TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gv/rb/XI7SESF1B71F.JPEGSolid tool with opportunites to become even better.Birst is our enterprise-wide BI visualization and distribution platform. Our company has 4 different revenue models ranging from big buy advertising, subscription based advertising, affiliate / performance based revenue as well as (digital) product driven revenue. Nearly every department here uses it for something, though it does not yet solve all problems within most departments. Currently we are able to report and distribute sales numbers to individual account executives as well as provide sales management views across as well as revenue and user across our B2C business lines as well. It solves for reporting automation and some visualization as well as distribution.,For end users, Birst has a friendly UI that allows them to naturally interact with reporting data via web browser. For properly modeled data, the visualizer tool makes it easy do build quick visualizations. Surfacing data on dashboards with global filters allows users the flexibility to view multiple metrics with the same lens.,Data modeling is a particular challenge for both novice and experienced data engineers. The ETL tools are insufficient to meet even 1/2 of our needs, and as a result we have a separate platform for data warehousing and use the back end of Birst solely for data exploration projects. There are occasionally delays in the UI when applying filters that often lead users to think that something is broken when in fact they just need to wait a few more seconds for the UI to change, even to let them know that it's still updating. Customer service, while it has improved, is still poor relative to other vendors that we work with. I often feel that both our CSM and our support technicians are defensive and try to push the responsibility for sub-optimal experiences back on us, and while it sometimes *is* the case that it is an issue on our end, more often it is not and even when it is we shouldn't FEEL like that. None of our other vendors take this approach, and even when the problem is on our end, they support us getting through it in a much less defensive way.,6,Speed and agility Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security Decreased deployment time and risk Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports Increased adoption, usage and self-service,Pentaho, Snowflake, Tableau Server and Tableau Desktop,7,,11,Business analysis Product analysis Marketing analysis Dashboard automation,Google Analytics Premium, Tableau Server, Mixpanel,Yes,Price Product Features Positive Sales Experience with the VendorBirst is the best tool we found to meet our needs, but has some significant issuesWe use Birst in addition to a separate data warehouse to ingest Google Analytics, event tracking, operational and sales data. We build reports that are distributed across the company by giving everyone a Birst account and having them log in to view relevant dashboard. There are two use cases: 1. The Data warehouse team has modeled the data into a data mart in the data warehouse. In this case we use a Live Access connection to create a report. 2. The data warehouse team has not modeled the data in the data warehouse yet, so the data is ingested with Birst Connect and then transformed with Birst ETL. The data is reloaded through Birst Connect by kicking off automated Windows Task Scheduler.,Easy to create visualizations Very attractive visualizations Connect to many data sources,Terrible documentation and training resources. Sometimes not enough documentation, sometimes it is WRONG! Often we are told to post our issues to the Birst user forum, as if we should be able to figure out our own problems rather than Birst troubleshooting their own product. Sometimes when there are bugs we are told they will only be addressed by voting on them as feature requests, not addressing the bugs. Some feature requests are years old. When using Birst Connect there is a lot that can go wrong on the Birst side of things completely out of our control, and then we are waiting on technical support to resolve. In particular the space can get "locked" if we try to process while it's already processing. I've also experienced where a staging table was deleted in the user interface, but not the backend of the tool, so it failed until the support team manually removed it. Birst technical support is very weak. They often do not answer the phone, and they always ask to go on a call with you after submitting a ticket, no matter if we've provided extensive documentation within the ticket. The ETL features are incredibly hard to use, though very powerful. As someone who has an understanding of database theory I found the fact that the training refused to teach to "primary keys" and "foreign keys" and "facts and dimensions" and instead made us learn a whole different terminology of "levels" and "hierarchies" very confusing. Processing is entirely mysterious to us. There's little explanation of what is happening when it is processing, which makes it hard to troubleshoot when things go wrong. Terrible or non-existent error messages. When a scripted source fails to execute the log in the scripted source doesn't even generate an error message. We've also found that the error message "data format is not correct" doesn't actually mean that, but can mean a whole bunch of other things related to the model. Birst does not allow snowflake data structure more than 2 levels deep. This is a problem as our data warehouse is a snowflake, so we always have to flatten our tables. Even though the visualization tool makes nice views, it is not as robust as even years old versions of Tableau. In particular I've found I often export my data out of Birst and into Tableau when I want to visualize two or more attributes. Birst sends its users to the user Forum, but half of the issues on there have not been resolved. There's a person whose job it is to reply whether the users have figured out a solution. Why is this our responsibility to figure out their tool? Very, very little support for using Live Access to connect to data. Some of the Birst support staff don't even know how to use it.,3,Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports Increased adoption, usage and self-service Other,GoodData, Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, Domo, Looker, TIBCO BusinessConnect, Pentaho and Datameer Analytics Solutions,10,,12,Reporting on main business KPI that is too complex to calculate in an self-service analytics tool. Creating high level dashboards for executives. Creating reports with complex business logic so that end users do not have to replicate this logic themselves.,Data discovery on taxonomy data Create attractive dashboards to be exported as PDFs for sales people who will not be using Birst itself.,We would like to be able to connect Birst to Google Sheets so that we can bring data into the models without having to add that data to a database. Apparently this is possible but we haven't done it yet. We would like to be able to connect to an API for reporting, we've only done this once successfully.,Yes,Product Features Prior Experience with the Product,Yes,3,YesBirst ReviewWe use Birst as a value based SaaS platform for our contact center customers. We have more than 100 customers with 130 users on our Birst appliance. They get a BI platform where they can enhance the value of the Miralix contact center solution. Birst covers, among other things,Queue performanceWorkload per hour / quarter-hourLost call overviewService level rateAnswer call rateCustomer wait time overviewAgent performanceWork time overviewAgent behaviorDepartment / address / region performance IVR performanceCost-Benefit Analysis regarding ad-based campaign numbersClosed hours analysis,The multi-tenant capabilities of the product is really great. Its relatively easy go get started with the product. The support is great. The flow of new features and improvements are constant. The customer success program is good.,Its fairly complex for "normal" users to master/use the product (normal being supervisors, IT professionals etc.). The administration part of the product could be better, easier to use and manage.,7,Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,Logi Analytics and QlikView,6,Its faster than the other product I have used, Infosuite.,We don't use the iOS and Android capabilities of Birst, however we plan to.,We don't use data from different sources.,We are running a old version of the Birst appliance. However, the new features of Birst looks easy-to-use and enables ad-hoc repporting on another level.,8,4,2,Are our customers callcenter performaning at a queue level Are our customers callcenter performaning at a agent level Get a structural overview at our customers contactcenter,Birst have enabled our customers to send filter based reports, keeping the number of required reports low For our own CRM system,Microsoft SQL Server,On iOS and Android As embedded web page in our Contactcenter supervisor As a dashboard,Yes,Price Product Features,No,8,Yes,One time I had a system meltdown in a weekend and the support guys in India was wery helpfull and eager the get us up and running again.,The dashboard V2 are very easy to use, drag and drop repporting.,The admin interface Maintenance of the appliance,Yes, but I don't use it,No, having the choce, I don't think we would go with another vendor, Birst provide us with the features our costumers need.Birst almost live accessBirst is used as a delivery mechanism to display data to our client. We collect data on mobile device usage patterns, as well as analyst forecasts across many technology areas, and use Birst to visualise this data via dashboards that clients access from our website.,Connects directly to many types of external data sources, enabling us to plug into data where it already exists Visualiser provides a user friendly interface for non-tech users to build their own databases HTML dashboards look far better now than the original Flash versions,Connectivity between the live sources frequently drops and does not reconnect automatically Cannot add dynamic titles to reports - so although can create a dynamic text box, this title cannot be exported along with the report Designer runs query as soon as an attribute is dropped on screen - would be useful if you know you need to add another 4, to be able to disable the query execution until all items have been added,6,Speed and agility,sql analysis services, Microsoft Power BI and Tableau Desktop,9,Birst is used by several hundred client customers, around 20 internal users, and designed by 3 internal IT Birst admins,5,6,3,5,2,Visualisation of data analysis Presentation of data in visual format for clients, delivered via internet Analysis tool for data held in SQL Analysis Services,Live access connections to SQL Analysis services cubes in MDX and Tabular format using prompts to enable custom searches of data,Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Desktop, Microsoft SQL Server,Basic dashboarding of KPI's Client facing data access,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,VM that is provided is restricted to Windows 2008 - no support for 2012 or higher Cannot integrate with our own host providers as there is no real "install" Permissions didn't seem to integrate with our AD,5,Self-taught,Product is not intuitive, and frequently seems to require clicking back to different pages just to get the product to save recent changes. Support desk are not familiar with using the "Live Connect" method to connect to external data sources, and are more comfortable using the native datawarehouse system, meaning there are times it feels we are the ones telling the support team how to do things.,7,we have learnt that the memory on the appliance server is the crucial specification to address when configuring Birst,No - we have not done any customization to the interface,No - we have not done any custom code,We are looking to configure load balancing across multiple appliance servers via NLB but have not yet implement this,3,Yes,The only time we have felt valued has been at the "Birst Forward" conference in SFO, when we were given the opportunity to meet with more senior development team members who actually seemed to understand our issues. Prior to that, the only exception support has come when issues have been escalated to a level that resulted in staff on the West coast agreeing to phone calls at 5am their time to overlap with the UK,Creating dynamic charts Click through functionality,changing page layouts re-sizing charts dynamic text changing data connections working with external data sources via live connection,6,3,5,SQL SSAS Corporate website,none planned,File import/export ETL tools,5,-,7,5,Number of appliances, and ongoing license fees,Identify what support / user focus groups are available for the people who will actually be using the software,Yes,Better stability of the Live Access connection,unknown,No,No,Additional products, considerations and use cases would be considered if we were evaluating today. At the time it was only a couple of people who chose the product based on one of their specific requirements, and other users / products were then crow-barred into that solution.Birst - 9 years after we metBirst has been used across the organization (SCM & Operations teams ) as well as embedded in SFDC (by Sales team) and exposed as a portal to our partners. We have built different dashboards and alerts that help us with managing our SC business as well as provide order and shipment information to our sales team and partners.,Data/data source import (from different sources DBs, txt and xls files, ....) and setup is very easy and fast Very good Dashboard performances (Dashboards/Dashlets built in Visualizer and Dashboards 2.0 ) Powerful data preparation tools,More stable new releases All modules related to data upload and processing need to be improved to better support more frequent uploads and data processing Prompts creation and maintenance need to be more user-friendly and provide performance improvements Admin module needs improvements in performances as well as data source/catalog maintenance area,7,Speed and agility Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security Decreased deployment time and risk Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports Increased adoption, usage and self-service,Oracle Advanced Analytics and Business Objects SRC,8,Building and delivering BI content using Birst is more efficient than other BI tools.,Some of our users use Birst Mobile but we do not see this as a very frequently used app,We use very large number of different sources and data formats and a common semantic layer allows us to set and combine all these sources very easily.,Birst is trying to track market requirements and has been introducing new tools and functionalities especially in last 5 years. The problem is that in order to get them available on a market as soon as possible, some of them new tools/functionalities either lack some of important features or are not properly tested and sometimes cause more harm than benefits.,7,5,Yes
Windows, Mac
Birst
179 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Birst Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Birst
179 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 78 of 179 Birst ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 78)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Marci Augustine profile photo
January 10, 2019

Birst Review: "Solid tool with opportunites to become even better."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is our enterprise-wide BI visualization and distribution platform. Our company has 4 different revenue models ranging from big buy advertising, subscription based advertising, affiliate / performance based revenue as well as (digital) product driven revenue. Nearly every department here uses it for something, though it does not yet solve all problems within most departments. Currently we are able to report and distribute sales numbers to individual account executives as well as provide sales management views across as well as revenue and user across our B2C business lines as well. It solves for reporting automation and some visualization as well as distribution.
Read Marci Augustine's full review
Robin Filan profile photo
January 08, 2019

Review: "Birst is the best tool we found to meet our needs, but has some significant issues"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Birst in addition to a separate data warehouse to ingest Google Analytics, event tracking, operational and sales data. We build reports that are distributed across the company by giving everyone a Birst account and having them log in to view relevant dashboard.

There are two use cases:

1. The Data warehouse team has modeled the data into a data mart in the data warehouse. In this case we use a Live Access connection to create a report.
2. The data warehouse team has not modeled the data in the data warehouse yet, so the data is ingested with Birst Connect and then transformed with Birst ETL. The data is reloaded through Birst Connect by kicking off automated Windows Task Scheduler.
Read Robin Filan's full review
Martin Hollænder profile photo
January 14, 2019

"Birst Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Birst as a value based SaaS platform for our contact center customers. We have more than 100 customers with 130 users on our Birst appliance.

They get a BI platform where they can enhance the value of the Miralix contact center solution.
Birst covers, among other things,
  • Queue performance
    • Workload per hour / quarter-hour
    • Lost call overview
    • Service level rate
    • Answer call rate
    • Customer wait time overview
  • Agent performance
    • Work time overview
    • Agent behavior
    • Department / address / region performance
  • IVR performance
    • Cost-Benefit Analysis regarding ad-based campaign numbers
    • Closed hours analysis
Read Martin Hollænder's full review
Tim Welch profile photo
January 09, 2019

User Review: "Birst almost live access"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is used as a delivery mechanism to display data to our client. We collect data on mobile device usage patterns, as well as analyst forecasts across many technology areas, and use Birst to visualise this data via dashboards that clients access from our website.
Read Tim Welch's full review
Sanja Prstojevic profile photo
January 08, 2019

User Review: "Birst - 9 years after we met"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst has been used across the organization (SCM & Operations teams ) as well as embedded in SFDC (by Sales team) and exposed as a portal to our partners. We have built different dashboards and alerts that help us with managing our SC business as well as provide order and shipment information to our sales team and partners.
Read Sanja Prstojevic's full review
No photo available
January 09, 2019

Review: "Birst used to meet an analytics requirement for our clients"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is used as an analytics platform for our clients in addition to our existing ERP. Our clients had a need for an analytics solution and Birst was the most suitable platform that met our requirements. On top of data from the ERP, we are networking with data from other sources and bring them together in a single, unified product. Our client's experience involves interactive dashboards and emailed reports. These dashboards are being used across our client's organizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 08, 2019

"Birst Review from Advertising Point of View"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Used across the business to pull buying and selling prices for the individual clients, all the way to larger agency level. It is currently linked to other products as well, which is how it is updated for reporting each day. It allows for information to be refreshed on a scheduled basis where in which this means the data team does not have to spend their time consistently running basic reports, other teams can pull it off themselves.
Read this authenticated review
Sean Keesler profile photo
March 23, 2018

User Review: "Birst in eLearning Sales and Ops"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Birst internally to analyze sales and marketing data to improve our marketing efforts (ROI on digital marketing spend) and to provide insights to our eLearning operations team.
Our marketing team analyzes time series of marketing spend vs the revenue received attributable to that spend and adjusts digital campaigns to optimize ROI.
The operations team extract student engagement data from our LMS and identifies students at risk of not completing their coursework in a timely fashion so that they can engage with them to identify issues and assist.
Read Sean Keesler's full review
David Strutt profile photo
March 21, 2018

User Review: "BIrst - meeting challenges head on."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are an OEM of Birst. We embed Birst into our SaaS offering.

Our SaaS offering is a mobile application that allows users to fill out advanced forms for data collection on activities they are performing during there work. We collect, extract and transform the data into a Birst data model and provide dashboards and reports to our users using Birst.

We provide dashboards and visualizations that provide insights into Field Operations, Customer Satisfaction, Service Quality, Quality of Work, and Field Coordination for the purpose of root cause analysis across these "areas of analysis".
Read David Strutt's full review
Krishnakumar Govindhan profile photo
March 07, 2018

User Review: "Birst for all"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

BIRST is being used mainly by Sales, Finance and Accounting teams. We have embedded BIRST Dashboards into Salesforce pages as well as created dedicated dashboard tabs within Salesforce.com for single sign on. Dashboards and Reports built on BIRST mainly serve for Pipeline and Sales Analytics. Due to the nature of BIRST's unique offering (BI+Database on Cloud), we are able to expand and propose various solutions using BIRST. We are also constantly working towards migrating various silo solutions that are built on Excel/MS-Access into BIRST platform.
Read Krishnakumar Govindhan's full review
Rohit Acharya profile photo
February 20, 2018

User Review: "Birst debunked."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is being used in multiple departments across the organization. Zalora is an eCommerce company with data touching all the departments. Birst is now primarily used as a data extraction tool for operational purposes, hence it's our primary tool for self-service data needs. Birst is also used by several departments for simple ad-hoc analysis. Birst is primarily used by the fulfillment center to know item or product level KPIs. Birst Live data and dashboards were used for a long time to track marketing campaign sales and discounts. Until recently we shifted to other platforms as we needed more real-time analytics. Traditionally birst sufficed most of the business problems and use cases, however due to the technological transformations we had to pivot our platform to other alternatives.
Read Rohit Acharya's full review
Dhiraj Kumar profile photo
February 16, 2018

User Review: "Birst at its Best"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is used across the organisation and by our business partners. It is embedded into the product. It's a powerful tool which gives them the vision for their devices, how devices are getting used by their end customers, what properties and values are getting used frequently, the outliers and how to diagnose the problem, etc.
Read Dhiraj Kumar's full review
Josh Beam profile photo
March 19, 2018

Review: "HarvestBI - Leveraging Birst to Improve an Industry"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are reselling the Birst platform as an extension of our ERP (HarvestERP) and DSD (HarvestDSD) solutions. Sales departments are the primary users at this time. We have on the roadmap operations and finance in the near future. Our goal is a homogenous implementation platform that can be rapidly deployed across our customer base.
Read Josh Beam's full review
David Pearlman profile photo
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Birstarific"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is mainly used across the Global Sales organization to provide sales reporting. Additional benefactors of the reporting are finance, product, customer service organization and other team members. The initial use case was to provide "snapshot" reporting so we could compare pipeline performance vs the same period prior year. We have been able to create new use cases based on the business needs and have built dashboards to help answer Sales Management's qs
Read David Pearlman's full review
Ash Bosworth profile photo
March 09, 2018

"Pulse Analytics use of Birst - Review March 2018"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We selected Birst to provide Pulse Analytics a vehicle to produce and deploy our Analytics products. We offer Pulse Analytics to industries that require process analysis such as mining, manufacturing, construction and transport (for example).

Birst allows us to connect to just about any data source and transform that data into meaningful, dynamic dashboards that allow our users to be informed and make decisions based on empirical evidence. We are also able to deploy our offerings very quickly due to the Birst architecture (such as being cloud-based).
Read Ash Bosworth's full review
Jaya Bhardwaj profile photo
March 06, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use birst as platform for our analytics product and sell our analytics product to our customer which is a cancer hospital. We use Birst to perform clinical data dta analysis on patient treatment data collected by hospitals. We distribute our analytics product hosted on our cloud environment which is developed on the Birst platform.
Read Jaya Bhardwaj's full review
Scott Rajeski profile photo
February 28, 2018

User Review: "Birsting w/ Data Analytics!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Birst to run the majority of our KPI's for the company. We continue to expand the use of Birst on many fronts to ensure we have the proper business analytics and data in front of our teams for key decision making and business performance monitoring. Birsat has enabled us to all speak to the same set of data and information!
Read Scott Rajeski's full review
Patrick O Leary profile photo
February 15, 2018

Review: "BIRST is an ok MIS product not a high performance OEM product"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

BIRST is embedded in multiple products across Hobsons, it is used by several departments. The primary use is to provide insights into education institutional effectiveness in both high school and college level organizations. Where the end user is a member of staff of the institution and requires aggregate data on the performance of their organization be it at a district/campus /school or collective set of institutions.
Read Patrick O Leary's full review
Paula Revell profile photo
February 15, 2018

User Review: "Birst Forward"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is currently used in four departments across our business and is being rolled out to all areas of the business over the coming months. Birst is an extremely effective tool for us to monitor and manage our stock turn and profitability, allowing us to drill down into any potential problem areas and resolve quickly and efficiently. It allows us to quickly visualise our current and historic stock and profit.
Read Paula Revell's full review
John Laws profile photo
February 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst Delivers as Promised!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Apex selected Birst to deliver product specific dashboards for our Industrial Dispensing, Asset Management, Real Time Retail and IT Service Management customers; approximately 10,000 globally.

As an IoT company Apex is on the cutting edge of providing our customers with the best BI to assist in product implementation and management. Birst works well for our customer base with fast development and deployment capabilities along with white labeling technologies.

In 2018 Apex released Lenz to our Customer base at the National Retail Federation convention in New York City. The release coincided with the release of upgrades to a number of our product lines. Lenz is not serving hundreds of Apex customer delivering insight into actionable data. This is a key differentiator for Apex saving time and money for our Customers.
Read John Laws's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (68)
6.7
Customizable dashboards (77)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (60)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (78)
7.4
Formatting capabilities (77)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.3
Report sharing and collaboration (68)
7.3
Publish to Web (52)
7.9
Publish to PDF (67)
7.9
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (66)
7.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (72)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (58)
7.0
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (70)
8.4
Role-Based Security Model (68)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (69)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (52)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.5
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.3

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Videos (3)

Watch Birst Networked BI - no more silos.

Watch The VP of Supply Chain at Citrix Systems on their Birst-architected digital supply chain

Watch CIO of CPG Reckitt Benckiser on Birst

Birst Downloadables

Birst Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish