TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gv/rb/XI7SESF1B71F.JPEGBirst in eLearning Sales and OpsWe use Birst internally to analyze sales and marketing data to improve our marketing efforts (ROI on digital marketing spend) and to provide insights to our eLearning operations team. Our marketing team analyzes time series of marketing spend vs the revenue received attributable to that spend and adjusts digital campaigns to optimize ROI. The operations team extract student engagement data from our LMS and identifies students at risk of not completing their coursework in a timely fashion so that they can engage with them to identify issues and assist.,Birst is an platform that provides connectors to some of the applications we use, but also allows us to bring in data from disparate systems to perform ETL and integrate all of the data for analyses. It makes no assumptions about your data, which is good for us, as we have a lot of customizations to many of our systems. Birst is making inroads towards a more modern UI.,The Birst product uses it's own query language (BQL) which we feel has been implemented in different ways in different parts of the product. This makes learning the entire product more difficult than it ought to be. The Birst idea of grains and hierarchies is hard to get a foothold on. I don't think I completely get it yet.,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,,9BIrst - meeting challenges head on.We are an OEM of Birst. We embed Birst into our SaaS offering. Our SaaS offering is a mobile application that allows users to fill out advanced forms for data collection on activities they are performing during there work. We collect, extract and transform the data into a Birst data model and provide dashboards and reports to our users using Birst. We provide dashboards and visualizations that provide insights into Field Operations, Customer Satisfaction, Service Quality, Quality of Work, and Field Coordination for the purpose of root cause analysis across these "areas of analysis".,Birst provides a very scalable and high-performance BI Platform. Setting up a new project "space" is simple, fast and easy to manage. Birst provides a deep and comprehensive ETL and query capability to perform most any data transformation. Building out Dashboards is easy. Building new reports with the Visualization tool is easy and powerful.,More visualization options and smarter 'auto' generated views. Predictive modeling. More contemporary look and feel to the Admin portal using HTML 5.,7,Speed and agility Decreased deployment time and risk Increased adoption, usage and self-service,8Birst, a data visualization toolWe use Birst a number of different ways. The first is to help our customer visualize their data. A majority of customers do not have the expertise to build these reports and visualizations so have done this for them. Our customers can use these reports to better understand their products, how they behave and function. We also use Birst internally to monitor how many devices have been deployed on our networks. We can monitor device transactions, API calls and much more. Within our organization, many departments use the Birst. From Sales, Customer Success, Product, marketing, and engineering.,Customization of reports Embedded in existing dashboard Scalability of reports and amount of data it can process Variety of visualizations/graphs to view data Variety of filters to drill down to a specific set of data,Birst prices are fairly expensive. License plus cost of users can add up pretty quickly Depending on the size of data, rendering of reports can take a little bit. Need faster processing of data Takes a little time to understand how to build reports, not the most intuitive UI,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,Google Analytics, Tableau Online and IBM Analytics Engine,10BIRSTed ahead of the competition during the vetting process!We have embedded Birst into our SaaS offering to be used by our customers as one of their reporting options. We have embedded it both in minor dashlets on single record pages for a quick view of how records are doing and as a larger dashboard for more details and advanced reports. We also analyze some of our own statistics in Birst.,Customer adoption and success are important to Birst. They have positions dedicated to our success, worked to making sure we knew how to solve our problems once we were past implementation, and have regular contact even after. Purchasing the TAM program increases that. Attractive reports that render quickly.,Using the cloud offering we have had spaces malfunction, especially if we try to upload data and process them on a frequent basis. They seemed to have fixed this with one of their most recent releases and with us reducing the frequency we upload data (twice a day rather than every hour), but there are still occasional issues. Learning curve - Trying to figure out how to do things in a new system that I could do in seconds in SQL is a bit frustrating. The help, community, and our TAM rep helps with this, but it still happens.,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports Increased adoption, usage and self-service,TIBCO Jaspersoft, Windward Reporting and Document Generation Solution, Yellowfin, Looker, Yurbi, Izenda, Microsoft Power BI, Sisense, OpenText Actuate Information Hub, Information Builders WebFOCUS, ClearStory Data, Pentaho, GoodData and Tableau Online,8,Not SureBirst reviewWe used Birst as a visualization tool for selling our analytical services to our clients. It was used by multiple people internally (data models, visualizations, and analysis) and externally by clients.,The flow of visualizations.,Latency Ease of use Ability to learn how to quickly use the tool Difficulty in the integration of multiple data sources (Excel, JSON, web),2,Speed and agility,Microsoft Power BI,3
Windows, Mac
Birst
176 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
TRScore

