Brainshark

Brainshark

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.1 out of 100
Brainshark

Overview

Recent Reviews

Brainshark Review

9 out of 10
February 15, 2020
Brainshark is used to help guide employees with education for our company. For example, if they create a new product, we will have …
Continue reading

How I Use Brainshark

8 out of 10
June 15, 2018
Brainshark is used across my whole organization to view presentations. It allows us to safely upload and store large files that anyone can …
Continue reading

Come over to the Sharkie side!

8 out of 10
February 12, 2016
At our company, Brainshark is used by different departments within our organization. In Learning and Development, we primarily use …
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Brainshark, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Brainshark?

Brainshark is a video presentation platform for sales enablement, now from BIgTinCan (acquired August 2021).

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.brainshark.com/solutions/how…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Showpad Content?

Showpad Content is presented as a sales enablement platform that marketing and sales can rely on to prepare sellers, engage buyers and optimize performance with insights. With a single user experience, their solution is designed to make it easy to discover and share the right content, deliver…

What is Yesware?

Yesware is a service for salespeople that helps them close deals faster. An email service tracks email, templates responses and syncs to CRM.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Brainshark?

Brainshark is a platform for data-driven sales enablement and readiness. The vendor aims to help companies prepare their client-facing teams with the knowledge, skills and insights they need to perform at the highest level.

With solutions for training and coaching, as well as insights into sales performance, customers can ensure their sales reps are always ready to make the most of any buyer interaction.The vendor boasts that thousands of customers – including more than half of the Fortune 100 – rely on Brainshark to close performance gaps and get better results from their sales enablement initiatives.

Brainshark is a BigTinCan brand, since the August, 2021 acquisition.

Brainshark Features

  • Supported: Readiness Scorecards
  • Supported: Coaching & Practice
  • Supported: Training & Onboarding
  • Supported: Content Authoring

Brainshark Video

Introduction to Brainshark

Brainshark Integrations

Brainshark Competitors

Brainshark Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Brainshark?

Brainshark is a video presentation platform for sales enablement, now from BIgTinCan (acquired August 2021).

What are Brainshark's top competitors?

MindTickle are common alternatives for Brainshark.

What is Brainshark's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Brainshark?

The most common users of Brainshark are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Financial Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 52)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Lori Houser | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brainshark to create, deliver and track our training programs as well as create a learning library for all of our digital learning content. Using BSK to deliver our various training programs allows us to keep up with managing our onboarding trainings and all of our various specialized trainings required by the employees role. It’s help eliminate time gaps from employees getting trained in a timely manner and when it matters most. We’ve also been able to set up “training now” so if someone runs into a how to situation they can access our learning library with specific micro learning material to help guide them.
  • Easy content creation.
  • Analytics and reporting.
  • Scorecards.
  • Removing learners enrollments.
  • Ability to send feedback or scores to a users specific hierarchy.
Brainshark is very user-friendly and it’s very easy to create learning content, even a beginner could walk through it fairly easily. They also have a great support team and help site that can pretty much answer any question with video tutorials.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We usually use it for training purposes and to make sure our employees are compliant when it comes to certain compliance frameworks like HIPPA.
  • Sales Enablement.
  • New Hire Onboarding.
  • Learning and Development Platform.
  • It's not intuitive to use for less tech savvy personnel.
  • More of an educational platform rather than a sales enablement platform.
  • Reporting could be more granular.
It would be great for onboarding new hires by breaking down the onboarding into different courses/milestones where each employee completes and tracks their progress. It might not be the best sales enablement platform as it lacks guest reporting and sharing/emailing content with external parties even though its integration with Salesforce is good to have a solution for training sales teams.
Chris Edwards | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brainshark is efficient and it's used in our organization across various departments where we use it in employee onboarding and coaching. However, we use it more so in sales training and preparing our sales teams for their task ahead. The best thing with the platform is that it allows for the development and incorporation of content in the platform and this ensures that you educate your staff using customized and unique content that fits your organization's mission and vision.
  • It's simple to use and this ensures that it fits excellently in all organizations.
  • Allows us to train our staff (more so the sales team), and this ensures that they remain knowledgeable in what we do.
  • Can be used also in other departments to impart the relevant skills and ensure that they are able to execute their roles with ease.
  • Some of our less tech-savvy users had a steep learning curve in understanding how best to use the platform.
Brainshark is a learning management system and this makes it fit for every scenario where you are aiming to impart knowledge and sharpen the skills of your staff where they increase their capacity to deliver and bring a turnaround in your organization. The Sales teams are able to execute their mandate with ease and this ensures that our revenue increases day by day.
This is because the platform has a simple user interface and does not pose much of a challenge to its users.
February 15, 2020

Brainshark Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brainshark is used to help guide employees with education for our company. For example, if they create a new product, we will have training on Brainshark that will be required by a certain date to complete to learn more about it. We also use it for training purposes. We are assigned certain training activities and receive a grade.
  • It's organized well.
  • It's easy to navigate.
  • Sometimes it is hard to find what you are assigned.
Brainshark is great for new employees and the company to utilize to help them guide the employee throughout their onboarding process. I like how there are optional training sections that you can view as well as the mandatory training that you know you need to complete. I could see it used in many organizations.
I have never needed to contact Brainshark for support.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had a ton of marketing and sales content, but we weren't able to compile it in one space. It's been incredibly beneficial during the onboarding process and our trainees really enjoyed using the program. They were able to work at somewhat of their own pace, but I could keep track of what had been done and when. With continued sales coaching, we were able to get our money's worth. Our entire organization uses this to keep up on our product and sales tactics and our sales team relies on it for all new hires and continued education. I'd absolutely suggest those looking for a Sales Content Manager to go with Brainshark.
  • Super easy to create content and extensive product library.
  • You can track who has completed each section and when.
  • Helps you create and manage your Sales and Marketing training content.
  • Q and A ability.
  • User navigation is very easy. UI is user-friendly.
  • Some of the technical aspects can be tricky- embedding a video, merging content, etc.
  • Editing
  • Branding
  • Customizable surveys
Brainshark is best suited within an organization that needs the functionality of an online training program. It's great for sales and marketing. Brainshark was a great investment for our company. The ability to train candidates without standing in front of them talking for a week gave us a tremendous amount of time back and it's effective! It's simple to use and extremely customizable. Great for sales knowledge. There are so many ways you can implement it though, so if you choose this product make sure that you spend the time to understand all of the awesome stuff it can do.
Brainshark support has always been incredibly helpful. Any question or issue we ran into they answered quickly. This company clearly keeps success at the top of their list and does what they can to lessen churn.
Richard Gichangi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brainshark is a software that we use in our company to coach and train our sales teams, reps and the whole department to prepare them for marketing and augmenting the sales of our company effectively and in an efficient manner. Its simple to use and it has helped our company grow our sales volume and in the process increase our revenue and market niche.
  • You can prepare your content and use it for coaching the sales team and reps in the manner that you like and based on your specific company context.
  • You can record training sessions as videos and use them later as webinars and online training.
  • It has a simple user-interface and this makes it more reliable and efficient.
  • Supported only in iOS mobile devices, hence locks out Android users.
  • The language supported, for now, is English and it should be expanded further to match other international languages.
Brainshark works well in a scenario where as a company you are aiming to help your sales reps attain sales mastery. It offers organizations the ability to execute better onboarding, training, coaching, and continuous learning opportunities to their sales reps and teams (both current and future incoming employees).
Betsy Abney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brainshark in two main ways. First, to be able to provide links anywhere, such as in emails, newsletters and our website. These links are primarily of webinars we have produced and trainings we have created. Second, for formal learning, creating curricula with classes, quizzes, webinars to review, surveys to take etc.
  • I love how easy creating a Brainshark and their formal learning is to use. Upload an animated Power Point, record audio, add music, or use videos etc.
  • Their formal learning also keeps track of people in classes, allows us to invite people to a curricula, send notifications when classes are added, and update on the fly without having to resubmit all new classes.
  • I also love that people in classes can run their own transcript and see where they are in a program, and if graded how they scored.
  • I think their general reporting could be more robust and/or easier to use
  • I don't like their main emphasis is now on sales. Our emphasis is education, technology, industry changes, as well as sales.
I love what Brainshark does for me and how easy it is to train someone else to use it. Most people are familiar with PowerPoint and that makes and easy start that can be enhanced with animation, voice over and background music. You can also upload videos, SCORM compliant classes and more to make an easy to use system to present training and education. I have reviewed a number of other programs, and all seem to have the same weaknesses in reporting. Brainshark does what I need without a lot of difficult training.
Mark Rice | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Brainshark to promote our solutions and services and to drive customer acquisition. We use SlideShark for presentation, demonstrations and kiosks. We also integrate Brainshark presentations into customer displays that promote awareness, product and brand.
  • We use the video slide feature often for promoting our products. The video slide provides more motion and activity to attract viewers at the very beginning of the presentation.
  • SlideShark is a great mobile application that allows us to share presentation content and present during sales calls. It is easy to use and always ready.
  • We have been passing parameters to and from the Brainshark guest book for years. Using the guest book parameters, you can capture viewer information without the viewer completing fields. This works great in email applications where you can pass attributes into the guest book automatically.
  • Would like to see more user control for how videos are displayed in social media - selection of splash image, description, sizing, shareable links.
For a long time, Brainshark focused their use case on producing training content. I was an early adopter and started using Brainshark presentations in short "trailers" for webinar promotion at Xerox Corporation. I continue to this day to use Brainshark as a customer acquisition tool. Brainshark has found its "sweet spot" now that they are focused on sales effectiveness and integrating with customer relationship management platforms.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brainshark is used across my whole organization to view presentations. It allows us to safely upload and store large files that anyone can log in from anywhere and access. Some of these files are too large to share via email. The presentations are accessed through registered users only. You can view the presentations directly through Brainshark or open the file in a Microsoft PowerPoint document or PDF. It keeps all of our documents organized. There are folders that can be created, which is what helps keep it organized too.
  • Security through registered users.
  • Storage of large files.
  • Organization of information.
  • The timer per page is too fast.
It is helpful for Product launches/updates and presentations about our company.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brainshark is used primarily by Sales and Marketing, though other departments create some content. It is used internally only; we do not send presentations to customers or the public. It is fantastic for delivering a consistent message to a large group of people - for example the entire sales force. Saves a lot of time and effort versus creating a one-way webinar style broadcast.
  • Consistency - the same message is delivered.
  • Speed - a presentation can be created quickly.
  • Execution - very easy to use by creators and viewers.
  • More video focus.
  • Integrated video/audio editing.
  • Improved advanced reporting.
Brainshark is great for simple messages and for soft skills, but I might find it challenging for delivering hardware or technical training.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company, Brainshark is used by different departments within our organization. In Learning and Development, we primarily use Brainshark for assessments. It allows us to make content available over the internet to our various training locations around the globe. We use it to measure learner knowledge after instructor led courses and workshops. We also use Brainshark to deliver annual refresher/acknowledgements where instructor led courses are not available/practical.
  • Brainshark does assessments well! It has greatly evolved over the past 4 years and it is a much better product today. We have a standard template we use for the beginning pages of all our presentations, so it is important that the uploading of PowerPoints and replication is simple - and we have that with Brainshark. We also use the Guestbook (registration by employees) to track new hire progress, security, and expiration dates and it is very easy to set up.
  • Brainshark allows for ease of locating previously created items and run reports: A Brainshark "presentation" is each unique entry and it is easy to track each Course, Assessment, CBT, Simulation, Video, Module, etc. and also run customized reporting on each presentation.
  • Brainshark allows for simple reordering of slides within each presentation: After importing new information or creating additional slides, a simple drag-n-drop process of moving slides around is a quick and easy way to change the order within a presentation.
  • Brainshark doesn't allow for editing another author's presentations: When working in a global L&D department, attrition, time of day, vacations, holidays, and a plethora of other reasons arise to edit/revise another author's work. In Brainshark, there is no simple way to share created presentations, like you do with the MS Office suite.
  • Brainshark doesn't allow for guest reporting: When we have team leaders or trainers who are not "authors" need to run reports on a particular presentation, the actual presentation author must run the report for them.
  • Brainshark doesn't permanently archive (only made "not visible" and doesn't appear in searches): However, clicking a link to an archived presentation will reactivate it. If there is an link to archived presentation in older materials, and if the link is clicked, the course will become available once again. Note: there is a warning box that appears when an archived link is clicked but not all users respond appropriately.
Brainshark is great for:
  • Assessments (created within the application)
  • Training (imported PowerPoint slides) with audio (that you record over the phone), where instructors are not available
  • Providing stand alone URLs (especially for new associates who don't have permissions on our network/intranet yet)
  • On-the fly updates (provided you are the author)
  • Certificates of completion
Brainshark is challenged at:
  • Some LMS reporting systems - we have to use Brainshark embedded within another application that does our reporting. Not hard, just a hassle.
We've found a few glitches and needed some branding updated. Each time we've called, they were super responsive and cared about my issue as much as I did! They've even helped me (and another vendor) figure out how to have this other outside software integrate with theirs to achieve an even greater presentation. I'm super impressed with their Customer Service people.
November 11, 2015

Brainshark is the Best.

S. Renee Conley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brainshark across our organization with some locations using it more than others. We use Brainshark to create training presentations for our staff. The biggest way that I use Brainshark is to create employee benefit informational presentations for our clients.
  • Easy to use
  • Creates professional presentation
  • Flexibility in media use
  • The only problem I have ever had with Brainshark is that there isn't an undo button.
If you are looking to create, distribute and monitor presentations, Brainshark is the best.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We have an in depth understanding of the technology and work with leading retailers, wholesalers and packaged goods organizations to implement and more effectively utilize Brainshark.
We typically address changing how a client creates and sends important and actionable content throughout their organization as well as to their customers.
  • Easy to use and create content - we can get a basic PPT user up and running in less than an hour.
  • Excellent tool to create a product library quickly and effectively so it can accessed by your employees through their easy to set up searchable content portal.
  • If you are a SFDC user Brainshark is an excellent tool to create and manage sales, marketing and training content... and Brainshark easily connects to your SFDC platform
  • Brainshark has addressed a number of feature enhancements over the past two years...it really performs at a high level on a consistent basis...
  • Ocassionally we run into a large video file >500mb that we have to address directly with support but it does not happen very often...
The biggest hurdle a company faces is understanding the various ways that they can utilize Brainshark and then making sure they implement those use cases on an ongoing basis... the best scenario is when someone comes into the organization that has experience using Brainshark and they can quickly assess where and how Brainshark can add value to the organization.
I always get an immediate response and detailed instructions to help address my questions.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Brainshark for a number of different reasons. In our HR/Payroll Services area we are using it for new employee orientation, directions for registering for different tools that are available to employees, and for training in different payroll-related areas. Our Center for University Learning is using it for continuing education purposes. In the near future we will be developing even more videos to be used as "toolboxes"for managers to assist them in their management duties.
  • Tracks those who view the video and how much of the video they viewed
  • Allows the video to skip to different areas based on responses from the viewer
  • Provides Q&A ability so that viewers may be quizzed, and required to supply correct answers to continue if needed.
  • The only thing that I have struggled with occasionally is embedding video into a split-screen presentation.
We haven't found anything that we haven't been able to do with Brainshark.
Brainshark customer service has always been available when we need them and they respond very quickly.
Elizabeth Brochu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brainshark for all sorts of things - marketing, training, internal communications, etc. The entire enterprise is using the product. It gives us a cost effective way to communicate with large groups, large target segments with all the right tracking, metrics, reporting, etc. Plus, it is so user friendly.
  • Allow video to display within a presentation
  • Allow you to easily replicate content
  • User navigation is the best ever
  • They have continuous improvement, the product always gets better
  • I would like to be able to make simple edits to video, like eliminating dead space
  • I would like more variety in the free background music choices
  • I'd like to be able to take one slide out of a Brainshark and add it to another more easily. Although merge content is already pretty easy.
February 25, 2015

Brainshark Review

Justin James | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are about to start our 3rd year using Brainshark. What I like best about the product is that it allows me to pull in a variety of different media to quickly assemble marketing, sales, or training decks and distribute it across a variety of media and devices. You can track who watched and how many times your presentation was watched through their tracking service. I am also able to see where people are dropping out of presentations so you can make the proper adjustments and hold the customers attention. I produce a lot of videos for marketing, sales, and implementation and I love how I can update a videos/slide decks without having to change the URL. The presentations can be copied and edited and I can easily reuse and amend content for different audiences. The customer service and on-boarding is great and allows you to quickly get up to speed so you can start producing content for your internal or external users. They never stop releasing new features and now they are becoming content providers for sales and onboarding training.
  • You can Track who watched and how many times your presentation was watched through their tracking service.
  • Customer service is outstanding. They will walk you through any difficulties you encounter.
  • They are always working and expanding the product to give me ways to engage with my audience
  • They need to add closed captions to their player... using slide notes as a caption is not acceptable. Its been 3 yrs since I brought this up.
  • They favor Apple products, I use droid and it seems like the droid app doesn't get the attention of the apple app.
  • Pricing is a little steep compared to competitors
Is this for internal training or external marketing? I see a lot of people use it for internal training but not customer facing material. Brainshark does both well and that is where the value lies. If you only need one or the other this might more power than you need.
I have never walked away without a answer and a explanation. That doesn't always mean I am satisfied with the answer but every company/product has limitations.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brainshark globally for compliance, product, safety and human resources training.
  • Customer support
  • Continuous updates of product functionality
  • Strong virtual training center, self service
  • I would love to see functionality for certifications.
I think Brainshark is suitable for organizations looking for an easy to use tool that engages employees but also has global/translation capabilities.
Stephanie VanGilder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the organization to communicate to our co-workers. Most recently, we have used the product to communicate our benefits changes for open enrollment. This process was previously handled by HR Reps throughout our ministry holding on-site meetings. Now we are sure the exact same message is being given to every co-worker and they are able to access the information at a time that works best for them.
  • Easy to use - upload PowerPoint and then add voice over
  • Allows you to link to outside websites
  • Professional looking finished product...can be set up to run almost like a movie for the end user.
  • Would like to have the ability to do minor PowerPoint edits from inside the program.
  • Would like to have a section header functionality...currently there are chapter titles, but it would be nice to be able to delineate one more level down.
  • Improved functionality for moving slides, maybe an edit on the slide number that would allow you to quickly move it longer distances rather than drag and drop.
If you need a lot of interaction with the material, this isn't the best solution.

For communicating information, voice over PowerPoint even with assessment questions, this is a great solution. We also use Brandwatch for short commercial like communications and for providing timely information in an unexpected format from our leaders.
Christi Chambers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brainshark for internal sales force training. It's mostly used by our Inside and Outside Sales Divisions. Brainshark allows our new and existing representatives to quickly get up to speed on their product knowledge. We are able to deliver a consistent message to all employees.
  • We like the ability to add audio to our courses
  • We like the ability to build the tests into the presentations and to track scores
  • We like the ability to pull reports on course completed, vs. not completed and to see who is using the system vs. who is not.
  • Better navigation to view and select courses by title, author
  • Easier course enrollments
  • Being able to easily navigate between the presentation side and learning lockers and know what side you are on
  • Advanced reporting
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brainshark is being used across the global organization. It helps our SMEs create presentations to help train colleagues and clients.
  • Ease of Use
  • Versatile in language of player
  • User-friendly reporting
  • Easy sharing
  • It is not always the SME that wants to narrate so an easier way to invite guest narrators would make the creation process less painful.
  • More detailed description of report types. Depending on what output I am in search of, I find myself having select each option until I find what I need.
  • An option to insert a slide instead of just adding and having to move it up by repeatedly pressing the up arrow.
Brainshark is well suited for sharing information that is non-proprietary. If security is an issue, there are other features that should be enabled. Essentially, anyone who has the logon information can view the presentation which may not be appropriate in some cases.
January 22, 2015

Brainshark 1/21/2015

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brainshark across our organization, primarily for internal training and information. It helps us spread information more quickly in an electronic format and track who has seen the information.
  • Tracking and reporting who has viewed the presentation
  • Making it easy to send the presentation to everyone, or a selected group within our organization
  • Easy to use
  • Flexibility/more options within the question slides
  • The ability for other employees (for example audit) to pull reports on presentations they did not create
Brainshark works really well for training and spreading new information, especially with the tracking features and completion criteria option so that we know who has actually viewed the information.
Tina Callisto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brainshark was implemented by the IT Department where it is currently used to design, deliver and host communications, presentations and training for project related activities.
  • Brainshark is a very user-friendly tool that can be learned in a very short period of time; which was extremely valuable as there was only one experienced Brainshark author in our company.
  • Brainshark is a great way to communicate to a global audience. Our company has expanded their global footprint and often the only cost effective way to communicate or train in different time zones and remote locations is using tools like Brainshark.
  • Brainshark provides us a hosting platform accessible across the globe where none exists today in our company.
  • I'd like to see more reference material around reporting. Brainshark has robust reporting for this type of tool, but often it requires my calling the support desk to understand certain aspects of reporting.
Brainshark is an excellent choice if you're looking for a content creation tool that is geared toward business users and doesn't require content development skills. Having said that, Brainshark can accommodate many file types, including content that is developed in tools like Captivate and Camtasia. It's also a great hosting tool for an organization that doesn't have this type of capability and can integrate with LMS systems.
January 15, 2015

Simple and consistent

Brad Shafton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brainshark is being used throughout the company for streaming learning and other modules to our users throughout the world. While it is mainly used by training, users throughout the company are gaining more familiarity with the product. The biggest need that this addresses is the ability to quickly produce and deliver information without needing advanced production skills.
  • Simple content creation
  • Easy management and security
  • Video editing
  • Advanced polling
I think it is an applicable solution for all medium to large companies. We all have the need for training and communication delivery, and Brainshark facilitates and simplifies that. Even if you just use it as a private YouTube you will see a benefit.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Brainshark is being used almost exclusively by our marketing department. However, we just renewed our contract to a full enterprise audience and have heard interest from other groups who would like to use it for internal training.

Within marketing, we are basically using it as a way to quickly generate presentations with audio and distribute the content to our clients (financial advisors). In the past we'd need to work with a design team to develop slides with audio and get it posted for distribution. Brainshark allows a non-technical, non-design person to use a templated presentation and produce usable content quickly.

We primarily use it for commentary updates from portfolio managers, but have also created more elaborate marketing messages as well.
  • Fast production time - if you want to avoid a large-scale effort, but would like audio with slides, this is about as simple as it can get.
  • Metrics - because we use Brainshark as a marketing tool, we can use metrics to track the success of the message. The ability to drill down to individual user, how much they viewed and location is nice.
  • Media Options - The tool allows use of PPT, audio, PDF, video and more that I'm sure I'm forgetting. It seems like it can display/play most files you throw at it.
  • Animation Editing - We found that once you start attempting complex animations, the minor differences between how they render and are supported often make us choose to produce video for highly graphic presentations.
  • Campaign Development - They used to have a rudimentary campaign functionality, which was removed. What we'd really like is the ability for us to record one of our experts and then splice in all our sales people so it appears they are the ones doing the interview. That would be very beneficial, but currently it has to be done manually.
  • File sizes - We have occasionally had issues with videos not playing/loading smoothly even though they were smaller than the recommended file sizes.

It's well-suited for any time you'd like to have a presentation with audio. It doesn't take the place of video and isn't the best for highly graphical items. Technically, you can use video on it, but that's not it's forte. It also has a significant amount of elearning capabilities, but I haven't used these items.

If you are only purchasing a certain amount of server space (not sure if they still sell it that way), you are going to run out. We kept hitting our maximum and had to bump it up.

Also, if you don't have a clear owner, but have lots of users, it will become a rats nest of folders and users.

The first line of support is pretty basic, but if you can get to the more senior/technical people, they're solid.
Saadia Ali | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brainshark on a regular basis to provide on-demand training content and bite-size learning to different departments at our company. It is a great tool for providing just-in-time training and since it can be viewed from any device, there is no restriction on when and where someone views the recordings. The process to create a Brainshark is very simple - upload your content and then record your voice. You can choose to include different assets like videos, web pages, surveys, quizzes etc. The reporting tool provides lots of details on content views and durations. For us it works really well and we can push it out through our LMS. Their support is great and we usually get a response back in less than 24 hours. A couple of enhancements I would like to see would be adding some sort of a timer to the quiz feature and more enhanced editing options.
  • Recording slide by slide and animation by animation gives you the ability to really tailor your talk track and message
  • Simple to use interface and features - easily create surveys and quizzes
  • The detailed reports really help you see how long someone stayed on a slide or did not for that matter. For compliance trainings you can setup completion criteria
  • Timer on quizzes would be a great enhancement
  • A simpler interface to editing the content. Too many clicks right now to edit content which can be minimized with a more robust editing UI
It is best suited to deliver on-demand content anywhere anytime. It is not restricted to any department or industry. I think everyone can take advantage of this tool. I have seen Marketing create content, Sales create short introduction Brainsharks, Finance create presentations, and HR use it for talking about benefits.