Ceridian Dayforce HCM

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Reviews

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Ratings and Reviews
(51-75 of 973)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
November 24, 2020

Still Learning!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce for employee information management and payroll. It is used across the organization. This product helps each department manager understand and efficiently manage the staff in each department. It also permits HR to best manage benefits, payroll, and vacation time. Ceridian Dayforce addresses our need to compare staff hours with building usage and to determine how best to utilize staff hours.
  • Retro pay and PTO management
  • Insights conference
  • Ceridian XOXO for learning
  • We miss our customer success manager
  • $4,000 in change fees
  • Zero compatibility with our preferred onboarding software
  • Great report generating capabilities
  • Easily grows with our company
  • Very adaptable
  • Retroactive payroll changes, predicting payroll, and comparisons are made easier
  • Terrific for benefits management
  • System permits our managers to track staffing and compare to anticipated customer needs
  • Difficult to interface with other products outside the Ceridian system.
  • Might not be well suited to a system with rapid changes, as it is expensive to make system changes
November 18, 2020

Dayforce Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce for payroll, benefits, personal information, on-boarding, time clocks, tracking PTO/vacation, and soon recruiting. It is being used across the whole organization. It addresses many issues we were having with housing employee person information, onboarding, payroll, and tracking employees hours worked.
  • Tracking PTO/vacation time and requesting days off.
  • Onboarding employees before their first day in the office.
  • Pulling reports
  • Employees being able to submit address, W4, and beneficiary changes on their own.
  • Timesheet tracking
  • Mobile app, employees being able to submit forms. (Address changes, marital status, phone numbers)
  • Being able to see forms employees completed during onboarding.
  • Onboarding enabled in Mobile
Well suited: Housing employee information and electing benefits. Needs improvement: Creating billable rates for the event industry.
Overtime policies, COBRA edi, tax withholdings, and health care eligibility.
In my role, I do not submit support tickets
Easy to use
Yes
New releases cause your configuration to change. Take notes on what changes and what to check, complete the testing before the release goes live.
November 18, 2020

