TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gv/rb/XI7SESF1B71F.JPEGGreat for technical Data analists!We are using Birst in multiple ways. Some customers embed the dashboards into an application, other just look at the Birst dashboards.,Combining multiple data sources ETL and reporting functionality Very simple mobile support (Tablet and Smartphone),Better GUI when scripting Fix bugs in the software much faster Have some kind of version control,6,8,5Cloud Analytics the PioneerImplemented Salesforce Solution Accelarator v2.0 for numerous customers,Agility and speed to deploy a datamart or data warehouse very quickly. Drill down and drill through capability from summary to detail level data. Easy Integration with Salesforce.com.,More visibility into the backend, troubleshooting still has a large split still between support and professional services. Improved multideveloper support (check-in and check-out capability). Better versioning of metadata.,9,Increased visibility to data issues snapshot based analysis better visualizations than salesforce.com reporting,,10,10,7,8Birst is a good cloud-based platform for analyticsBirst is used two different ways: embedded into the cloud-based software we provide our customers, and internally to monitor utilization of the software and to track marketing campaigns.,The integration of all the elements of a BI platform into a single tool is a big advantage. All the components are tightly coupled (ETL, business layer, report creation, dashboards), and that makes it easier to manage. The fact that it is based on a cloud platform makes deployment amazingly simple. The appliance version can be run on AWS, which gives access to all the capabilities of the Amazon platform. The move towards HTML5 is very effective, the reports and dashboards look good and are based on responsive design.,Coming from a traditional data warehousing background, the data modeling in Birst is difficult to understand. The use of hierarchies, measures, "targeting" of fields needs some time to get used to. The transition from the Flash-based tools to the HTML5 tools has not been smooth, and some features still only exist into the Flash tools. Maps are not working well at all. It is possible to use the Geo Maps and Bing Maps in the Flash-based tools, but only Bing Maps in HTML5 tools. This is very limiting, and the features available for formatting, adding bubbles and labels, positioning etc. are weak.,8,GoodData,Pentaho,Qlik Sense,QlikView,birt,10,Internally, 12 users are viewing metrics and dashboards. In the embedded software, 30+ users and growing.,9,Implemented in-house,7,4Flexible end-to-end solution3coast began tool review and selection for a new business consulting partnership that was taking shape about 3.5 years ago. I reviewed what was available in the market at the time, and ultimately selected Birst for one reason: time to delivery. It alleviated the pains traditionally associated with gathering company- or enterprise-wide data streams and turning them into scorecard and actionable information. The drilling capabilities out of the box made me wonder why I had been building SSRS reports all of these years. We immediately signed up as a partner and haven't looked back. I haven't manually built a data warehouse or been forced to string together reports for real insight since, and implementations for other companies still see a huge rampon the time to delivery of a full-function solution.,Automated Data Warehouse Single interface for admin, design, and consumption Reports/dashboards are dynamic and aware of model navigation,UI is slowly getting sexy, but didn't start there Modelling is limited to single user. Waiting for multiuser concurrency in this area.,7,N/A - see below,10,Internally we've adopted the product company-wide. Executives are doing cost analysis and offering reviews. Staffing department is using it to track phone usage and effectiveness. Services department is tracking their ticket queues for response time and resource utilization.,9,8,81 year of BirstBirst has been used in Catho as the main access to data, across all the organization. There is a small resistance to change in the internal report but we in the strategic department are trying change that mindset. I see two big problems: First, the learning curve for a new developer is quite long. There are some paradigms that make Birst a little hard to learn. It’s a very bureaucratic tool.Second, Catho is a Brazilian enterprise and we use the cloud storage from Birst. But the upload time and the process time is really long.,The Visualizer, is really easy for the end user The creation of Virtual Cubes The Data enrichment and cleaning,Long learning curve, an uncommon paradigm Long time to process many lines of data (10kk) data Usability needs to get better,4,Now we have a better control of data availability, with a better SLA. The easier access to data for the user.,Pentaho and MicroStrategy Analytics,7,2
Windows, Mac
Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
TRScore

Birst Reviews

Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 178 vetted Birst reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (51-75 of 95)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
January 19, 2017

Birst Review: "Great for technical Data analists!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using Birst in multiple ways. Some customers embed the dashboards into an application, other just look at the Birst dashboards.
  • Combining multiple data sources
  • ETL and reporting functionality
  • Very simple mobile support (Tablet and Smartphone)
  • Better GUI when scripting
  • Fix bugs in the software much faster
  • Have some kind of version control
It is well suited for small/mid size companies.
Read this authenticated review
RJ Corcuera profile photo
November 18, 2016

Birst Review: "Cloud Analytics the Pioneer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Implemented Salesforce Solution Accelarator v2.0 for numerous customers
  • Agility and speed to deploy a datamart or data warehouse very quickly.
  • Drill down and drill through capability from summary to detail level data.
  • Easy Integration with Salesforce.com.
  • More visibility into the backend, troubleshooting still has a large split still between support and professional services.
  • Improved multideveloper support (check-in and check-out capability).
  • Better versioning of metadata.
Largely depends on budget and the landscape of data sources that need to be analyzed.
Read RJ Corcuera's full review
Eric Lagace profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "Birst is a good cloud-based platform for analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst is used two different ways: embedded into the cloud-based software we provide our customers, and internally to monitor utilization of the software and to track marketing campaigns.
  • The integration of all the elements of a BI platform into a single tool is a big advantage. All the components are tightly coupled (ETL, business layer, report creation, dashboards), and that makes it easier to manage.
  • The fact that it is based on a cloud platform makes deployment amazingly simple. The appliance version can be run on AWS, which gives access to all the capabilities of the Amazon platform.
  • The move towards HTML5 is very effective, the reports and dashboards look good and are based on responsive design.
  • Coming from a traditional data warehousing background, the data modeling in Birst is difficult to understand. The use of hierarchies, measures, "targeting" of fields needs some time to get used to.
  • The transition from the Flash-based tools to the HTML5 tools has not been smooth, and some features still only exist into the Flash tools.
  • Maps are not working well at all. It is possible to use the Geo Maps and Bing Maps in the Flash-based tools, but only Bing Maps in HTML5 tools. This is very limiting, and the features available for formatting, adding bubbles and labels, positioning etc. are weak.
Complexity of data modeling from the various sources is a big consideration. Global implementations may be an issue, as there is no tool or feature built in Birst to enable synchronization between data centers located in different geographies. For most simple to medium implementations, Birst is a no-brainer. For more complex implementations, a POC should be considered.
Read Eric Lagace's full review
Price Hatfield profile photo
May 01, 2016

Birst Review: "Flexible end-to-end solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
3coast began tool review and selection for a new business consulting partnership that was taking shape about 3.5 years ago. I reviewed what was available in the market at the time, and ultimately selected Birst for one reason: time to delivery. It alleviated the pains traditionally associated with gathering company- or enterprise-wide data streams and turning them into scorecard and actionable information. The drilling capabilities out of the box made me wonder why I had been building SSRS reports all of these years.

We immediately signed up as a partner and haven't looked back. I haven't manually built a data warehouse or been forced to string together reports for real insight since, and implementations for other companies still see a huge rampon the time to delivery of a full-function solution.
  • Automated Data Warehouse
  • Single interface for admin, design, and consumption
  • Reports/dashboards are dynamic and aware of model navigation
  • UI is slowly getting sexy, but didn't start there
  • Modelling is limited to single user. Waiting for multiuser concurrency in this area.
Birst is not for someone just looking for a visualization tool. If you just need reports, move along. It does enable other interfaces (Excel, Tableau) for governed data and mashups. If you need a business intelligence solution, Birst does wonders to cut the man-hours necessary. Full appreciation of the product comes from folks that have been through that sort of exercise and understand the underlying work. Departments sometimes need the infrastructure without the IT overhead, which is one use case. Another is small teams having to provide support for large organizations. The most value is really found by larger organizations that have found traditional tools require too long to turn around, and the business is moving faster than those requirements can be met.
Read Price Hatfield's full review
Ricardo Alexandre Bastos profile photo
July 06, 2016

User Review: "1 year of Birst"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Birst has been used in Catho as the main access to data, across all the organization. There is a small resistance to change in the internal report but we in the strategic department are trying change that mindset. I see two big problems:

First, the learning curve for a new developer is quite long. There are some paradigms that make Birst a little hard to learn. It’s a very bureaucratic tool.

Second, Catho is a Brazilian enterprise and we use the cloud storage from Birst. But the upload time and the process time is really long.

  • The Visualizer, is really easy for the end user
  • The creation of Virtual Cubes
  • The Data enrichment and cleaning
  • Long learning curve, an uncommon paradigm
  • Long time to process many lines of data (10kk) data
  • Usability needs to get better
There are a few resellers in Brazil. Birst is a nice tool and setup and preparation is easy. But it lacks assistance and help in Brazil. The support is good but some times when you use your language, you get things faster.
Read Ricardo Alexandre Bastos's full review
Jean Jennings profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "Long time Birst Customer - Still Happy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Birst as a sales support tool, applying ad hoc predictive modeling to identify cross sell/up sell opportunities. We also use it as a reporting and analytics tool for sales metrics. Both applications have met with great success. Currently, Birst is in use by one department.
  • We have data in so many disparate places/sources. Birst allowed us to aggregate all the data together fairly easily so output was unified, consistent and accurate.
  • The development tools in Birst allow us to easily adjust, change and create new reports and dashboards quickly. Sales is an 'in the moment' business - we need in the moment data and we get that with Birst.
  • Their customer support is top tier. We've been a client for a very long time and still get the same attention and support that we did when they were a much smaller company. And really - no matter the value of product, if you don't have good support from the company, it's about worthless.
  • The new upgrade process is a bit clunky and takes a considerable amount of time.
  • They've apparently stopped supporting the use of fixed width delimited flat files. That may be a bit of a problem for us in the future - still trying to work through it with them.
If you have users that are *not* technical, Birst is perfect for them. It can be designed as simply as it needs to be and yet still provide maximum value. It's the perfect tool for sales people that don't want to be IT people - they just want to get to the information they need quickly. Visuals are also great for the sales audience.
Read Jean Jennings's full review
Timothy Humphreys profile photo
April 13, 2016

Birst Review: "A BI tool that actually delivers!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Dashboard presentation and updates. Allows the user to "run" varying reports and see data based on comprehensive prompts. Reduces the time necessary to run "more" reports. Saves time, improves accuracy and consistency in reviewing data.
  • Designing reports. Simple reports take minutes yet offer extreme flexibility when used within the dashboard. Reduces response time to internal and external clients.
  • Data Management. The process to setup and manage data requires planning and accuracy. Because of this, data is stable.
  • Copying Dashboard Prompts (filters). While the product has very flexible prompts and the ability to add them readily, you can not copy prompts from one dashboard page to another. You have to either copy the dashboard or manually add the prompts.
  • User Management: The system provides a robust set of security layers for data, users, etc. For user security, the process requires more screens than it appears to need.
I have yet to find a perfect BI or reporting tool. After 20+ years of performing/managing BI and analytics, the Birst product provides us with:
  • Flexibility in design
  • Speed to deployment
  • Customer and technical support
  • Financial value and ROI
  • Comprehensive solution with scalability
We learn more every day with the product as well as receive alternate ideas and support. I have no regrets selecting the Birst product and would do so without hesitation again.
Read Timothy Humphreys's full review
Tim Welch profile photo
February 11, 2016

User Review: "Birst almost live access"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst is used as a delivery mechanism to display data to our client. We collect data on mobile device usage patterns, as well as analyst forecasts across many technology areas, and use Birst to visualise this data via dashboards that clients access from our website.
  • Connects directly to many types of external data sources, enabling us to plug into data where it already exists
  • Visualiser provides a user friendly interface for non-tech users to build their own databases
  • Connectivity between the live sources frequently drops and does not reconnect automatically
  • Cannot add dynamic titles to reports - so although can create a dynamic text box, this title cannot be exported along with the report
  • Designer runs query as soon as an attribute is dropped on screen - would be useful if you know you need to add another 4, to be able to disable the query execution until all items have been added
We find the performance of the dashboards is sometimes very slow - and has been noted by customers. a key question would be to confirm the acceptable delay and build the dashboards around that kpi.
Read Tim Welch's full review
Nir Carasso profile photo
February 04, 2016

Birst Review: "Base jump into BI cloud"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Deployment time was fast.
  • Since it is on the cloud, my users get 100% availability. and I do not have to take care of it.
  • The BI front-End is very flexible. we get great looking reports and dashboards.
  • Good mobile device integration. (Apple).
  • No future integration with google mobile androids.
  • Missing some deep metadata analysis of report consumption by end users.
Birst can work with customer on 3 levels of service:
  • Full support, with BI analysis and project management.
  • Minimum intervention. just use the platform.
  • Intermediate solution.
Read Nir Carasso's full review
Deborah Stillwell Judy profile photo
October 01, 2015

User Review: "Birsting with BI Success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst was selected as our single business intelligence solution solving our "single source of truth" challenge moving away from spreadmarts and individual definitions of the truth. We started our Birst development as support for individual functional departments [Sales Analytics, Team [HR], Finance and Service/Warranty]. The current year objective is to pull together the integrated organizational view across functional areas.
  • Single solution, integrated end to end [ETL, database, Administration, Design, Dashboards presentation].
  • Very stable application - uptime is great, software upgrades seamless.
  • Administration Tools: users, groups, security, customization very intuitive.
  • Quick start.
  • Pace of introduction of new features.
  • Community sharing portal is an excellent resource of Knowledge Base documentation, and discussions of challenges/resolutions by other customers.
  • Community is also used to submit ideas and enhancement requests, so that voting raises top recommendations, Birst listens and responds.
  • Birst defines their success as achieved by our success.
  • Ability to find things in Think Tank Community, need a better way to keep similar topics grouped, inconsistent tags.
  • Community: assumption that this is the first place for answers to issues; which causes time extension for resolution of business challenge.
  • Training: need some freebee's like single topic Lunch & Learn webinars
Birst has proven by example that it is well suited for many - from a departmental fit to large organizational solutions.
When we compared Birst to other BI tools we had these questions:

  1. Infrastructure - what is required for hardware/software/connectivity, data storage and ability to handle data growth?
  2. Security - how do they handle the risk areas?
  3. Staffing - how many roles are required to support the application, can a non-programmer administer the application and design data visualization?
Read Deborah Stillwell Judy's full review
Chris Williams profile photo
April 13, 2016

Birst Review: "New User"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We just purchased Birst. We are going to use it internally and our customers will use it too.
  • Great development team
  • Great management team
  • Great service plan
  • Don't know of any yet.
The user interface was a big reason we chose Birst.
Read Chris Williams's full review
Brian Flood profile photo
August 19, 2015

Birst Review: "We've never looked back"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Implementation was incredibly quick and easy. I did the full implementation in-house with some help from our Birst support team. No internal engineering support needed.
  • Vast customization capabilities. Due to the nature of the Birst Cloud Data Warehouse, it can handle just about any and all data sources. Scripting in the warehouse is quite robust allowing for better integration across source systems, data quality and consistency.
  • Support is great. Without any internal support from engineering, I rely heavily on Birst support when things start acting up or I just have some simple how-to questions. They are always very prompt and helpful and have great knowledge of the product.
  • They're still using some flash components in the product although I'm told they will be replaced with HTML5 versions soon.
  • Advanced statistical analysis (i.e. Bayesian) requires separate systems. It would be great to see Birst implement some R functions to allow more flexibility in this regard.
I would make sure that if they were planning to do more advanced statistical analysis that they knew it required a separate tool such as R or Weka. Make sure you know not only what the current product offering is, but also what is being released in the near future.
Read Brian Flood's full review
Scott Pellerito profile photo
September 30, 2015

Birst Review: "Onward and upward"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Birst across the whole organization. It is our primary report and dashboarding tool.
  • We use the cloud edition and have grown to appreciate this aspect of the product. Not having to maintain the BI infrastructure has allowed us to focus on our core business.
  • We utilize the live access feature to deliver real time operations reporting to our exec and sales teams.
  • Support to export to a native excel pivot table is highly desirable.
  • The pivot control in the designer is very difficult to use. There needs to be better way to reorder the measures and dimensions.
I have no issues recommending Birst to anyone.
Read Scott Pellerito's full review
Daniel Kayce profile photo
June 05, 2015

User Review: "Got Birst?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Birst for internal reporting. The first series of dashboards are focusing on our sales team. The dashboard is being used by our Sales Executive team, as well as our regional sales managers. The report is really intuitive and user friendly. Users are able to easily drill down to Swift's top and bottom performing sales reps and customers. With this data, we can refocus and restructure short and long term goals.
  • User friendly interface - easy to adapt to and start creating valuable reports
  • Birst's Customer Success Team - always responds to emails in a timely manner. This is really important to new customers, and Birst has a great, intelligent, and hard working CSM assigned to every customer
  • Think Tank - this is a great tool for immediate help and feedback. You can always expect someone in the Birst family to help assist you with any of your needs
  • More features in Visualizer would be great. I am currently using designer to complete most of my reports
  • A better Geo Map - The Birst standard geo map is not as robust and most of their chart options. A geo map with zip code capabilities would be a great feature
  • Faster data processing
Birst is one of the easiest BI tools to adopt; however, I would first be clear on what you are trying to accomplish by implementing a BI tool. If it is to simply re-create Excel reports, then I would probably stick with Excel, BUT if you want to use it for micro analytics and diagnostics, then I would highly recommend this tool.
Read Daniel Kayce's full review
Tim Johnson profile photo
May 05, 2015

User Review: "Birst BI capabilities assessment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We will be using Birst to deliver cloud based reporting and analytics both internally and externally. We will utilize it for dashboards to highlight program performance.
  • Ease of use
  • Time to proficiency for development
  • Thought leadership for BI technology and methodology
  • Transparency of the roadmap for dashboards 2.0
  • Training insight and guidance
Birst is well suited for our internal reporting due to the diverse data sources that need to be linked together.
Read Tim Johnson's full review
John Hermes profile photo
May 05, 2015

Birst Review: "Go Big!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Birst is being implemented into our Operations side of the business to improve operational performance throughout the warehouse. And the data model is intended to address problems with product quality assurance, inventory management, and employee performance. This implementation is still in the development stage. After this first implementation, we have plans to place Birst in every department throughout the organization.
  • Visualize. It provides clear and actionable graphs and charts. All of which are fully interactive, providing a great end user experience
  • Data warehousing
  • ETL
  • More intuitive data logs. To help newer users, new to BI, better understand the problems as they occur.
  • Features in visualizer and working to create the functionality currently available in designer.
What problems are you trying to solve?
Where in your business are you trying to create value?
What, if any, data tools are currently being used and how are they used?
How do your "consumers" access/use the data?
Read John Hermes's full review
George Sanchez profile photo
March 13, 2015

Review: "Birst, a dashboard tool for any size company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Availability 24x7 makes the product attractive. Our users know they can get their information whenever they need it.
  • Flexible charts allow our users to select dashboard data based on time periods and other dimensions.
  • Adhoc report dashboards allows our users to build and save custom dashboards as needed.
  • Some errors are difficult to understand and solve without support. Better help content would benefit admins trying to solve issues.
  • The system can have limitations with large amounts of data. Too much data can slow down processing or cause the report to not render a result.
The advantage of Birst is that it is a cloud solution. Rapid deployment and availability are big advantages. Training is key and that should be part of the deployment. Initial help with developing dashboards can aid in a quicker deployment. However, understanding how you can maintain and develop new dashboards is what will keep the site fresh for your users.
Read George Sanchez's full review
Nicholas Dureault profile photo
June 05, 2015

Birst Review: "Gave it our best shot!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were evaluating several BI platforms, and one that stood out was Birst. The intention was to get a tool that could do what traditional analyst tools can do, and much much more. We performed an initial test with a "land and expand" model in mind, but as an initial test, while testing several other BI tools, it proved difficult to set up - even with the help of their engineers.
  • Easy model development
  • Good visuals
  • Solid blending capabilities
  • Difficult setup
  • Not "Land and Expand" model. Must be organizationally committed.
I think it's a good platform, if you are only testing it out for feasibility and further recommendations, it may be cost prohibitive. That said, if you are seriously ready to look at a new BI tool, Birst is definitely a competitor.
Read Nicholas Dureault's full review
Frederik Oebius profile photo
May 05, 2015

"Birst review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are implementing Birst for different clients in different industries.
  • Agile
  • Fast
  • Simple complexity
  • Support
Read Frederik Oebius's full review
Brett Mooberry profile photo
November 12, 2014

Birst Review: "A Great Product with Even Better Customer Service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Report building is quick and easy.
  • Creating a data model for a reporting structure and data warehouse is easy.
  • Our users can access it whenever they want, whenever they want using either a computer or iPad.
  • Birst seems like it can do almost anything either myself or the users can think of. When my users ask me for things I don't know how to do, I typically just say "sure", assuming that it's possible and that I'll figure it out. I'm sure this will come back to bite me one of these days, but it hasn't yet.
  • There were a number of "quality of life" issues, I'll call them, when we first got started on the Appliance version - for example, upgrading was very clunky. Those issues have been cleaned up and I have no complaints about them now. Birst seems to do a really good job of listening to their customers and giving them what they want.
  • The Birst Mobile iPad app doesn't have the full functionality of the browser-based version, but I understand that this is being fixed with HTML 5. In fact it may already be fixed - I know that some of the HTML 5 implementation is done, but I'm waiting for it to be fully in place before making the switch.
I am a huge fan of Birst. Their product is great, but what really impresses me is their customer service. I was very impressed by how committed and able they were to completely turn the project around like they did. We are a small client who is pretty inconsequential on their balance sheet, but I sure don't feel like it when I talk to and work with them. And that, in my own personal opinion, is what makes a company great.
Read Brett Mooberry's full review
Scott Gabriel profile photo
August 30, 2013

Birst Review: "Great Product with Great Support"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It combines data from disparate data systems so that it can all be viewed in one place
  • The drilling and filtering capabilities are outstanding! We've really been able to get to the lower level of detail that we needed, but could not get, before we started using Birst.
  • Once created, Birst updates all by itself. No downloading, exporting, or re-aggregating of data to update reports.
  • Report designer user interface is poor. For example, Birst has a feature that allows report designers to build and save custom expressions. This is helpful because, rather than having to rewrite the expression each time it's needed, the designer can simply select it from the saved expression box and drop it into the report. However, there appears to be no rhyme or reason to the organization of the expression box. It's not alphabetized and you can't categorize expressions by creating folders. This can lead to frustration when time is wasted just trying to find the custom expression that you need.
  • Creating new reports is a clumsy process.
  • Data exports are sloppy. This is due more to the lack of flexibility in the designer UI than to the actual exporting capability. For example, when creating a data table, you often need the label to be a larger size than the column because the label requires descriptive text while the column is just a value. However, in the Birst designer UI, you cannot independently change the size of a measure label and the size of its corresponding column--they have to be the same size.
I have really enjoyed working with Birst, both the people and the product. The Birst team truly cares about customer success and is committed to helping clients find solutions to their business intelligence needs. Despite all the benefits the product has brought my company, I still feel like we are just scratching the surface of its reporting capabilities. For example, just last week I submitted a support case for help creating a report. I ended up learning of an entirely new container report capability that we hadn't used before. The container report is about 10 times better for displaying the data than what I had originally planned to do. And because the Birst customer service is so outstanding, I had the new report up and running in less than a day. This is the kind of service that I believe makes Birst an outstanding BI tool.
Read Scott Gabriel's full review
Dana Pace profile photo
December 10, 2013

Review: "When it comes to results and customer service, Birst is second to none."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easily, the first thing that comes to mind when I think of Birst is superior customer service. As a new BI team with limited industry experience, Birst has been there to guide us through setup and implementation, and they are now helping as we move into the more complex capabilities of the product.
  • The robust, yet intuitive visualization options have made a great impression at our Executive level. We are gaining trust throughout the organization as Birst is enabling us to respond quickly and efficiently to data needs.
  • Moving beyond visualization into data warehousing functionality, Birst is set up to give us all we need as we begin this challenging and necessary process.
  • Competitors like Tableau are showing superior display options when compared to the Birst dashboard.
It's costly to make a bad decision up front. Spend your time researching what you need now, and what you will need in the coming months and years. I would encourage anyone in need of a BI solution to look seriously at what Birst has to offer.
Read Dana Pace's full review
Jon DeAngelis profile photo
December 06, 2013

"Birst Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Birst is very user friendly and allows for easy analysis of complex data
  • Takes the time out of building reports, does the background work for you once the modules are set up
  • Easy to use and manipulate, helps in the decision making process by making quick analysis based on determined parameters
  • Allow for the data to be hot linked to source
  • Allow to adjust the chart type w/o write access
This can drastically save analysis time and in turn money in the long run.
Read Jon DeAngelis's full review
Tyler Adams profile photo
November 29, 2013

Birst Review: "Fantastic BI Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very sleek, easy-to-use interface
  • Can quickly upload all of my data and start making discoveries right away
  • Knowledgeable support is always available
  • Was hoping for a slightly flatter learning curve
  • Would be nice to be able to operate more independently from customer support by providing further embedded help options and documentation.
During the evaluation process, be sure to reach out to them personally as to fully understand how Birst can most effectively tailor your BI solution.
Read Tyler Adams's full review
Dan Zaelit profile photo
November 29, 2013

Birst Review: "Outstanding Business Intelligence Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Slick customized user interface with the agility to tailor to our changing business needs.
  • Professional Services and Customer Success teams are outstanding as they are proactive, responsive, and provide excellent guidance.
  • A "one stop shop" providing both the business intelligence solution and the IT infrastructure to support it.
  • Dashboard performace can be slow to load at times.
  • Documentation could be better allowing more independence, however customer support has always been very helpful.
  • Would like to see more functionality in their mobile offering.
Do your research and you'll find that Birst is amongst the best Business Intelligence solutions out there.
Read Dan Zaelit's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (67)
6.7
Customizable dashboards (76)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (59)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (77)
7.4
Formatting capabilities (76)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.4
Report sharing and collaboration (67)
7.3
Publish to Web (51)
7.8
Publish to PDF (66)
8.0
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (70)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (56)
7.0
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (68)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (67)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (67)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (51)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.6
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.4

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Videos (3)

Watch Birst Networked BI - no more silos.

Watch The VP of Supply Chain at Citrix Systems on their Birst-architected digital supply chain

Watch CIO of CPG Reckitt Benckiser on Birst

Birst Downloadables

Birst Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish