Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000) Reviews

24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a pair of [the Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000)] series in our Data Center at our main location and purchased them as a way to reduced multiple devices into one. They address the problem of having disparate devices handline multiple services and having to manage them all independently of each other. This simplifies our operation immensely.
  • Seem to be well made and quality hardware and software
  • Setup is simple and has a great wizard for initial config
  • Well priced for a product in its category
  • We did have some trouble getting the latest firmware image on the device the first time
  • Support was having to hand us around alot on our problem calls
  • Additional expansion slots would be useful
There are [not] many products out there that do all these functions at this price point made by such a trusted brand. You may be able to save a bit going with a lesser known brand but you get what you pay for. If someone asked I'd easily recommend this series or the line in general to take care of all your routing needs.
Read this authenticated review
May 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently are using the ASR 1001-X as a border router for our main site, along with a smaller site. It is very robust, with the main site router running for 500+ days at one point with no issues. We only took it offline for patching and once due to a power issue in the DC. It is a very robust router that is very capable of handling over 1Gbps traffic on any given day.
  • Great WAN Aggregation
  • Scalable - Start off at 1Gbps and easily go to 10Gbps
  • Great performance for Security, Crypto and NAT
  • Limited Port availabilty. Even with modules, you will need something bigger as you grow
The ASR 1000 Series ISR Routers are very well suited to WAN applications: Border router primarily. We use it with a combination of ISP connections, Dark Fiber connections, and others as needed. There have yet to be any issues where we experienced a bottleneck with the ASR1000. If you need more ports a larger product would be needed.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Jurek Plona | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000)] is being used across the whole organization to provide multiple services: routing, wired LAN switching, WiFi connectivity, VPN. Very versatile platform providing services for smaller branches.
  • Routing, including through VPN connections.
  • LAN switching.
  • WiFi connectivity.
  • Possibly higher port count on built in switch.
  • External WiFi antenna connection to allow bigger WiFi coverage.
  • More robust wall mount setup using screw slots, currently only 2.
[Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000)] is well suited for providing network connectivity from branches. All typical functional components are built in. Also it has capability to be used as SD WAN router as it provides 2 WAN ports. Very compact but powerful.
Read Jurek Plona's full review
November 11, 2020
Simon Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco ISR 1000 routers primarily to terminate internet connections whether they be for Direct Internet Access, Fibre based or copper based broadband. The variety of termination types available within this product family ensures that we are fully prepared to terminate virtually any type of service as well as having the capability to fall back to 4G in certain models.
  • Security
  • Quality of service
  • Flexibility
  • Licensing
  • Product selection is sometimes difficult
  • Management
We typically use the Cisco ISR 1000 series for branch office deployment where they deployed to provide not only internet access but access to a Wan. This product family has flexibility and this is key to an enterprise when looking at different office types. Product selection however is key as you need to ensure that the you select the correct model to account for current termination types but also what you may need in the medium term.
I would rate these routers useability as 9/10 - I've designed and deployed Cisco solutions for the last 20 or so years, so, therefore, know what I am buying and try to get an understanding of the capabilities before deploying. The Cisco 1000 series Integrated Service Router is a rock-solid investment with great throughput "out of the box".
With any Cisco product, you are very well supported by the Technical Assistance Centre (TAC). This is one of the major plus points when selecting Cisco networking products - working in IT for the last 20years you soon appreciate that it is impossible to know everything and that there are people within Cisco you can lean-on when you need assistance.
Read Simon Watkins's full review
December 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a research university, we have small branches in different cities throughout the country. At the branches our users receive the same level of network services as they do at headquarters. All these challenges are being addressed by the ISR 1000 platform. It is the ideal all-in-one router for a branch office.
  • All-in-one solution - best in class.
  • Cost effective and super easy to manage.
  • Readiness for future technology advances, such as SDWAN.
  • Does not support legacy trunk E1/T1 to connect to telco service providers.
  • Does not have Call Manager Express build in.
  • Wireless radio coverage can be improved.
It is recommended as a very affordable and technically-empowered solution. It is well suited to remote offices, small branches, and even small or medium headquarters. The router has everything to start IT services as quick as possible in a plug and play manner.

It does not fit into the big organizations with heavy traffic.
We have not dealt with support yet since the platform is quite stable, Cisco is releasing fixes and new software quite often.
Excellent. In terms of management is very usable and friendly. For those who like terminals the console configuration interface is also available.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Syed ahsan Bukhari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ISR 1000 is addressing our high bandwidth VPN connection with remote sites. We connect with our other partners using this platform. Cisco ISR 1000 is being used by all of our organization at different branches and headquarters. We are using the same routers as MPLS and BGP RR to differentiate between different departments. Router is modular, very reliable with Cisco family of support. We totally love Cisco ISR 1000.
  • MPLS
  • BGP
  • Licensing
  • Hardware compatibility
As VPN routing and edge router, Cisco ISR 1000 is a very nice product for data center integration with ACI. Also, dark fiber high-speed links are not well supported at the moment. Upgrades and security patching are good, and integration with AAA and ISE is nice.
In my experience with other competitors and my experience with ISEs, Cisco ISR 1000 is always better.
Read Syed ahsan Bukhari's full review
June 06, 2019
Jordan Villarreal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize Cisco routers as our primary routing platform across all of our locations. We depend highly on connectivity between our sites and the Cisco platforms we utilize help us achieve maximum performance and reachability.
  • Hardware reliability.
  • Software functionality.
  • Well understood by others in the industry.
  • Licensing.
  • Debugging clarity.
The variety of the Cisco Router platform yields itself to being utilized in nearly any situation for nearly any sector. Most use cases that a traditional Cisco router would not be a good fit are smaller businesses without dedicated network engineering staff, SOHO environments, and other places where the primary users interfacing with the equipment may not fully understand how to interface and program it.
Read Jordan Villarreal's full review
December 11, 2018
Dave King | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Routers in all our offices. The routers service all our network traffic for all employees. The routers sit in front of the Firewall in the DMZ. We use the routers for our Voice services and we also use them for our MPLS Data services. We found that the Cisco routers handle Voice traffic very well. We setup Quality of Service on each of the routers to prioritize network traffic to ensure we experience the highest call quality to ensure our Voice traffic takes priority over all the other network traffic. We also have Cisco routers processing our MPLS Data for our inter office connectivity for both voice, data and printing needed.
  • Quality of Service for managing Data priority
  • Mean Time between Failures - We have found Cisco hardware is reliable
  • Fast network performance and availability
  • Device Management
  • Software Updating
  • GUI Interface
We find them well suited for corporate offices, as well as remote office environments. They have proven excellent in managing network traffic between offices, such as MPLS, as well as managing voice traffic to ensure the best call quality is experienced. The hardware is very reliable, and I have found over the years there are very few if any hardware failures. I would say if you are used to GUI management, there could be a small learning curve as Cisco management is generally handled via the command line.
Read Dave King's full review
June 25, 2018
Ernie Herd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Routers and switches to backbone [and] provide network support for a training environment of over 50 classrooms. Then in the hands-on labs, we use multiple Cisco Routers and switches to train the students in the use of that equipment specific to the needs of the unit they operate.
  • They function reliably
  • They are easy to install
  • Cost of replacing them as we have to rely on another entity for the requisition of the equipment, and they are always looking to cut cost, so they don't always go with our recommendations
I personally use Cisco Routers and switches to provide additional training to augment what Packet Tracer cannot support in the Cisco Networking Academy. I have been a CCAI (Cisco Certified Academy Instructor) for over 6 years, instructing others on what they need to be a Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) and Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP)
Read Ernie Herd's full review
June 12, 2018
David East | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ISR routers at every store. We use ASRs at or corporate locations. All traffic from stores is required to go to corporate. We place filters on the routers to block traffic between stores. The routers have a primary and a secondary connection and switch automatically where there are too many failures on the main connection.
  • They just run. We have almost no history of device failure
  • They integrate well into our overall infrastructure
  • Easy to configure
  • Licensing needs simplification
  • Support needs to escalate faster
  • Cost
Enterprise networks should be using Cisco Routers. They work very well and have an array of features that help solve many problems. Small companies may have trouble with the cost.
Usually support is excellent. There have been issues where the support person hangs on to a problem too long before escalating. This causes our problems to extend to unacceptable lengths.
Read David East's full review
June 15, 2018
Eric Parks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They are used for our perimeter devices.
  • Tons of features are there for testing in a lab.
  • Can survive through most anything. 140 degrees in Iraq and it made it.
  • There are cheaper routers out there.
For branch sites a FortiGate that is much cheaper will get the job done. Management who is spending the money doesn’t really care if it makes it a challenge to administer.
Our only support we needed was given by our Cisco rep (Kelly McGrew) and he’s very knowledgeable and has a great personality.
Very well documented.
Read Eric Parks's full review
June 11, 2018
Amit Gumber | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Routers to connect remote locations
  • Seamless connectivity
  • Hardware Stability
  • Easy to deploy
  • Web GUI support in built
  • Hot swap-able ports
  • AC/DC Power supply conversion
Cisco Routers are well suited in remote connectivity and less appropriate where the user needs Security + Routing in one box
Read Amit Gumber's full review
June 27, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They are the standard. We use Cisco routers in all locations, from our Data Centers to the smallest location with just a handful of users. They are used on the edge and in the core; they have a solution for all our needs.
  • Basic/Standard Routing functions
  • QOS
  • Handle all standard routing protocols
  • Price. Even the smaller units aren't cheap.
  • Software stability. Once you get a stable version stick with it. Bugs can be more common than they should be.
They have a solution for all needs. They can be a little overpriced for smaller installations, but there is a level of stability and support that comes with them that gives me great peace of mind. They are the standard with us (and generally considered THE standard) for a reason.
Read this authenticated review
June 15, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Routers provide us with reliable connectivity between or MSOs and cell sites. While there are other equipment providers who work in the same space, using Cisco routers allows us to leverage industry standard tools and a wide range of pre-trained engineers.
  • Forward Packets
  • Classify Traffic
  • MPLS
  • Cost
  • Power Usage
  • Heat output
Regardless of the scenario, there is likely a router in the Cisco product line that meets the needs.
Read this authenticated review
June 29, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They're used across the entire organization for VoIP purposes. The entire company has made the shift from POTS thanks to Cisco routers.
  • HDLC encapsulation
  • AAA management
  • More intuitive commands for upgrading firmware
I've had no major issues up to this point
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000)?

Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000) provides software-defined WAN and integrated security features.
Categories:  Software-Defined WAN,  Routers

Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000)?

Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000) provides software-defined WAN and integrated security features.

What is Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000)?

The most common users of Cisco 1000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 1000) are from Enterprises and the Government Administration industry.