TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gv/rb/XI7SESF1B71F.JPEGBirst, a data visualization toolWe use Birst a number of different ways. The first is to help our customer visualize their data. A majority of customers do not have the expertise to build these reports and visualizations so have done this for them. Our customers can use these reports to better understand their products, how they behave and function. We also use Birst internally to monitor how many devices have been deployed on our networks. We can monitor device transactions, API calls and much more. Within our organization, many departments use the Birst. From Sales, Customer Success, Product, marketing, and engineering.,Customization of reports Embedded in existing dashboard Scalability of reports and amount of data it can process Variety of visualizations/graphs to view data Variety of filters to drill down to a specific set of data,Birst prices are fairly expensive. License plus cost of users can add up pretty quickly Depending on the size of data, rendering of reports can take a little bit. Need faster processing of data Takes a little time to understand how to build reports, not the most intuitive UI,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,Google Analytics, Tableau Online and IBM Analytics Engine,10Birst in eLearning Sales and OpsWe use Birst internally to analyze sales and marketing data to improve our marketing efforts (ROI on digital marketing spend) and to provide insights to our eLearning operations team. Our marketing team analyzes time series of marketing spend vs the revenue received attributable to that spend and adjusts digital campaigns to optimize ROI. The operations team extract student engagement data from our LMS and identifies students at risk of not completing their coursework in a timely fashion so that they can engage with them to identify issues and assist.,Birst is an platform that provides connectors to some of the applications we use, but also allows us to bring in data from disparate systems to perform ETL and integrate all of the data for analyses. It makes no assumptions about your data, which is good for us, as we have a lot of customizations to many of our systems. Birst is making inroads towards a more modern UI.,The Birst product uses it's own query language (BQL) which we feel has been implemented in different ways in different parts of the product. This makes learning the entire product more difficult than it ought to be. The Birst idea of grains and hierarchies is hard to get a foothold on. I don't think I completely get it yet.,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,,9BIrst - meeting challenges head on.We are an OEM of Birst. We embed Birst into our SaaS offering. Our SaaS offering is a mobile application that allows users to fill out advanced forms for data collection on activities they are performing during there work. We collect, extract and transform the data into a Birst data model and provide dashboards and reports to our users using Birst. We provide dashboards and visualizations that provide insights into Field Operations, Customer Satisfaction, Service Quality, Quality of Work, and Field Coordination for the purpose of root cause analysis across these "areas of analysis".,Birst provides a very scalable and high-performance BI Platform. Setting up a new project "space" is simple, fast and easy to manage. Birst provides a deep and comprehensive ETL and query capability to perform most any data transformation. Building out Dashboards is easy. Building new reports with the Visualization tool is easy and powerful.,More visualization options and smarter 'auto' generated views. Predictive modeling. More contemporary look and feel to the Admin portal using HTML 5.,7,Speed and agility Decreased deployment time and risk Increased adoption, usage and self-service,8Birst is the best tool we found to meet our needs, but has some significant issuesWe use Birst in addition to a separate data warehouse to ingest Google Analytics, event tracking, operational and sales data. We build reports that are distributed across the company by giving everyone a Birst account and having them log in to view relevant dashboard. There are two use cases: 1. The Data warehouse team has modeled the data into a data mart in the data warehouse. In this case we use a Live Access connection to create a report. 2. The data warehouse team has not modeled the data in the data warehouse yet, so the data is ingested with Birst Connect and then transformed with Birst ETL. The data is reloaded through Birst Connect by kicking off automated Windows Task Scheduler.,Easy to create visualizations Very attractive visualizations Connect to many data sources,Terrible documentation and training resources. Sometimes not enough documentation, sometimes it is WRONG! Often we are told to post our issues to the Birst user forum, as if we should be able to figure out our own problems rather than Birst troubleshooting their own product. Sometimes when there are bugs we are told they will only be addressed by voting on them as feature requests, not addressing the bugs. Some feature requests are years old. When using Birst Connect there is a lot that can go wrong on the Birst side of things completely out of our control, and then we are waiting on technical support to resolve. In particular the space can get "locked" if we try to process while it's already processing. I've also experienced where a staging table was deleted in the user interface, but not the backend of the tool, so it failed until the support team manually removed it. Birst technical support is very weak. They often do not answer the phone, and they always ask to go on a call with you after submitting a ticket, no matter if we've provided extensive documentation within the ticket. The ETL features are incredibly hard to use, though very powerful. As someone who has an understanding of database theory I found the fact that the training refused to teach to "primary keys" and "foreign keys" and "facts and dimensions" and instead made us learn a whole different terminology of "levels" and "hierarchies" very confusing. Processing is entirely mysterious to us. There's little explanation of what is happening when it is processing, which makes it hard to troubleshoot when things go wrong. Terrible or non-existent error messages. When a scripted source fails to execute the log in the scripted source doesn't even generate an error message. We've also found that the error message "data format is not correct" doesn't actually mean that, but can mean a whole bunch of other things related to the model. Birst does not allow snowflake data structure more than 2 levels deep. This is a problem as our data warehouse is a snowflake, so we always have to flatten our tables. Even though the visualization tool makes nice views, it is not as robust as even years old versions of Tableau. In particular I've found I often export my data out of Birst and into Tableau when I want to visualize two or more attributes. Birst sends its users to the user Forum, but half of the issues on there have not been resolved. There's a person whose job it is to reply whether the users have figured out a solution. Why is this our responsibility to figure out their tool? Very, very little support for using Live Access to connect to data. Some of the Birst support staff don't even know how to use it.,3,Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports Increased adoption, usage and self-service Other,GoodData, Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, Domo, Looker, TIBCO BusinessConnect, Pentaho and Datameer Analytics Solutions,10,Yes,3,YesBirst for allBIRST is being used mainly by Sales, Finance and Accounting teams. We have embedded BIRST Dashboards into Salesforce pages as well as created dedicated dashboard tabs within Salesforce.com for single sign on. Dashboards and Reports built on BIRST mainly serve for Pipeline and Sales Analytics. Due to the nature of BIRST's unique offering (BI+Database on Cloud), we are able to expand and propose various solutions using BIRST. We are also constantly working towards migrating various silo solutions that are built on Excel/MS-Access into BIRST platform.,Competitive pricing for the features that are offered: We use various two other BI tools for operational reporting and we always have challenges of expanding it for larger audience due to the licensing cost. BIRST scores very well in the pricing department, with 1/5th of the price compared to other tools, this is an easy decision maker to recommend BIRST. Being in Cloud: The strength of BIRST is that the product features that are made available but requires zero installation and administration. The overall support resources needed to maintain and manage the application has drastically come down. Ease of use and integration with other data sources: Senior management leaders need quite a lot of information, in an easily readable format without having to go into multiple places. With Dashboard 2.0 and Visualizer, the contents now can be presented very intuitively and visually appealing. Users can also subscribe for certain reports to be delivered at various intervals. With multiple data connectivity options, we have successfully integrated many core systems under one single reporting umbrella.,Better MS-Office Integration: Almost all the Business users have invested in MS-Office products such as Excel, Word and Powerpoint. Currently there is very limited options available for taking data from BIRST and making it to work with these products. More export options would be a welcome feature among these users. Also the ability to connect to BIRST and refresh/download certain reports through excel would be very helpful. Powerful Report Designer: The current version of Designer and Visualizer lack certain features to create Complex reports. Few examples are, ability to create multiple tables in a report, link data from two or more queries and be able to show as one data, templates, free style reports rather than just using different bands etc. A light weight client tool for designer reports will help in faster turn around development time as the current web based interface is slow in designing reports for customized layout options. Custom forms / write ability: Dashboard 2.0 has evolved greatly. If custom forms can be created for users to enter certain inputs, this will make Dashboards even more interactive. Just a wish list. Live connectivity to Salesforce.com: This will be a very good feature to introduce especially for Sales team. We have been asked at least 1000 times if there is a way to make the data more live or real time.,9,Speed and agility,Business Objects and IBM Cognos TM1,9,No,Price Product Features Analyst Reports
Windows, Mac
Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
TRScore

Birst Reviews

Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 76 of 178 Birst ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 76)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
July 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst, a data visualization tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Ability to connect with multiple data sources
Ability to filter data for specific customers
Ability to handle a large amount of data
Read this authenticated review
Sean Keesler profile photo
March 23, 2018

User Review: "Birst in eLearning Sales and Ops"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Birst doesn't make any guesses about what you want your data model to look like. You can merge data sources and create derivative data products to your hearts content.
Read Sean Keesler's full review
David Strutt profile photo
March 21, 2018

User Review: "BIrst - meeting challenges head on."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Variety of connection methods.
Read David Strutt's full review
Robin Filan profile photo
March 15, 2018

Review: "Birst is the best tool we found to meet our needs, but has some significant issues"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Easily able to access the data and bring it in. The challenge is modeling it once it's in.
Read Robin Filan's full review
Krishnakumar Govindhan profile photo
March 07, 2018

User Review: "Birst for all"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
This is one area where no tools can match BIRST. There are plenty of connectivity options through built-in connectors or BIRST connect. Scripting allows the data transformation to any level.
Read Krishnakumar Govindhan's full review
Marci Augustine profile photo
March 07, 2018

Birst Review: "Solid tool with opportunites to become even better."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
I like that Birst can connect to multiple data sources. I do not like that in a multiple DS scenario, Live Access cannot be used. The data modeling administration is very clunky and counter intuitive if you have any experience with traditional data modeling tools and practices.
Read Marci Augustine's full review
Rohit Acharya profile photo
February 20, 2018

User Review: "Birst debunked."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

4
  • In comparison to other BI tools, Birst can connect only to a limited number of data sources (the most prominent ones)
  • Only standard star schema can be built within birst making it highly de-normalized.
  • Live access is buggy and slow
  • No many to many relationship can be established because of the star schema
  • Performance of report rendering decreases as data scales
  • Birst has good data refinement practices which helps to maintain standard definitions.
Read Rohit Acharya's full review
Dhiraj Kumar profile photo
February 16, 2018

User Review: "Birst at its Best"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Datasource connectivity on headless mode is always 100% if the database is up; I have not seen any downtime from Birst's end.
Read Dhiraj Kumar's full review
Josh Beam profile photo
March 19, 2018

Review: "HarvestBI - Leveraging Birst to Improve an Industry"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
The BirstConnect product gives us tremendous flexibility in the data sources we are able to connect to. One of the beautiful examples of this is a customer who has a legacy ERP system, a homegrown data warehouse and a modern ERP system. We were able to utilize BirstConnect and the data mapping tool to merge all three data sources into a single reporting engine, something they had previously not been able to do.
Read Josh Beam's full review
Stephane F. Tremblay profile photo
March 19, 2018

Birst Review: "Self-service analytics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
Because of the ability to connect to multiple data sources and the to handle data complexity.
Read Stephane F. Tremblay's full review
David Pearlman profile photo
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Birstarific"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
No issues from a data connectivity lens. We are able to connect to multiple SFDC instances, across different data types, and aggregate the data quickly.
Read David Pearlman's full review
Lee Ann Benson profile photo
March 16, 2018

Birst: "Multi-tenant review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
JDBC connectors are very flexible. They are more difficult to set up than Tableau but once you have figured out the syntax once it is easily repeatable.
Read Lee Ann Benson's full review
Ash Bosworth profile photo
March 09, 2018

"Pulse Analytics use of Birst - Review March 2018"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Ability to connect to multiple data sources, ability to handle data complexity, data aggregation, data refinement
Read Ash Bosworth's full review
Jaya Bhardwaj profile photo
March 06, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Data Integration

9
I have given this rating as I have used only one method to load data on Birst which is Birst Connect, and this works like charm in our case most of the time. In our case we do not own the customer's data, so Birst Connect solved a big use case of data transfer from one network to another in a seamless and secure manner. I like their security team, run by an enthusiastic set of people who make sure that enough security vulnerability testing is done, and they also publish results with their customers.
Read Jaya Bhardwaj's full review
Jeremy Schichor profile photo
March 01, 2018

Review: "The more complicated your needs, the harder it is to use Birst."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
Birst integrates with Salesforce and CSV files sufficiently to meet our needs. I have not tried to integrate with other data sources, and I don't see how it would be possible to do so, either.
Read Jeremy Schichor's full review
Sanja Prstojevic profile photo
March 01, 2018

User Review: "Birst - 9 years after we met"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Connects to different data sources - DBs, txt files, Excel files, provides connectors for SFDC and other SaaS apps as well as Live Access. It supports data aggregation and handles data complexity and refinement very well. We would like to see some improvements in data upload performances.
Read Sanja Prstojevic's full review
Scott Rajeski profile photo
February 28, 2018

User Review: "Birsting w/ Data Analytics!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Data tie ins were difficult...
Read Scott Rajeski's full review
Raj Srinivasan profile photo
February 16, 2018

Birst Review: "Our first cloud Data Warehouse"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
ETL is one of its core strengths and provides a good array of connectivity to all cloud applications including native data stores.
Read Raj Srinivasan's full review
Patrick O Leary profile photo
February 15, 2018

Review: "BIRST is an ok MIS product not a high performance OEM product"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
We had a need to connect to Apache Drill, which was solved with Live Access, however the performance of Live Access was low and we've spent close to a year to waiting to get BIRST direct access working.
Read Patrick O Leary's full review
Paula Revell profile photo
February 15, 2018

User Review: "Birst Forward"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
When filtering on Birst Dashboards we have saved a huge amount of time when comparing to Excel spreadsheets that we used historically. It has been great for us to be able to integrate multiple data sources into Birst.
Read Paula Revell's full review
Martin Hollænder profile photo
February 14, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

6
Good multiple data sources features. However, the data connectivity tools need more work. It could be easier to manage.
Read Martin Hollænder's full review
John Laws profile photo
February 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst Delivers as Promised!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Birst's strength is connectivity. It's abiltiy to connect to multiple data sources ad handle data complexity was a major reason Apex chose to partner with Birst. The back-end data aggregation and predictive capabilities along with the platform support makes Birst a great choice.

Since purchase Apex has been able to connect to a variety of data sources to incorporate data into the Birst universe. This makes standard and customer report delivery easier to build and manage.

Cannot say enough about the responsiveness of Birst Support. Our work with Birst is primarily pushing the tool to the limits and Birst Support has always been there for direction, research and recommendations.
Read John Laws's full review
Mitchell Lawlor-O'Neill profile photo
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Pulse Analytics and Birst"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Birst is continually adding functionality to connect to external systems. There is the ability to connect multiple data sources. Excellent features for manipulating data during ETL.
Read Mitchell Lawlor-O'Neill's full review
Donald Woodruff profile photo
March 12, 2018

User Review: "Friend of Birst"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Works well but very complex system.
Read Donald Woodruff's full review
No photo available
March 23, 2018

Review: "BIRSTed ahead of the competition during the vetting process!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
In production, we only use one type of connectivity (database), but in development, we used some of the other types (file). When new major updates to the platform come out we need to update the connectivity software on our end (update our installed BirstConnect and jnlp files). Those only happen once or twice a year, but if we miss that or fail to test it properly there can me some minor issues. Not major, but enough that I would not feel comfortable giving connectivity a full 10.

We do keep an eye on the connection on a daily basis due to some issues we had with the cloud early on during implementation, but those problems all seem to be resolved. There is still an occasional issue where variables in a space passed to the connection query are lost (or even the full schema), but they are few and far between.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (67)
6.7
Customizable dashboards (76)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (59)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (77)
7.4
Formatting capabilities (76)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.4
Report sharing and collaboration (67)
7.3
Publish to Web (51)
7.8
Publish to PDF (66)
8.0
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (70)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (56)
7.0
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (68)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (67)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (67)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (51)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.6
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.4

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Videos (3)

Watch Birst Networked BI - no more silos.

Watch The VP of Supply Chain at Citrix Systems on their Birst-architected digital supply chain

Watch CIO of CPG Reckitt Benckiser on Birst

Birst Downloadables

Birst Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish