TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gv/rb/XI7SESF1B71F.JPEGebury birst reviewBirst is being used as one of the primary business intelligence tools. We have been aggressive in our implementation for the last year, bringing on 3 different business units with the rest waiting on their turn to add data into Birst. Birst is an incredibly powerful tool when used correctly.,Invests back into the product, to improve the user experience. Listens to its community to help drive the future of the product. Good user base to help with issues and ways to deal with real time issues.,Training material online, having such a forward thinking company with such a backward approach to training material and documentation is a strange mix. Not enough experienced people with technical implementation experience. When questions are asked to Birst people their typical answer is "Have you looked through the documentation?" Translation, I don't know the answer, and I don't know off hand anyone else that does either.,10,10,Very,1,9Cloud Analytics the PioneerImplemented Salesforce Solution Accelarator v2.0 for numerous customers,Agility and speed to deploy a datamart or data warehouse very quickly. Drill down and drill through capability from summary to detail level data. Easy Integration with Salesforce.com.,More visibility into the backend, troubleshooting still has a large split still between support and professional services. Improved multideveloper support (check-in and check-out capability). Better versioning of metadata.,9,Increased visibility to data issues snapshot based analysis better visualizations than salesforce.com reporting,,10,10,7,8Birst is a good cloud-based platform for analyticsBirst is used two different ways: embedded into the cloud-based software we provide our customers, and internally to monitor utilization of the software and to track marketing campaigns.,The integration of all the elements of a BI platform into a single tool is a big advantage. All the components are tightly coupled (ETL, business layer, report creation, dashboards), and that makes it easier to manage. The fact that it is based on a cloud platform makes deployment amazingly simple. The appliance version can be run on AWS, which gives access to all the capabilities of the Amazon platform. The move towards HTML5 is very effective, the reports and dashboards look good and are based on responsive design.,Coming from a traditional data warehousing background, the data modeling in Birst is difficult to understand. The use of hierarchies, measures, "targeting" of fields needs some time to get used to. The transition from the Flash-based tools to the HTML5 tools has not been smooth, and some features still only exist into the Flash tools. Maps are not working well at all. It is possible to use the Geo Maps and Bing Maps in the Flash-based tools, but only Bing Maps in HTML5 tools. This is very limiting, and the features available for formatting, adding bubbles and labels, positioning etc. are weak.,8,GoodData,Pentaho,Qlik Sense,QlikView,birt,10,Internally, 12 users are viewing metrics and dashboards. In the embedded software, 30+ users and growing.,9,Implemented in-house,7,4Flexible end-to-end solution3coast began tool review and selection for a new business consulting partnership that was taking shape about 3.5 years ago. I reviewed what was available in the market at the time, and ultimately selected Birst for one reason: time to delivery. It alleviated the pains traditionally associated with gathering company- or enterprise-wide data streams and turning them into scorecard and actionable information. The drilling capabilities out of the box made me wonder why I had been building SSRS reports all of these years. We immediately signed up as a partner and haven't looked back. I haven't manually built a data warehouse or been forced to string together reports for real insight since, and implementations for other companies still see a huge rampon the time to delivery of a full-function solution.,Automated Data Warehouse Single interface for admin, design, and consumption Reports/dashboards are dynamic and aware of model navigation,UI is slowly getting sexy, but didn't start there Modelling is limited to single user. Waiting for multiuser concurrency in this area.,7,N/A - see below,10,Internally we've adopted the product company-wide. Executives are doing cost analysis and offering reviews. Staffing department is using it to track phone usage and effectiveness. Services department is tracking their ticket queues for response time and resource utilization.,9,8,8A BI tool that actually delivers!Dashboard presentation and updates. Allows the user to "run" varying reports and see data based on comprehensive prompts. Reduces the time necessary to run "more" reports. Saves time, improves accuracy and consistency in reviewing data. Designing reports. Simple reports take minutes yet offer extreme flexibility when used within the dashboard. Reduces response time to internal and external clients. Data Management. The process to setup and manage data requires planning and accuracy. Because of this, data is stable.,Copying Dashboard Prompts (filters). While the product has very flexible prompts and the ability to add them readily, you can not copy prompts from one dashboard page to another. You have to either copy the dashboard or manually add the prompts. User Management: The system provides a robust set of security layers for data, users, etc. For user security, the process requires more screens than it appears to need.,8,,9,Dashboard view of pharmacy utilization trends for clients Analytics for key performance indicators Auditing of pharmacy utilization on behalf of clients,,Implemented in-house Professional services company,7,In-person training Self-taught,8,Yes and no. Some aspects of the reporting and dashboard were easy to learn on your own. The data management side was another issue. There is no way I would have been able to setup the data side without training and assistance. This may be more of knowledge issue on my end, but even with others, the data/back end side required training.,Yes,8,9
Windows, Mac
Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
TRScore

Birst Reviews

Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 39 of 178 Birst ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 39)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Stephen Phelps profile photo
April 24, 2017

"ebury birst review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RJ Corcuera profile photo
November 18, 2016

Birst Review: "Cloud Analytics the Pioneer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
N/A as I do implementations of Birst.
Read RJ Corcuera's full review
Eric Lagace profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "Birst is a good cloud-based platform for analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
It is easy to deploy, making changes is easy, and as a result maintenance is inexpensive. The upcoming features (maps, additional HTML) will improve the capabilities and make it even better.
Read Eric Lagace's full review
Price Hatfield profile photo
May 01, 2016

Birst Review: "Flexible end-to-end solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Administration overhead is minimal and keeps TCO down. Product flexibility actually lends toward a gradual replacement of other existing architecture if present.
Read Price Hatfield's full review
Timothy Humphreys profile photo
April 13, 2016

Birst Review: "A BI tool that actually delivers!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
After using multiple BI and reporting tools, Birst has become our go to system for any analytics. With the system's abilities and flexibility, the system is unparalleled in today's market for our needs.
Read Timothy Humphreys's full review
Tim Welch profile photo
February 11, 2016

User Review: "Birst almost live access"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Currently we have very in depth dashboards created in Birst, to rewrite these in an alternative product would incur a large overhead in cost and time that would need to be considered in any decision tom move away from Birst.
Read Tim Welch's full review
Nir Carasso profile photo
February 04, 2016

Birst Review: "Base jump into BI cloud"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Price is reasonable. service is good. My customers consume Birst reports and happy with the service they get.
Read Nir Carasso's full review
Deborah Stillwell Judy profile photo
October 01, 2015

User Review: "Birsting with BI Success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
It's a perfect fit for our organization! We have been able to reasonably increase our licensing to grow with our organization.
Read Deborah Stillwell Judy's full review
Chris Williams profile photo
April 13, 2016

Birst Review: "New User"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

Still using product.
Read Chris Williams's full review
Brian Flood profile photo
August 19, 2015

Birst Review: "We've never looked back"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
We have been able to overcome any of the drawbacks we've found with Birst easily and it has fulfilled almost all of our analytic needs to date. Having seen their roadmap it would be highly unlikely we would move away from this platform any time soon. You simply can't beat the functionality that Birst provides for the price and the things I see coming out of the company solidify that our decision to choose Birst was the best possible choice. We have never regretted the decision.
Read Brian Flood's full review
Scott Pellerito profile photo
September 30, 2015

Birst Review: "Onward and upward"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
The shared investment we have with Birst will keep us a customer for the foreseeable future.
Read Scott Pellerito's full review
Daniel Kayce profile photo
June 05, 2015

User Review: "Got Birst?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
This is a quick and easy decision due to the selling points I discussed in the previous question. Swift is confident that we can keep up with the demand for reports with a very lean BI team.
Read Daniel Kayce's full review
Tim Johnson profile photo
May 05, 2015

User Review: "Birst BI capabilities assessment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
We need to continue to push and get customers using the tool.. Internal pilot is going pretty well.
Read Tim Johnson's full review
John Hermes profile photo
May 05, 2015

Birst Review: "Go Big!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
While the initial process of implementing Birst is complicated and time consuming, Birst has already proved to be very helpful to our organization. Also, the Birst CSM team is awesome!
Read John Hermes's full review
George Sanchez profile photo
March 13, 2015

Review: "Birst, a dashboard tool for any size company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
Performance could be better. At peak times, the processing seems slow. However, the flexibility of the dashboards is a strong positive. Overall, it is a good investment. Our users find it easy to use and use it daily to retrieve needed information. We continue to build on the platform and provide new dashboards.
Read George Sanchez's full review
Frederik Oebius profile photo
May 05, 2015

"Birst review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Brett Mooberry profile photo
November 12, 2014

Birst Review: "A Great Product with Even Better Customer Service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
It does everything we need it to and more at a very reasonable price. The customer service is excellent and well worth the money.
Read Brett Mooberry's full review
Scott Gabriel profile photo
August 30, 2013

Birst Review: "Great Product with Great Support"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We already renewed.
Read Scott Gabriel's full review
Dana Pace profile photo
December 10, 2013

Review: "When it comes to results and customer service, Birst is second to none."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
As I mentioned before, the customer service with Birst is first rate. When we have a problem, they are right there alongside us.
Read Dana Pace's full review
Jon DeAngelis profile photo
December 06, 2013

"Birst Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

7
Most likely renew, although not my decision. Have reserved positive internal/external feedback
Read Jon DeAngelis's full review
Tyler Adams profile photo
November 29, 2013

Birst Review: "Fantastic BI Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
It's the right solution that services our business needs while alleviating our pain points.
Read Tyler Adams's full review
Dan Zaelit profile photo
November 29, 2013

Birst Review: "Outstanding Business Intelligence Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Great product with great support.
Read Dan Zaelit's full review
Scott LeFante profile photo
November 22, 2013

User Review: "Two Thumbs up for Birst!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
The product is fabulous. We do not need to maintain any hardware, the service is extremely reliable, fast and scalable. The tool is robust for even the most complex reports, but yet fairly simple to administer and develop the reports we need. The generation of these reports and use of the tool has a tremendous impact on our day to day business, and on our customers' business. Having a tool that is flexible, yet affordable is a key factor in our ability to continue using an application year over year.
Read Scott LeFante's full review
Pankaj Nimje profile photo
November 21, 2013

User Review: "Birst"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

7
Quick turnaround of management reporting request. Deep data analysis using Birst
Read Pankaj Nimje's full review
Alvaro Pombo profile photo
September 05, 2013

Birst Review: "An OEM View"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
As long as their product innovation continues and our current implementation is supported I don't see a reason not to.
Read Alvaro Pombo's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (67)
6.7
Customizable dashboards (76)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (59)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (77)
7.4
Formatting capabilities (76)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.4
Report sharing and collaboration (67)
7.3
Publish to Web (51)
7.8
Publish to PDF (66)
8.0
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (70)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (56)
7.0
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (68)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (67)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (67)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (51)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.6
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.4

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Videos (3)

Watch Birst Networked BI - no more silos.

Watch The VP of Supply Chain at Citrix Systems on their Birst-architected digital supply chain

Watch CIO of CPG Reckitt Benckiser on Birst

Birst Downloadables

Birst Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish