AppDynamics Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
112 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 03, 2021
Jared Jacobson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • NEC Express5800 Fault Tolerant (FT)
AppDynamics is a much better product than NEC Express 5800 Fault Tolerant (FT) . AppDynamics is also easier to use than NEC Express 5800. AppDynamics was also less expensive to implement than NEC Express 5800 and it also took less time to get this tool up and running in our environment.
Read Jared Jacobson's full review
May 03, 2021
Kishan Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Those applications are not feature-rich. AppDynamics application is quite good and impressive. It is very helpful to make business decisions. Analytics part is good to make business forecast. UI part is [more] interesting than others. Here I recommend AppDynamics over other[s] for all the features which are easily gain the trust of any customer. I personally recommend it for all the possible use cases.
Read Kishan Patel's full review
April 30, 2021
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Datadog was easy to install on some devices but harder on others based on the OS. We were never able to get Datadog to work in our environment for all devices and apps. AppDynamics works across 100%.
Read Gene Baker's full review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Data dog, it's not an APM to me, yet. It's more like a Nagios or PRTG. And New Relic, it was good. Now it's poor in setup a .Net application. AppDynamics is simply perfect in setup, usage, tips, alarms. It's really what we needed for our environment. All in a single application, and, "fast".
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

- It is provided by Cisco which is one of the trustable organisation[s] and provides lot of services to our company.
- It came into the market quite [early] and [has] evolved a lot since then, as per the requirements of the customers.
- The support system is quite good and helps in resolving issues quickly.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ease of usage. Views key metrics of any application you can think of. Analyzes transactions easily. Helps resolve performance issues. Server and application performance management is now very easy with this tool. End user monitoring. Deep code level diagnostics in real time.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Datadog is a great product in comparison to AppDynamics and matches up to it. However, AppDynamics is used by many in the industry and is the best for our applications. There was lots of experience in the WorkForce with AppDynamics, so it was a better choice than Datadog. Datadog was much cheaper compared to AppDynamics.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AppDynamics provides real-time monitoring down to the minute. Our current Tableau setup provides data that is 24 hours old so not best for monitoring. Presentation options in Tableau are better for sharing data but for active investigations requiring impact assessment I prefer AppD.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AppDynamics automatically discovers and monitors every dependency and business transaction out of the box (no manual instrumentation required). AppDynamics proprietary Dynamic Baselining takes the seasonality of your application into account and proactively alerts you on every slow transaction (not just the slowest) and does not require the disabling of monitoring functionality as a compromise to limit overhead. AppDynamics allows you to isolate and resolve issues all from one tightly integrated platform rather than stitched together products.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor
Many reasons, but the first is that AppDynamics has better integration with a lot of apps in the market and the price offer was really good.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2019
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We decided to use AppDynamics because it is a tool that allows me to manage and monitor the performance of all the applications. It allows me to keep complete track of the capacity and speed with the software we develop to optimize it because it detects failures or errors. I can also monitor the activities of users to have better control of the use that can be given.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
October 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Application Delivery Analysis (formerly CA Application Delivery Analysis)
We compared CA APM and the ease of use was day and night compared to AppDynamics. Just the presentation of information is very modularized and appears very clean in terms of data captured and the console has a flow to its presentation. CA APM uses the concept of buckets with the user having to be very savvy to know the product where the data collected will be under.
Read this authenticated review
November 02, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We needed a reliable tool to monitor all our services, and in this we find it to be the best and most complete. It is definitely wonderful.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2019
Tyler Twitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use Splunk, a lot, and I feel that the two applications complement each other well. AppDynamics is not as good at finding problems or errors in logs, and Splunk is very easy to set up visualizations. However, where AppDynamics excels is in the level of detail about transactions between different subsystems and how they interact with each other. Datadog has some very useful integrations, but I feel it cannot compete with either Splunk or AppDynamics with the level of detail you can dig into a specific server or application that AppDynamics provides. The ability to view our entire infrastructure and narrow in on a specific tier is what sets AppDynamics apart.
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
August 01, 2017
Rich Mephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Appdynamics offered so much more functionality than New Relic, albeit at a more expensive price. The UI was easier to navigate in Appdynamics than in New Relic and it was considerably easier to configure and deploy AppDynamics than New Relic. We had extensive discussions with engineers at AppDynamics and they provided great support in getting us up and running.
Read Rich Mephan's full review
July 21, 2016
Adam Rooney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

After looking at a number of different alternatives to AppDynamics its error reporting seems to be the greatest out of the lot. It tracks anything imaginable and allows for the reporting as much as you want with as much information as you want.
Read Adam Rooney's full review
April 06, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

New Relic is only SaaS and keys off of AppDex scoring (i.e. industry baselines) and not on my application's baselines. Where most of our stuff is custom apps, going off of industry wasn't valuable to us. It was also cost prohibitive.
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AppDynamics was trialled in a shoot-out between New Relic and Dynatrace and just about edged New Relic simply for the ability to drill down to the methods and lines of code in the error monitoring, which is an invaluable feature for a development manager. New Relic Insights provides slightly easier dashboarding and New Relic generally is easier to use, but AppDynamics just came out on top.
Read this authenticated review
April 26, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I didnt like any of the functionality or the layout this application provided. I saw the growth with AppDynamics and the possible potential mainly because we have visibility to the actual application code. This is one of the best options by far to ensure the vendor fixes bugs in the code.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AppDynamics, in our organization, has given us a comprehensive and real time view of our environment. Appdynamics is great for drilling down and identifying trouble spots quickly.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (27)
9.0
Database monitoring (27)
8.9
Threshold alerts (26)
8.5
Predictive capabilities (26)
8.1
Application performance management console (25)
8.7
Collaboration tools (19)
8.5

What is AppDynamics?

AppDynamics delivers real-time access to every aspect of an organization's business and operational performance, so they can anticipate problems, resolve them automatically, and make smarter, more certain business decisions. The vendor says application intelligence provides the user with business and operational insights into application performance, user experience and business impact of their software applications.

AppDynamics Features

Application Performance Management Features

Has featureApplication monitoring
Has featureDatabase monitoring
Has featureThreshold alerts
Has featurePredictive capabilities
Has featureApplication performance management console
Has featureCollaboration tools

AppDynamics Video

Watch Jyoti Bansal, CEO and Founder of AppDynamics, lays out how the company provides the certainty you need to be confident in the performance of your software applications, even in the most demanding condition.

AppDynamics Competitors

New Relic, CA Technologies

AppDynamics Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

AppDynamics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry