewThe corp FP&A team is using it for financial budgets. The revenue planning team is using it for revenue planning. One of our units is using it for demand planning. The customer service org is using it for returns modeling. It's primarily a finance footprint but that footprint is growing outside finance.,Hyperbloc architecture -- the ability to see changes to models instantly cascade through all the models. Function agnostic platform - the ability to adapt the platform to many different use cases and integrate those use cases into a connected planning environment. Cloud architecture. Security and product enhancements come automatically.,The actions could be improved - make it obvious what the sources and targets of the are so we don't have to guess or put them in the action names. Also get a native scheduler! That's so simple and it's very frustrating and expensive to have to build/buy our own. Reporting and UI still have a long way to go. Simple things like being able to alphabetize/order what you see on the screen, or add a rich color pallet to choose from. User access management could improve. We need to have model level admins that don't have access to everything in the workspace. Also the tenant admin space doesn't work effectively. I can't remove a user from all models simultaneously. I also can't see all models a user has access to from the tenant admin space.,8,Anaplan for Finance Anaplan for Supply Chain,Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance Management,We want to have enterprise wide integrated business planning. We want to dramatically reduce the planning cycle times across the business and have the ability to see how the business is shaping up on a much more frequent basis so that we can anticipate problems and address them rather than be reactive.,4
Unspecified
Anaplan
205 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Anaplan Reviews

Anaplan
205 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 205 vetted Anaplan reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 100)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Andrew Paston profile photo
September 05, 2018

User Review: "7 Years with Anaplan"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Anaplan for financial reporting, planning and customer reporting.

Anaplan allows us to spend time on value added instead of spending time consolidating planning results in Excel. We can look at reviewing key trends. Forecasts are broken down into smaller tasks and distributed to the business resulting in less pressure on the FP&A team during forecast/budget rounds.

The reporting timeline is shorter as dashboards can be used for users to login and see their areas results which means we dont have to send out manual reports.

Anaplan allows very complex business modelling but without any of the complex language used in other tools and can be run by the users themselves. Results are recalculated on the fly with no wait time to run the recalc process.
  • Forecast consolidation and recalcuation
  • Dashboards for entry and review
  • Ease of modelling. Its like Excel but simpler to use.
  • Some of the charting is limited
  • Some formatting options could be better
  • Excel Add-in has only just been revamped
Complex business or business with multi dimensional products or services, geographic locations or channels
Read Andrew Paston's full review
No photo available
May 09, 2018

Anaplan Review: "Great product for most, probably not for me though."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Anaplan to set up our annual budget and do monthly projections. The model is used by 12 users in the department.
  • Anaplan does automatically what we had to do manually using Excel in the past. This saves both time and energy for the users.
  • Unless you're a technically-minded person, Anaplan doesn't logically make sense. It takes a lot of training and notes to learn how to use the system and can be incredibly frustrating. I often miss Excel and want to dump Anaplan for the archaic process.
Anaplan seems to be geared towards the typical business with revenue and expenses, inventory, employees, etc to be tracked. Though we found a way to basically jury-rig the system to kind of work for us, it's not ideal and feels like a waste of money. However, in meeting with other users of Anaplan from non-government based businesses, they all seem to love it and it has made a world of a difference in their companies.
Read this authenticated review
Szilvia Havasreti profile photo
November 10, 2017

Anaplan Review: "Excel on steroids!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is used across the whole organization, at WW level. The key problem was to remove offline spreadsheets for sales quota planning, deployment, and ensure automatic, real-time coverage analysis for the sales teams.
  • Real - time - the cloud based technology allows all changes & its impact is visible in real time.
  • Performance - in the case of complex business cases, the size of Anaplan is increasing drastically, and even a simple click would take more than it should.
  • UI - The User interface needs to be improved: group/expand hierarchy, "Ctrl " + select option to allow multi selection, Content page clean up, easier "Drag & drop" when customizing or building exports.
  • Review & enhance the type of security user roles.
Sales performance management, various finance scenarios - Anaplan is good for automating calculations. It is less appropriate for very complex business cases.
Read Szilvia Havasreti's full review
Steve Ridgley profile photo
July 17, 2017

Review: "Anaplan for Modeling of Sales Incentives"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I purchased Anaplan to perform complex modeling of potential changes to our sales incentive programs. In addition to our usage, our finance team is beginning to explore the use of the tool for sales forecasting. With a sales organization in excess of 5000 people, it is critical to be able to adjust multiple variables across lines of business and understand the impact on each of our operating areas. Anaplan allows us to model multiple "what if" approaches simultaneously, perform side-by-side scenario analysis, and convey to our executive team what the specific tradeoffs are between options. Our responsiveness has been accelerated by orders of magnitude, and our conclusions are rooted in data.
  • I think the greatest strength of Anaplan is that the entire model is interconnected. The ability to update a single variable and have that change propagated through the entire model is unparalleled.
  • Another strength is the ability to have multiple users working in a given model simultaneously. We have had the experience of actively modeling to meet a deadline and realizing that some of the underlying assumptions and/or layout needed to be changed to support a new approach. While our model-builder made the back-end adjustments in Florida, our analyst continued to work through a new set of variables. We ended up with a completely refreshed approach in less than a half hour. With only two hours before our deadline, we NEVER would have even entertained making the change in Excel.
  • The thing that Anaplan does -- that I haven't seen elsewhere -- is the ability to get to data-driven analysis of the future. BI tools are great for reporting what has already happened, but fall short of predictive analytics and sensitivity analysis. Anaplan handles those with ease.
  • The reporting/dashboarding capability is adequate but could be enhanced.
  • Anaplan is somewhat intuitive ... but it DOES require an investment of time and energy to become proficient in it. The ability to use it for more and more use cases is limited by the number of personnel who truly understand the tool. The corollary is that unless that knowledge is spread to multiple people on the team, there can be substantial risk were a key resource to leave the group.
  • Building a new model does require a fair amount of up-front planning and construction. So there are some things we would rather do in Anaplan than Excel ... but unless they have continuing utility, we find ourselves unlikely to perform quick analyses in Anaplan.
To date, I have used Anaplan for sales comp modeling, territory and quota planning, and sales forecasting. It has been well-suited to all three.
Read Steve Ridgley's full review
Christopher Pope profile photo
July 10, 2017

"Seagate Anaplan Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The corp FP&A team is using it for financial budgets. The revenue planning team is using it for revenue planning. One of our units is using it for demand planning. The customer service org is using it for returns modeling. It's primarily a finance footprint but that footprint is growing outside finance.
  • Hyperbloc architecture -- the ability to see changes to models instantly cascade through all the models.
  • Function agnostic platform - the ability to adapt the platform to many different use cases and integrate those use cases into a connected planning environment.
  • Cloud architecture. Security and product enhancements come automatically.
  • The actions could be improved - make it obvious what the sources and targets of the are so we don't have to guess or put them in the action names. Also get a native scheduler! That's so simple and it's very frustrating and expensive to have to build/buy our own.
  • Reporting and UI still have a long way to go. Simple things like being able to alphabetize/order what you see on the screen, or add a rich color pallet to choose from.
  • User access management could improve. We need to have model level admins that don't have access to everything in the workspace. Also the tenant admin space doesn't work effectively. I can't remove a user from all models simultaneously. I also can't see all models a user has access to from the tenant admin space.
It's great for complex models that require frequent updates and instant feedback. That describes most planning situations I know of. It's great for organizations that want to change plans and models independent of IT support or programming. It's not a great reporting or analytics tool. Ad-hoc analysis is a non-starter in the platform--you have to be a model builder and the process of generating a report is very cumbersome compared with something like Tableau.
Read Christopher Pope's full review
Yang Liu profile photo
August 01, 2017

User Review: "Anaplan Modeling on HR"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, we are using Anaplan for workforce planning modeling. We use the historic attrition and internal movement data to forecast future hiring needs. It seems that other functions in my company are exploring Anaplan but as of now only HR has implemented two models using Anaplan.
  • Smart Import Features: When you have data in multiple dimensions, as long as you set up the corresponding fields correctly, it can be loaded into your Anaplan space fairly easily.
  • Interactive Dashboard: As long as you set up hierarchy correctly, you can publish your numbers on the dashboard and just navigate to the level that you are interested in.
  • Productivity: My favorite thing about Anaplan is that you can work on the formulas on a micro level (in my case, individual employee) and you only work on this once and it will apply to the whole and you can have the company view in no time. Doing the same thing in MS Excel could take much longer.
  • Graphical feature: Anaplan should explore more graphical features. In my case, I have to export my data to MS Visio to get an org chart. The conditional formatting options are still very limited right now.
  • Formula for List Properties: It's only allowed to key in the formulas for these list properties. I'm not sure about the design philosophy. But I wish it could be similar to the formulas in modules to avoid mistakes.
  • Training Documentation Version Control: Training documentations have some many mistakes. It seems no version control at all. Since using Anaplan requires to set up time properly, the training documentations need to be updated. Before you publish any document, can you let one of your employees (who are not authors of the documentation) to follow the documentation to see if he can complete tasks based on the directions on the documentation? All the modeler in my company had hard time to teach ourselves by using the documentation so none of us was able to complete the intermediate training.
It makes sense for HR to use Anaplan to adapt to the ever-changing org structures.
Read Yang Liu's full review
Maggie Palumbo profile photo
July 10, 2017

Anaplan Review: "Easier Territory Planning"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Anaplan for account ownership and territory planning. We are about to role out Anaplan for incentive compensation. Our current use saves us tons of time from our Excel planning and allows us to see the impact of proposed changes without trying to manipulate a large Excel file and worry about version control. An additional benefit from our implementation is quick and easy reporting on account ownership. Having incentive compensation in Anaplan will allow us to integrate the two instances and see the impact of account moves to compensation and vice versa see the impact to sales reps pay based on their books of potential compensation changes.
  • Calculate values based on data in other files; we use this for scoring accounts
  • See the impact of new scenarios and potential changes; we do this with proposed territory changes
  • Quick and easy reporting on your current setup
  • Logistics and relationships of data are complicated if you do not have a data background
  • Formulas are difficult without a data background
  • We need more storage, we have large data sets
Anaplan is great for moving large data sets out of Excel for analysis. It is great for scenario planning.
Read Maggie Palumbo's full review
No photo available
July 24, 2017

User Review: "Complex modeling with Anaplan"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it for Demand Forecasting, Rebate Forecasting for Gross to Net, and building P&L for inline portfolio of products. We have expanded the use in Supply Chain and Accounting reconciliation. It is isolated into Finance and supply chain for the current usage, but I hope to expand it to other departments. We have developed weekly and daily tracking reports to be used by sales team as well.
  • Modeling capability - It has enough control to be a rigid system. Yet, it has enough flexibility to change with the needs of the business.
  • One version of truth - Same data source is being shared by many groups via dashboard, so there is no confusion on which version is the most recent.
  • Be able to create reports on the fly and provide access to the data set for those who need them.
  • Additional reporting capability, especially with formatting of the tables, charts, and graphs. I wish to be able to label axis, change colors of the graphs, define axis.
  • Dashboard - unable to place a "picture/logo" on a dashboard.
  • No auto e-mail capabilities. Once data is loaded into Anaplan, I would like to send an automatic e-mail that the load has been completed.
  • No mobile app is available. I wish there is a version (for dashboard) to see it on mobile device.
Anaplan is good for data aggregation and being able to slice and dice the information as long as the relationships are defined properly. Once the data is loaded, it is fairly easy to create a dashboard to present the data. However, some analytical models are too complex to do in Anaplan. It can be done, but it takes a master Anaplaner to build it, and it is not as easy to maintain the system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 10, 2017

"Anaplan Review from a Finance Professional in Tech"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is still currently being used by Finance only but I can see how other departments like Sales Operations could benefit from the usage of Anaplan.
  • I think that Anaplan is good for workforce planning. The strength is that once you have the raw data of the personnel, one could upload the sheet for a more automated output.
  • It is at times difficult to trouble shoot. It would be nice to have better references to the source cells.
Anaplan would be great if you have a plugin to your data source. For example, if you wanted booking information sourced directly from Salesforce. As long as the raw data is correct, there is far less maintenance to arrive at the output.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 07, 2017

User Review: "Anaplan Functionality and Optimum Uses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Anaplan exclusively in the finance organization. It was initially built to be a budget tool but has since shifted to help with childcare labor alignment and pricing tools. We're exploring the opportunity to use Anaplan as a reporting tool to help with company realignments and movements. Other departments are interested in getting into Anaplan for their own tools and processes.
  • The amount of users that can be in Anaplan and making changes is HUGE. It's great being able to walk end users through the process and then immediately let them explore and check their understanding.
  • Real time changes. Being able to make a change and instantly see the impact, even across several complex modules, helped immensely during the budget build. Making changes and being able to immediately tweak them, cut our build time and made the budget more accurate.
  • Reduced blackbox budget calculations. This goes hand in hand with real time changes. We were able to walk our end users from start to finish through the process and show how changes in one section impact the final product. Even if the users didn't know the exact process they could see the impact from one input box to the next.
  • The most challenging part of Anaplan was getting over its steep learning curve. It was very challenging to adjust logic from the excel language to Anaplan's language. Unfortunately it seems to be a necessary evil to really understand and use the tool.
  • Unhelpful error messages. The error messages rarely help diagnosing the problem at hand. Better explanation on error messages could help significantly.
  • Lack of formula formatting. This is not a con by itself but a huge opportunity going forward. Being able to add additional, even redundant, brackets would help itemizing formula logic.
Anecdotally Anaplan seemed to be best suited for planning. Any process that needs to collect and/or consolidate information from a large number of data sources would use Anaplan to its strengths. The more data the better.

Using Anaplan to track simple calculations or small data sets wouldn't being using the tool to its strengths. Anything that can easily be build in Excel probably should be.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2017

Anaplan Review: "Freaky Fast"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Anaplan to facilitate the management of our sales organization. From headcount to compensation planning.
  • Anaplan is very fast! Instantaneous updates to imported information.
  • Getting a blue-box error is the worst. If formula errors could not result in blocking other users out that would be an awesome improvement.
Suited very well for planning organizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 31, 2017

User Review: "Anaplan, when in the right place/time"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by sales/sales ops and finance for various types of forecasting and cash flow analysis. With the sales portion, the part I worked on it was ideally for an automated forecast for global sales org. What was "fully automated" was really maybe 75-80% automated which lead to a number of data integrity issues
  • Manipulation of big data
  • Viewing of live data across offices/the globe
  • The Hub offers a good area for getting more information
  • Standardized training offering
  • Lag times with large models
  • Product adoption, there needs to be more of a push because it is fairly specialized so finding talent that has used it is tough
Appropriate: financial modeling, long range planning, sales forecasting (dependent on org structure). Less appropriate: when there is no IT management support at high levels and a tight budget for going live.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 07, 2017

Anaplan Review: "Just saying..."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by the whole organization build budgets and forecasts for FP&A, workforce and capital planning.
  • Updates data across various modules and reports
  • We have various issues related to the size of our models, space and memory issues. We have 'too' many companies and cost centers apparently for anaplan to handle efficiently and have created co and other group lists in order to accommodate this. This makes maintenance cumbersome and time-consuming.
  • Need to be able to see import mappings even if file used to create the mapping is deleted, or don’t allow file delete if mapping is still needed.
  • Log related -
  • Need a way to purge a log, it must be huge!
  • Need all tasks to record, e.g., export tasks don't currently record in the log.
  • Need to be able to select current local time vs. UTC for logging, research purposes.
  • Need an easy way to clear/delete all data for a version.
  • Need to know what users are connected at any point in time.
  • Would like Workspace, Model size adn space available information to list on the dashboard when we log in.
  • Would be great if field name sizes could be increased from 60 character maximum so we can match source system fields.
[It's] suited for small companies with few list line items.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 29, 2017

"Anaplan Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is being used for a modeling project in the sales operations team. We are still in the process of model building and testing but we have received positive feedback from the users. Anaplan is very useful for this use case since it eliminates the use of spreadsheet based models which are very hard to maintain and very error prone.
  • Multi dimensional
  • Connected planning
  • Better visualization to understand the data at a glance.
  • Modeler should be able to copy modules from one model to another.
  • Currently we can just import from a model but it would be awesome if we could export too.
  • Best suited: Scenarios where you are dealing with more data and fewer dimensions.
  • Less Suited: Where your data has too many dimensions. In this case, it will blow up the size of the model and your model's performance will not be up to the mark.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2017

User Review: "Step change with Anaplan"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially we were looking to deploy Anaplan to replace Cognos for volume and financial forecasting, within one division of the organisation. It simplified the process for monthly reforecasting and is simple to manipulate and analyse the information. Having seen the power of the application, other parts of the organisation then engaged with Anaplan for their own business needs!
  • Automated forecasting.
  • Flexibility of the application to add or move components.
  • Ease of access to the cloud-based solution.
  • Dashboard and charting could be a little more polished.
  • Excel addon could be a little more flexible.
Suited to automated forecasting from current trends. Less suitable for polished Exec reporting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2017

Review: "Anaplan is Great!!! but does not totally replace excel quite yet but getting there"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is being used at my organization for incentive compensation management and bonus tracking. Anaplan has streamlined our commission process dramatically. Prior to implementing Anaplan our previous commission cycle took nearly 45 days. We are now able to complete our commission cycle in 12 days. Anaplan improved accuracy, transparency and overall user experience dramatically.

The reason why we chose Anaplan is it is a very flexible software yet extremely efficient and allows me to make changes to our plan without having to work with software engineers to do so.
  • Very easy to customize access views and add additional users
  • Creating and publishing and creating new customized dashboards
  • Efficiency and calculation accuracy. Love the drill down feature.
  • Anaplan claims that it will totally replace Excel and it is not there yet. But it is an extremely powerful tool.
  • Sorting and alphabetizing reports in Anaplan is not good.
  • Adding simple subtotals to reports should be very easy but not in all scenarios.
Anaplan is well suited if you have data that must be shared or if you rely upon someone else's data. I have over 30 users that are inputting data into Anplan on a monthly basis and this would be nearly impossible and extremely error prone if [we] had to complete this in Excel. I can't think of a use where Anaplan wouldn't be well suited.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 17, 2017

"Generic Anaplan review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as an FP&A tool in the finance department.
  • Easy collaboration on building models at the same time
  • One place to go for reporting of actuals
  • Easy to change the names across all the models
  • Missing Functionality - Multi-select filters. Currently there is only a single selection from a drop down list. Creating multi-select requires over-complication of the logic.
Works well if there is an Excel based working model. It easier to load data in Anaplan knowing what you want to see in the end. It works for the data that is organized in a table format.

Not sure about specific scenarios when Anaplan does not work well, as I am only starting to use it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 03, 2017

User Review: "Anaplan improved our reporting process"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use Anaplan in some departments:

- Sales Operations

- Finance

It helps us to improve the reporting process.

  • Real-time data
  • Easy to implement additional data from our ERP system
  • Allows multi-hierarchies
  • Dashboard - color selection, not by default, can customize
  • Dashboard - printing, can not be fit into one page right now
  • Functions - more examples in the Anapedia would be better
We use Anaplan for management reports, once the implementation is done, it is very easy to maintain and get daily reports.
Read this authenticated review
Dan Shuwarger profile photo
May 24, 2017

Anaplan: "SaaS FP&A Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have two Anaplan instances. Sales Ops uses it to manage headcount and for capacity planning. They have users and viewers of their headcount reporting.

I manage the FP&A instance which is used to plan headcount, expenses, capex, and COGS. We also use it for reporting for various cuts of the P&L, headcount, and balance sheet. This instance is only being used by FP&A, but we hope to role it out to business partners later in the year.
  • Anaplan is great for headcount reporting. We have reports by dept, office location, and subsidiary that is great for planning and also for full company reporting.
  • Although they can be complicated to set up, Anaplan is also great for setting up complex P&L views. For example, setting up a P&L with a combination of subs/depts., that still needs to consolidate to the total P&L.
  • Systems-wise, I like that it's impossible to #REF the model! Anaplan shows you where everything is referenced, so it's very difficult to break anything.
  • I also like that formulas copy across, so there is no chance of pointing to the wrong cell, like in Excel
  • I'd like to see a back button. While there is restore from backup, it is a long process that only Admins can perform. And all users lose changes of course.
  • As an Admin, my #1 request is: why can't we select multiple list members with check boxes? For example, if I have a list of depts., and want to see HR + Recruiting (two list members). Yes, I can build a line item that does that. But every combination of list members must be custom built.
  • Another one that I get asked for are hierarchies for line items. For example, if I have a List on pages, there will be "+" to group items. For example, I might have Finance, HR, and Recruiting, all in "G&A" which I could then open the "+" to expand and collapse (G&A) to show the detail. If I am pivoted on a Line Item on pages, this isn't possible.
  • Another big one I get asked for, is "why can't I save views?!" Of course Admins can, but I think users would really appreciate it this one. Please consider it!
Anaplan is great for Sales Ops, FP&A, and basically anything that is heavy Excel-based. It's great at summarizing large amounts of data, like pivot tables. It's also great for crunching Salesforce data. I don't have a need for SQL, but I'm sure it would great for any kind of database summarization use case.
Read Dan Shuwarger's full review
Matthew Cantwell profile photo
May 24, 2017

"Anaplan Review - Gaming"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Anaplan for Planning and Budgeting. We are looking to begin using it for a forecasting and consolidation of data (Data Hub) and performance reporting models. The main business problem it has helped us with is the consolidation and ability to report on multiple dynamic hierarchies across a wide range of businesses. It has also being the driving force for process change within our organization.
  • We really like the Data Hub concept. We are working on multiple projects with regards to aggregating data from multiple sources, and Data Hub has worked well for us thus far.
  • Agility is key for our businesses and we feel that Anaplan gives us the ability to remain flexible and reactive to the changes throughout our businesses.
  • As a administrator I really like the resources provided by Anaplan such as Anapedia. It makes it really simple to ask questions and find answers if we are having difficulty with certain items.
  • I believe user set up within Anaplan is one of the areas that could be improved greatly.
  • Workflow is another area that I believe could be improved. Currently, I do not believe, there is a way to create an action against workflow. This would be a great benefit rather than moving the item to complete or in progress if you could write an action for it.

We are really excited and looking forward to exploring the forecasting, and "What If" scenarios. Our current business structure makes it very difficult to forecast and project at any level, and I think Anaplan will be a great solution for us.

I think for any business that has multiple, or dynamic, hierarchies Anaplan is a great solution. We have reduced the time spent on these dynamic views by using subsets and properties with in the models.

I am looking forward to the increased the communication/connected planning aspect that Anaplan brings to our company. In the past we had thousands of Excel workbooks, some that were too large to email or open. We have seen improved interaction and clear lines of communication for our end users by using Anaplan for our budget process.

Read Matthew Cantwell's full review
Chris Friederich profile photo
May 19, 2017

User Review: "Doing it all with Anaplan"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Anaplan for FP&A - essentially having modeled out entire business on the platform. We use it in most all planning and forecasting discussions. Because of its flexibility, ease of use and ability to scenario test, it allows us to quickly and accurately make decisions that have a financial impact that would otherwise take days or weeks to make.

We are currently in the process of rolling out Anaplan for sales forecasting to increase accuracy and accountability in our sales forecasts.

Lastly, we are in the early stages of planning to use Anaplan for our business intelligence reporting capabilities. It will be used as our one source of truth for business metrics and results - something we desperately need and that Anaplan will work perfectly for.
  • Modeling is next level in Anaplan. With a background deep in Excel modeling and the frustrations that come along with it, Anaplan is a breath of fresh air and is actually fun to build and model in.
  • Dashboarding and synchronization. The synchronization feature in Anaplan is one of the greatest things ever. As its core Anaplan models are built around hierarchical lists and dimensions and using similar dimensions in dashboards allows you to synchronize to different views of the same data with simple clicks around a dashboard. It makes reporting and BI extremely user friendly and flexible.
  • Its fast. If you had the same exact model in Excel and Anaplan. That model in Excel would be like riding and old bike with under-inflated tires, while Anaplan would be like driving a Tesla in Ludicrous mode. The ability to have your entire business modeled on a single platform, potentially across multiple models, where when you make a change the entire model updates within seconds, is invaluable in making decisions.
  • Error handling can be annoying. A single formula error can lock up your model for 2-5 minutes while it reverts back to before you pressed enter, and while its improved a little in the year I've been using Anaplan, there are certain situations where I feel like it could be eliminated or made more efficient.
  • Time subsets would be really nice.
Anaplan is great for modeling processes that are ongoing, and remain relatively the same over time. In other words, if you don't have a solid grasp of your process, or you know there are significant changes that change the way you do things on a not infrequent basis, you may want to wait to build the model in Anaplan until things are more stable or you have a better understanding of the business requirements of what you are trying to build. Wholesale changes to an Anaplan model can be cumbersome and time consuming - though that is not unlike modeling on any other platform.

It's also probably not worth your time to build a model in Anaplan if you're only going to use it once - in this case, if it's not too complicated, Excel is probably a better choice.
Read Chris Friederich's full review
Tara Kirby profile photo
May 15, 2017

Review: "Anaplan - a powerful flexible tool with nearly endless potential"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our road map is to implement Anaplan globally to connect all departments and all levels of the organization for end to end planning, management reporting and analysis. Our initial phases focused on seamlessly connecting orders reporting and forecasting to revenue and gross margin forecasting. Anaplan allows all levels of the organization to have one version of the data and was the catalyst for rolling out consistent forecasting processes across all regions and functions. Anaplan will bring efficiency to our organization by eliminating shadow finance activities, improving data integrity and allowing consistent on demand analytics.
  • It is a very user-friendly platform that allows individuals without IT backgrounds to build models in simple syntax. If you know how to use Excel, you will be able to pick up model building in Anaplan with relative ease using the guided build methodology.
  • Anaplan is a blank slate that allows for multi-dimension models in which we determine the dimensions versus forcing us to adhere to predetermined dimensions.
  • Maintaining our company hierarchies in data hub allows us to change information there and have it automatically pushed out to all spoke models versus changing 10-20 spreadsheets.
  • The dashboard functionality is basic therefore, we have to bring in Tableau to provide a more professional view of the outputs as well as to allow management to more easily slice and dice data.
  • There is an Anaplan learning center however, I have not found it useful when I have questions. We are fortunate to have Aviana Global guiding us through the initial phases of our process. Without our consultants, learning Anaplan would be overwhelming.
  • The Anaplan Connect needs to be improved. We are considering a third party ETL, but we prefer that Anaplan have this capability built into its platform.
Because it is flexible, Anaplan is well suited for complex global organizations. We are a multi-matrix organization therefore, having the ability to establish multiple hierarchies in data hub and use those to slice and dice in the spoke models improves efficiency and accuracy. We are in the early stages of our implementation therefore, we are yet to encounter scenarios where Anaplan is not appropriate. My guess would be that if you have a small company with little complexity, then you might consider a less powerful tool.
Read Tara Kirby's full review
Michael Lauer profile photo
May 12, 2017

Review: "Anaplan: The "do we still have an IT department?" tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Anaplan as a quota and territory management tool focused around our yearly target process. As of right now we only use it for the US business unit. However we are looking to expand this use case to Canada as well. Our goal is to then add additional use cases such as Compensation and pipeline/forecasting.
  • Allows non-technical business-oriented individuals create functionality in the system.
  • Highly customizable.
  • Excellent business partner from a people perspective. Very focused on customer success, not just the next PO.
  • Larger workspaces.
  • Ongoing support contracts based on LOE.
  • Better formula support and explanation within the model.
Anaplan continues to provide us a platform to solve business problems that would otherwise get overlooked. The ability to create a data hub that can easily integrate with legacy systems and act as a staging ground for manipulating the data for multiple business problems is invaluable. Couple this with the ease of access and decreased reliance on IT makes this a very nimble and effective tool.
Read Michael Lauer's full review
Sharon Kam profile photo
June 02, 2017

User Review: "Anaplan - Beginning Stages"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Anaplan to sync our data across demand and supply and then layer our financial assumptions to build out our financial forecast. Anaplan addresses business needs of synchronized, timely data tied to one source of truth, as well as scalability within the organization. Also relevant is the fact that it can refresh in seconds what would take Excel days or weeks to complete. The ability to build cube logic is great for financials requiring build outs of multiple SKUs, reorgs, etc.
  • Scalability - ability to build out financials with new SKUs spanning multiple financial assumptions
  • Timely cross functional data access
  • Ability to export data across systems SQL / Tableau
  • Difficulty training up users
  • Hierarchy of units that are used cross functionally that aren't easily translated between orgs
  • Ability to call back parts of models previously built up
  • Elegance in design can be make or break between cost accretion and dilution
  • Inconsistency of quality of consultants
Anaplan is great if you are building out models reliant on large, complex data sets that are refreshed constantly and that expand or contract often.

Oftentimes I've also seen it being used as a place to build out long range planning or similar exercises based on complex functions -- in that case I'd actually recommend Excel. Anaplan is truly used best when scaling large, inconsistently sized data sets across organizations.
Read Sharon Kam's full review
Sid Powar profile photo
May 26, 2017

Anaplan Review: "Dish Network leading the way in Supply Chain Planning"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently used by supply chain planning for planning repair parts. It helps in transparency and measuring performance which helps maintain desired inventory levels.
  • It allows users to set up complex algorithms which then leads to recommendations made by the tool for the planners to make a decision.
  • Helps in collaboration across multiple users within our department but across Dish and potentially externally with our suppliers in the future.
  • The software is extremely fast and can calculate scenarios fast.
  • Partnership with data visualization software such as Tableau is needed.
  • More supply chain apps to allow users to see the different applications within supply chain.
Anaplan is a useful in aggregating data but powerful as it can use complex calculations to help the user make decisions for multiple variables. It is not a data visualization tool - dashboards are clunky as such users should try to use Anaplan with another tool to dashboard data.
Read Sid Powar's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Long-term financial planning (73)
7.4
Financial budgeting (76)
8.1
Forecasting (87)
7.6
Scenario modeling (89)
6.5
Management reporting (92)
7.6
Financial data consolidation (54)
7.7
Journal entries and reports (30)
6.6
Multi-currency management (11)
6.2
Intercompany Eliminations (8)
5.9
Minority Ownership (7)
6.0
Local and consolidated reporting (46)
7.1
Detailed Audit Trails (49)
6.1
Financial Statement Reporting (57)
7.0
Management Reporting (67)
8.3
Excel-based Reporting (62)
6.9
Automated board and financial reporting (13)
8.0
Personalized dashboards (87)
5.3
Color-coded scorecards (74)
6.0
KPIs (17)
7.0
Cost and profitability analysis (58)
7.0
Key Performance Indicator setting (65)
7.4
Benchmarking with external data (12)
7.2
Flat file integration (88)
8.3
Excel data integration (78)
8.3
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (60)
8.2

About Anaplan

Anaplan aims to be the leader in Connected Planning. According to the vendor, the software—powered by their patented Hyperblock engine—enables dynamic, collaborative, and intelligent planning. Large and fast-growing companies worldwide use Anaplan to connect the people and data required for trusted plans and accelerated decisions essential to leading in their markets. The company is based in San Francisco, and is privately held with 20 offices, 175 expert partners, and more than 850 customers worldwide.

Anaplan Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Does not have featureMulti-currency management
Does not have featureIntercompany Eliminations
Does not have featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
FInancial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Does not have featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Does not have featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Does not have featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Does not have featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
Additional Features
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureSalesforce
Has featurePixel-perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput raw supporting data
Has featureReport versioning
Has featureReport delivery scheduling
Has featureMultiple pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots, etc.)
Has featureMultiple access permission levels (Create/Read/Delete)
Has featureReport-level access control
Has featureResponsive design for web access
Has featureDashboard/Report/Visualization mobile interactivity
Has featureMicrosoft Office integration
Has featureUser defined modeling/configuration
Has featureOut of the box data integration

Anaplan Screenshots

Anaplan Integrations

Salesforce

Anaplan Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Request a personal demo: https://www.anaplan.com/request-demo/ Free trial for existing customers for any app in the App Hub: https://apphub.anaplan.com/

Anaplan Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
10%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
90%

Anaplan Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Anaplan Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All countries
Supported Languages: Multi-lingual support