Cherwell Service Management

Cherwell Service Management

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.9 out of 100
Top Rated
Cherwell Service Management

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cherwell Review

7 out of 10
July 21, 2021
Cherwell is used extensively throughout the organization so that users can log service requests for Human Resources. For the Information …
Continue reading

Cherwell - ITSM

8 out of 10
July 20, 2021
The Wisconsin DNR uses Cherwell as an Agency underneath the primary organization - the Wisconsin DOA. It is used throughout enterprise IT, …
Continue reading

CSM is great!

10 out of 10
May 11, 2021
We work closely with Cherwell Service Management, it is used company-wide. Cherwell Service Management is a huge asset to our company, we …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Popular Features

View all 13 features

Organize and prioritize service tickets (46)

9.8
98%

ITSM reports and dashboards (45)

9.3
93%

Self-service tools (45)

9.0
90%

ITSM collaboration and documentation (42)

8.4
84%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cherwell Service Management, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cherwell Service Management?

Cherwell Software was founded by the former CEO of FrontRage Solutions and is a full suite of service management tools competing with BMC Remedy, ServiceNow, and IBM SmartCloud.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://pages.cherwell.com/pricing.csm.…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

4 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is ServiceNow IT Service Management?

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. Built on the ServiceNow Now Platform, the IT Service Management bundle provides an agent workspace with knowledge management, and modules supporting issue tracking and problem resolution, change, release and…

What is Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk)?

Jira Service Management (formerly Jira Service Desk, now including features from the former Mindville Insight, acquired by Atlassian in June 2020) is a service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of…

Features Scorecard

Incident and problem management

8.7
87%

ITSM asset management

9.0
90%

Change management

9.5
95%

Product Details

What is Cherwell Service Management?

Cherwell Service Management is designed for organizations seeking large reductions in software license spending, IT overhead, and software audit risk. By integrating all the data related to hardware and software inventory, application usage, license entitlements, and IT purchases, users can track and manage IT investments from purchase to retirement and abandon Excel spreadsheets.

Cherwell Service Management Competitors

Cherwell Service Management Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cherwell Service Management?

Cherwell Software was founded by the former CEO of FrontRage Solutions and is a full suite of service management tools competing with BMC Remedy, ServiceNow, and IBM SmartCloud.

What is Cherwell Service Management's best feature?

Reviewers rate Organize and prioritize service tickets highest, with a score of 9.8.

Who uses Cherwell Service Management?

The most common users of Cherwell Service Management are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 50)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Devansh Awasthi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basically we used it as Ticket Management System and also we can interact directly to the end users. Tracking of issues. Getting the detailed SLA of the issues. Monitoring the ticket status. The tool has been mainly used to manage the IT infrastructure of the Cleint. We used it as a Ticket Management System.
  • Ticket Management
  • SLA Tracking
  • Interaction with users.
  • UI Interface
  • More detailed timelines can be defined
  • Further integration of Apps for interaction with users
- Ticket Management System
- Tracking the SLA of the users
- Working closely with the clients
- Helpful in getting the issue insights
- Best suited for Service-based industries
- Monitoring of open tickets and notifications/ alerts of the SLA
- Easy tracking for each of the workforce to share the work.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell Service Management is the solution if you are looking for a user-friendly ITSM tool. We use it for service requests/incidents, change, and problem management. The GUI is user-friendly and is easy to modify as per the company requirements. Data stored, can be extracted in all forms of reports and dashboards in order to showcase the trends for the last few months.
  • Logging Tickets.
  • Creating Dashboards.
  • Knowledge Database.
  • Analytical Reports.
  • Reporting Charts can be better.
  • Web portal has issues in seeing journals which is better in Cherwell client.
  • Web portal and Client should have same features.
It is best suited for companies day to day ITSM needs. It is user-friendly and modifications in the tool are much easier as compared to others in the market. Also, it is cost-effective.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use cherwell for change management in our company. It has very useful features for tracking the support tickets and the changes going in deployment. However the workflow of the change process once the change is submitted needs some more user friendly screens. Creating a change ticket is very much user friendly but after change is submitted and navigating the change to different state is bit cumbersome.
  • Support ticket
  • Change ticket for deployment
  • The UI screens can be enhanced for the tool to be more user friendly
Great tool for change management and support tickets for deployment process
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Cherwell as our central IT ticket tracking system across the entire organization. Optional services we employ via Cherwell are Cherwell Service Management(CSM), Cherwell Asset Management, Change Management, Problem Management, Facilities Management, Housing Management, and Safety Management. Cherwell Service Management allows us to work intermittently across all IT Departments. This allows us to keep to ITIL Guidelines and best practices. We use CSM for Front and Back end development, providing services for our customers via Customer Service Catalog, keeping all users informed of any service interruptions, reporting and audit purposes, and ticket management to meet SLA's. As a Technician in our in-house IT Service Management team, I primarily manage Cherwell for Help/Service Desks and implementing mAPP's/developing services for our organization.
  • IT Service Management
  • IT Change Management
  • Facilities Management
  • Constant Enviroment Updates
  • Bug Fixes
  • Admin Training
Cherwell, [Service Management], as an ITSM tool, is effective at executing user management and change management. Cherwell is very powerful and adaptive to meet your organizations personal needs.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cherwell Service Management as an enterprise service management solution - where our IT department is actually NOT the largest consumer of the tool! We have branched out from the typical ITSM processes in Cherwell to use it for managing new store openings, DC safety incidents, and numerous finance-related workflows unique to our organization. We are able to consolidate more and more of our organizational functions within a single pane of glass, which is precisely the reason (and one of the many benefits) of purchasing Cherwell.
  • Workflow Management
  • Automation
  • Integrations
  • No-code/low-code content development
  • Flexibility to use on multiple operating systems
  • Updated web UI/UX
  • Standardized form creation
  • Improved machine learning
  • Built-in AI chat bot
Cherwell is a well-rounded product that can really be utilized as far as one's imagination can stretch. I've used the product in both a corporate and medical environment, where the tool was used for vastly different reasons (i.e., ITSM, business & retail functions, vs hospital orderlies & medical equipment tracking in a CMDB, etc.). Cherwell is so versatile that you can really use it to develop any workflow or process that is unique to your line of business - there are more than enough functions and tools available within Cherwell to effectively manage any enterprise solution your organization needs. The major drawback of flexibility is supportability. Given that you can essentially develop anything you want (content-wise) in Cherwell, it can quickly become highly complex and difficult to support by anyone other than the original developer. Documentation is key (F-spec & T-spec especially!) when developing larger solutions in Cherwell.
Megan Hartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cherwell Service Management for our main IT workflows including Incident, Service Request, Customer Self-Service, Change Management, and Asset Management. In addition, IT supports the use of Cherwell for Enterprise Service Management in core functions like HR, Finance, and Student for service desks and customer self-service. Finally, Cherwell is used as a business process engine for a variety of unique workflows that support all the areas already mentioned but also research services, auxiliary services, and healthcare customer service. We use Cherwell in many situations where the business function needs a quick turnaround on digitizing a workflow, setting up a business unit for service ticketing, or the business function is so unique that a custom application is required.
  • Low code solution development for business processes
  • Fantastic customer support and customer community
  • Exceptional value for the price
  • Highly usable out of the box for traditional ITIL processes
  • Cherwell lacks modern UI capabilities such as responsive forms and CSS styling for web portals.
  • Built-in reporting engine is hard to use and resource intensive to run.
  • No patching model for small platform fixes, must upgrade to receive platform code changes.
Cherwell [Service Management] is the perfect tool for any organization big or small that needs a solution to handle inter-departmental and customer facing business processes and services. Cherwell offers a complete suite of tools that allow you to maintain a robust service catalog, publicize those services through a web portal, and gives your end users a way to engage with self-help and self-service. In addition, Cherwell's low code architecture makes configuration and customization a breeze without a concern of rendering the system unusable and un-upgradeable. Cherwell is designed for change and we find that we are able to easily manage ever changing workflows with ease. If you are a small organization, you can set up and maintain Cherwell with minimal staff. If you are a large organization with complex business needs, you can leverage Cherwell to solve a wide variety of business problems rapidly.
Rand Habegger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Cherwell as a white-labeled ticketing system for all IT-related needs, facilities needs, and specific things like new hire requests that involve HR, Facilities, and/or IT support. As a user in our in-house Marketing team, I primarily interact with Cherwell for IT tickets (usually issues that demand a quick response).
  • Consistent, timely notifications of status changes with a request or ticket.
  • Logical workflows can be be customized to guide the user through a specific request or ticket submission.
  • Fairly modern UI (though not entirely consistent throughout the product).
  • Difficult to find the right category of request or ticket type (possibly more of an internal or setup issue than with the platform itself).
  • Lack of a clear menu structure (Again, possibly a setup issue).
For common ticketing or request types, our instance is set up very well for efficient, intuitive submission by non-technical users. For less common issues, however, you either need to know the right terminology or stumble across the right items in the complex cascading menus or search results to find the right way to request what you need.
Chris Meunier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage it, finance, facilities, onboarding. it has reduced the amount of time it takes for us to onboard and to manage the creation of new users.
  • Customizable.
  • No code.
  • Powerful
  • Software is buggy.
  • It's quirky.
  • Hard to predict if something you think should work, will work.
It's great for automating processes but hard to work with.
Support is sometimes slow and doesn't always have a fix.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our primary ticketing system between our different IT departments to allow us effectively communicate and pass along problems.
  • It has a lot of flexibility in terms of dashboard customization.
  • You can customize ticket workflows to send them to particular teams in order.
  • Effective use of metrics to make sure you are hitting your deadlines.
  • It isn't the best looking application overall.
  • It can be finicky when it comes to customization. You have to spend some time to get the results you are looking for.
  • Some of the navigation can be a bit confusing, using search function can sometimes be more difficult due to the level of granularity they want.
I think if you have the time to spend making this product into what you want and adapt it to your environment you will be in a really good place. If you are looking for a purely out of the box solution it might not be the best product for you.
July 21, 2021

Cherwell Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell is used extensively throughout the organization so that users can log service requests for Human Resources. For the Information Technology department, it is used for service delivery and asset management.
It is able to direct requests that are made to the correct team and manage massive inventories of stock with most of this being done without the need for any programming skills.
  • Service requests.
  • Incident management.
  • Process scheduling is fiddly.
  • Word wrapping during text entry sometimes does not happen properly. You need to pop out the text box to see it properly.
Managing stock is great. We control the whole asset life cycle with Cherwell. Complex automation is possible by combining PowerShell and one step, although a fair degree of expertise is required to do this. For instance, our HR system will now create user accounts in Active Directory and applies the correct privileges. It will so expire the accounts when a member of staff leaves the organization. The person's equipment will be delivered to the correct location with the appropriate tickets sent to correct teams to facilitate this.
It is great. We rarely experience any performance issues and when we do they are attentive and responsive. There are is an active support forum and quarterly user group meeting. These are great for innovation and idea-sharing on how to get the most out of the system. Bear in mind that you are using a cloud system and some of the issues that you may have might be with your own internal network.
Aidan Wick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell [Service Management] is used for IT Service Management, as well as Facilities Management, Pipeline Regulatory Management, and HR Service Management. Cherwell [Service Management] allows the company to work on tasks across departments, and keep end users informed of any service interruptions. Cherwell [Service Management] is heavily used for audit and regulatory purposes, and for recording historical work for any problem remediation.
  • IT Change Management
  • Facilities Management
  • IT Incident and Service Fulfillment
  • Better Enterprise Service Management (ESM) Support
  • Better Bug Reporting Processes
  • Better Security
Cherwell [Service Management] is well suited out-of-the-box for all things IT Service Management, from Incident and Service Request management, to Change, to Asset and Configuration Management. With Cherwell's official FSM module, it is also well suited for Facilities Management. I see Cherwell's vision with the HRSM module, but more work needs to go into it for it to be able to compete with existing HR solutions. With custom development, Cherwell is also great at custom webpages using a WYSIWYG style.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell Service Management is used to track all the tickets created for incidents, change requests, and service inquires within the IT and Tech related sectors of our business. Anyone in the company has access to it from a ticket submission standpoint and managers and above have more in-depth access to the software to manage all of those requests in one place, get reporting, and monitor status/progress.
  • Manages all issues and changes in one place..
  • Great job of tracking and time management to resolution.
  • Allows managers to quickly and easily see what is assigned to all members of their team and who's responsible for what.
  • The user interface could definitely use some improvement.
  • Lacks areas for descriptions of what teams handle which problems.
As a manager of 8 engineers who frequently create or have tickets, changes, or requests assigned to them, Cherwell Service Management does a great job of helping us manage all of that work in one place. I can easily see what's assigned to my team and who's responsible for it. It also does a good job of time tracking from start to finish and alerts us as to when items have gone past their required response time that the company sets. It can be a little overwhelming from a UI standpoint to those that are less technical but it works well.
July 20, 2021

Cherwell - ITSM

Keene Marin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Wisconsin DNR uses Cherwell as an Agency underneath the primary organization - the Wisconsin DOA. It is used throughout enterprise IT, but implemented only in that capacity, and is not used by all technology support groups within the DNR. We are striving to get to full usage of all available implemented features, but are not quite there yet.
  • Automated workflows are done very well. There is a broad and configurable set of automations available, which allow for effective incident routing.
  • Reporting is very flexible with all the options available, dashboards and graphing in an automated manner can be an effective delivery or ITIL reports.
  • Web based clients allow for some good basic functionality, which are good for customers, or end users.
  • Within our deployment model of Cherwell, there are core functional pieces that have to be configured at the top level, rather than the sub levels, which make some areas difficult to manage. For example, if one agency wants to use feature x in one way, but another agency wants to configure the same feature in a different way, then consensus has to be gained first. Its not as fully flexible in the base configuration space as would be ideal.
  • Automated email processes, especially in the volumes that the State of Wisconsin goes through require some tweaking to allow them to fire in an effective way. We sometimes see problems with backlogs of these.
  • Licensing based on concurrency and usage is a very modern approach, however, it leads to challenges in how customers use it. For example, we have automated log-off's in place for the local clients in order to manage our own usage, to maintain reasonable costs.
Change Management approval processing is a good example. Cherwell, as an ITSM tool, is effective at executing the different change configurations, and requiring distinct approvals to proceed forwards.
David Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Cherwell as our central IT ticket tracking system across the entire university. It was also used in a minor setting to track room usage by some departments, but its main function was IT ticket submission. We had several positions (help desk phone calls, lab technicians, etc) that used Cherwell portals we designed to submit issues only, and these issues would escalate where appropriate to other departments like ours.

Cherwell addressed the void we had of not having a central tracking system for IT issues. We used to only use emails for work assignment and tracking for all faculty and student IT problems. This was meant to replace that entirely.
  • After proper training on setting up the views and servers, Cherwell did a good job separating various department ownership of tickets. Our work views weren't cluttered with irrelevant information.
  • There is a lot of information that can be embedded into tickets. Such as sub-task assignments that could contain almost the same information as a ticket itself. Lot of customization options.
  • Custom personal dashboards were nice, once I figured out how to do it. Not everyone wants to see things the same way as other people, and being able to move touch points where you want is always a plus.
  • While I understand that a lot of customization can be up to an organization, the platform was always a huge pain when going beyond the installed client. The web client and mobile app were very problematic and clunky, locked up frequently.
  • My university was 50% Windows/50% Apple, and there's no Apple client.
  • The built in remote control capabilities on tickets for client machines didn't play well with our active directory. We always just used a different program.
  • Error handling could have been much better. Accidentally assigning ticket items to "non-existent" resources could crash the client. Such as if the resource was removed before a worker's view was refreshed.
  • Tickets can go into limbo very easily, and seemed to require more development than it should to protect us from doing that. This is because there's a lot of different ways to do the same thing. Too many touch points all over the place in the UI.
  • Too many ticket priority options. Clients could be assigned personal higher priorities through VIP status, tickets could be given their own priorities that conflict with client status, and SLA deadlines could assign other conflicting priorities. There were more but these were the most problematic if you're using Cherwell in a situation where you have limited developer time to nail down all the inconsistencies every day.
  • There was an arbitrary time tracking feature on tickets that attempted to gather data on how long certain resources took, but because the UI was very cumbersome this was more of a pain to do and was very inaccurate of the actual work it takes to do certain things.
Well suited if you have people dedicated to developing the views and back-end C# client, and if you work in a more silo type environment.
May 11, 2021

CSM is great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We work closely with Cherwell Service Management, it is used company-wide. Cherwell Service Management is a huge asset to our company, we have used every aspect of CSM. We have customers that use CSM for their companies and I have yet to hear any negative feedback. Cherwell Service Management was acquired by Ivanti and will be an even bigger asset now.
  • Customer service
  • Pricing for resellers
  • System delivery
  • Support term acknowledgment
  • Accounting calculations for [record keeping]
  • Invoicing
They are an exceptional company with exceptional products. Whether you are using Cherwell Service Management for your support or services, it is [...] flawless software. Using our consultants to deliver it, you cannot go wrong. Cherwell Service Management is well suited for any sized company. I have seen very small companies use it and massive, billion-dollar companies use it.
April 29, 2021

Cherwell Service Desk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used across our 200 sites and all departments to log tickets. All services requests and computer/software issues are tracked.
  • We are able to help parents at home thru the remote help feature.
  • Ticket creation is simple.
  • It can be a complicated interface for the technician.
  • Updating and logged information can be done in a number of places so training is important.
Users can create tickets even if they are not employed by the organization.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Project Managers, Consultants, and Accounts Payable departments use Cherwell Service Management to track service engagements for our customers.
  • Tracking hours
  • Tracking multiple tasks on an engagement
  • Dashboard function
  • Screen displays
Cherwell Service Management is suitable for straight-forward engagements with specific tasks.
Requires a lot of support, not very intuitive
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cherwell SM across the organization to address all the operational tickets that we will be receiving on a daily basis. The support team and all the other high-level engineers using the CSM as a one-stop portal to have a clear outline of the organizational ticketing dashboard and also to access all the knowledge-base articles.
  • Easy to navigate.
  • All-in-one console.
  • Multiple sequences.
  • Connectivity issues on the back end system (for on-prem installations).
Though the Cherwell Service Management offers multiple benefits to the organization, it's pretty slow in response while comparing it to the other competitive service management systems out there. Since we are using the on-prem hosted version of Cherwell SM, we are experiencing frequent service outages as well as user login issues to the portal.
Since we've on-prem hosted CSM, we'll contact our partner for any tech/troubleshooting issues that may occur. However, direct customer support from Cherwell is appreciatable comparing to the others.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell Service Management tool is used by our entire corporation for two reasons:
1. Service Request/Incident management
2. Change request management

It allows users to log IT service requests/incidents and track their statuses.
  • Allows users to submit structured and clear service request or incident report tickets.
  • Easy to see all updates and track work done on the ticket.
  • Slow overall performance.
  • Not all search parameters available in dashboard creation option.
If you have multiple support teams in your organization, this tool is great for incident/service request handling. Tool also great for dashboard and reports creation.
Support team for the tool was good and professional. All needed improvements or updates were done in a timely manner.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell is the framework for the ITSM/ITIL initiative in the organization. It's being used a the system for Incident, Problem, Change management and it is expanding as the Configuration Item and Knowledge management.
  • Incident Management.
  • Change Management.
  • Integrating with other systems.
  • Web front end.
  • Unified client.
  • Support for web technologies.
It is well suited for the Customer Service Portal and Customer Service Fulfillment along with Change Management. The framework allows you easily to grow out of IT.
Cherwell support replied almost immediately to your support request.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cherwell for both Incident Management and Change Management. It's only across the entire organization because of requests to the helpdesk.
  • Standard Change Templates - importing existing templates is quite easy, and nominating new Normal changes into a template is a great easy process as well.
  • Saved searches - When the reports don't quite give you what you need, searches are wonderful! Using the search function also gives a better depth of knowledge into what fields belong to which places in the database.
  • Support requests - this has been a great way for our IT guys to resolve "customer" issues quickly and in some semblance of order.
  • Back-end workflows need to speed up. Some of them seem very slow.
  • Aesthetics - viewing on some of the dashboards cuts the words off, which makes it difficult to use those graphs for reporting purposes.
  • I don't really have a third option - I haven't used the software quite that long yet.
I am still going to praise the standard template process. it's great! Using an existing approved Normal change, and nominating it into a standard template is quite easy. The only thing that could be easier is having an easy view of which templates are awaiting approval. I had to create a saved search for that.
I haven't used Cherwell support - everything I do goes through my admin.
Richie Ritter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell Service Management is used as our ITSM tool to support clients of the Division of IT. We utilize Cherwell for may functions including Incident Management, Problem Management, Change Management, Knowledge, and CMDB. Over the years we have continually expanded the use to cover new organizational needs.
  • Customization: Cherwell allows us to create custom solutions that address the specific challenges we face. From a very simple "feedback" form with a single text field to a more complex process with approvals allowing users to update information about their Configuration Items.
  • Integration: We pull data into the Cherwell system through various sources and different methods. We might use API calls to a web application to retrieve data, or directly connect to a database.
  • Cherwell currently has a sort of split system with an "Application" on one side and "Content" on the other. This is one of the greatest strengths because it enables deep customization to the "Content" while allowing new features and upgrades to the "Application" without causing disruption. Over the years, Cherwell has added great improvements to the Out-of-the-Box "Content" and the "Application" and while you can easily upgrade the "Application" side to gain the new features it provides, upgrading the "Content" is a much bigger challenge. Cherwell is very aware of this challenge, and is working to solve it, but the more you customize your "Content" the more difficult it is to pull in new features.
Cherwell is great for logic and process-based situations where you want "X" to occur when "Y" happens to "Z".
Support has always been concerned with giving us the best help they can. I have not used them often, but I have had great interactions with them.
Voncia Molock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell is helping us to implement several ITIL processes and improve our service delivery. Our vision is to look beyond IT service management and expand and explore Enterprise Service Management and use this tool as a central hub for all staff to come for help for the various service our organization provides.
  • Capturing all of the activities involved in managing incidents in an easy to navigate way.
  • The ability to link incidents, problem and change requests to configuration items in the CMDB.
  • On steps to automate various business processes to eliminate manual processes.
  • Ease of upgrades and content.
  • Report writing.
  • Dashboard creation.
I like the ability to segregate high sensitive data from the general database, especially for meeting federal regulatory requirements.
Scalability.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cherwell in one department fully now, implementing in another. We are Working towards full implementation across all departments, including Billing, HR, Sales, Help Desk, Software Support, Backup, Security, etc. We have problems with disjointed departments all using different platforms in order to service our customers and partners.
  • Ease of development.
  • High level of customization.
  • Great training platform.
  • Ease of implementation.
  • Some system performance and stability issues need to be addressed.
Cherwell would work great within the managed services space, as well as internal departments. It has the ability to be highly customizable between different types of users and departments, so there are a significant amount of issues that it could address. Overall, the home-run hit is in-house usage within an organization.
Sometimes is does take us some time to reach a higher tier support for significant issues, but overall, the support is good.
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell Service Management is our ITSM solution for the entire enterprise. We don't use the user-facing portal but we make use of the rest of the product as our primary IT help desk management and service management tool. We needed a help desk product that could be hosted outside, that could create tickets from emails and that could automate work flows for common IT support tasks and routine operations. We had tried using a home-grown solution and trialed a couple other solutions and ended up with Cherwell mostly due to my attraction to its "middleware" architecture and the way that architecture makes it easier for me to manage. When Cherwell applies version updates on their hosted server, things don't break because its only the underlying middleware layer that updates such that all of our customizations are unaffected.
  • Cherwell's email handling automation works flawlessly. The only time that I have ever needed to reset the automation service that drives it is when my own server that houses the small connecting agent has some kind of problem and disconnects us from our hosted Cherwell instance. It just works. Emails to a certain address always result in a new ticket or update to an existing ticket.
  • Cherwell is literally 100% customization in so many ways that it would be pointless to try to enumerate them. There is a very sizable list of already-created customizations (called "mApps") that you can download and apply to your instance. If you don't like them you can roll them back in seconds. But you can add and configure entire modules using one of these pre-defined, completely free, add-on packages. It's so easy to add features this way that I check the list of available mApps every month or so just to see what functionality I can add.
  • Cherwell's sales staff could use some improvement in the "paying attention to the little guy" area. It's true that sales people are focused on their larger potential commissions, and that is understandable, but as a small business, we were treated less than well by our Cherwell salesman. I would go so far as to say that he neglected us after we made the purchase and had a very serious complaint about what he sold us. We were sold a product without any implementation plan or package. I found out that we were probably the only customer that had this happen, but I wanted to mention t because it was huge headache to implement the product without any implementation help from the vendor.
  • I think Cherwell could do a better job of keeping their USA-based hosted server farm in better working order. Their infrastructure maintenance is improving and it doesn't affect Cherwell customers that host their own on-prem Cherwell servers, but for a long while they had a lot of failures at their on-demand server farm in Denver where they host instance for the US market. We would show up in the morning and our help desk technicians couldn't login for a couple of hours. They got these issues resolved quickly enough I suppose, within a few hours. And they did upgrade their Denver datacenter about a year ago and done better at maintaining it. But we literally can't do our jobs without Cherwell working as it s our primary help desk and end-user management tool.
Cherwell is a good choice for any sized enterprise that needs an extremely customizable IT help desk solution that triggers (again, entirely customizable) automated actions, spawns workflows (and auto-spawns tasks and sub-tasks for them) for multiple IT technicians and multiple tiers of technicians. It can do project management, change management, asset management, all the same things that the others can do and far, far more. If you do NOT need a highly customized help desk solution and if you don't need automated workflow creation and task tracking, then you could buy a less expensive solution that you can use out of the box without any of the frills. But as I said, Cherwell can do a lot more than just IT help desk, and it has a huge array of "plug-in" / "add-on" features, most of which are free, that make every Cherwell implementation completely unique to the enterprise that uses it. Cherwell is just right for a company that wants to manage and customize the help desk application with a PTE resource. I manage it myself at my company, and I spend very little time maintaining it now that it's solidly established ... although it's so much fun to customize that I wish I had more time to add new features and play with it. I do strongly advise some training for the admins ... your Cherwell admins MUST take the online, instructor-led introductory admin class to kick you off, and you MUST have implementation help from Cherwell to setup your instance, especially their hosted offering, over which you don't have database admin control (you can't even turn it on to get it working without their help). But after that, there is very little support needed from your own in-house Cherwell admin resource, unless, of course, you are constantly growing the solution to make it do more. I can see how that could happen because Cherwell can do almost anything. I can imagine some departments wanting to make it into the swiss-army-knife of IT .. and HR .. and facilities .... and physical security ... and you could spend many hours down the rabbit hole doing that if you wanted to.
Cherwell technical support is superior. Even when they don't know the answer to something they will find out how to help you.

We had a disappointing experience just after purchase because our salesman failed to include an implementation package into our purchase. This was in violation of Cherwell's own policy so we never found out why he did this. If it would have been a self-hosted instance, it probably would have been OK, because I just would have set it up myself using their (surprisingly good) self-help implementation documentation. But it was NOT self-hosted, it was hosted at Cherwell-on-Demand. So I didn't have access to their server where it needed to be implemented.

I was waiting for someone at Cherwell-on-Demand to contact us to get us rolling, and no one ever did, because our salesman did not hand us off to the implementation team. So I called technical support. They were very confused at first because they kept asking me who were were working with on the implementation team. Once I finally got them to the point of understanding that we had no implementation help whatsoever, they were amazing. They went way past their normal role and even the manager of the entire Cherwell support team in Denver got involved. They got me the help that I needed (which really wasn't much help, just turning on the hosted server and setting up a connector) quickly and apologized to me for the salesman's failure.

This implementation help is just a first example, however. I've opened about three or four tickets (for regular operational issues and routine maintenance) since we've been using Cherwell over the last 3 years and in every case, I got the answer I needed quickly and all of my questions were answered.