It's complicated

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Wallet (in implementation), Payroll, Onboarding. We do not use recruiting, performance, compensation, advanced scheduling or time. Onboarding has streamlined our former process and saved us several hours a week companywide. Wallet will be a huge help to our hourly employees, we are excited to be able to offer this moving forward.
  • Provide solid demos.
  • Hire exceptional Customer Success Managers and assign them to appropriate accounts.
  • Provide several online tools via website and peer to peer support groups.
  • Inconsistent Dayforce client support representative knowledge.
  • Lots of bugs for new releases.
  • Cost prohibitive for smaller companies.
  • Many options in the software are not geared towards retail/hourly employees. More often than not, we are having to come up with workarounds and deal with subpar data. We are still using spreadsheets for several things.
Ceridian Dayforce is an excellent product if you have a large budget and can afford every package that is offered. Once things are broken up and patchworked together, the system does not function fully. Clients are forced to come up with workaround solutions that often times add time to projects vs save time/streamline processes.
We are in multiple states, Dayforce helps us stay compliant with local, state and federal taxes. It also helps us track and monitor overtime to make sure we are accurately paying employees.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian is used for ESS and payroll for our whole organization.
  • Employee self service.
  • Applicant tracking.
  • Timesheets.
  • Project tracking and reporting.
  • Time reporting.
  • Reporting module.
We have a timesheet process more similar to what is done by government contractors. Ceridian has been very difficult to adapt to our needs despite assurances during implementation that it would work seamlessly.
In some areas, mostly relating to H/R compliance is great. On the payroll side we have had issues getting reports that show our auditors that we are compliant with our grant requirements.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce across the organization for employee communication, human resources, benefits, and payroll. Ceridian Dayforce allows us to have a complex variable payroll with varying incentive programs.
  • Ceridian Dayforce allows for a multi-tier and complex incentive program for our complex payroll.
  • Open enrollment is done easily and efficiently.
  • It allows for me to process payroll with one staff member per 1,000 employees.
  • Prices are too high.
  • Ceridian has become too large-business focused and has forgotten the small businesses that got them to where they are today.
  • Bug fixes are slow and there are still too many of them, especially with new products.
Ceridian Dayforce is well suited for complex payrolls and large companies. For small and medium size businesses, this software is much too expensive.
The tax department needs some serious work. We are constantly getting corrections and notices from federal, state, and local taxing agencies. Addressing these is time consuming and expensive.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is our total platform for payroll and employee benefits. We use the platform as administrators, managers, and employees.
  • Payroll processing
  • New hires
  • Integration with learning
  • Benefits
  • Tax Integration with Payroll
  • Open Enrollment
Ceridian Dayforce payroll is easy to run. Quick entries make adding unique payroll items and manual checks easy, and totals are easy to review. Imports work particularly well in payroll. Improvement could be made in the benefits module and with the integration between payroll and tax. Tax support for a multi-state company is lacking. The benefits module is not easy to use when you want to make changes to one dependent. All benefits are end-dated and restarted, even if the employee and other dependents are not impacted. We've experienced issues around age-banded benefits that also have guarantee issue thresholds that still do not work after two years on the system.
PPACA compliance is fairly straightforward in Ceridian Dayforce. The module allows you to generate all of the required forms and edit each before marking the task complete. Ceridian Dayforce will then file and print the forms by the due date. I do wish the platform allowed a set standard code for the reporting of employee benefits on the 1095. Ceridian Dayforce also allows a file feed to our medical and Cobra vendor to comply with initial hire and termination Cobra notices.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is being used for scheduling, payroll, HR, and recruitment. The entire organization at all levels uses Ceridian Dayforce. Our HR team is the primary administrator. Ceridian Dayforce allows us to limit the number of systems we are using, as it is an all in one platform. It allows us access to real-time data--data that we never had access to before!
  • Stays one step ahead--always looking to improve the system
  • Gains customer feedback (xoxo portal, INSIGHTS, surveys) for future upgrades/enhancements
  • All-in-one system--efficient and user friendly system
  • Fast responses from the support team can be improved (although I have seen large improvements in this area over the years)
  • Support to organizations that don't have an HRIS specialist (its hard to keep up to date with all of the enhancements/upgrades that we'd love to utilize!)
  • We seem to struggle with ROEs
Ceridian Dayforce is suitable for an organization that is looking for a one-stop shop. It's fast and easy to use for any tech level. You can use as much of the platform as you'd like (e.g., jump all in or build at your own pace). We appreciate that we can grow Ceridian Dayforce at our own pace and add additional features/modules when we have the time and resources to implement them.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used by our entire organization, from entry-level employees with access to their schedules, earnings, vacation balances, and W2 information to all levels of management up to Human Resources. We use Dayforce for all functions of our business including HR, payroll, benefits, recruiting, and onboarding. Dayforce reduces our need for paper documents, therefore saving time and money for our company.
  • Payroll
  • People Management
  • Time Sheet Tracking
  • Ease of use
  • Mobile Applications
Dayforce is fantastic for Human Resources in being able to process payroll, track employee records and timesheets, onboard new staff, and manage benefits all in one place. HOWEVER, it's mobile functions are extremely lacking for 2020 and holds us back from being able to utilize this software completely.
We are able to automate compliance with labor union rules, state tax withholding, overtime policies, healthcare eligibility, etc.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce across our whole organization. It provides HR and payroll information in one place and allows our multiple locations to have one-stop shopping, so to speak.
  • Very robust; anything you need to manage can be done
  • It is very user friendly for our staff to use
  • The support provided has been very accessible
  • Have all departments within Ceridian Dayforce communicate so when you have an issue in one area that affects another area, you don't have to start all over.
  • Not sure how you would do this, but try have whoever is working on your support ticket be someone from your particular time zone. Nothing is more frustrating than when you have a two- to three-hour window to work with your support tech or when they want to set-up a meeting at 6:30 a.m. my time.
The ease of usage is number one, this is important for our group.
We have automated taxes and implemented certain labor laws through Ceridian Dayforce but have found that even with managed pay, we are having to manage the process ourselves to ensure compliance.
Gavin Flynn, MBA PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is our comprehensive Human Capital Management (HCM) system providing us with HR administration, HR analytics, Employee/Manager Self Service, Payroll, Talent, Compensation Management, and Time and Attendance solutions. It is being used enterprise-wide to support our employees through the employment life cycle. We implemented in 2018 and the product has solved numerous HR challenges and centralized much of our HR experience into one platform for our employees.
  • Product innovation
  • Managing complex pay & time off polices
  • Service andsSupport
  • Integrated services and software
  • Position management and dynamic org planning.
  • Reporting design can be challenging and requires technical aptitude.
  • Lacks an integrated HR service center and ticketing capability.
Ceridian Dayforce is well suited for employers with a high degree of complexity in their HR policies and procedures. It can handle almost any complexity that is thrown at it regarding divergent pay policies, union rules, time off plans, etc. We have been able to automate almost all of the manual work we were doing in previous systems to manage the complexity in our policies presented by heavy representation of our front line workforce by several different unions. Ceridian is also great for employers who desire a one-stop-shop for both the delivery of software and HR services. For example, payroll logistics and tax services are native offerings to Ceridian vs. outsourced to a 3rd party, thus streamlining your relationship between software and service providers in HR.
Ceridian is a strong partner regarding compliance on all fronts. Notably, the ability of the tool to manage union complexity and pay policy complexity within an integrated HCM is top-notch. Ceridian Tax Services also being native to Ceridian means a one-vendor approach to the tax system of record, tax filing, and compliance, which is a huge time savings.
Jenna Eyre | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this company-wide for all HR processes. It addresses our WFM, payroll, benefits management, performance management and more.
  • Payroll is very easy to process.
  • Benefit management is easy and integrates with vendors well.
  • Performance management is great.
  • We need a better leave management process. Ideally a new module would be great.
  • Auditing capabilities are very limited in the system.
  • Configuration changes can be difficult and without proper knowledge, Ceridian likely will charge you for anything you want changed.
Well suited to handle day to day payroll tasks, scheduling and time keeping, performance and comp mgt, employee records, etc. Dayforce could be better equipped to integrate with other systems, pay bands, etc.
Tax withholding, OT and payroll policies, healthcare eligibility. It would be great if specific laws were built into the system rather than requiring knowledge from HRIS team to review and then build.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce company wide for all things workforce management, payroll and HR.
Dayforce provides a one stop solution for everything allowing information to be used across all departments.
  • Timesheet management.
  • Payroll processing.
  • Reporting (custom and standard).
  • Customer support.
  • Expanding setup for more options.
  • Allowing for certain benefit options (withholding in advance).
Ceridian Dayforce tries to think of every option and allows for customization in each customer's setup (in all areas - benefits, payroll, WFM, etc.).
With that said, there are also areas where customization could be expanded to include some more options.
Overall, Ceridian Dayforce meets all of our needs and we are able to find a workout when needed.
The main area in assisting in compliance is related to taxes.
October 09, 2020

Dayforce saves time!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Dayforce is being used across the whole organization. The business problem it addresses is it tracks time and balances especially for banked hours, vacation hours, and sick hours that each employee accrues over time. What we also enjoy about it is the requests for time off are seamless, and now we are able to go paperless, which is great.
  • Tracking banked time
  • Seamless time off requests
  • Employee information tracking
  • Ability to add more customized info on employees/upload documents.
  • Ability to email time off requests to managers, so they get an alert.
  • Ability to email any comments made on time entries to managers.
I think Dayforce is good; it does what it needs to but there is always room for some improvement. For example, we would love it if there were more options to customize employee's information, whether its uploading PDFs with employee information or even having more custom fields, for example, if someone has allergies or not, etc.
Dayforce helps us comply with our overtime policies, vacation policies, and sick policies, and also holiday policies. It tracks these things for us so we don't have to manually do it. This enables us also to stay current and up to date with changing requirements for labor laws. Since the government always changes policies, it's important to have a system that automatically updates these changes for you.
August 20, 2020

Highly Efficient!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce across our entire company. We have locations in BC and AB and employees in the USA. We complete all of our payroll processing through Dayforce and it makes payroll so easy. Many of the steps are automated, making many payroll and HR tasks more efficient. We are implementing the Performance and Compensation modules and they are going to help with tracking performance reviews on an annual basis. Dayforce will send reminders out when reviews are due so they will not get missed by managers. Dayforce has also made employee location tracking easier during the Covid-19 pandemic. I have been very impressed with how easy it is to use, and the knowledge base has been extremely helpful when learning new features. I would highly recommend using this program to any company. I have used it at 3 different employers now and I continue to be impressed.
  • The payroll module makes it easy to pay our employees accurately and on time.
  • The customer service representatives are amazing and extremely knowledgeable.
  • The timesheets make tracking time-off requests really easy for managers.
  • It would be nice to test other roles as an administrator without having to change that employee's password.
  • When editing the XML portion in the form builder, each time I save my changes it resets back to the first form. It would be nice if it would keep the form you are working on open.
I have used Ceridian Dayforce at 3 different employers. Each place used it differently. I love the punch clock option. It really makes time tracking easy for payroll purposes. Managers know when employees are at work or away. The compensation module makes giving raises or merit increases or bonuses easy for upper management to control. They can assign ranges or budgets for managers so they have limitations. You can also set up approval levels so that the increases must be approved by upper management.
Dayforce has streamlined our overtime tracking. We have built in the rules and it calculates the overtime for us each pay period, which cuts down on the time it takes to process our payroll runs and decreases errors. With our benefit plan enrollments being in Dayforce, our employees can make their elections at home and they are sent reminders so they don't miss their deadline to submit. This has really cut down on the number of employees missing out on benefits enrollment on time.
May 29, 2020

Dayforce and HR

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization at different levels. It’s addresses payroll, HR management, and project hours tracking.
  • Support is great.
  • Having resources available.
  • Easy to use.
  • Timesheet linking to the employee's profile.
  • More reporting options.
It is best suited to organizations that are ready to adopt online options. I feel like the more you use it, the better the system is.
Vacation time and pay.
Janice Monda, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 4 affiliated companies within our production site. Each business has completely separate operations, pay practices, shift rotations and implementation dates. We use Dayforce HCM for payroll processing, onboarding and Time & Attendance. Ceridian Dayforce provides us with the flexibility required by ea. company.

The Mexichem Companies were operating completely separate for many years. When we transitioned to Dayforce Payroll, we are now sharing best practices and helping each other. While separate, we are now operating as a team! Our learning curve has been steep because of our separate implementations in Time & Attendance.
  • Flexible configuration
  • User Training
  • User Friendly
  • Support model
  • Implementation model (used external partners to implement)
  • Costly when changes need to be made
Before recommending Dayforce, I would have to gauge the technical proficiency of my peer.

Dayforce is highly configurable providing there is capital available to implement or make changes.Dayforce has training resources available to learn but I still have to consult support to configure correctly. Users must be knowledgeable.

Our Tax configuration allows us to withhold accurately. The program is more intuitive than I am! Dayforce knows when employee withholding is applicable based on the employee's address. It also is updated behind the scenes with tax law changes. I am comfortable with the fact that I am paying employees correctly with Ceredian Tax support and program compliance.
Christine Kelichner, SPHR-CA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce has been fully implemented at all levels of our organization. It provides a seamlessly integrated HR system for all facets of our employee's work life. With Dayforce, our workforce is engaged and rusts the accuracy of their payroll, benefits, and HR record. Our managers are able to efficiently manage their workforce and have data at their fingertips necessary to make business decisions.
  • Fully Integrated HRIS solution
  • Accurate payroll delivery
  • HTML migration
  • Improved integration with retirement plan
Of course, the larger the organization, the more Dayforce makes sense. But even with our 350 employees, it is the right solution. I don't see this being a good solution for a smaller organization of less than 100.
We have locations in multiple states with state-specific requirements for wages and hours. Compliance with these requirements is a priority as the penalties and costs can be in the millions of dollars. With Dayforce, we are able to set the state-specific requirements to ensure our employees are paid correctly every day.
March 06, 2020

Ceridian YAY-force!

Garrett Cox, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce for many functions of our company. We use the following modules/solutions
Workforce Management, Recruiting, Learning Management System, Payroll, Time and Attendance, Human Resources and Benefits. These modules all work cohesivley together which makes the the job of administering these functions much easier and more efficient. Also, the Ceridian support team is great and provides great service when we encounter an issue.
  • Staying on top of HRIS tech trends
  • Great support team
  • The easy flow of data between modules
  • Provide more training opportunities for end-users
  • Make configuring workflows/forms easier for new admins
  • Transitioning from Silverlight to HTML has been hard to adjust - more support needed
Ceridian Dayforce is well suited for any company, regadless of size or industry. Ceridian Dayforce provides the Admins with flexibility to configure the system to meet the company's business needs. I can't think of a situation where Dayforce wouldn't be an solution for a company looking for a HRIS.
You are able to configure Ceridian Dayforce to include any compliance or policy changes. There are workflows you can edit and also pay policies you can adjust. Dayforce allows us to continue staying compliant with different changes and makes it easy to react. We are able to set up different policies and double check our work in a test environment to make sure everything works.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started implementation in February, 2019 and first used Payroll and Benefits in July and will also be using Recruiting, Onboarding, Performance, Compensation, Dashboards and learning Management. We had a patchwork of systems we were using for all those things and this will combine most everything for us making us all more efficient.
  • Benefits and Payroll Integration - changes happen in real time.
  • Workflows - still working on creating some but we created some so that when employees make changes, we are notified and that's great so nothing goes unnoticed.
  • Site is easy for employees to navigate and has a 'clean' presentation.
  • Recruiting - seems like it could use some enhancements based on feedback from our recruiters. It doesn't have the same functionality as our stand alone system did but hopefully there are some updates coming to fix some gaps.
  • Compensation - seems a little clunky but could be just because we haven't used for a cycle yet.
  • Implementation - seems like some time spent up front understanding our organization set-up and needs could have saved some time and angst in the long run.
We are still in implementation but we have the idea and vision that Dayforce will work well for us overall. We know that any system is going to have some limitations and may require some adjustments to current processes on our part but we are happy with the aesthetics of the software and our employees are finding it easy to use as well. I have a family member also in HR and she has used Dayforce at a prior employer and had a very positive experience with the software as well.
We are pleased with benefits and healthcare reporting in regards to ACA and tracking eligibility for part-time employees. Compliance with State Tax withholding will help prevent mishaps from occurring.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce has changed the way we do work. We were 100% manual for all things recruitment, benefits, time off requests, performance reviews, compensation increases, attendance points and perfect attendance prior to the system. Even paychecks and statements were paper! 2 years after our implementation, NONE of this is paper based anymore. For the first time ever, we have employee self-service, which gives power and information to our teammates!
  • It is truly one system for all things HR. Every piece connects.
  • Dayforce is customizable and really understands that no two companies do things the same way.
  • Ceridian presents a lot of different opportunities for users and customers to connect, share best practices, and lean on each other vs. always being required to go through support or pay additional fees for help.
  • Support - I would really like to see true "support consultants" when getting help on a ticket. We get lucky sometimes and get a fantastic support rep, but often it seems that they don't really care about providing true help, just want the ticket closed.
  • User groups for all regions.
  • More user friendly training for manager levels vs. just for "super users".
Dayforce has been great for our company, where we went from nothing (just a payroll system) to a full blown HCM. It is user-friendly and relatively easy to understand for all levels of our organization...from forklift drivers to our CEO.

I would like to see Dayforce work on their performance and recruiting modules. Ceridian's model is based on continuous feedback, so the system currently is designed around that...which means no such thing as a PIP, and very basic ATS functionality.
Leave Approvals, COBRA file feeds, attendance points, labor union rules, California (and other state-specific) laws...so many!
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dayforce for Timekeeping, HR, Payroll, Benefits, Recruiting, Onboarding and we're about to implement the Compensation Module. We implemented Dayforce so that we had a complete HCM solution. We also wanted to eliminate paperwork and tedious tasks for our managers and HR Administrators. We also wanted to create a better experience for employees, potential employees and onboarding employees.
  • TAFW requests work very well. It has done away with paper and saved time for both the employee and manager when requesting time off.
  • Open Enrollment works very well. Last year was our first OE and our employees loved it! Doing away with the paperwork was a big timesaver.
  • Payroll processing is extremely efficient. The PR Admins love the preview features that help them ensure that payroll is correct each and every time.
  • We are still unable to use Attendance Management after being live on Dayforce for over a year. We have been told that one of our attendance policies can't be done in the system even though we were promised it could be done at the time we were choosing Dayforce. For our other policies, they are not working properly and no one we've worked with at Ceridian seems to understand Attendance. Our policies are very simple so this has been extremely disappointing.
  • Dayforce Support is a crapshoot. When submitting a ticket you can never be sure if you will receive a Support Rep who is knowledgeable and committed to resolving your issue or a Rep who is just trying to get that ticket closed and out of their queue. We receive inconsistent and incorrect responses fairly frequently. I've had to rely on a User Group for more accurate solutions.
  • Although we like the Recruiting feature, we would like to see more flexibility in that module. More tokens for the Offer Letter, more flexibility in the application questionnaire, etc.
  • Reporting is not intuitive and it seems to be becoming less so as new releases come out. It seems Ceridian is moving towards wanting clients to have Professional Services create all of their reports.
  • We would like to see better audits between WFM and Payroll. It is still too easy to miss hours in WFM that aren't picked up in Payroll.
  • Ceridian Tax Service has been extremely slow in handling questions. The Source Tax Online tool is clunky and difficult to extract information if you have a tax issue.
I don't think we are seeing any real compliance difference from ADP. We did appreciate the ease of PPACA and the Component-1 reporting.
We have found that the quality of the service we receive from support is completely dependent on the support person who receives the case. Some of the support reps are exceptional and others seem to want to get the case out of their queue as quickly as possible with little regard to whether they have resolved the issue to our satisfaction. In addition, we have had many cases where one person is working the case and after not hearing from anyone for several days, we hear that a new person is put on the case because the original person is out. A lot of time is lost and we often have to re-explain the whole situation. Very frustrating.

We also get a lot of "we couldn't replicate the situation" so the case just gets marked closed.
I think it's very usable for the employee. I don't think it is as easy for the HR/PR admins - especially if there is an issue. There are so many setup screens that need to be looked at to try to figure out why payroll isn't calculating properly, hours aren't feeding over correctly, or benefits are not calculating properly. For the most part, they can't do their own troubleshooting. The same is true for the managers. Our managers find it cumbersome to go into make any schedule changes after the schedules have been generated.
October 28, 2019

Use the Dayforce, Luke

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is currently using Dayforce for our payroll, HR, workforce management, labor tracking, recruiting, benefits administration, and performance management. It has been a great experience. We are in the process of expanding it to eight other business units within the umbrella of our parent company. At Morgan, we plan to begin using Dayforce for compensation, onboarding, learning, and succession planning in the coming weeks and months.
  • Ease of use
  • Ability to automate processes and reduce paper use
  • Improved employee experience
  • Customer support when issues arise
  • Reports are tricky for new users
  • Some features still rely on Silverlight for functionality
  • Mobile functionality still being developed and improved
Ceridian Dayforce is perfect for a growing or maturing company that is looking to automate processes rather than relying on manual work, Excel sheets, and paper forms. It can help take your employee experience to the next level. If you are already heavily invested in a robust HRIS and Payroll system, switching to Dayforce couldn’t hurt, but the impact wouldn’t be as dramatic in many cases.
Dayforce has saved us money through compliance by automating compliance with local, state, and federal tax regulations; with overtime, scheduling, and PTO policies; with healthcare eligibility and healthcare laws. Dayforce does a lot of this work for you. In other cases, such as state by state PTO regulations, it is easily customizable. Ceridian constantly and consistently updates the platform as laws and regulations change. The company also makes every effort to keep its customers informed of compliance changes.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HR, Payroll, Benefits, Biometric clocks and timekeeping. Dayforce allows us to comply with all CA wage and hour requirements - ensuring employees take at least a 10-minute break and a 30- minute lunch, and pay the meal penalty if they take their lunch late or skip it. The system verified that a second meal is taken if work is greater than 10 hours. The added benefit of employees attesting that they received all of their meals and rest breaks each day is a wonderful tool.
  • Self service benefit enrollment
  • EEO-1 reporting
  • ACA reporting
  • Carrier feed integration
  • We would like EES to be able to waive or attest their meals and breaks on the mobile app, not just on the time clock.
  • I think the dashboards are difficult to drill into and modify.
  • Effective dates in the benefit module seem to have occasional glitches.
CA wage and hour laws can all be monitored. Payroll runs smoothly. We have almost 20 pay policies to meet the need of our employee pay groups. Reports are easily run, created, and modified Paid time off accruals work well. Workflows are pretty easy to configure and work well. Overall, I believe this is the most robust and flexible HCM product in the market today.

CA wage and hour compliance is achieved through programming pay policies in the system. The EEO-1 with pay report collects required data and allowed us to upload it easily before the deadline. The ACA module is very easy to navigate and it collects all of the data, so we are just verifying it before transmission. The ability to have multiple pay policies allows us to pay OT according to each state we operate in.
Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is primarily used for payroll, benefits administration and workforce management. It has been useful in getting information from employees working at different sites in less time. We have been able to reduce the use of paper by using Dayforce. It has also helped us conduct audits and synthesize our processes across departments. Employees are happy as they have better connections with HR.
  • Report writing and ability to generate reports.
  • Ability to use additional employee properties to create additional fields.
  • Timekeeping
  • Payroll earning and deduction reports are very useful
  • During position change, the schedules have to be adjusted manually.
  • During system upgrades, the workflows break and need to be tested again.
  • Silverlight issues while using Dayforce with Macbook and Apple products.
Dayforce's report writing tool is very helpful in obtaining organization data. The ability to link different fields and create custom topics is very helpful while analyzing interdepartmental properties. We are able to generate reports on employee roles, forms, location, position, ethnicity etc. This has helped us create HR metrics for headcount, termination, retention to create HR strategy.
Ceridian has helped manage COBRA, PPACA, tax reporting, EEO compliance, I-9 processes. We are able to run reports and use the group, sort buttons to extract data as required. Earlier it was a nightmare to review thousands of paper documents and turn that information into numbers that make sense. With Dayforce inconsistencies can be corrected with the click of a button.
April Atkins, CPP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used throughout our entire organization, including our associates in the United Kingdom.
  • Dayforce offers HR, Recruiting, Benefits, Payroll, and Workforce Management in a single application. Our associates have mobile technology which enables them to see their schedules, review their timecards or check benefit information 24 hours a day.
  • Our associates have access to real time information 24 hours a day. They are able to see how much PTO time is available and request time away from work through mobile technology.
  • The new 'Timecards' needs improvement. It is difficult to access the timecard totals (previously 'View Pay' in My Timecards) without having to drag the side bar down. It is not efficient.
  • The HTML screens are slow and inefficient. We are still using Silverlight when possible.
Dayforce is very intuitive and the training through MyPath made our transition very easy for our associates. The payroll module (sitll using MyPay due to system response in Payroll) is definitely a '10' in my book! I think WFM still needs improvements. Our supervisors and managers have found it not as easy to use or read as Kronos.
As an employer in 35+ states, we have benefited from the embedded compliance in the scheduling module.
This is dependent on what type of support that is needed. Ceridian has opportunities to make improvements relating to support on the global/UK side. I find it challenging to get problems solved quickly with our UK Native payroll. The US side is different. We tend to get our issues resolved quickly when we encouter issues on the US side.
From a payroll standpoint, the payroll module is excellent. However, HTML screens are slow and inefficient.

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Human Resource Management (7)
77%
7.7
Employee demographic data (419)
80%
8.0
Employment history (446)
81%
8.1
Job profiles and administration (438)
76%
7.6
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (442)
79%
7.9
Organizational charting (403)
72%
7.2
Organization and location management (442)
73%
7.3
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (292)
76%
7.6
Payroll Management (7)
82%
8.2
Pay calculation (477)
88%
8.8
Support for external payroll vendors (240)
76%
7.6
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (44)
84%
8.4
Benefit plan administration (383)
79%
7.9
Direct deposit files (463)
87%
8.7
Salary revision and increment management (365)
82%
8.2
Reimbursement management (243)
79%
7.9
Leave and Attendance Management (3)
81%
8.1
Approval workflow (410)
83%
8.3
Balance details (422)
81%
8.1
Annual carry-forward and encashment (344)
80%
8.0
Employee Self Service (5)
82%
8.2
View and generate pay and benefit information (472)
87%
8.7
Update personal information (482)
86%
8.6
View company policy documentation (330)
79%
7.9
Employee recognition (172)
74%
7.4
View job history (397)
84%
8.4
Asset Management (1)
70%
7.0
Tracking of all physical assets (79)
70%
7.0
HR Reporting (3)
68%
6.8
Report builder (481)
68%
6.8
Pre-built reports (481)
72%
7.2
Ability to combine HR data with external data (341)
64%
6.4
Onboarding (2)
77%
7.7
New hire portal (294)
77%
7.7
Manager tracking tools (263)
76%
7.6
Performance and Goals (4)
75%
7.5
Corporate goal setting (161)
74%
7.4
Individual goal setting (177)
75%
7.5
Line-of sight-visibility (152)
75%
7.5
Performance tracking (183)
77%
7.7
Performance Management (5)
77%
7.7
Performance plans (188)
77%
7.7
Performance improvement plans (164)
76%
7.6
Review status tracking (193)
77%
7.7
Review reminders (190)
78%
7.8
Multiple review frequency (172)
77%
7.7
Succession Planning (4)
75%
7.5
Create succession plans/pools (74)
75%
7.5
Candidate ranking (77)
75%
7.5
Candidate search (81)
76%
7.6
Candidate development (76)
74%
7.4
Recruiting / ATS (7)
78%
7.8
Job Requisition Management (224)
80%
8.0
Company Website Posting (219)
82%
8.2
Publish to Social Media (182)
77%
7.7
Job Search Site Posting (212)
80%
8.0
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (179)
77%
7.7
Applicant Tracking (220)
77%
7.7
Notifications and Alerts (215)
76%
7.6

What is Ceridian Dayforce HCM?

Ceridian is a global human capital management (HCM) company headquartered in Toronto, Ontario, and Minneapolis, Minnesota, with operations across North America, Europe, and Asia Pacific Japan. Their brand promise –Makes Work Life Better™ –is the commitment they make to employees, customers, their employees, and to the communities they operate in around the world. Their technologies aim to help customers adapt, evolve, and win as they reimagine the future of work. The Dayforce platform is a single solution for HCM designed to help HR and business leaders make smart decisions that create quantifiable value for their companies. It simplifies complex HR and operational processes faced by companies and applies modern technology to create experiences employees love to use.

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management
  • Supported: Statutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Travel absence management
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

Asset Management Features

  • Supported: Tracking of all physical assets

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders
  • Supported: Multiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Create succession plans/pools
  • Supported: Candidate ranking
  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Company Website Posting
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Duplicate Candidate Prevention
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Screenshots

Dayforce Home ScreenScheduling DashboardCompensation DashboardSuccession Planning - Talent MatrixPayroll DashboardDayforce Mobile - RecruitingDayforce Mobile - SchedulingDayforce Benefits Decision SupportDayforce AssistantDayforce WalletPerformance Management

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Videos

The Hanover Insurance Group is focused on attracting and retaining the right workforce to remain competitive in a heavily disrupted industry. The Hanover partnered with Ceridian to leverage Dayforce's single system to create a seamless employee experience and meet the needs of their workforce – now and in the future.
Dayforce in the manufacturing industry
Dayforce in the financial services industry
#CeridianINSIGHTS virtual conference 2020
Make any day payday with Dayforce Wallet
The Hanover Insurance Group looks to the future of work
ATI Physical Therapy discusses how they attract and retain top talent in the increasingly competitive healthcare industry. ATI plans to use the Dayforce Compensation module to ensure they are paying their employees at a competitive rate, and ultimately retaining their best clinicians. With the Dayforce MyMove process, ATI was able to migrate their historical data from their legacy system to Dayforce quickly and easily, saving hundreds of hours.

Watch Spirit AeroSystems employs 18,000 people across seven facilities worldwide, ranging from engineers to line workers to accountants and office staff. The aerostructures manufacturer uses Dayforce to streamline its payroll processing, and ease the burden of compliance for a diverse, global workforce.

Watch Marshall Health has a diverse workforce of over 1,400 employees within 70 healthcare specialties that the organization services. The healthcare provider leverages Dayforce's single system to manage its growing workforce, and attract and retain top talent in an increasingly competitive industry.

Watch DeRoyal Industries shifts labor and production to supply essential protective equipment

Watch Marshall Health prescribes an engaged workforce

Watch Spirit AeroSystems soars through global payroll

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Downloadables

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Integrations

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Competitors

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Pricing

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesEnglish (US), English (GB), French, French Canadian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Italian, German, Polish, Simplified Chinese, Dutch, Hindi, Portuguese (Brazil), Croatian, Czech, Romanian, Bulgarian, Slovak, Japanese, Korean, Hungarian, Thai

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Ceridian Dayforce HCM?

Ceridian Dayforce HCM is a cloud-based platform encompassing HR, payroll, benefits, and talent and workforce management. It provides companies with a scalable framework and real-time data, such as continual pay calculations, to enable efficient decision-making.

What is Ceridian Dayforce HCM's best feature?

Reviewers rate Pay calculation highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses Ceridian Dayforce HCM?

The most common users of Ceridian Dayforce HCM are from Mid-size Companies and the Retail industry.