AppDynamics Reviews

87 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

AppDynamics lets you see!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor
Many reasons, but the first is that AppDynamics has better integration with a lot of apps in the market and the price offer was really good.
Read this authenticated review
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Gives Total View of Infrastructure Components and Applications.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Datadog was easy to install on some devices but harder on others based on the OS. We were never able to get Datadog to work in our environment for all devices and apps. AppDynamics works across 100%.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

A perfect tool that allows me to manage and monitor the performance of all the applications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We decided to use AppDynamics because it is a tool that allows me to manage and monitor the performance of all the applications. It allows me to keep complete track of the capacity and speed with the software we develop to optimize it because it detects failures or errors. I can also monitor the activities of users to have better control of the use that can be given.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2019

AppDynamics Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AppDynamics automatically discovers and monitors every dependency and business transaction out of the box (no manual instrumentation required). AppDynamics proprietary Dynamic Baselining takes the seasonality of your application into account and proactively alerts you on every slow transaction (not just the slowest) and does not require the disabling of monitoring functionality as a compromise to limit overhead. AppDynamics allows you to isolate and resolve issues all from one tightly integrated platform rather than stitched together products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Think your application has no issues? Think again and try AppDynamics APM tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Application Delivery Analysis (formerly CA Application Delivery Analysis)
We compared CA APM and the ease of use was day and night compared to AppDynamics. Just the presentation of information is very modularized and appears very clean in terms of data captured and the console has a flow to its presentation. CA APM uses the concept of buckets with the user having to be very savvy to know the product where the data collected will be under.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2019

the best investment you can make

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We needed a reliable tool to monitor all our services, and in this we find it to be the best and most complete. It is definitely wonderful.
Read this authenticated review
Tyler Twitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2019

AppDynamics - A deep dive into your application data

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use Splunk, a lot, and I feel that the two applications complement each other well. AppDynamics is not as good at finding problems or errors in logs, and Splunk is very easy to set up visualizations. However, where AppDynamics excels is in the level of detail about transactions between different subsystems and how they interact with each other. Datadog has some very useful integrations, but I feel it cannot compete with either Splunk or AppDynamics with the level of detail you can dig into a specific server or application that AppDynamics provides. The ability to view our entire infrastructure and narrow in on a specific tier is what sets AppDynamics apart.
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
Rich Mephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2017

The Rolls Royce of APM

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Appdynamics offered so much more functionality than New Relic, albeit at a more expensive price. The UI was easier to navigate in Appdynamics than in New Relic and it was considerably easier to configure and deploy AppDynamics than New Relic. We had extensive discussions with engineers at AppDynamics and they provided great support in getting us up and running.
Read Rich Mephan's full review
Adam Rooney | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2016

AppDynamics, it's got you covered.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

After looking at a number of different alternatives to AppDynamics its error reporting seems to be the greatest out of the lot. It tracks anything imaginable and allows for the reporting as much as you want with as much information as you want.
Read Adam Rooney's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2018

Great at finding bottlenecks and easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

New Relic is only SaaS and keys off of AppDex scoring (i.e. industry baselines) and not on my application's baselines. Where most of our stuff is custom apps, going off of industry wasn't valuable to us. It was also cost prohibitive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2017

AppDynamics - excellent application monitoring with a steep(ish) learning curve

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AppDynamics was trialled in a shoot-out between New Relic and Dynatrace and just about edged New Relic simply for the ability to drill down to the methods and lines of code in the error monitoring, which is an invaluable feature for a development manager. New Relic Insights provides slightly easier dashboarding and New Relic generally is easier to use, but AppDynamics just came out on top.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2016

The future of monitoring!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I didnt like any of the functionality or the layout this application provided. I saw the growth with AppDynamics and the possible potential mainly because we have visibility to the actual application code. This is one of the best options by far to ensure the vendor fixes bugs in the code.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2015

New user and new environment implementation.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AppDynamics, in our organization, has given us a comprehensive and real time view of our environment. Appdynamics is great for drilling down and identifying trouble spots quickly.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (18)
8.7
Database monitoring (18)
8.7
Threshold alerts (17)
9.1
Predictive capabilities (18)
7.5
Application performance management console (17)
8.7
Collaboration tools (12)
8.4

About AppDynamics

AppDynamics delivers real-time access to every aspect of an organization's business and operational performance, so they can anticipate problems, resolve them automatically, and make smarter, more certain business decisions. The vendor says application intelligence provides the user with business and operational insights into application performance, user experience and business impact of their software applications.

AppDynamics Features

Application Performance Management Features
Has featureApplication monitoring
Has featureDatabase monitoring
Has featureThreshold alerts
Has featurePredictive capabilities
Has featureApplication performance management console
Has featureCollaboration tools
Does not have featureOut-of-the box templates to monitor applications
Does not have featureApplication dependency mapping and thresholding
Does not have featureVirtualization monitoring
Does not have featureServer availability and performance monitoring
Does not have featureServer usage monitoring and capacity forecasting
Does not have featureIT Asset Discovery

AppDynamics Video

Jyoti Bansal, CEO and Founder of AppDynamics, lays out how the company provides the certainty you need to be confident in the performance of your software applications, even in the most demanding condition.

AppDynamics Competitors

New Relic, CA Technologies

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

AppDynamics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry