Campaign Monitor Reviews

69 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Andrew Knight | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

As good as anything else, best suited to Salesforce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

If you compare features, they are not too dissimilar really, but we found CM to be a better fit for our business. We have tried the others previously and whilst they work fine, CM was just better suited to other systems we already had in place which made our decision easy.
Read Andrew Knight's full review
John Silva, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Awesome Templates. Easy and intuitive Automation Workflows

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Campaign Monitor is much easier to use to create marvelous emails based on their templates. Their collection of templates is impressive. It's all drag and drop. Super easy! Also it offers a much more robust platform than Mailchimp for automation features, like building segments based on triggers. I also like the fact that Campaign Monitor has their own app store. Knowing Campaign Monitor offers integration with over 200 apps is a sign that in the future if we needed to integrate with any other system, that integration process would be smooth.
Read John Silva, MBA's full review
Taylor Johnston | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

If you just need a simple, reliable email builder, Campaign Monitor is the best

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Campaign Monitor isn't as fun to use as Mailchimp and doesn't have as many features, but the email builder is better if that's what's important to you. HubSpot's email builder is less reliable but more flexible, and it comes with way more automation/workflow options, better list management, and a suite of other marketing tools (also way more expensive).
Read Taylor Johnston's full review
Beau Baumbach | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

A step above entry level email marketing systems.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Campaign Monitor, in my opinion, is much better than Mailchimp and Constant Contact because of their ability to protect end-users from spammy emails. Constant Contact and Mailchimp essentially let you send whatever you'd like with no regard to the end-user. Campaign Monitor does not stack up against SharpSpring very well, but SharpSpring is much more than just an email platform so I could be comparing apples and oranges.
Read Beau Baumbach's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Director of Marketing and Business Development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In the past, I have used Mailchimp and Constant Contact. Although both of these programs were easy to use, I always had issues with the formatting. The email campaigns would look fantastic in the software, but once they were sent, they would have a lot of formatting issues, spaces, font changes, etc. I don't run into that issue with Campaign Monitor, so I spend a lot less time trying to fix things because they work correctly the first time around.
Read this authenticated review
David Sedillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2019

A Solid, Easy to Use Email Marketing Platform With Room to Grow and Improve

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Not as comprehensive as other email marketing platforms, and not as competitive when it comes to pricing for entry-level users. It does have advantages in the easy to use drag-and-drop editor, but not enough to truly stand out from the competition.
Read David Sedillo's full review
Becca Sangwin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2018

Pretty Good, But Missing a Few Key Features

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We moved from MailChimp to Campaign Monitor because we thought it was a step up. The automation, targeting, and testing with Campaign Monitor is more advanced than what MailChimp had to offer. Since using Campaign Monitor for about 7 months now, I can say that Campaign Monitor is better on many levels, except the email builder. I think MailChimp’s email builder is more intuitive and has some features that Campaign Monitor lacks, like social sharing buttons and the ability to update HTML.

We had a couple demos with Emma as well. Emma and Campaign Monitor are super comparable and there were no huge differences between the two. The reason we ended up going with Campaign Monitor is because it's more widely used and well established. Ironically, Campaign Monitor now owns Emma.
Read Becca Sangwin's full review
Nick Wynkoop | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2018

Incredibly powerful, flexible, and extendable email platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MailChimp and ConstantContact try to do too much and do it very poorly. They are slow, clunky, and ugly. They cater to simple users instead of giving pros the tools they need. Convert kit is only good for bloggers or people selling ebooks, but I have used Campaign Monitor for literally any kind of client you can think of from worldwide retail leaders to a local dentist.
Read Nick Wynkoop's full review
Quentin Aisbett | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

Easy To Use. Great Functionality.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ease of use is a priority for us because when we recommend a solution, we want it to be intuitive for our clients. For this reason, Campaign Monitor was preferred over providers such as AWeber and Constant Contact. MailChimp is the other that we find comparable to Campaign Monitor and right now the decision is personal preference only.
Read Quentin Aisbett's full review
Nicholas De Salvo | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2017

A great service to get you started, but you'll want to try something else as your list grows.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use a variety of products in this space for all kinds of purposes. This is a simple solution to get you started. When we first started with them, they billed themselves as a simple email tool for designers, which largely remains their legacy. Every product they offer is aimed at making things simple for their customer to send and manage email. As your needs grow, the tool you use will need to grow as well, but this is a good place to get started.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
Chris Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2017

Campaign Monitor - A Well Rounded Email Marketing Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used all of the competitors of Campaign Monitor, and I would say it stacks up well with any of them. They all have their own various features that set them apart from their competitors. I personally like the visual workflow builder of AutoPliot, but I like the email designer better in Campaign Monitor. I personally picked this platform because out of all of them it had the most consistent and well rounded features of all the platforms that mean the most to me and what I do. I enjoy the email designer, list management, and campaign features. I would like to see some more development in the ares of building journeys that can be use cross platforms like SMS.
Read Chris Williams's full review
Billie-Ann Woo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2017

Campaign Monitor: Good, Basic Email Tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I haven't used Constant Contact in ages. Couldn't tell you right now how it compares as email marketing tools get updated so frequently. That's a great thing about this platform and stream of technology - it changes so much. If you are thinking of evaluating tools, it's best to do demos from a wide range of tools (even if you have used them before) to see if they have updated functionality that you used to hate or added something really cool. MailChimp is a good tried & true sender. Sometimes I think the interface is a bit too basic but I am a more experienced email marketer. I use it for my non-profit work and my less-technically-savvy colleagues are able to use it with ease.
Read Billie-Ann Woo's full review
Tara Robertson | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2016

Email Marketing Made Simple

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I think campaign monitor is easier to use on the agency level as well as from a dashboard. MailChimp seems more rudimentary to me for some reason. I also really like the co-branding you can set up for your business with campaign monitor to track to your own website link as well as color scheme your dashboard to your brand.
Read Tara Robertson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2018

The easiest, most feature-packed way to keep in touch with customers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have tried both MailChimp and Constant Contact. Constant Contact required a lot of custom work just to get it to do what I needed. MailChimp was a bit too aggressive with their lists, and I would get frequent bounces from addresses that I knew were valid. It was very frustrating. I have yet to experience either of these issues using Campaign Monitor.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2016

Campaign Monitor allows novice users to send & monitor their email campaigns. Expert email marketers need not apply.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Once templates are set up, Campaign Monitor seems to be easier to use for novices than either MailChimp or Vertical Response. There is less back-and-forth between steps, and Campaign Monitor seems to want to usher you along all the steps as quickly as possible without the need for reviewing and testing. A/B testing is a breeze, and can automatically send emails after a certain threshold is reached.

This comes at a price, as emails turn out to be more formulaic and less dynamic.
Read this authenticated review

Campaign Monitor Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (4)
8.8
Dynamic content (19)
7.2
Ability to test dynamic content (1)
8
A/B testing (19)
8.3
Email deliverability reporting (1)
10
Standard reports (1)
10

About Campaign Monitor

Campaign Monitor is an easy-to-use email marketing tool that allows entrepreneurs at growing businesses to send beautiful, relevant newsletters, creating a reliable channel to grow engagement with their subscribers and promote loyal readership. Our beautiful templates, drag and drop interface and engagement-based segmentation allow marketers to deliver targeted content to large lists of subscribers with ease.
Categories:  Email Marketing

Campaign Monitor Features

Email & Online Marketing Features
Has featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Does not have featureAbility to test dynamic content
Does not have featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Does not have featureMobile optimization
Does not have featureEmail deliverability reporting
Does not have featureList management
Does not have featureTriggered drip sequences
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Does not have featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Pre-Send Testing Features
Does not have featureURL Validation
Does not have featureLink Tracking
Does not have featureImage Validation
Does not have featureInbox Display
Does not have featureEmail Accessibility Tools
Does not have featureSpelling and Grammar Check
Does not have featureSpam Testing
Does not have featureEmail Previews
Does not have featureAssign Reviewers
Does not have featureEmail Version Control
Does not have featureTask Lists
Does not have featureReview Status Updates
Additional Features
Has featureMobile Ready Templates
Has featureInbox Preview
Has featureEmail Automation
Has featureUnlimited Contact Lists
Has featureList Segmentation
Has featureCustom Fields
Has featureFacebook Subscribe
Has featureSocial Sharing
Has feature24/7 Support
Has featurePersonalization
Has featureTemplate Gallery
Has featureSpam Testing
Has featureBranding

Campaign Monitor Screenshots

Campaign Monitor Integrations

SoClever, LiveChat, SessionCam, Lytics, Zapier, Salesforce, Facebook Subscribe, MailSync

Campaign Monitor Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Campaign Monitor Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
40%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Campaign Monitor Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Campaign Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Languages: English