TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gv/rb/XI7SESF1B71F.JPEGBirst, a data visualization toolWe use Birst a number of different ways. The first is to help our customer visualize their data. A majority of customers do not have the expertise to build these reports and visualizations so have done this for them. Our customers can use these reports to better understand their products, how they behave and function. We also use Birst internally to monitor how many devices have been deployed on our networks. We can monitor device transactions, API calls and much more. Within our organization, many departments use the Birst. From Sales, Customer Success, Product, marketing, and engineering.,Customization of reports Embedded in existing dashboard Scalability of reports and amount of data it can process Variety of visualizations/graphs to view data Variety of filters to drill down to a specific set of data,Birst prices are fairly expensive. License plus cost of users can add up pretty quickly Depending on the size of data, rendering of reports can take a little bit. Need faster processing of data Takes a little time to understand how to build reports, not the most intuitive UI,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,Google Analytics, Tableau Online and IBM Analytics Engine,10Birst in eLearning Sales and OpsWe use Birst internally to analyze sales and marketing data to improve our marketing efforts (ROI on digital marketing spend) and to provide insights to our eLearning operations team. Our marketing team analyzes time series of marketing spend vs the revenue received attributable to that spend and adjusts digital campaigns to optimize ROI. The operations team extract student engagement data from our LMS and identifies students at risk of not completing their coursework in a timely fashion so that they can engage with them to identify issues and assist.,Birst is an platform that provides connectors to some of the applications we use, but also allows us to bring in data from disparate systems to perform ETL and integrate all of the data for analyses. It makes no assumptions about your data, which is good for us, as we have a lot of customizations to many of our systems. Birst is making inroads towards a more modern UI.,The Birst product uses it's own query language (BQL) which we feel has been implemented in different ways in different parts of the product. This makes learning the entire product more difficult than it ought to be. The Birst idea of grains and hierarchies is hard to get a foothold on. I don't think I completely get it yet.,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,,9BIrst - meeting challenges head on.We are an OEM of Birst. We embed Birst into our SaaS offering. Our SaaS offering is a mobile application that allows users to fill out advanced forms for data collection on activities they are performing during there work. We collect, extract and transform the data into a Birst data model and provide dashboards and reports to our users using Birst. We provide dashboards and visualizations that provide insights into Field Operations, Customer Satisfaction, Service Quality, Quality of Work, and Field Coordination for the purpose of root cause analysis across these "areas of analysis".,Birst provides a very scalable and high-performance BI Platform. Setting up a new project "space" is simple, fast and easy to manage. Birst provides a deep and comprehensive ETL and query capability to perform most any data transformation. Building out Dashboards is easy. Building new reports with the Visualization tool is easy and powerful.,More visualization options and smarter 'auto' generated views. Predictive modeling. More contemporary look and feel to the Admin portal using HTML 5.,7,Speed and agility Decreased deployment time and risk Increased adoption, usage and self-service,8Birst is the best tool we found to meet our needs, but has some significant issuesWe use Birst in addition to a separate data warehouse to ingest Google Analytics, event tracking, operational and sales data. We build reports that are distributed across the company by giving everyone a Birst account and having them log in to view relevant dashboard. There are two use cases: 1. The Data warehouse team has modeled the data into a data mart in the data warehouse. In this case we use a Live Access connection to create a report. 2. The data warehouse team has not modeled the data in the data warehouse yet, so the data is ingested with Birst Connect and then transformed with Birst ETL. The data is reloaded through Birst Connect by kicking off automated Windows Task Scheduler.,Easy to create visualizations Very attractive visualizations Connect to many data sources,Terrible documentation and training resources. Sometimes not enough documentation, sometimes it is WRONG! Often we are told to post our issues to the Birst user forum, as if we should be able to figure out our own problems rather than Birst troubleshooting their own product. Sometimes when there are bugs we are told they will only be addressed by voting on them as feature requests, not addressing the bugs. Some feature requests are years old. When using Birst Connect there is a lot that can go wrong on the Birst side of things completely out of our control, and then we are waiting on technical support to resolve. In particular the space can get "locked" if we try to process while it's already processing. I've also experienced where a staging table was deleted in the user interface, but not the backend of the tool, so it failed until the support team manually removed it. Birst technical support is very weak. They often do not answer the phone, and they always ask to go on a call with you after submitting a ticket, no matter if we've provided extensive documentation within the ticket. The ETL features are incredibly hard to use, though very powerful. As someone who has an understanding of database theory I found the fact that the training refused to teach to "primary keys" and "foreign keys" and "facts and dimensions" and instead made us learn a whole different terminology of "levels" and "hierarchies" very confusing. Processing is entirely mysterious to us. There's little explanation of what is happening when it is processing, which makes it hard to troubleshoot when things go wrong. Terrible or non-existent error messages. When a scripted source fails to execute the log in the scripted source doesn't even generate an error message. We've also found that the error message "data format is not correct" doesn't actually mean that, but can mean a whole bunch of other things related to the model. Birst does not allow snowflake data structure more than 2 levels deep. This is a problem as our data warehouse is a snowflake, so we always have to flatten our tables. Even though the visualization tool makes nice views, it is not as robust as even years old versions of Tableau. In particular I've found I often export my data out of Birst and into Tableau when I want to visualize two or more attributes. Birst sends its users to the user Forum, but half of the issues on there have not been resolved. There's a person whose job it is to reply whether the users have figured out a solution. Why is this our responsibility to figure out their tool? Very, very little support for using Live Access to connect to data. Some of the Birst support staff don't even know how to use it.,3,Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports Increased adoption, usage and self-service Other,GoodData, Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, Domo, Looker, TIBCO BusinessConnect, Pentaho and Datameer Analytics Solutions,10,Yes,3,YesBirst for allBIRST is being used mainly by Sales, Finance and Accounting teams. We have embedded BIRST Dashboards into Salesforce pages as well as created dedicated dashboard tabs within Salesforce.com for single sign on. Dashboards and Reports built on BIRST mainly serve for Pipeline and Sales Analytics. Due to the nature of BIRST's unique offering (BI+Database on Cloud), we are able to expand and propose various solutions using BIRST. We are also constantly working towards migrating various silo solutions that are built on Excel/MS-Access into BIRST platform.,Competitive pricing for the features that are offered: We use various two other BI tools for operational reporting and we always have challenges of expanding it for larger audience due to the licensing cost. BIRST scores very well in the pricing department, with 1/5th of the price compared to other tools, this is an easy decision maker to recommend BIRST. Being in Cloud: The strength of BIRST is that the product features that are made available but requires zero installation and administration. The overall support resources needed to maintain and manage the application has drastically come down. Ease of use and integration with other data sources: Senior management leaders need quite a lot of information, in an easily readable format without having to go into multiple places. With Dashboard 2.0 and Visualizer, the contents now can be presented very intuitively and visually appealing. Users can also subscribe for certain reports to be delivered at various intervals. With multiple data connectivity options, we have successfully integrated many core systems under one single reporting umbrella.,Better MS-Office Integration: Almost all the Business users have invested in MS-Office products such as Excel, Word and Powerpoint. Currently there is very limited options available for taking data from BIRST and making it to work with these products. More export options would be a welcome feature among these users. Also the ability to connect to BIRST and refresh/download certain reports through excel would be very helpful. Powerful Report Designer: The current version of Designer and Visualizer lack certain features to create Complex reports. Few examples are, ability to create multiple tables in a report, link data from two or more queries and be able to show as one data, templates, free style reports rather than just using different bands etc. A light weight client tool for designer reports will help in faster turn around development time as the current web based interface is slow in designing reports for customized layout options. Custom forms / write ability: Dashboard 2.0 has evolved greatly. If custom forms can be created for users to enter certain inputs, this will make Dashboards even more interactive. Just a wish list. Live connectivity to Salesforce.com: This will be a very good feature to introduce especially for Sales team. We have been asked at least 1000 times if there is a way to make the data more live or real time.,9,Speed and agility,Business Objects and IBM Cognos TM1,9,No,Price Product Features Analyst Reports
Windows, Mac
Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
TRScore

Birst Reviews

Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 77 of 178 Birst ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 77)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
July 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst, a data visualization tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Birst a number of different ways. The first is to help our customer visualize their data. A majority of customers do not have the expertise to build these reports and visualizations so have done this for them. Our customers can use these reports to better understand their products, how they behave and function. We also use Birst internally to monitor how many devices have been deployed on our networks. We can monitor device transactions, API calls and much more. Within our organization, many departments use the Birst. From Sales, Customer Success, Product, marketing, and engineering.
Read this authenticated review
Sean Keesler profile photo
March 23, 2018

User Review: "Birst in eLearning Sales and Ops"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Birst internally to analyze sales and marketing data to improve our marketing efforts (ROI on digital marketing spend) and to provide insights to our eLearning operations team.
Our marketing team analyzes time series of marketing spend vs the revenue received attributable to that spend and adjusts digital campaigns to optimize ROI.
The operations team extract student engagement data from our LMS and identifies students at risk of not completing their coursework in a timely fashion so that they can engage with them to identify issues and assist.
Read Sean Keesler's full review
David Strutt profile photo
March 21, 2018

User Review: "BIrst - meeting challenges head on."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are an OEM of Birst. We embed Birst into our SaaS offering.

Our SaaS offering is a mobile application that allows users to fill out advanced forms for data collection on activities they are performing during there work. We collect, extract and transform the data into a Birst data model and provide dashboards and reports to our users using Birst.

We provide dashboards and visualizations that provide insights into Field Operations, Customer Satisfaction, Service Quality, Quality of Work, and Field Coordination for the purpose of root cause analysis across these "areas of analysis".
Read David Strutt's full review
Robin Filan profile photo
March 15, 2018

Review: "Birst is the best tool we found to meet our needs, but has some significant issues"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Birst in addition to a separate data warehouse to ingest Google Analytics, event tracking, operational and sales data. We build reports that are distributed across the company by giving everyone a Birst account and having them log in to view relevant dashboard.

There are two use cases:

1. The Data warehouse team has modeled the data into a data mart in the data warehouse. In this case we use a Live Access connection to create a report.
2. The data warehouse team has not modeled the data in the data warehouse yet, so the data is ingested with Birst Connect and then transformed with Birst ETL. The data is reloaded through Birst Connect by kicking off automated Windows Task Scheduler.
Read Robin Filan's full review
Krishnakumar Govindhan profile photo
March 07, 2018

User Review: "Birst for all"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

BIRST is being used mainly by Sales, Finance and Accounting teams. We have embedded BIRST Dashboards into Salesforce pages as well as created dedicated dashboard tabs within Salesforce.com for single sign on. Dashboards and Reports built on BIRST mainly serve for Pipeline and Sales Analytics. Due to the nature of BIRST's unique offering (BI+Database on Cloud), we are able to expand and propose various solutions using BIRST. We are also constantly working towards migrating various silo solutions that are built on Excel/MS-Access into BIRST platform.
Read Krishnakumar Govindhan's full review
Marci Augustine profile photo
March 07, 2018

Birst Review: "Solid tool with opportunites to become even better."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is our enterprise-wide BI visualization and distribution platform. Our company has 4 different revenue models ranging from big buy advertising, subscription based advertising, affiliate / performance based revenue as well as (digital) product driven revenue. Nearly every department here uses it for something, though it does not yet solve all problems within most departments. Currently we are able to report and distribute sales numbers to individual account executives as well as provide sales management views across as well as revenue and user across our B2C business lines as well. It solves for reporting automation and some visualization as well as distribution.
Read Marci Augustine's full review
Rohit Acharya profile photo
February 20, 2018

User Review: "Birst debunked."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is being used in multiple departments across the organization. Zalora is an eCommerce company with data touching all the departments. Birst is now primarily used as a data extraction tool for operational purposes, hence it's our primary tool for self-service data needs. Birst is also used by several departments for simple ad-hoc analysis. Birst is primarily used by the fulfillment center to know item or product level KPIs. Birst Live data and dashboards were used for a long time to track marketing campaign sales and discounts. Until recently we shifted to other platforms as we needed more real-time analytics. Traditionally birst sufficed most of the business problems and use cases, however due to the technological transformations we had to pivot our platform to other alternatives.
Read Rohit Acharya's full review
Dhiraj Kumar profile photo
February 16, 2018

User Review: "Birst at its Best"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is used across the organisation and by our business partners. It is embedded into the product. It's a powerful tool which gives them the vision for their devices, how devices are getting used by their end customers, what properties and values are getting used frequently, the outliers and how to diagnose the problem, etc.
Read Dhiraj Kumar's full review
Josh Beam profile photo
March 19, 2018

Review: "HarvestBI - Leveraging Birst to Improve an Industry"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are reselling the Birst platform as an extension of our ERP (HarvestERP) and DSD (HarvestDSD) solutions. Sales departments are the primary users at this time. We have on the roadmap operations and finance in the near future. Our goal is a homogenous implementation platform that can be rapidly deployed across our customer base.
Read Josh Beam's full review
Stephane F. Tremblay profile photo
March 19, 2018

Birst Review: "Self-service analytics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is embedded in our main UI web app in order to provide information related to metering.
Read Stephane F. Tremblay's full review
David Pearlman profile photo
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Birstarific"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is mainly used across the Global Sales organization to provide sales reporting. Additional benefactors of the reporting are finance, product, customer service organization and other team members. The initial use case was to provide "snapshot" reporting so we could compare pipeline performance vs the same period prior year. We have been able to create new use cases based on the business needs and have built dashboards to help answer Sales Management's qs
Read David Pearlman's full review
Lee Ann Benson profile photo
March 16, 2018

Birst: "Multi-tenant review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is being used by Acxiom as a multi-tenant reporting system for Acxiom clients to review business and operational data from several databases and database types.
Read Lee Ann Benson's full review
Ash Bosworth profile photo
March 09, 2018

"Pulse Analytics use of Birst - Review March 2018"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We selected Birst to provide Pulse Analytics a vehicle to produce and deploy our Analytics products. We offer Pulse Analytics to industries that require process analysis such as mining, manufacturing, construction and transport (for example).

Birst allows us to connect to just about any data source and transform that data into meaningful, dynamic dashboards that allow our users to be informed and make decisions based on empirical evidence. We are also able to deploy our offerings very quickly due to the Birst architecture (such as being cloud-based).
Read Ash Bosworth's full review
Jaya Bhardwaj profile photo
March 06, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use birst as platform for our analytics product and sell our analytics product to our customer which is a cancer hospital. We use Birst to perform clinical data dta analysis on patient treatment data collected by hospitals. We distribute our analytics product hosted on our cloud environment which is developed on the Birst platform.
Read Jaya Bhardwaj's full review
Jeremy Schichor profile photo
March 01, 2018

Review: "The more complicated your needs, the harder it is to use Birst."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is used across my organization, but particularly by the sales and marketing departments. It is used to track pipeline flow from impressions to revenue.
Read Jeremy Schichor's full review
Sanja Prstojevic profile photo
March 01, 2018

User Review: "Birst - 9 years after we met"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst has been used across the organization (SCM & Operations teams ) as well as embedded in SFDC (by Sales team) and exposed as a portal to our partners. We have built different dashboards and alerts that help us with managing our SC business as well as provide order and shipment information to our sales team and partners.
Read Sanja Prstojevic's full review
Scott Rajeski profile photo
February 28, 2018

User Review: "Birsting w/ Data Analytics!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Birst to run the majority of our KPI's for the company. We continue to expand the use of Birst on many fronts to ensure we have the proper business analytics and data in front of our teams for key decision making and business performance monitoring. Birsat has enabled us to all speak to the same set of data and information!
Read Scott Rajeski's full review
Raj Srinivasan profile photo
February 16, 2018

Birst Review: "Our first cloud Data Warehouse"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

[It's] Currently used by the sales org. We will expand this to finance, marketing and product management in the future.
Read Raj Srinivasan's full review
Patrick O Leary profile photo
February 15, 2018

Review: "BIRST is an ok MIS product not a high performance OEM product"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

BIRST is embedded in multiple products across Hobsons, it is used by several departments. The primary use is to provide insights into education institutional effectiveness in both high school and college level organizations. Where the end user is a member of staff of the institution and requires aggregate data on the performance of their organization be it at a district/campus /school or collective set of institutions.
Read Patrick O Leary's full review
Paula Revell profile photo
February 15, 2018

User Review: "Birst Forward"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Birst is currently used in four departments across our business and is being rolled out to all areas of the business over the coming months. Birst is an extremely effective tool for us to monitor and manage our stock turn and profitability, allowing us to drill down into any potential problem areas and resolve quickly and efficiently. It allows us to quickly visualise our current and historic stock and profit.
Read Paula Revell's full review
Martin Hollænder profile photo
February 14, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Birst as a value based SaaS platform for our contact center customers. We have more than 75 customers with 110 users on our Birst appliance.

They get a BI platform where they can enhance the value of the Miralix contact center solution.
Birst covers, among other things,
  • Queue performance
    • Workload per hour / quarter-hour
    • Lost call overview
    • Service level rate
    • Answer call rate
    • Customer wait time overview
  • Agent performance
    • Work time overview
    • Agent behavior
    • Department / address / region performance
Read Martin Hollænder's full review
John Laws profile photo
February 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst Delivers as Promised!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Apex selected Birst to deliver product specific dashboards for our Industrial Dispensing, Asset Management, Real Time Retail and IT Service Management customers; approximately 10,000 globally.

As an IoT company Apex is on the cutting edge of providing our customers with the best BI to assist in product implementation and management. Birst works well for our customer base with fast development and deployment capabilities along with white labeling technologies.

In 2018 Apex released Lenz to our Customer base at the National Retail Federation convention in New York City. The release coincided with the release of upgrades to a number of our product lines. Lenz is not serving hundreds of Apex customer delivering insight into actionable data. This is a key differentiator for Apex saving time and money for our Customers.
Read John Laws's full review
Mitchell Lawlor-O'Neill profile photo
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Pulse Analytics and Birst"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organisation is using Birst to offer Analytics services to clients. It is used by the Analytics department, and is offered either as embedded as part of a larger software offering, or as a standalone solution
Read Mitchell Lawlor-O'Neill's full review
Donald Woodruff profile photo
March 12, 2018

User Review: "Friend of Birst"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it across the organization as a real time monitor of our statics.
Read Donald Woodruff's full review
No photo available
March 23, 2018

Review: "BIRSTed ahead of the competition during the vetting process!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have embedded Birst into our SaaS offering to be used by our customers as one of their reporting options. We have embedded it both in minor dashlets on single record pages for a quick view of how records are doing and as a larger dashboard for more details and advanced reports. We also analyze some of our own statistics in Birst.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (67)
6.7
Customizable dashboards (76)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (59)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (77)
7.4
Formatting capabilities (76)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.4
Report sharing and collaboration (67)
7.3
Publish to Web (51)
7.8
Publish to PDF (66)
8.0
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (70)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (56)
7.0
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (68)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (67)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (67)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (51)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.6
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.4

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Videos (3)

Watch Birst Networked BI - no more silos.

Watch The VP of Supply Chain at Citrix Systems on their Birst-architected digital supply chain

Watch CIO of CPG Reckitt Benckiser on Birst

Birst Downloadables

Birst Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish