BlackLine

BlackLine

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Top Rated
BlackLine

Overview

Recent Reviews

BlackLine does its job

7 out of 10
June 11, 2022
We use BlackLine to reconcile our patient clearing account and to reconcile what comes in our deposits against what we post to accounts in …
Continue reading

BlackLine keeps us on track!

10 out of 10
June 09, 2022
We use BlackLine as our primary software for all aspects of our close process. BlackLine makes it easy for us to group accounts and link …
Continue reading

BlackLine is LIFE CHANGING

10 out of 10
June 08, 2022
At our firm, we are primarily using BlackLine to upload and track our reconciliations. We are using it more as a cover page for the final …
Continue reading

Efficiency with BlackLine

10 out of 10
June 08, 2022
We use BlackLine to close each period (monthly). BlackLine helps us easily close our books and make journal entries efficiently. …
Continue reading

BlackLine Feelin' Fine

7 out of 10
June 08, 2022
BlackLine is used by management to verify that the amounts for recurring entries match what should be in the reporting system. It is my …
Continue reading

Highly Recommend BlackLine!!

10 out of 10
June 07, 2022
We currently use BlackLine for all aspects of our close process. We utilize the journal entries, tasks, reconciliations, and variance …
Continue reading

BlackLine Review

7 out of 10
June 03, 2022
We use BlackLine as our primary software for reconciling all kinds of accounts that the company uses. We also use it to manage various …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Relationship 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of BlackLine, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is BlackLine?

BlackLine automates the the processes required to finalize periodic closing of the books. Beyond close/reconciliation management the product includes capabilities to enhance the management and control of financial processes throughout the accounting cycle. In October 2020, BlackLine acquired…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

56 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Xero?

Xero is an online accounting software product for small businesses and personal finance. Its features beyond general ledger and double-bookkeeping include quotable invoicing, bank reconciliation, purchase order and expense management, and tax management. Third party apps can extend its features…

What is QuickBooks Online?

QuickBooks Online is a SaaS version of the QuickBooks product. It contains all of the features found in the local version. Higher-priced plans include greater automation, payment management, inventory and time tracking, and analytics features.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is BlackLine?

BlackLine automates the the processes required to finalize periodic closing of the books. Beyond close/reconciliation management the product includes capabilities to enhance the management and control of financial processes throughout the accounting cycle.

In October 2020, BlackLine acquired Rimilia, an AR automation solution. Rimilia's capabilities are now part of the BlackLine platform.

BlackLine Video

BlackLine Introduction

BlackLine Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews

(1-25 of 176)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is used in the accounting department. We are using it to be more consistent with recons and tasks--stored in one location. This year we implemented and used the variance analysis component and it worked extremely well. It was convenient to have variances automatically highlighted and the analysts' comments in one document for review vs several.
  • Easy to use.
  • Simple to review individual and team data.
  • Flexible setup options.
  • Better attention to user concerns.
  • More detailed troubleshooting documents.
It will be great to get to the point of transaction matching, subledger comparisons--we have not implemented these yet. Implementing these would help us more quickly do our reconciliations.
Customer portal/university.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BlackLine to reconcile our patient clearing account and to reconcile what comes in our deposits against what we post to accounts in our EMR. BlackLine allows us to better identify what has or has not been posted and to drill down at a granular level to find what is missing.
  • Ease of customization
  • Quality of support
  • Timeliness of support
  • Canned reporting isn't as useful as it could be in my opinion.
  • Data Source creation process is clunky
  • Sometimes updates will "break" things that were already working.
BlackLine is well suited for institutions that are really looking to use the product out of the box. The BlackLine team is very open to customization - but b/c the system is not the implementation of these changes can take some time. There are quite a few standard reports that are available in BlackLine, and as long as these are exactly what you need; they're great. Creating your own reporting or modifying existing reporting is really cumbersome and most days it isn't worth the effort.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BlackLine as our primary software for all aspects of our close process. BlackLine makes it easy for us to group accounts and link Journal Entries to Tasks, and complete Reconciliations to find and correct variances prior to close.
  • Monthly and Quarterly Task Management
  • User-Friendly Dashboard
  • Product Support
  • Unable to move journal entry lines
  • Would like to add lines at different places in the entries
BlackLine has been very well suited for all our needs in which we have utilized it. Being able to group one journal entry to multiple accounts, tasks, and reconciliations makes the close process much faster. The user-friendly dashboard keeps us on track to complete tasks in a timely manner.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BlackLine for month-end close process, creating journal entries, tasks, variances, and balance sheet reconciliations. Prior to implementing master journal entries, keeping up with prepaid entries was much more difficult, this has now become a much easier task. During close it was difficult to determine where the team was with journal entries, now I can look in BlackLine and see exactly what journal entries, tasks, variances, and reconciliations have been completed and which have not been completed. BlackLine makes it easy to review and certify or reject back to the user with a note. Over the past 10 years, BlackLine has made major improvements and has added different modules or systems to make our job much easier.
  • Journal Entries-everything is right there at your fingertips. As an approver/certifier, you have the details to the entry and you can automatically see that the journal entry balances.
  • Reconciliations-just like journal entries, everything is at the approver/certifier's fingertips. Support is available and you can immediately look to see if the reconciliation balances or if there is a variance because it pulls the GL balance for you.
  • Flexibility-each property has the flexibility to set up what reconciliations they find to be more critical for review, whether that is monthly or quarterly. You can set up what level you want each reconciliation to be approved, manager or executive level. These are just two that I find very helpful.
  • In the master journal entries, it would be nice if you could insert a line without having to rekey the entire entry over again.
  • Before I would have said the "to-do list" needed improvements, but now it is so easy to tell what I need to look at instead of searching each section for items.
  • It would be great if the "certify - next" worked on all reviews
BlackLine is very well suited for balance sheet reconciliations where the accounting teams are remote or working from home. Everything is loaded into BlackLine so there is no need for physical documentation. The Variances is a great addition; however, it would be nice if you could set up each variance with its own comparison period. Sometimes we need to look month over month, and others year over year. Currently, everything looks at the current month versus the end of the prior year. Unless there is a way to change that and I am unaware.
Stephanie Clevenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Blackline to manage our account reconciliations, prepaid amortizations, some accruals, and some tasks. Blackline made tracking and managing our account reconciliation process much easier when we switched to remote work from home status. Having one trusted source for all of our reconciliations made our audits and SEC filings go swifter and easier. I personally like the function that allows the reconciliation submission and approval history along with all pertinent documents to be emailed directly from Blackline. This made my audit support response times significantly shorter.

We used the task function to manage the monthly close process for one of our divisions, it was very useful to have the audit trail of submissions and approvals for the various tasks done by remote employees. We are looking to roll out this capability to our full accounting group later this calendar year, to replace the various Excel spreadsheets were currently use.




  • acts as single source for audit trails
  • makes tracking status of outstanding items (tasks or recons) easy
  • gets rid of Excel sheets for prepaids and amortizable items
  • allows for the grouping of accounts as you need them beyond how your chart of charts has them grouped
  • their dashboards are a bit less than ideal
  • if you have many amortizable items in your recon looking up a specific one is not easy
  • also it is difficult to edit an amortizable item once it has been uploaded
I in fact recommended Blackline to a CFO at a med device start up because he was looking for something to "corral his month end JEs and recons". In a more remote work based world having a system like Blackline has gone from a nice to have to a must.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our firm, we are primarily using BlackLine to upload and track our reconciliations. We are using it more as a cover page for the final reconciliation of the accounts we use. All accounts are uploaded into BlackLine after being reconciled in Excel format. We then finalize them and upload the detail into BlackLine for when the auditors come in. It makes life so much easier to log into BlackLine, open up an account (from revenue, liability, or cash accounts) and click a link with all the details in the same exact format.
  • Reconciliation
  • Formatting
  • Grouping of accounts
  • Journal Entry automation
  • Variance Analysis
  • Link to other accounting softwares.
I would recommend BlackLine to any large firm that takes auditing seriously. Being able to access all your accounts in one place with the same formatting is life-changing.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BlackLine to close each period (monthly). BlackLine helps us easily close our books and make journal entries efficiently. Everything can be viewed in one location by each member that needs to see it. This makes the process of approving and posting journal entries very simple. Since all our finance team members have access it makes our period close less time-consuming.
  • BlackLine keeps all information in one convenient location, the account reconciliation, and backup is very easy to go back and look at.
  • It is available from nearly anywhere and we use it across our companies, which creates consistency between all of our companies.
  • BlackLine is very user-friendly. The training was great at implementation and updates are made that help make the software easier to use.
  • There are many updates to the software, which can make it hard to keep up with. However, the Customer service response seems great and is always able to help.
  • The layout of journal entries is well set up, but there are many lines that are not necessary to fill in.
  • The software is customized to fit the company but there is not a lot of customization for each user.
BlackLine software is appropriate for most of our account reconciliations because month to month we have a lot of the same transactions. Those accounts that do not change a lot do not need a lot of work to reconcile every month. If the account does change a lot it is a lot of uploading backup to each line and finding those changes. If that account changes while the month is being closed then often you have to re-start the entry. This scenario is also good because all information stays up to date and accurate.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is used by management to verify that the amounts for recurring entries match what should be in the reporting system. It is my responsibility to maintain these workbooks and ensure that adequate supporting documentation is uploaded to BlackLine to validate all entries recorded. It is crucial that consistency is applied amongst all reconciliations of a similar account in order to optimize our senior management's understanding when reviewing the accounts. BlackLine reconciliations include items such as audit fee payments, rent accruals, prepaid expenses/amortization, and detailed debt schedules, providing a breakdown of scheduled principal and interest payments. These schedules are then assessed monthly to ensure accuracy before being certified and reviewed by a senior.
  • Bank reconciliations
  • Balance sheet account reconciliations
  • Automatic matching function within bank reconciliations
  • Multi-currency functionality
BlackLine is well suited to balance sheet account reconciliations that are consistent. It is less well suited to accounts that change frequently, such as variable debt schedules.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is used for journal entries, reconciliations, tracking tasks, and completing variances within our organization. It is a great platform for keeping all your accounting functions in one area and for storing and maintaining all accounting documents in a paperless format. Any issue that we have had has been addressed in a timely manner.
  • Tracking tasks
  • Maintaining documents with reconciliations
  • Calculating variances for explanations
  • Adding lines anywhere in a journal entry
  • Rearranging lines on a journal entry
  • Setting default layouts where they show up everytime
Being able to create and use journal masters saves a lot of time during each month-end close as the data is already entered. You just have to verify and change any numbers as needed and certify and go. Using excel for uploads can allow time-saving entries as well but to have them all in one platform and be accessible by everyone and can be used remotely is a great business feature. Tracking tasks allows me to know at any time where we are with month-end close processes and allows me to know if we are on track or if there is an issue anywhere without having to ask multiple times throughout the day.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use BlackLine for all aspects of our close process. We utilize the journal entries, tasks, reconciliations, and variance features in this program. BlackLine is able to talk to our accounting program, SAP, which is extremely important and helpful. BlackLine allows us to make sure our balance sheet and P&Ls are correct.
  • BlackLine is very responsive and helpful when we have an issue.
  • BlackLine truly values our input and listens to our suggestions for changes.
  • BlackLine is very user friendly and easy to follow and find things you are looking for.
  • I wish we could insert a line into the middle of a journal entry that has been keyed instead of only being allowed to enter it at the bottom.
  • Similar to the above, I would like to be able to "move" a line in a journal entry up or down.
  • The "default" view does not default when I go into the different features - I have to change it to default each time.
From my experience, BlackLine is well-suited for every scenario that we have used it for. When we initially started using BlackLine, it was very time-consuming to key a large journal entry so it was frustrating - however, after asking for an easier way, we were eventually informed of how to upload data into a journal entry. This was life changing!
June 03, 2022

BlackLine Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BlackLine as our primary software for reconciling all kinds of accounts that the company uses. We also use it to manage various types of tasks that our accountants complete. BlackLine makes the automation and reconciliation of everything so much easier, especially when dealing with a global company.
  • Provides a reliable and easy-to-use matching engine.
  • Implements a task system that makes managing tasks very easy.
  • Their account grouping system makes it very easy to group together accounts that go together.
  • Sometimes the matching engine can match the wrong transactions with each other.
  • Manually certifying a lot of journals at once can be time-consuming, so some kind of auto-certification option would be helpful.
  • When selecting options on a menu with multiple pages, sometimes it unselects things you've selected on previous pages.
BlackLine is very helpful when reconciling bank accounts because this is a situation where the auto-certify option can be extremely helpful and time-saving. It also is helpful when having to match up transactions from multiple sources using the matching engine.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use BlackLine to track monthly and quarterly tasks to ensure timeliness and accuracy for reporting purposes. Each month as tasks are completed by a preparer, items roll up to a reviewer to ensure the accuracy of monthly tasks are performed as needed. Also, as monthly tasks are completed Accounting team prepares reconciliations of activity to ensure items align to General Ledger balances.
  • Monthly Reporting
  • Task Tracking and Email Reminders
  • Ease of Use
  • User Interface Display
  • Audit and Historical Tracking Reporting
Ease of tracking tasks and staying on top of monthly tasks
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use BlackLine for reconciliations and are in the process of implementing it for task lists and variances. I am primarily a reviewer, and BlackLine provides me with one place to go to see the status of our team's work and deadlines. Previously, I had to navigate to many different locations. The workflow notifications streamline the review process, as I do not have to continually check to see when items are ready for review.
  • Provides single location to see status of all work.
  • Workflow routing
  • Auto certification of recons within established parameters
  • Variances will not provide a variance amount if beginning balance is zero.
Well suited to quick, high lever recons. More complex recons typically require preparation in Excel and then upload to BlackLine, requiring duplicate effort.
June 01, 2022

BlackLine is great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses BlackLine to prepare account reconciliations, and journal entries, upload internal control documentation and retain evidence of sign-off on controls and tasks. We also use the system to manage our closing process by running account reconciliation and passing adjustment reports.
  • It allows for JE's to be automated.
  • Easy to navigate in between months to see what was done in previous months.
  • Provides consistency when preparing account reconciliations.
  • When you delete a amortizable item on accident, there is no undo button and you have to re-upload the schedule.
It is great for account reconciliation, and for the closing process. In multi-level verification, you have someone be the preparer and an approver.
Mark Holmes, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Blackline in order to remediate 4 Material Weaknesses. We were able to remediate the material weaknesses within 12 months, we shortened close from 15 days to 7 days, we were able to manage our balance sheet account reconciliations appropriately, we were able to automate our amortization schedules. Blackline was instrumental in achieving these goals.
  • Month End Close Management
  • Balance Sheet Account Reconciliations
  • Amortization Schedules
  • More User Friendly
  • Mobile option
  • automatic sync
Blackline will help companies struggling with month end close. Blackline will help companies with management of balance sheet account reconciliations. Blackline will help companies automate their amortization schedules and produce the monthly journal entries. Blackline allows all users to be involved in the month end close process. Blackline will help organization within the accounting department.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented BlackLine in May 2017 after a significant deficiency in our Account Recs. We also wanted better clarity on the monthly, quarterly, and annual close and automation of our prepaid and other JEs. The initial installation included Account Reconciliations, Tasks, and Journal Entries. BlackLine made a huge impact in those areas within the first six months.
  • The ability to determine which reconciliations should be auto-certified and the reasoning behind the decision.
  • Prepaid reconciliations and automation of the monthly journal entries.
  • Creation of automated journal entries from banking data in a high-volume environment.
  • Decertification of completed reconciliations when GL balances change and the communication of such.
  • Importing set up data for automated journal entries is missing. When ADJs are similar you have to go through the entire setup of each.
  • Could use a daily summary e-mail to notify the status of month-end close combining separate areas of function.
  • The user interface is wasting a tremendous amount of space for users with wide-screen monitors. Scrolling is a constant within the system.
  • Some tasks are to perform journal entries (even automated) so a link between the two would help rather than certifying in separate places.
Account Reconciliation is BlackLine's strength from having GL balances imported during the close process to uploading data within those recs that can be easily reviewed and balanced. The Preparer/Approver roles prevent someone who prepares a reconciliation, tasks, or journal entry from being the approver as well and timestamps on the process allow management to determine the timeliness of both. The approver can decertify recs/tasks/JEs and provide reasoning which is sent back to the preparer to correct all within the BlackLine system. BlackLine could use a better view of the overall close when a customer is using multiple modules instead of treating everything separately.
  • Online Training
BlackLine has always had our back from the implementation to add additional functionality to the system. During the COVID shutdown, they provided unlimited support and training for our staff to get the best out of the system. If we have an issue with the system it is easy to open a ticket and get a quick response no matter what level the issue may be.
June 01, 2022

Blackline rocks!

Matthew Imreh, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackline here at Ontrak for task and rec management. It is directly integrated with our ERP system which makes life super easy here at Ontrak. We wouldn't be able to live without it! We plan on adding the variance analysis module soon too. Implementation was a breeze and the pricing is awesome for such a great software that saves so much time and energy. It is also great for SOX and Auditors too!
  • Task Management
  • Account Reconciliations
  • Product Support
  • User Interface
I think Blackline is an awesome tool that would be able to be used in almost any type of company. The task and account rec feature is a must for any accounting team.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We complete account reconciliations, track tasks, and perform variance analysis in BlackLine. It has provided a centralized repository for information that was previously in many different locations and formats. It has also provided more transparency into the timeliness and completeness of these tasks. When we experienced turnover in staff, it was a great tool to reassign tasks and instructions to others.
  • Identifies whether tasks and reconciliations are performed based on the frequency assigned.
  • Provides good workflow between preparers and approvers.
  • Accurately identifies account variances requiring explanation based on multiple criteria.
  • We are still importing the data manually as there is not currently a PeopleSoft import tool available.
  • I understand that passwords will need to be changed more frequently in future.
The BlackLine account reps have been very helpful and responsive. It is well-suited for Accounting departments that are not currently reconciling (key) accounts, have account purpose/policy documented, and/or have supporting documents stored in multiple locations.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using BlackLine for task management with our close process. It helps organize our close checklist, keeps our team members on track during the close process, and allows us to have our review and sign-off in one place. It has taken a lot of manual work out of our process and has helped increase efficiency and speed up our timeline.
  • A centralized place to track our close process
  • Easy to navigate / Ease of use
  • Great customer service
  • Doesn't update automatically after certifying tasks.
  • Missing customizations for non-admins.
  • Access to more training.
It is great for task management and certifying tasks as completed and allowing for review in one place. Currently, we are not using the program to its full potential so it is hard to speak on other areas this software does well or lacks in. It is a good program for a company that is looking to move on from more manual processes as it is not an overcomplicated system.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our accounting and finance team currently uses BlackLine for task management and account reconciliations. Using just these two solutions we are able to streamline what once were very manual processes. The task management tool allows users to track outstanding tasks before and during the month-end close process, ensuring that we are recording all accruals and completing other items in a timely manner. The account reconciliation tool allows us to simplify our reconciliation process and have much more insight into balance sheet account balances.
  • The user interface is fairly good and easy to use.
  • Customer service has been great when issues arise.
  • They offer a lot of education and other learning opportunities to utilize BlackLine better.
  • Additional modules or service options can get very pricey.
  • Some system administration tasks can be tedious or difficult to complete.
  • It can sometimes be difficult to find an answer to specific questions within their support network.
Our organization has around 30 different manufacturing, warehouse, and office sites throughout the United States, Canada, Japan, and China. We have an incredibly complex GL structure and over 3,000 balance sheet accounts. Because of this, our corporate accounting team has a wide variety of tasks that need to be completed on a monthly basis, and a number of accounts that need to be reconciled. Using BlackLine streamlines our processes by having one web location with all of the information we need to complete our tasks and reconciliations. This allows us to be significantly more efficient.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BlackLine to automate account reconciliations, tasks, and variance analysis. It was easy to implement and has made our monthly and year-end close more efficient. It is easy for preparers and approvers to know what they need to do and by when management can see what the status of accounts is, and our auditors have everything they need without having to ask us. The use of BlackLine made our transition to remove work seamlessly.
  • Automates the assignment of account and due dates and workflow
  • Foreign currency capabilities
  • Decertifies accounts when balance changes
  • Amortization schedules
  • Storage of supporting documentation
  • Can reassign recons and tasks to others when someone is out on vacation or leaves
  • Variance analysis
  • Not a good way to set up tasks that only happen one time a year
  • Customized reporting to fit how we like to see our variance analysis
BlackLine works very well for preparers, approvers, management, and auditors.
Jodi Martin, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are just beginning the Automation journey and have implemented reconciliations and are working on tasks. We hope to add matching and journal entries after variance analysis. In the Black Conference is a great learning resource!
  • Blackline has great customer service and support.
  • Blackline provides great visibility of key accounting functions
  • Blackline allows standardization and visibility of finance and accounting tasks and processes.
  • I’d like to see the learning paths in Blackline U be more intuitive.
  • I’d like to see further Essen of use in Blackline in designing reconciliation templates
Blackline is a great tool to move toward automation and get a change management and automation plan in motion. I haven’t found anything that Blackline isn’t appropriate for. Generally the Blackline tool works great when it is set up and used as intended. That being said, it takes time and focus to implement correctly. Investment of time up front reaps the benefits.
All of the Blackline people are friendly, open and knowledgeable.
Michael Johnson, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I do not currently use BlackLine, however, I used it at my previous two organizations. It was primarily used as a reconciliation and task management tool. I have also used the matching functionality for accounts receivable and cash reconciliations. BlackLine delivers automation to the close process via account balance updates for reconciliations. This provides increased automations and controls around the monthly close process.
  • Document management (upload, download, large files, historical visibility)
  • Customizable templates for each account
  • Ease of use
  • Task management so leadership can see how the team is progressing each day of the close cycle
  • The schedule list templates lacks ability to upload multiple schedule items at once
  • The roll forward does not have an option to exclude old/closed items
Blackline is better suited for mid to large-sized public and private organizations that have many GL accounts and more transactional data. The tool greatly enhances auditability so it will be more beneficial to public companies. Smaller private organizations may not experience enough benefits to justify the costs.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Blackline for monthly reconciliations and close checklists, with plans to interface with Oracle/JE processing.
  • Reconciliation Accuracy/Completeness
  • Information Sharing in Real-Time/among team members
  • Close Checklist/Project Management
  • Training efficiency/more user friendly
  • Availability to sign up for training (many courses were full)
  • Training geared towards executive users/reviewers
-Project management and month-end close checklists are user friendly
-Risk ranking/assessment of account balances to assist with prioritization of monthly close activities
-Visibility of close activities to all team members facilitates the immediate process and better communication among the team
-Ability to add multiple reviewers for high-risk activities
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BlackLine to prepare account reconciliations, and journal entries, upload internal control documentation, and retain evidence of sign-off on controls and tasks. We also use the system to manage our closing process by running account reconciliation and passing adjustment reports.
  • Provides consistency for preparing account reconciliations
  • Allows to add efficiencies to closing the books by automating JE's
  • Allows to streamline closing process and provides visibility on progress made
  • The system is not very straight-forward to use and requires training in order to get comfortable with using it
BlackLine is great for - account reconciliations - automated JEs - tasks and uploading control documentation