TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gv/rb/XI7SESF1B71F.JPEGBirst, a data visualization toolWe use Birst a number of different ways. The first is to help our customer visualize their data. A majority of customers do not have the expertise to build these reports and visualizations so have done this for them. Our customers can use these reports to better understand their products, how they behave and function. We also use Birst internally to monitor how many devices have been deployed on our networks. We can monitor device transactions, API calls and much more. Within our organization, many departments use the Birst. From Sales, Customer Success, Product, marketing, and engineering.,Customization of reports Embedded in existing dashboard Scalability of reports and amount of data it can process Variety of visualizations/graphs to view data Variety of filters to drill down to a specific set of data,Birst prices are fairly expensive. License plus cost of users can add up pretty quickly Depending on the size of data, rendering of reports can take a little bit. Need faster processing of data Takes a little time to understand how to build reports, not the most intuitive UI,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,Google Analytics, Tableau Online and IBM Analytics Engine,10Birst in eLearning Sales and OpsWe use Birst internally to analyze sales and marketing data to improve our marketing efforts (ROI on digital marketing spend) and to provide insights to our eLearning operations team. Our marketing team analyzes time series of marketing spend vs the revenue received attributable to that spend and adjusts digital campaigns to optimize ROI. The operations team extract student engagement data from our LMS and identifies students at risk of not completing their coursework in a timely fashion so that they can engage with them to identify issues and assist.,Birst is an platform that provides connectors to some of the applications we use, but also allows us to bring in data from disparate systems to perform ETL and integrate all of the data for analyses. It makes no assumptions about your data, which is good for us, as we have a lot of customizations to many of our systems. Birst is making inroads towards a more modern UI.,The Birst product uses it's own query language (BQL) which we feel has been implemented in different ways in different parts of the product. This makes learning the entire product more difficult than it ought to be. The Birst idea of grains and hierarchies is hard to get a foothold on. I don't think I completely get it yet.,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,,9BIrst - meeting challenges head on.We are an OEM of Birst. We embed Birst into our SaaS offering. Our SaaS offering is a mobile application that allows users to fill out advanced forms for data collection on activities they are performing during there work. We collect, extract and transform the data into a Birst data model and provide dashboards and reports to our users using Birst. We provide dashboards and visualizations that provide insights into Field Operations, Customer Satisfaction, Service Quality, Quality of Work, and Field Coordination for the purpose of root cause analysis across these "areas of analysis".,Birst provides a very scalable and high-performance BI Platform. Setting up a new project "space" is simple, fast and easy to manage. Birst provides a deep and comprehensive ETL and query capability to perform most any data transformation. Building out Dashboards is easy. Building new reports with the Visualization tool is easy and powerful.,More visualization options and smarter 'auto' generated views. Predictive modeling. More contemporary look and feel to the Admin portal using HTML 5.,7,Speed and agility Decreased deployment time and risk Increased adoption, usage and self-service,8Birst is the best tool we found to meet our needs, but has some significant issuesWe use Birst in addition to a separate data warehouse to ingest Google Analytics, event tracking, operational and sales data. We build reports that are distributed across the company by giving everyone a Birst account and having them log in to view relevant dashboard. There are two use cases: 1. The Data warehouse team has modeled the data into a data mart in the data warehouse. In this case we use a Live Access connection to create a report. 2. The data warehouse team has not modeled the data in the data warehouse yet, so the data is ingested with Birst Connect and then transformed with Birst ETL. The data is reloaded through Birst Connect by kicking off automated Windows Task Scheduler.,Easy to create visualizations Very attractive visualizations Connect to many data sources,Terrible documentation and training resources. Sometimes not enough documentation, sometimes it is WRONG! Often we are told to post our issues to the Birst user forum, as if we should be able to figure out our own problems rather than Birst troubleshooting their own product. Sometimes when there are bugs we are told they will only be addressed by voting on them as feature requests, not addressing the bugs. Some feature requests are years old. When using Birst Connect there is a lot that can go wrong on the Birst side of things completely out of our control, and then we are waiting on technical support to resolve. In particular the space can get "locked" if we try to process while it's already processing. I've also experienced where a staging table was deleted in the user interface, but not the backend of the tool, so it failed until the support team manually removed it. Birst technical support is very weak. They often do not answer the phone, and they always ask to go on a call with you after submitting a ticket, no matter if we've provided extensive documentation within the ticket. The ETL features are incredibly hard to use, though very powerful. As someone who has an understanding of database theory I found the fact that the training refused to teach to "primary keys" and "foreign keys" and "facts and dimensions" and instead made us learn a whole different terminology of "levels" and "hierarchies" very confusing. Processing is entirely mysterious to us. There's little explanation of what is happening when it is processing, which makes it hard to troubleshoot when things go wrong. Terrible or non-existent error messages. When a scripted source fails to execute the log in the scripted source doesn't even generate an error message. We've also found that the error message "data format is not correct" doesn't actually mean that, but can mean a whole bunch of other things related to the model. Birst does not allow snowflake data structure more than 2 levels deep. This is a problem as our data warehouse is a snowflake, so we always have to flatten our tables. Even though the visualization tool makes nice views, it is not as robust as even years old versions of Tableau. In particular I've found I often export my data out of Birst and into Tableau when I want to visualize two or more attributes. Birst sends its users to the user Forum, but half of the issues on there have not been resolved. There's a person whose job it is to reply whether the users have figured out a solution. Why is this our responsibility to figure out their tool? Very, very little support for using Live Access to connect to data. Some of the Birst support staff don't even know how to use it.,3,Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports Increased adoption, usage and self-service Other,GoodData, Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, Domo, Looker, TIBCO BusinessConnect, Pentaho and Datameer Analytics Solutions,10,Yes,3,YesBirst for allBIRST is being used mainly by Sales, Finance and Accounting teams. We have embedded BIRST Dashboards into Salesforce pages as well as created dedicated dashboard tabs within Salesforce.com for single sign on. Dashboards and Reports built on BIRST mainly serve for Pipeline and Sales Analytics. Due to the nature of BIRST's unique offering (BI+Database on Cloud), we are able to expand and propose various solutions using BIRST. We are also constantly working towards migrating various silo solutions that are built on Excel/MS-Access into BIRST platform.,Competitive pricing for the features that are offered: We use various two other BI tools for operational reporting and we always have challenges of expanding it for larger audience due to the licensing cost. BIRST scores very well in the pricing department, with 1/5th of the price compared to other tools, this is an easy decision maker to recommend BIRST. Being in Cloud: The strength of BIRST is that the product features that are made available but requires zero installation and administration. The overall support resources needed to maintain and manage the application has drastically come down. Ease of use and integration with other data sources: Senior management leaders need quite a lot of information, in an easily readable format without having to go into multiple places. With Dashboard 2.0 and Visualizer, the contents now can be presented very intuitively and visually appealing. Users can also subscribe for certain reports to be delivered at various intervals. With multiple data connectivity options, we have successfully integrated many core systems under one single reporting umbrella.,Better MS-Office Integration: Almost all the Business users have invested in MS-Office products such as Excel, Word and Powerpoint. Currently there is very limited options available for taking data from BIRST and making it to work with these products. More export options would be a welcome feature among these users. Also the ability to connect to BIRST and refresh/download certain reports through excel would be very helpful. Powerful Report Designer: The current version of Designer and Visualizer lack certain features to create Complex reports. Few examples are, ability to create multiple tables in a report, link data from two or more queries and be able to show as one data, templates, free style reports rather than just using different bands etc. A light weight client tool for designer reports will help in faster turn around development time as the current web based interface is slow in designing reports for customized layout options. Custom forms / write ability: Dashboard 2.0 has evolved greatly. If custom forms can be created for users to enter certain inputs, this will make Dashboards even more interactive. Just a wish list. Live connectivity to Salesforce.com: This will be a very good feature to introduce especially for Sales team. We have been asked at least 1000 times if there is a way to make the data more live or real time.,9,Speed and agility,Business Objects and IBM Cognos TM1,9,No,Price Product Features Analyst Reports
Windows, Mac
Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
TRScore

Birst Reviews

Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 95 of 178 Birst ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 95)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
July 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst, a data visualization tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customization of reports
  • Embedded in existing dashboard
  • Scalability of reports and amount of data it can process
  • Variety of visualizations/graphs to view data
  • Variety of filters to drill down to a specific set of data
  • Birst prices are fairly expensive. License plus cost of users can add up pretty quickly
  • Depending on the size of data, rendering of reports can take a little bit. Need faster processing of data
  • Takes a little time to understand how to build reports, not the most intuitive UI
Read this authenticated review
Sean Keesler profile photo
March 23, 2018

User Review: "Birst in eLearning Sales and Ops"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Birst is an platform that provides connectors to some of the applications we use, but also allows us to bring in data from disparate systems to perform ETL and integrate all of the data for analyses. It makes no assumptions about your data, which is good for us, as we have a lot of customizations to many of our systems.
  • Birst is making inroads towards a more modern UI.
  • The Birst product uses it's own query language (BQL) which we feel has been implemented in different ways in different parts of the product.
  • This makes learning the entire product more difficult than it ought to be.
  • The Birst idea of grains and hierarchies is hard to get a foothold on. I don't think I completely get it yet.
Read Sean Keesler's full review
David Strutt profile photo
March 21, 2018

User Review: "BIrst - meeting challenges head on."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Birst provides a very scalable and high-performance BI Platform. Setting up a new project "space" is simple, fast and easy to manage.
  • Birst provides a deep and comprehensive ETL and query capability to perform most any data transformation.
  • Building out Dashboards is easy. Building new reports with the Visualization tool is easy and powerful.
  • More visualization options and smarter 'auto' generated views.
  • Predictive modeling.
  • More contemporary look and feel to the Admin portal using HTML 5.
Read David Strutt's full review
Robin Filan profile photo
March 15, 2018

Review: "Birst is the best tool we found to meet our needs, but has some significant issues"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to create visualizations
  • Very attractive visualizations
  • Connect to many data sources
  • Terrible documentation and training resources. Sometimes not enough documentation, sometimes it is WRONG! Often we are told to post our issues to the Birst user forum, as if we should be able to figure out our own problems rather than Birst troubleshooting their own product.
  • Sometimes when there are bugs we are told they will only be addressed by voting on them as feature requests, not addressing the bugs. Some feature requests are years old.
  • When using Birst Connect there is a lot that can go wrong on the Birst side of things completely out of our control, and then we are waiting on technical support to resolve. In particular the space can get "locked" if we try to process while it's already processing. I've also experienced where a staging table was deleted in the user interface, but not the backend of the tool, so it failed until the support team manually removed it.
  • Birst technical support is very weak. They often do not answer the phone, and they always ask to go on a call with you after submitting a ticket, no matter if we've provided extensive documentation within the ticket.
  • The ETL features are incredibly hard to use, though very powerful. As someone who has an understanding of database theory I found the fact that the training refused to teach to "primary keys" and "foreign keys" and "facts and dimensions" and instead made us learn a whole different terminology of "levels" and "hierarchies" very confusing.
  • Processing is entirely mysterious to us. There's little explanation of what is happening when it is processing, which makes it hard to troubleshoot when things go wrong.
  • Terrible or non-existent error messages. When a scripted source fails to execute the log in the scripted source doesn't even generate an error message. We've also found that the error message "data format is not correct" doesn't actually mean that, but can mean a whole bunch of other things related to the model.
  • Birst does not allow snowflake data structure more than 2 levels deep. This is a problem as our data warehouse is a snowflake, so we always have to flatten our tables.
  • Even though the visualization tool makes nice views, it is not as robust as even years old versions of Tableau. In particular I've found I often export my data out of Birst and into Tableau when I want to visualize two or more attributes.
  • Birst sends its users to the user Forum, but half of the issues on there have not been resolved. There's a person whose job it is to reply whether the users have figured out a solution. Why is this our responsibility to figure out their tool?
  • Very, very little support for using Live Access to connect to data. Some of the Birst support staff don't even know how to use it.
Read Robin Filan's full review
Krishnakumar Govindhan profile photo
March 07, 2018

User Review: "Birst for all"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Competitive pricing for the features that are offered: We use various two other BI tools for operational reporting and we always have challenges of expanding it for larger audience due to the licensing cost. BIRST scores very well in the pricing department, with 1/5th of the price compared to other tools, this is an easy decision maker to recommend BIRST.
  • Being in Cloud: The strength of BIRST is that the product features that are made available but requires zero installation and administration. The overall support resources needed to maintain and manage the application has drastically come down.
  • Ease of use and integration with other data sources: Senior management leaders need quite a lot of information, in an easily readable format without having to go into multiple places. With Dashboard 2.0 and Visualizer, the contents now can be presented very intuitively and visually appealing. Users can also subscribe for certain reports to be delivered at various intervals. With multiple data connectivity options, we have successfully integrated many core systems under one single reporting umbrella.
  • Better MS-Office Integration: Almost all the Business users have invested in MS-Office products such as Excel, Word and Powerpoint. Currently there is very limited options available for taking data from BIRST and making it to work with these products. More export options would be a welcome feature among these users. Also the ability to connect to BIRST and refresh/download certain reports through excel would be very helpful.
  • Powerful Report Designer: The current version of Designer and Visualizer lack certain features to create Complex reports. Few examples are, ability to create multiple tables in a report, link data from two or more queries and be able to show as one data, templates, free style reports rather than just using different bands etc. A light weight client tool for designer reports will help in faster turn around development time as the current web based interface is slow in designing reports for customized layout options.
  • Custom forms / write ability: Dashboard 2.0 has evolved greatly. If custom forms can be created for users to enter certain inputs, this will make Dashboards even more interactive. Just a wish list.
  • Live connectivity to Salesforce.com: This will be a very good feature to introduce especially for Sales team. We have been asked at least 1000 times if there is a way to make the data more live or real time.
Read Krishnakumar Govindhan's full review
Marci Augustine profile photo
March 07, 2018

Birst Review: "Solid tool with opportunites to become even better."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • For end users, Birst has a friendly UI that allows them to naturally interact with reporting data via web browser.
  • For properly modeled data, the visualizer tool makes it easy do build quick visualizations.
  • Surfacing data on dashboards with global filters allows users the flexibility to view multiple metrics with the same lens.
  • Data modeling is a particular challenge for both novice and experienced data engineers. The ETL tools are insufficient to meet even 1/2 of our needs, and as a result we have a separate platform for data warehousing and use the back end of Birst solely for data exploration projects.
  • There are occasionally delays in the UI when applying filters that often lead users to think that something is broken when in fact they just need to wait a few more seconds for the UI to change, even to let them know that it's still updating.
  • Customer service, while it has improved, is still poor relative to other vendors that we work with. I often feel that both our CSM and our support technicians are defensive and try to push the responsibility for sub-optimal experiences back on us, and while it sometimes *is* the case that it is an issue on our end, more often it is not and even when it is we shouldn't FEEL like that. None of our other vendors take this approach, and even when the problem is on our end, they support us getting through it in a much less defensive way.
Read Marci Augustine's full review
Rohit Acharya profile photo
February 20, 2018

User Review: "Birst debunked."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Birst is a cloud based BI platform and hence all our data is hosted on the cloud platform. Zalora had lot of data users who used to query the database, all these loads where shifted to birst and helped our in-house databases to function smoothly and concentrate on other critical processes.
  • Birst report scheduling functionality has been very useful for our company. reports are scheduled to emails to several operational heads to help them monitor action items and help to improve our operational KPIs.
  • Birst has been flexible with the number of users who can access the tool. Most of the BI platforms currently charges companies based on the users who would use the BI tool.
  • Birst is useful in performing time based KPIs such as YoY, WoW, MoM, Qtr-o-Qtr etc. There are several functions available which helps to perform time based calculation.
  • Birst is very useful in performing aggregations at different level (and different dates) as its based on star schema.
  • As all the reports are in cloud, birst reports can be easily shared with one another and acts as a report repository
  • Birst helps to maintain single source of truth and helps enforce standardized definitions for all our KPIs
  • Visualizer report rendering is of high quality and quite fast for simple data requests and pull
  • Birst provides snapshot functionality which is extensively used in our company to maintain the price logs and changes of all our merchandise.
  • Birst being a cloud based platform is a both a blessing and a curse. as the data scales the performance of the tool deteriorates. although simple KPI reports can be quickly obtained, load intensive functions such as STAT or LET becomes hard to perform.
  • The customer service is rather poor when the problems at hand are tough. The turnaround time for some of the bigger problems can go on for months without an alternative solution
  • The processing time for each space is not consistent. outside US servers the processing time is very time consuming. Our APAC spaces in birst gets updated data by afternoon of a working day.
  • The scheduled reports might not come in time if the server is busy. We have had instance in which the scheduled reports would come a whole 24 hours later than the scheduled time.
  • Birst is a very difficult setup for change. If the data in the company is changing constantly then birst is not the tool to be held with. after implementing best practices, we were able to bring down the processing time of birst live to max 25 mins.
  • When the size of the data scales, powerful functions such as STAT (bring data at a different level and aggregates in the report) and LET are hard to perform. We have had instance in which STAT would run for more than an hour to render reports
  • Birst designer are still in FLASH and the vizualiser which is in HTML5 lacks several critical functions like scheduling, notifications, saving expressions and managing them. this leaves the customer to use the designer module instead of the vizualiser module, however the support for designer has been removed without keeping in mind that the visualizer component is incomplete.
  • Plug n play analytics is hard to perform unless you have certain technical knowledge. Data in flat files or excel files cannot be analyzed or visualized instantly like it can be done in Tableau or any other BI Platform.
  • External Inputs cannot be made on the report. External parameters and data cannot be blended with the existing report. For example, if we had to increase our discounts by x% how much would our sales be? these kind of questions are hard to perform.
  • The syntax of each module in birst is different. This shows lack of team work within birst. for example. In designer module the ubiquitous if statement is denoted by IF and in Admin it is denoted by IIF. this would lead to end user being confused.
  • Certain important critical functions such as Report bursting, querying sample data and parameterized reporting are available only to the admins and not the end users.
  • Most of the code change requests in customer service tickets are still pending to date and some of them are unresolved.
  • Birst has quite a bit of learning curve as it has its own syntax. one would need to be educated to understand the different types of expressions which exist in birst.
  • Birst lacks search functionality in designer and searching in visualizer is rather tedious if you have several KPI named similarly
  • The Pivot Control functionality is rather poor and pathetically mimics the pivot of excel
  • Advance analytics is not possible. Different statistical models cannot be implemented. this would require data to be pumped out to perform advance analytics
  • The Tableau-Birst connect is limited to 500GB, hence if the data scales the ODBC connector would not be useful
  • The Data logs thrown out by birst needs to be more intutive and detailed. this would help new users to better understand the problems and troubleshoot it effectively
  • Usage tracking of birst is tedious which would require a separate space to be created just to track users.
  • Renewal costs are expensive given the price per BI Platform is coming down in recent years with more and more products coming online.
Read Rohit Acharya's full review
Dhiraj Kumar profile photo
February 16, 2018

User Review: "Birst at its Best"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Birst is a powerful tool for BI, it has various features built in which can be used directly by inheriting it instead of writing 1000 lines of code.
  • It gives a way to demonstrate the numbers as various ways through its charts, which makes it easy for a non-IT person to see a trend.
  • The access control gives you the ability to map users as per their use case and dataset.
  • Some mathematical operations need real understanding of the functions like RSUM to get cumulative count.
  • The UI has a scope of improvement. It can be made lighter.
  • Product can be broken down into pieces and can be used as per the need, not all the features are useful for everyone.
Read Dhiraj Kumar's full review
Josh Beam profile photo
March 19, 2018

Review: "HarvestBI - Leveraging Birst to Improve an Industry"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to create a primary space that can be cloned repeatedly creates efficiencies in our development efforts.
  • We have a broad spectrum user base in terms of technical ability. Being able to extend or limit groups' privileges allows for optimal control with maximum flexibility.
  • One of our primary objectives is to utilize cloud resources. Birst allows us to leverage the technology but does not require the infrastructure allowing Harvest Food Solutions to focus on the solution.
  • Mobility is a major part of Harvest Food Solutions product offering. The current mobile capabilities are limited when dealing with single sign on and multiple domains.
  • The conversion from Designer to Visualizer has created challenges in features not being migrated.
  • Live Access is a key feature for us, but we want to be able to mix Live Data with Historical Data. That is currently not a simple process and requires multiple spaces. A simpler method is desired.
Read Josh Beam's full review
Stephane F. Tremblay profile photo
March 19, 2018

Birst Review: "Self-service analytics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Self Services Analytics - Business users oriented tools
  • Design tools
  • Data Modeling tools
  • New Self-services platform called Pronto
  • Embedding capabilities
  • Dashboards and Design tools through JS API
  • Single-Sign-On support
  • Web services availability
  • Query dashboard catalog and permissions
  • Manage users
  • Data Import and processing for Streaming sources (used by StreamLoader App) – Cloud Friendly
  • Incomplete TZ management (one env is one TZ)
  • No TZ conversion support at BQL level (No DST support)
  • DB physical query generated by Birst does not always leverage the Exasol aggregation capabilities.
  • Incomplete I18N support.
Read Stephane F. Tremblay's full review
David Pearlman profile photo
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Birstarific"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use.. you can bring it multiple sources of data and display in a dashboard
  • Columnar database is efficient
  • Dashboards have improved from a GUI nature
  • I think they can improve the GUI dashlets, but that's not a game changer
Read David Pearlman's full review
Lee Ann Benson profile photo
March 16, 2018

Birst: "Multi-tenant review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Deployment for multi-tenant environments is much easier than others I have used.
  • I like how easy it is to set up many dashboards and views that look standard and professional without a lot of formatting.
  • The query speed is very good for large amounts of data if there are adequate aggregates set up.
  • Documentation of the product in the help files is outdated and incomplete in many cases. Several features are only documented in the community because enough people have asked questions about a topic. The search functionality in both help and community is really bad.
  • Support tickets take way too long to answer and the answers are often inadequate. I have never worked with a company that has so few people on the support team or that took so long to respond. This is my biggest complaint and one that may result in switching products if it is not addressed.
  • User administration is scattered into many different places and bulk updates are only available for creating users. There should be bulk updates for adding users to spaces and to groups (possibly do all 3 things in one command?)
  • The Data Flow and Manage Local Sources code can't be used simultaneously and there is no documentation as to why. When a use case comes up where you need to switch from one to another it causes big issues.
Read Lee Ann Benson's full review
Ash Bosworth profile photo
March 09, 2018

"Pulse Analytics use of Birst - Review March 2018"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Single tool from raw data to end user interface.
  • Cloud deployment means quick to get to new clients, and can be accessed from anywhere on almost any device.
  • Powerful back end (Admin Module) allows for flexible data transforms and process flows.
  • A wider array of user interface components (e.g. more chart types).
  • More reliable servers that are providing the end user experience.
  • Better documentation and user guides.
Read Ash Bosworth's full review
Jaya Bhardwaj profile photo
March 06, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Birst has a very good UI dashboard module.
  • Visualizer module to explore explore data is very to learn and use, especially for less tech savvy people.
  • Birst connect to upload data which provides push mechanism from source system.
  • Birst has lot of bugs, need to improve on quality.
  • Birst Modeling layer is difficulty to pick up
  • ETL functionality is very limited and difficult to work with
Read Jaya Bhardwaj's full review
Jeremy Schichor profile photo
March 01, 2018

Review: "The more complicated your needs, the harder it is to use Birst."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Birst's SQL-like language is conveniently familiar for experienced developers
  • Birst integrates well with Salesforce and external CSV data sources.
  • Birst's support staff is reasonably responsive, if not always able to provide a satisfactory result.
  • Birst contains several sub-systems with similar, but signifcantly incompatible, syntax and functionalities. This leads to confusion and difficulty.
  • Birst provides insufficient control over how charts are rendered and how dashboard prompts are displayed and used. This has lead to significant dissatisfaction on the part of those for whom I've developed dashboards.
  • Significant parts of Birst resemble a relational database, but cannot be made to function like one. This results in jumping through complicated hoops to construct the fact tables for a multiple-relation data system.
Read Jeremy Schichor's full review
Sanja Prstojevic profile photo
March 01, 2018

User Review: "Birst - 9 years after we met"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Data/data source import (from different sources DBs, txt and xls files, ....) and setup is very easy and fast
  • Very good Dashboard performances (Dashboards/Dashlets built in Visualizer and Dashboards 2.0 )
  • Powerful data preparation tools
  • More stable new releases
  • All modules related to data upload and processing need to be improved to better support more frequent uploads and data processing
  • Prompts creation and maintenance need to be more user-friendly and provide performance improvements
  • Admin module needs improvements in performances as well as data source/catalog maintenance area
Read Sanja Prstojevic's full review
Scott Rajeski profile photo
February 28, 2018

User Review: "Birsting w/ Data Analytics!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to have drill down capability
  • Real time metrics and dashboards
  • Ability to "Birst" out reports to email distribution lists
  • Stability of the system seems tp have worsened over the last few 6 months.
  • Enhanced graphing capability
Read Scott Rajeski's full review
Raj Srinivasan profile photo
February 16, 2018

Birst Review: "Our first cloud Data Warehouse"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One stop shop for ETL | Data model | Visualization. No need to learn a new tool for each layer of the end to end BI process or find resources to manage layers.
  • A perfect fit for a company of our size both in terms of head count and revenue.
  • The library of functions that allow you to digress from the star schema is very useful. For every 5 reports we create, at least one of them will conflict with the dimensional model in place. These functions come in very handy in those situations.
  • Advanced reporting is done using a feature called 'designer'. This is a reporting environment with a user experience that is stuck in the 90s. Its unfortunate that a modern BI tool that goes against the likes of looker and tableau has not put any effort to consolidate report creation into one env.
  • Visualizations are very limited. We are able to answer most of the questions using a table, pie, bar or line charts. But a specific use case that shows customer share of wallet would have been a great fit for Gantt chart but not supported in birst.
  • The things you can do to fancy up charts and tables are also very limited. For example, you cannot selectively display values for the line graph but turn it for the bars in the same chart. Conditional formatting is also very limited in nature.
  • Performance can be very slow sometimes. We don't have a large volume of data - considering that, the reports don't render fast enough.
  • The platform has more features set in ETL/data Model areas than in visualization.
Read Raj Srinivasan's full review
Patrick O Leary profile photo
February 15, 2018

Review: "BIRST is an ok MIS product not a high performance OEM product"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • BIRST provides touch points through their customer account management teams to help you get to completion with your projects.
  • BIRST has created a community for users to share solutions to problems with each other.
  • BIRST has a desire to help organizations succeed.
  • BIRST has a quality issue, many of the items delivered in the form of 'code-changes' are often not functioning correctly and existing features break between releases.
  • Reduce the pace of releases until quality assurance is higher, each release costs customers significant amount of resources to test and report back what's broken.
  • BIRST organizational structure often leaves account managers in the customer success group without insights into technology issues and release roadmaps. Frustrating customers who are waiting on fixes. Escalations are slow and take several quarters to be effective.
Read Patrick O Leary's full review
Paula Revell profile photo
February 15, 2018

User Review: "Birst Forward"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Birst allows a wide range of users to quickly and easily see the information relating to their area of the business.
  • The Birst app is very useful for our employees who do not always have access to their PC.
  • Overall once a dashboard has been created, it is simple to filter and drill down into more detail for users who require more than the top line KVI.
  • Reports set up in a crosstab or table are not very visual to look at, but I often find some reporting requirements cannot be displayed in a chart.
  • I personally have found writing some of the custom expressions I require quite difficult to write, but the Birst community has been helpful.
Read Paula Revell's full review
Martin Hollænder profile photo
February 14, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The multi-tenant capabilities of the product is really great.
  • Its relatively easy go get started with the product.
  • The support is great.
  • Its fairly complex for "normal" users to master/use the product (normal being supervisors, IT professionals etc.).
  • The administration part of the product could be better, easier to use and manage.
Read Martin Hollænder's full review
John Laws profile photo
February 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst Delivers as Promised!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ETL processes in Birst are exceptional. Birst builds our meta-data layer for us using Birst's proprietary technology.
  • Birst uses "spaces" to build/test/deliver BI content. This is easy to work with and provides a management process for us to build dashboards based on specific sets of spaces. This reduces our maintenance effort as our IoT database changes.
  • The support for Birst has been fantastic. Not that we have had to use it a great deal, but when we do both the online Birst Community and the contracted support have been spot on with their assistance.
  • Birst white labeling capabilities have provided Apex with a means to name and trademark our BI applications.
  • Birst Mobile has proven to be flexible and fast on iOS and Android platforms allowing Apex to move BI data from the desktop to the palm of the user's hand.
  • The training has been moved online, but there is a separate fee for each module. As a heavy user of Birst the training should be a part of the package embedding the cost into the annual subscription. Requesting an additional Purchase Order for training is time consuming and raises questions by Management.
  • The Visualizer tool is powerful and, as in any tool, we have a wish list of functional enhancements. The latest release, 5.29 provides significant additions voted up by the use community. If it isn't in Birst now, add it to the community and get it voted up!
  • The initial roll out of Predictive Analytics is a nice conceptual start. Hopefully Birst will grow this area significantly in 2018.
  • The white labeling feature could be enhanced to allow for customer based CSS control. As it is we cannot change page layouts forcing pages to appear less than visionary to our Customer base.
  • Documentation on "how to" functionality has been missing throughout our time with Birst. Occasionally Birst pushes out a document or a Customer writes one posting it to the Community Site. Birst Help is a resource, but it often provides what is obvious and not what is required to implement a complex feature.
Read John Laws's full review
Mitchell Lawlor-O'Neill profile photo
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Pulse Analytics and Birst"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Start-to-end data preparation, warehousing and report/dashboard development minimizes points of failure in an analytics solution
  • Easy to quickly develop prototype/proof of concept projects, meaning more productivity
  • Solution built for the cloud works seamlessly for users to access data anywhere
  • Better documentation of features and user guides - it can be hard to find or understand how to use a feature
  • Better feature request system - currently feature requests are sources from the community forums based on votes - multiple requests for the same issue may not individually receive enough votes to get implemented
  • More options of chart types - currently limited in what we are able to provide as the best chart types for the data are not available.
Read Mitchell Lawlor-O'Neill's full review
Donald Woodruff profile photo
March 12, 2018

User Review: "Friend of Birst"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Manages data from multiple sources.
  • Variety of choices to display data
  • Stable platform
  • Customer service and support
  • User friendly
  • Improve Training
Read Donald Woodruff's full review
No photo available
March 23, 2018

Review: "BIRSTed ahead of the competition during the vetting process!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer adoption and success are important to Birst. They have positions dedicated to our success, worked to making sure we knew how to solve our problems once we were past implementation, and have regular contact even after. Purchasing the TAM program increases that.
  • Attractive reports that render quickly.
  • Using the cloud offering we have had spaces malfunction, especially if we try to upload data and process them on a frequent basis. They seemed to have fixed this with one of their most recent releases and with us reducing the frequency we upload data (twice a day rather than every hour), but there are still occasional issues.
  • Learning curve - Trying to figure out how to do things in a new system that I could do in seconds in SQL is a bit frustrating. The help, community, and our TAM rep helps with this, but it still happens.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (67)
6.7
Customizable dashboards (76)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (59)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (77)
7.4
Formatting capabilities (76)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.4
Report sharing and collaboration (67)
7.3
Publish to Web (51)
7.8
Publish to PDF (66)
8.0
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (70)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (56)
7.0
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (68)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (67)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (67)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (51)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.6
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.4

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Videos (3)

Watch Birst Networked BI - no more silos.

Watch The VP of Supply Chain at Citrix Systems on their Birst-architected digital supply chain

Watch CIO of CPG Reckitt Benckiser on Birst

Birst Downloadables

Birst Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish