Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) Reviews

31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Cisco 1000 - Not the most cost effective solution

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using it firmwide to protect our network hardware from intruders as well as malware to move our data past our internal WAN perimeter. We have very heavy traffic and were searching for a solution to help us manage this data without interruption in our always-on network.
  • Allowed us to move beyond WAN
  • Handles heavy traffic
  • Ease of installation/deployment
  • Not most cost effective solution
We found the Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) very useful towards protecting our network hardware both internally and externally in a manner that manages this data without interruption. In terms of improving the scenarios, we feel it could perform better are in areas of extremely high traffic/workload - when we are running many times our typical network requirements
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

A wide range of devices in the family to suit a variety of network needs.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco ASR 1000 series router comes in multiple formats, each tailored to some specific uses. They are physically different in size and how much space they take up, which results in computing power differences as well as what purpose they are best suited for. Given that information, we widely use the ASR1002 and ASR1006 within our network and organization. Both platforms use the same OS, IOS-XE.
  • In most cases, the larger ASR routers such as the 1006 and 1009s have sufficient capabilities to be used as a Core network router.
  • The smaller ASRs such as the 1002 devices are best suited on the edge, capable of handling a limited number of connections due to the fixed chassis.
  • The ASR 1000 series routers can, as with most devices, improve with additional memory capacity and upgraded chip sets for faster processing.
  • There seems to be limitations on the number of routing sessions the smaller ASR devices can handle, which can be overcome with proper planning and placement within the network.
The smaller ASR devices appear to be well suited as simply a router reflector type of device. Due to its limited connections, it will not function well as a customer facing device, but has sufficient power to provide routing table information to other devices within the network without being tasked to process too many packets.
Read this authenticated review
James Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2019

Cisco ASR 1001 routers in a multi VRF enterprise-wide WAN

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ASR routers at our power plant locations as the core of the WAN network running multiple VRF instances. The VRF instances provide separation of corporate and plant controls traffic running over our private 10G WAN infrastructure.
  • The routers have been very reliable with little to no down time.
  • They have provided the throughput needed by the organization.
  • Management of the routers and their ability to send advanced net-flow data have greatly increased our understanding of network performance and how applications are performing on the network.
  • Licensing on the routers is more complicated than it needs to be. We have the ASR routers along with ISR routers both have the license of the advanced service, however, on the ISR routers that license did not include the app-X feature needed to send the application specific net-flow data we wanted. It would be better if Cisco was consistence with the features included with licenses.
  • Some software patches are quite involved as there is a boot loaded and IOS that must be upgraded.
Were high throughput is required the ISR routers are a good fit in both traditional and software-defined WAN deployments. They are not a good fit as voice gateways, in fact, we have several locations that use the ASR routers as they main WAN routers where IRS routers were installed as well to serve as the voice gateways and provide SRST backup for the sites.
Read James Arnold's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

ASughhhhhhhhhR review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco ASR 1K for both internet edge and Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) provider aggregation services.
  • Ease of use
  • Form factor
  • Fast
  • Ios-xe
  • License model
Internet edge and mpls aggregation - well suited

Data center network core - less appropriate
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2019

Amazing and great choice for the enterprise Environments

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Especially we have chosen it because it has good Reliability, security, and especially much better performance than we had using other routers in our region.
  • Hight Performance
  • Reliability
  • Security
  • Cost could be a major concern if the desired throughput is not achieved.
  • Expensive
We had for our RDC needs a router and this router was the best. So far I can use it because we had need of a powerful non-distributed connection for any issue. So far we are happy and we still keep using it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2019

The Cisco ASR 1002 answers our prayers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ASR1002 as our core aggregation router tying together our entire WAN. The WAN consists of 3 MPLS carriers, several edges, firewalled services, a couple of P2P sites, and a MOE.
  • Small to you footprint.
  • Scalable throughput, we use the 5G solution.
  • Flexible interface types, TP, SFP.
  • No cons at this time.
The ASR is an excellent mid-range data center core router.
Read this authenticated review
Rohit Narang | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2019

Cisco ASR 1000 router: a great choice for the enterprise

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ASR1000 series in our testing department for setting up new visualization tools and streaming servers. It also supports the redundant Internet links developed for UAT and SIT for critical configuration testings. The availability of high speed Internet is a critical requirement here as we have many clients who use cloud-based big data clusters and Qliksense for checking live data. The wholesale banking products as well the real-time macro-economic data is fed from Oxford economics to run various Monte Carlo simulations, so availability of high speed and minimal downtime is vital.
  • We use the firewall services which come inbuilt and are vital for a secured network.
  • It's a good spend of money due to the services offered with the dual configuration.
  • Performance and integration within Cisco products are up to par compared to market competitors.
  • The command line interface could be made better with adding more Unix shell features.
  • Cost could be a major concern if the desired throughput is not achieved.
  • For video streaming, the mid-sized packed based data could spike the latency, so an appropriate plan needs to be deployed for packet size.
We picked Cisco due to already available in-house knowledge and a fair amount of experience. It is also suited for any business environment. It scales to accommodate large business needs and offers an agile environment with real-time lossless data ask with a multitude of complexity. Though cost needs to be kept in mind at first, given the longevity of Cisco, it's not alarming.
Read Rohit Narang's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

broad use of Cisco routers globally

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Build VPN-tunnels between customers and our data centers or integrate external supporters in the data centers
Layer3 networks as gateway and converter between protocols. If the carrier is providing a Layer-2 Etherlink, we terminate on both sides at a Layer-3 device, which is the router Terminate Layer-2 boundaries at a defined hardware to end problems from customers.
  • Stable hardware
  • Very long lifetime
  • Good price to performance
  • More layer 3 interface in 1900 series
They are the base for nearly all layer 3 services and very stable. If installed, they can stay longer in the customer location than the service term is, because they are still working well. HSRP is stable, too, and gives good possibilities in redundant environments. OSPF as routing protocols scales and works very well.
Read this authenticated review
bryan weaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2018

Cisco ISR Router review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ISR routers are used as intra-area edge routers for our 3 major campuses as well as our HA edge routers to the internet.
  • Intra area routing
  • HA redundant internet edge
  • No areas of improvement that have a need for our use
Internet edge routers
Read bryan weaver's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2018

Cisco Routers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ISR for our branches and the ASR in our data centers. We have more than 50 branches and 12 data centers around the world. We have 2x MPLS networks connecting our branches and data centers and we are using BGP to dynamic routing all our traffic. We also use ASR to receive circuits from our clients in a BPN environment.
  • Thoughput
  • Reliability
  • Powerful programmability features on NX-OS
  • Low latency
  • Native integration with SD-WAN
In my opinion, Cisco Routers are well suited in all scenarios, from small offices to large data centers, Cisco has models to suit in all environments. A note to the new NX-OS code where you can use on DNA Center, or use Python with netconf or restconf to automate various if not all operations and deployments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2018

ASR1000, For the Win

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ASR1000 series for our Internet edge. We run with a full BGP feed with redundant routers and redundant Internet links. They provide us with highly available Internet access. This is a critical service for us because many of our core services are cloud-based. General access to the Internet is also a core service we provide. Even a short outage can generate a lot of trouble tickets and complaints.
  • For those who are used to Cisco, they are easy to use.
  • They interoperate well with other vendors. Everyone is compatible with Cisco.
  • Performance is excellent. I’ve never had a Cisco router that was unable to perform as Cisco says it will.
  • The CLI can sometimes be inconsistent. You get used to it, but could be better.
  • Programmability is hit and miss. Overall, newer code has better support for programmability.
  • Cisco’s pricing is relatively high. No one pays list price, so list prices are very high and can be off putting at first.
Cisco Routers are well suited for any business environment at scales beyond SOHO/small business. If the business is small, Cisco may be more power and expense that can be afforded or is required. It depends on the business needs and complexity of the requirements.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2018

A skeptic but agreeable opinion.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use cisco routers for both edge, core and application service routing and tunnelling. I also use a Cisco router at home. The routers in play have to be reliable and performant above all else and the HA feature set needs to be both simple and reliable.
  • They boot quickly.
  • Are well documented.
  • Provide good troubleshooting telemetry
  • Firmware/patches updates are hidden behind support.
  • Feature vendor lock in.
  • Edge cases for feature capability not well documented or supported.
In facilities where you have trained staff to support them. In price sensitive and low resourced use cases they are not as appropriate. When you need edge or core routing they are the best in breed despite the cost overhead.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) Scorecard Summary

About Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000)

The Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) is a SD-WAN ready router.
Categories:  Software-Defined WAN,  Routers

Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No