BambooHR Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
152 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 14, 2021
Sergei Tkachenko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Well, BambooHR is a target software designed specifically for HR tasks. So it is lightweight, simple, fast both in use and in maintenance. Since it is flexible, you can ask the developers to add something specifically for your use cases. It's simple and intuitive, user-friendly. There is a web interface and an application (although without 100% functionality).
The time to start with BambooHR is much faster.
Read Sergei Tkachenko's full review
May 03, 2021
Candace Mitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR offers flawless perfoming apps for different operating systems and it is recommended to remote and decentralized teams. It has a quote-based pricing scheme which can be tailored by any business to meet their needs no matter the size and even before making the final decision there is a free trial to check their features.
Read Candace Mitchell's full review
April 20, 2021
Kendra Zondervan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • We used ADP previously. However, it was too large of a company that did not offer an account manager or representative; therefore, when issues arose, it was challenging to process payroll and reports as only a general help/call center was available.
  • ADP also had difficulties with setting up Pastoral Wage/Salary vs. Housing allowances, and because we are a church, that was a significant issue. The HR side was also not nearly as user or mobile-friendly.
Read Kendra Zondervan's full review
April 20, 2021
Carlie McLaughlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Workday is more for an enterprise scale in my opinion. BambooHR is great for small to mid sized companies. Both have a lot of the same tools, but BambooHR is very simple for new people to learn which makes it great for smaller scale teams and companies. Workday might have more functionality but is bulky.
Read Carlie McLaughlin's full review
April 22, 2021
David Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR is the only HR Management System I have used to this extent
Read David Moore's full review
April 16, 2021
Angela Heid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We really liked the employee portal, the ability to create our own time off types, and the ability to create custom fields & tabs.
Read Angela Heid's full review
June 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Lattice offers a much richer performance and meeting management experience, but is of course an entirely separate product to be maintained and for users to understand. It's going to be up to each org but if your performance management plans are not overly complex, BambooHR will be a clear winner.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It fits the size of our organization and is very user-friendly. It seems to be run by more modern people in the back. The website and all the documents and webinars offered are dynamic looking. All of these small details helped us make our decision and we like it.
Read this authenticated review
April 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR is easily the best HR program I've used as a business owner or as an employee. And it has a really cool name.
Read this authenticated review
March 31, 2020
Matt LeMaire, B.A., M.A. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Much of the other software/services that we have used in this arena have not been as fully-featured as BambooHR. In most cases, BambooHR works better as an HRIS than the above, but it also comes with an additional cost. As a smaller company, it becomes harder to justify that cost, and we've found that it's better to leverage something like Microsoft Teams with other services, such as HRdownloads.com (not selectable) for a lower cost solution. Nonetheless, BambooHR's feature set is impressive and if the cost and ROI works out, it's the better option.
Read Matt LeMaire, B.A., M.A.'s full review
January 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Much easier to use, at least as end user, than UltiPro. However I’m not sure if it’s as robust.
Read this authenticated review
November 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Other tools with a more unified platform (including a more mature payroll solution) have been much more robust in terms of their data and reporting capabilities. BambooHR, however, has the edge on having a flashier look that may be more appealing to some up-and-coming organizations. All in all, BambooHR's data and feature set is more simple but more limited than other platforms I've used.
Read this authenticated review
May 23, 2019
Hayden Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I would say they both have a lot of strengths for sure. Workday manages data on a mass scale a little bit better in my opinion, but Bamboo HR is more user friendly and pleasing to the eyes.
Read Hayden Anderson's full review
June 02, 2019
Rebecca Mogollón | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

UltiPro, from what I remember, was clunky and always had an awkward calculation of my hours. I could not "project" how much PTO I would have when I wanted to take time off in the future. Also, I was planning my maternity leave with UltiPro, and I truly feel like the software made me miscalculate how much time off I would have and it caused me a LOT of problems when I had my first baby. It made my life financially very difficult.
Workday, I only used briefly before I left the company for the one I am in now. Interface-wise, it was great, very smooth and slick and attractive. I never felt very good about the hours though, but that might have been a migration issue from UltiPro.
Read Rebecca Mogollón's full review
December 06, 2017
Raphaele Pelaez, SHRM-SCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Namely
They were both good platforms, we just really like Bamboo. Their corporate culture is similar to ours, and their tool is geared towards companies of our size.
Read Raphaele Pelaez, SHRM-SCP's full review
August 03, 2016
Emilee Rank | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

BambooHr was selected by me because it was at the company before I started work here. However, I have used Bamboo for the past four and a half years and have been very happy. I love that it's user friendly and has a wonderful interface. It makes it fun to work on the platform because it has a clean interface and is not bulky.
Read Emilee Rank's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (46)
8.4
Employment history (50)
8.7
Job profiles and administration (50)
8.3
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (42)
8.1
Organizational charting (48)
8.0
Organization and location management (44)
8.3
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (28)
7.8
Pay calculation (27)
8.2
Support for external payroll vendors (22)
8.2
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (8)
8.0
Benefit plan administration (31)
8.7
Direct deposit files (30)
8.6
Salary revision and increment management (30)
8.5
Reimbursement management (17)
7.9
Approval workflow (50)
9.2
Balance details (43)
9.0
Annual carry-forward and encashment (40)
8.8
View and generate pay and benefit information (34)
8.5
Update personal information (53)
8.8
View company policy documentation (45)
8.5
Employee recognition (37)
8.5
View job history (51)
8.9
Tracking of all physical assets (25)
7.2
Report builder (39)
7.8
Pre-built reports (38)
8.0
Ability to combine HR data with external data (32)
8.0
New hire portal (41)
8.4
Manager tracking tools (39)
8.3
Corporate goal setting (25)
7.5
Individual goal setting (28)
7.8
Line-of sight-visibility (22)
7.4
Performance tracking (23)
8.2
Performance plans (29)
8.1
Performance improvement plans (28)
8.1
Review status tracking (28)
8.4
Review reminders (31)
8.3
Multiple review frequency (26)
7.9
Create succession plans/pools (18)
7.8
Candidate ranking (21)
7.7
Candidate search (22)
7.8
Candidate development (19)
7.7
Job Requisition Management (23)
7.9
Company Website Posting (25)
7.7
Publish to Social Media (23)
7.8
Job Search Site Posting (23)
7.7
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (21)
7.8
Applicant Tracking (28)
7.9
Notifications and Alerts (29)
8.4

What is BambooHR?

BambooHR is an on-line human resources solution. Some key features include: Customizable Dashboards and Reports, Automated Time-Off Management, and Employee Self-Service.

BambooHR Features

Has featureCustomizable Dashboards and Reports
Has featureAutomated Time-Off Management
Has featureEmployee Self-Service
Has featureOpen API
Has featureGlobal Settings for Multi-National Businesses

BambooHR Screenshots

BambooHR Integrations

CATS Applicant Tracking System, JazzHR, NimbleSchedule Unpublished, Cornerstone OnDemand, NetSuite ERP, TraxPayroll.com, BeneTrac, see a full list at http://www.bamboohr.com/partners/

BambooHR Competitors

Sage People, FinancialForce HCM, WebHR, HRMSSoft, Sage, iCIMS, Ultimate UltiPro

BambooHR Pricing

Starting Price: $59

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

BambooHR Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

BambooHR Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:BambooHR supports any country worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

What is BambooHR?

BambooHR is an on-line human resources solution that provides onboarding, payroll, and benefits management. It also offers automated time-off management and employee self-service.

How much does BambooHR cost?

BambooHR starts at $59.

What is BambooHR's best feature?

Reviewers rate Approval workflow highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses BambooHR?

The most common users of BambooHR are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.