Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) Reviews

55 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 18, 2021
Vitali Aivazov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ASR 1000 is used in various places in my customers networks. We are using it as CE routers or in hub locations for NNI. We usually choose this platform in more important or large locations.
  • ASR 1000 is stable platform.
  • ASR 1000 is powerful box.
  • Multiservice platform.
  • Nothing specific to platform, but as other platforms there are bugs or vulnerabilities that have to be fixed periodically.
Our customers are using ASR 1000 as a CE router in important locations or in locations, also as NNI to interconnect two MPLS networks, etc.
Read Vitali Aivazov's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ASR 1000 is serving as WAN aggregation Router for termination of our external 10G links. Enabled with active active VRF lite BGP routing externally and internally.
  • Routing performance is good.
  • WAN aggregation supporting multiple Gig speeds.
  • Firewalling via ESP mode.
  • Hardware level QoS.
  • ESP offload support all major features to offload load from RP.
  • Multi port 40G and 100G cards.
  • Performance above 200Gbps is not possible.
  • SIP/SPA module is very costly.
Well suited for enterprises and as cloud WAN aggregation Router to terminate all your external links and enable them with HA routing. Supports VXLAN, easily integrates into VXLAN fabric.

It is less appropriate where more then 200 Gbps performance is required.
Cisco TAC has always been up to the mark... never had any serious issue in the last 3 years.
Cisco ASR are serving as key component in our Cloud Network. seemelessly proving external communications. CLI is very well know and easily adapted by anyone to manage it.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Jean Franco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deploy Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) on networks that require advanced protocols such as BGP and OSPF. They're usually set up as border gateway routers and they peer with other network providers, provide communications utilizing Multiprotocol Label Switching, QoS and VPN services for road warriors, and IPSec tunnels connecting multiple separate locations.
  • BGP
  • MPLS
  • QoS
  • High performance for traffic above 200G
  • Licensing is not easy
  • Inconsistent CLI across different IOS versions
Very good and easy to use when having to set up the border gateway protocol with multiple providers. Also easy to use when setting the MPLS with other Cisco devices. The routing performance is OK depending on how many routers you are receiving. I really recommend it to Internet service providers and medium size companies.
Read Jean Franco's full review
October 12, 2020
Carlos Mendoza Barberán | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The equipment is implemented between our two Data Centers (Main and Backup) and allows us to establish a tunnel layer 2 on layer 3, which has allowed us to improve response times for contingency issues, by being able to raise servers in our alternate site, as if they were in the main.
  • Establish a tunnel layer 2 on layer 3.
  • Solution for service recovery events.
  • Overlays configuration issues when interface disconnects occur.
  • Visual alarms due to no connection of interfaces.
In the case of our institution, as mentioned before, it is used for the recovery of services, in a modular way, in the face of events affecting Production services. You can pick up the necessary server and bring it with the same IP as the Production team, which greatly facilitates service recovery.
We have received training on the equipment, which has made us add more networks on our own, we provide first level support, we validate the publication of the equipment and we can satisfy the needs of our internal clients in terms of the prompt recovery of the affected services.
All our modular contingency service exercises use this equipment, it allows us to perform this type of exercises very easily, in a controlled and effective way. It is used at least once a month for these types of events. It also allows configuration replication in computers that are under the same model.
Read Carlos Mendoza Barberán's full review
December 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ASR 1000 extensively in our environment and it is the primary router that we deploy and support for our networks and our customers. They're modular, allowing us to use different features or modules but use the same chassis for different purposes. Its modular nature allows us to install these and if needed install another module or license an additional feature that keeps maintenance windows short and limits the need for redesigns.
  • Very reliable
  • Modular
  • Scalable
  • Performance
  • Cost may be prohibitive for some
These work very well at the WAN edge, it may be costly for some. In which case, it may be worth considering an ISR if all the features or performance of the ASR 1000 are not needed. It works very well in a multi-gig environment regardless of the implementations we have done so far. These also work well at the edge or for smaller cores. I would recommend assessing your needs and checking the documentation to see whether or not this particular router will work for you or if it's overkill. In some cases, a significant amount of money can be saved by going with an ISR (if you still want to stick with Cisco). For data center core or similar environment, these might not be appropriate and I would recommend exploring other models such as ASR 9000.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using it firmwide to protect our network hardware from intruders as well as malware to move our data past our internal WAN perimeter. We have very heavy traffic and were searching for a solution to help us manage this data without interruption in our always-on network.
  • Allowed us to move beyond WAN
  • Handles heavy traffic
  • Ease of installation/deployment
  • Not most cost effective solution
We found the Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) very useful towards protecting our network hardware both internally and externally in a manner that manages this data without interruption. In terms of improving the scenarios, we feel it could perform better are in areas of extremely high traffic/workload - when we are running many times our typical network requirements
We did not heavily engage with the Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Router (ASR1000) support function as we decide to switch the solution to a more cost-effective option, and this was primarily a price decision vs. any support related decision.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco ASR 1000 series router comes in multiple formats, each tailored to some specific uses. They are physically different in size and how much space they take up, which results in computing power differences as well as what purpose they are best suited for. Given that information, we widely use the ASR1002 and ASR1006 within our network and organization. Both platforms use the same OS, IOS-XE.
  • In most cases, the larger ASR routers such as the 1006 and 1009s have sufficient capabilities to be used as a Core network router.
  • The smaller ASRs such as the 1002 devices are best suited on the edge, capable of handling a limited number of connections due to the fixed chassis.
  • The ASR 1000 series routers can, as with most devices, improve with additional memory capacity and upgraded chip sets for faster processing.
  • There seems to be limitations on the number of routing sessions the smaller ASR devices can handle, which can be overcome with proper planning and placement within the network.
The smaller ASR devices appear to be well suited as simply a router reflector type of device. Due to its limited connections, it will not function well as a customer facing device, but has sufficient power to provide routing table information to other devices within the network without being tasked to process too many packets.
Like all Cisco devices, the support received from the vendor and the engineers on issues encountered with the Cisco 1000s is exceptional. They are familiar with the diverse offerings of the ASR 1000 family as well as the difference in syntax and command line interface between the IOS-XE operating system and XR flavors on other Cisco devices.
Read this authenticated review
June 07, 2019
James Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ASR routers at our power plant locations as the core of the WAN network running multiple VRF instances. The VRF instances provide separation of corporate and plant controls traffic running over our private 10G WAN infrastructure.
  • The routers have been very reliable with little to no down time.
  • They have provided the throughput needed by the organization.
  • Management of the routers and their ability to send advanced net-flow data have greatly increased our understanding of network performance and how applications are performing on the network.
  • Licensing on the routers is more complicated than it needs to be. We have the ASR routers along with ISR routers both have the license of the advanced service, however, on the ISR routers that license did not include the app-X feature needed to send the application specific net-flow data we wanted. It would be better if Cisco was consistence with the features included with licenses.
  • Some software patches are quite involved as there is a boot loaded and IOS that must be upgraded.
Were high throughput is required the ISR routers are a good fit in both traditional and software-defined WAN deployments. They are not a good fit as voice gateways, in fact, we have several locations that use the ASR routers as they main WAN routers where IRS routers were installed as well to serve as the voice gateways and provide SRST backup for the sites.
Read James Arnold's full review
March 28, 2019
Rohit Narang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ASR1000 series in our testing department for setting up new visualization tools and streaming servers. It also supports the redundant Internet links developed for UAT and SIT for critical configuration testings. The availability of high speed Internet is a critical requirement here as we have many clients who use cloud-based big data clusters and Qliksense for checking live data. The wholesale banking products as well the real-time macro-economic data is fed from Oxford economics to run various Monte Carlo simulations, so availability of high speed and minimal downtime is vital.
  • We use the firewall services which come inbuilt and are vital for a secured network.
  • It's a good spend of money due to the services offered with the dual configuration.
  • Performance and integration within Cisco products are up to par compared to market competitors.
  • The command line interface could be made better with adding more Unix shell features.
  • Cost could be a major concern if the desired throughput is not achieved.
  • For video streaming, the mid-sized packed based data could spike the latency, so an appropriate plan needs to be deployed for packet size.
We picked Cisco due to already available in-house knowledge and a fair amount of experience. It is also suited for any business environment. It scales to accommodate large business needs and offers an agile environment with real-time lossless data ask with a multitude of complexity. Though cost needs to be kept in mind at first, given the longevity of Cisco, it's not alarming.
Read Rohit Narang's full review
June 15, 2018
bryan weaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ISR routers are used as intra-area edge routers for our 3 major campuses as well as our HA edge routers to the internet.
  • Intra area routing
  • HA redundant internet edge
  • No areas of improvement that have a need for our use
Internet edge routers
Read bryan weaver's full review
March 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Build VPN-tunnels between customers and our data centers or integrate external supporters in the data centers
Layer3 networks as gateway and converter between protocols. If the carrier is providing a Layer-2 Etherlink, we terminate on both sides at a Layer-3 device, which is the router Terminate Layer-2 boundaries at a defined hardware to end problems from customers.
  • Stable hardware
  • Very long lifetime
  • Good price to performance
  • More layer 3 interface in 1900 series
They are the base for nearly all layer 3 services and very stable. If installed, they can stay longer in the customer location than the service term is, because they are still working well. HSRP is stable, too, and gives good possibilities in redundant environments. OSPF as routing protocols scales and works very well.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco ASR 1K for both internet edge and Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) provider aggregation services.
  • Ease of use
  • Form factor
  • Fast
  • Ios-xe
  • License model
Internet edge and mpls aggregation - well suited

Data center network core - less appropriate
Read this authenticated review
April 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Especially we have chosen it because it has good Reliability, security, and especially much better performance than we had using other routers in our region.
  • Hight Performance
  • Reliability
  • Security
  • Cost could be a major concern if the desired throughput is not achieved.
  • Expensive
We had for our RDC needs a router and this router was the best. So far I can use it because we had need of a powerful non-distributed connection for any issue. So far we are happy and we still keep using it.
Read this authenticated review
June 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ASR1002 as our core aggregation router tying together our entire WAN. The WAN consists of 3 MPLS carriers, several edges, firewalled services, a couple of P2P sites, and a MOE.
  • Small to you footprint.
  • Scalable throughput, we use the 5G solution.
  • Flexible interface types, TP, SFP.
  • No cons at this time.
The ASR is an excellent mid-range data center core router.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ISR for our branches and the ASR in our data centers. We have more than 50 branches and 12 data centers around the world. We have 2x MPLS networks connecting our branches and data centers and we are using BGP to dynamic routing all our traffic. We also use ASR to receive circuits from our clients in a BPN environment.
  • Thoughput
  • Reliability
  • Powerful programmability features on NX-OS
  • Low latency
  • Native integration with SD-WAN
In my opinion, Cisco Routers are well suited in all scenarios, from small offices to large data centers, Cisco has models to suit in all environments. A note to the new NX-OS code where you can use on DNA Center, or use Python with netconf or restconf to automate various if not all operations and deployments.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ASR1000 series for our Internet edge. We run with a full BGP feed with redundant routers and redundant Internet links. They provide us with highly available Internet access. This is a critical service for us because many of our core services are cloud-based. General access to the Internet is also a core service we provide. Even a short outage can generate a lot of trouble tickets and complaints.
  • For those who are used to Cisco, they are easy to use.
  • They interoperate well with other vendors. Everyone is compatible with Cisco.
  • Performance is excellent. I’ve never had a Cisco router that was unable to perform as Cisco says it will.
  • The CLI can sometimes be inconsistent. You get used to it, but could be better.
  • Programmability is hit and miss. Overall, newer code has better support for programmability.
  • Cisco’s pricing is relatively high. No one pays list price, so list prices are very high and can be off putting at first.
Cisco Routers are well suited for any business environment at scales beyond SOHO/small business. If the business is small, Cisco may be more power and expense that can be afforded or is required. It depends on the business needs and complexity of the requirements.
Read this authenticated review
June 15, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use cisco routers for both edge, core and application service routing and tunnelling. I also use a Cisco router at home. The routers in play have to be reliable and performant above all else and the HA feature set needs to be both simple and reliable.
  • They boot quickly.
  • Are well documented.
  • Provide good troubleshooting telemetry
  • Firmware/patches updates are hidden behind support.
  • Feature vendor lock in.
  • Edge cases for feature capability not well documented or supported.
In facilities where you have trained staff to support them. In price sensitive and low resourced use cases they are not as appropriate. When you need edge or core routing they are the best in breed despite the cost overhead.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000)?

The Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) is a SD-WAN ready router.
Categories:  Software-Defined WAN,  Routers

Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000)?

The Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) is a SD-WAN ready router.

What is Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.9.

Who uses Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000)?

The most common users of Cisco 1000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 1000) are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.