Birst Reviews

Birst
176 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 95 of 176 Birst ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 95)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
March 23, 2018

User Review: "Birst in eLearning Sales and Ops"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are looking for "Instant BI", Birst isn't that tool.
If you want to roll your own solution using a single application to perform all of your ETL, reporting/dashboard, like to get deep in the weeds and have a lot of control of how your data is processed, this is going to make you smile.
Read Sean Keesler's full review
March 21, 2018

User Review: "BIrst - meeting challenges head on."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Birst is a great tool for supporting well-governed analytics data modeling. It has a good balance between the effort required by an IT/ETL specialist and business analysts and reports writers.
Birst does not shy away from the challenges of data governance and stewardship vs the dangers of "quick and easy" departmental or project specific analytic projects where business rules are "invented" vs managed and data cube chaos can quickly become a big IT problem.
Read David Strutt's full review
July 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst, a data visualization tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Birst is great for visualizing large amounts of data. They provide a number of different visuals to help better understand data. They are very good at descriptive data, however, if you would like to get into predictive or preemptive analytics, another tool might be better suited.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2018

Review: "BIRSTed ahead of the competition during the vetting process!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Processing your own well-defined datasets seems to work well. Trying to process more dynamic sets where the data is not well defined (customer defined fields) is not impossible, but takes a lot more work arounds and tricks.

Working with trend data works well. Trying to report on real-time operational data is more tricky due to the time it takes to process your space. I have not used some of their direct connection offerings that might help alleviate that though.
Read this authenticated review
March 30, 2018

"Birst review"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Not appropriate for citizen development.
Read this authenticated review
March 15, 2018

Review: "Birst is the best tool we found to meet our needs, but has some significant issues"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's not like Tableau, it's a whole BI platform to combine data from lots of sources. It does that better than a lot of other tools and has a good method for distribution. The learning curve is VERY high.
Read Robin Filan's full review
March 07, 2018

User Review: "Birst for all"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

BIRST is very well suited for connecting and reporting on Cloud based systems. With some limitations and challenges, BIRST can be made as an Enterprise Reporting tool with very minimal cost. If someone is looking for a proven BI tool with low TCO, BIRST will be in Top 3 list.
Read Krishnakumar Govindhan's full review
March 07, 2018

Birst Review: "Solid tool with opportunites to become even better."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Birst is very appropriate for companies that have a low to mid-level of technical sophistication with data preparation, but have a high need for visibility and distribution. I think that it *can* become a good option for mid-sized companies for whom large scale BI implementations like Cognos or MicroStrategies are not practical, or in our case, even relevant, but it can be frustrating for those who have a high level of technical experience with data warehouse development as the tool is very specific and has a fairly steep learning curve, and the technical support resources don't always seem to have the appropriate level of expertise to deal with advanced users.
Read Marci Augustine's full review
February 20, 2018

User Review: "Birst debunked."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Appropriate scenarios
  • Birst is best suited for canned report or standard MIS reporting.
  • Email based reporting
  • Birst can also be suited for management reporting, live tracking, alerts, and operations reporting (with a limited data set)
  • Financial reporting based on time (with a limited data set)
  • More employees need access to data
  • Poor data warehouse infrastructure

Less appropriate scenarios
  • For merchandising companies where the level of detail involves a lot of rows.
  • Multiple data sources which increases load at backend
  • International users outside US
  • Decisions had to be made real time and faster
  • More dependency on customer service
  • Excel or flat file based analytics
  • External Input is frequently required in reports
  • Interactive dashboarding
  • Advanced analytics involving model building.
Read Rohit Acharya's full review
February 16, 2018

User Review: "Birst at its Best"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would say when it comes to building a report with the data from the database and data from an Excel sheet, Birst makes it easy to blend both the data with ease to operate on the data. Birst should also focus on implementing new connectors for Spark, Scala and other streamlined APIs which can help in building a real-time dashboard.

Read Dhiraj Kumar's full review
March 19, 2018

Review: "HarvestBI - Leveraging Birst to Improve an Industry"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Birst is a fantastic tool for quick decisions and big picture analytics. The ability to build dashboards and dashlets allows for significant amounts of data being presented on mobile or full-size devices. The challenge comes with deep analytics. While details can be provided on the dashboards or via reports, these are not always easily manipulated in the same as say an Excel sheet.
Read Josh Beam's full review
March 19, 2018

Birst Review: "Self-service analytics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Appropriate:


- To provide self-service analytics to our customers, its embedding capabilities, self-services tools and ETL capabilities.


Less appropriate:


- The platform has the disadvantage of its advantages, it does many things for you but not always to your liking so we sometimes had to bypass Birst and work with the DB directly for instance. We also faced challenges to make the platform fit in our context using streaming data sources and the delivery of a single solution into different customers environment.

Read Stephane F. Tremblay's full review
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Birstarific"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Birst is well suited for companies looking to automate pipeline /activity reporting especially for companies that don't have complicated backend systems. We have a "ninja" at D&B who's well versed within Birst which helps a ton. Development is performed by him / his team and we QA and develop new use cases.
Read David Pearlman's full review
March 16, 2018

Birst: "Multi-tenant review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Birst is well suited for multi-tenant, multi-database systems where data integration is important. It is also great for business users that don't have reporting development skills.
Read Lee Ann Benson's full review
March 09, 2018

"Pulse Analytics use of Birst - Review March 2018"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited to provide quick and easy development, quick and easy deployment, powerful data processing capabilities.

Less well suited to time-critical reporting due to current issues with Birst server performance (although this is being addressed).
Read Ash Bosworth's full review
March 06, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This tool is good for internal use but I will not recommend for ERP type of use.
Read Jaya Bhardwaj's full review
March 01, 2018

Review: "The more complicated your needs, the harder it is to use Birst."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Birst is excellent for simple reports backed by a straightforward data structure. It is less helpful for complex reports with highly permutative prompts, based on a complicated data structure with poor data hygiene.
Read Jeremy Schichor's full review
March 01, 2018

User Review: "Birst - 9 years after we met"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is a very good tool in general. Probably, works better when you refresh your data once a day than when you do it very often (every 15 min or less).
Read Sanja Prstojevic's full review
February 28, 2018

User Review: "Birsting w/ Data Analytics!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for daily sales and order tracking.
Read Scott Rajeski's full review
February 16, 2018

Birst Review: "Our first cloud Data Warehouse"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are an SMB to medium sized company that is starting a BI practice in the IT space, Birst is a great fit. Not too many bells and whistles but does help you achieve simple outcomes very effectively.

Birst is not a tool for large scale reporting needs. I would not consider birst if i had to do advanced reporting and if having an extensive access to visualization options is important.
Read Raj Srinivasan's full review
February 15, 2018

Review: "BIRST is an ok MIS product not a high performance OEM product"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

BIRST is suited for organizations that are MIS driven with internal consumption. Where the end result can be clunky and acceptable.

BIRST is not suitable for end users that are external where the level of quality needs to be higher, the pace by which changes are handled impact the ability for an organization to commit to customers.
Read Patrick O Leary's full review
February 15, 2018

User Review: "Birst Forward"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I have enjoyed learning the capabilities of Birst. Birst is beginning to assist with some of our Business decisions. We regularly create reports in Excel to manage our decisions, but have now replicated in Birst.
Where we have requests for ad-hoc reporting, it can take some time to set up the required reports, when the report may never be required again.
Read Paula Revell's full review
February 14, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you need a end-to-end BI product with a lot of features and capability for making custom reports, Birst is great. However your company needs to be of a certain size and there are a lot of other similar products out there that are at least as good. An important note is to try different products, really be clear on that you need and not choose Birst lightly.
Read Martin Hollænder's full review
February 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst Delivers as Promised!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As an OEM customer Apex uses Birst to deliver our BI solutions globally. Birst has the legs to get the job done on scale with a flexible UI/UX and multi-language capabilities.

Birst Support has been outstanding to work with as we tackle OEM projects new to both our company and Birst. Work arounds and enhancements have assisted Apex in pushing out a high quality branded product to thousands of customer.

Birst's Direct Connect product provides for real-time reporting; which is a nice add on to the DWH based BI. Support of embedded reporting and SSO makes Birst easier to integrate and support.

The addition of Mobile delivered BI to our Customers in an entirely new way - anywhere anytime.

We are very satisfied with how well Birst has preformed and look forward what is to come in 2018.
Read John Laws's full review
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Pulse Analytics and Birst"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Very easy and intuitive to use, however lacking some features and has some quality of life issues for everyday use
Read Mitchell Lawlor-O'Neill's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (67)
6.7
Customizable dashboards (76)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (59)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (77)
7.5
Formatting capabilities (76)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.5
Report sharing and collaboration (67)
7.3
Publish to Web (51)
7.8
Publish to PDF (66)
8.0
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (70)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (56)
7.1
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (68)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (67)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (67)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (51)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.7
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.4

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Videos (3)

Watch Birst Networked BI - no more silos.

Watch The VP of Supply Chain at Citrix Systems on their Birst-architected digital supply chain

Watch CIO of CPG Reckitt Benckiser on Birst

Birst Downloadables

Birst Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish