Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
69 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-43 of 43)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2019

Cisco Routers Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco routers in some core locations of our company. We also provide them for deploying at customer locations.
  • Routing.
  • Quality of Service.
  • Network segmentation.
  • Higher prices than competitors.
Well suited for use in headquarters and critical locations.
Read this authenticated review
Prasanna Rajagopalan | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2018

Cisco Router - A unchallenged device in the network world

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Routers as our voice gateways for PSTN calls across the whole organization. They are also used as SRST gateways which helps us provide IP Telephony access to remote sites in case of WAN outages.

  • We use them for PSTN access and they are able to handle multiple concurrent calls without any issues.
  • We also use DSP cards on them for conferencing and transcoding resources and they are very efficient in terms of processing.
  • They provide high uptime, it's like you plug them and they run forever until you bring them down.
  • Certain models of the new ISR 4400 series routers have only single source power supply. We would like to have dual source power supply for high availability.
  • We don't have any other issues.
They are very well suited as PSTN voice gateways.
Read Prasanna Rajagopalan's full review
Manuel J Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

HCE Router Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco routers are used across the organization to enable communications between offices and field communications.
  • They are very reliable and just keep working.
  • I have not had a hardware issue to date with any router.
  • Provide additional services than just routing.
  • Don't limit data throughput based on licensing.
  • Provide an easy way to expand cards in the router without having to restart it.
Cisco routers are well suited to separate networks if you need to use voice cards however if you don't need voice cards then routers are more expensive than layer 3 switches which can provide the same functionality.
Read Manuel J Gomez's full review
Kris Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

Routers - Cisco is the only way to go

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ISRs for WAN connection via MPLS and carrier diversity.
  • Somewhat easy to design and configure
  • When we have problems TAC is always able to help us with the issues
  • The ability for carrier diversity and backup links controlled by route maps makes for a great platform
  • Not having a built in rollback feature for when a configure change causes unexpected results
  • Different command suites on the ISRs verses nexus
  • iOS upgrades that cause existing features to sometimes respond unexpectedly
They are great for edge routers and carriers also use the ISRs which makes compatibility more user-friendly.
Read Kris Brown's full review
Mark Ciecior | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2018

Cisco Routers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our entire organization uses Cisco routers. They provide us a secure WAN, with dynamic failover, and insight into all the traffic traversing the WAN.
  • DMVPN is a fantastic, de facto industry standard for remote office connectivity.
  • Cisco routers can be integrated with Cloud Web Security, Encrypted Traffic Analytics, SGTAG policy enforcement, and so much more.
  • Voice integration, particularly Survivable Remote Site Telephony (SRST) is outstanding.
  • Cost
  • Real-world performance statistics
Any major enterprise with more than a few sites will benefit from a Cisco router. One- or two-site organizations may not need all the features.
Read Mark Ciecior's full review
Scott Unruh | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2018

My brief opinion on Cisco routing platforms

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage Cisco routers for consistent service across all locations and for resilient service aggregation.
  • Provide a platform for flexible path manipulation.
  • Advanced scripting and response features.
  • Modular capacity to run additional services like compute, VoIP, etc...
  • Further support of open functions and API integrations.
  • Improved application intelligent routing and optimization.
  • Better extraction of telemetry and event data to open repositories.
Cisco routers are well suited for controlled environments with available infrastructure. Small applications in IoT and remote locations usually require additional translations and equipment.
Read Scott Unruh's full review
Todd Volz | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2018

ISR 4000 at wan edge

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ISR throughout all of our sites for WAN access, VOIP services, and compute. The compute supports a third party SD-WAN overlay for WAN acceleration.
  • Usable, known interface.
  • Reliable
  • Abundant port options
  • Thermal management and sound.
  • Throughput to cost ratio
  • Licensing costs can add up
WAN Edge is the perfect place for an ISR. Hot un-ventilated closets get to be a challenge to keep the sound level down.
Read Todd Volz's full review
David Ibrahim | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2018

Cisco Routers Usage in African Banking Environment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For a bank, the Cisco routers are used as branch routers connecting users to access Data Center resources.
  • Routing
  • Quality of Service
  • IPSLA
  • Packet Tunneling
  • To enable them programmable like Python-ready irrespective of the series
  • To save last history commands initiated even after a reload
Well suited for routing and ACLs.

Not well suited for RAVPN and firewalling.
Read David Ibrahim's full review
Christopher Hall | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2018

Cisco routers provide the value in the industry

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco routers in almost every use case. We use Nexus routers at our core for our hi speed data center connection. We use Cisco routers at our remote offices as a collapsed core as well.
  • Supportable, I know we can find the information needed to support
  • Reliability, it works.
  • Lacking solutions for the small office.
  • Programmability, I want to use python for everything
  • Cost for licensing and support
Not good for small business or if you are on a budget.
Read Christopher Hall's full review
Bert Schepler | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

Buy Cisco now

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
43xx and 44xx this is our standard for WAN services. We have them deployed globally at our edge locations. We are using the ASR model in our DCs and core.
  • App identification with NBAR2 is great. We use it in conjunction with our robust QoS.
  • Routing is obviously what built Cisco and it is as expected rock solid on the isr4K platform.
  • We are looking foward to the intergration of Viptela software on to this platform. Having this on the road map will help our migration.
  • We have found several code bugs and it has caused outages on our network.
  • The license program is a bit confusing - there are several tiers and we have had issues with Cisco ONE portability.
  • All WAN routing scenarios and IP conversation scenarios.
  • The 4K platform could be used in a small DC.
Read Bert Schepler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2018

Cisco ISR 4K- Flexible, Feature-rich

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ISR4K exclusively for corporate and branch offices operating at 1Gbps or less on the wide area network. They are extremely effective WAN routers coming in very useful [for] typical form factors depending on HA and the number of interface requirements. Typical use case is for ethernet circuits less than 1Gbps or TDM such as T1. Secondary use case is voice: E&M, FXO, CME. The high-density analog module gives us a great option for larger analog footprint locations. Tertiary use case is iWAN and foreseeably SD-WAN.
  • Easy to use, simple to operate, highly predictable. IOS/IOS-XE is well known and there is a virtually limitless pool of engineers who know this platform and if not having direct experience, can apply knowledge from other IOS/IOS-XE with very little adjustment.
  • Extremely flexible due to wide variety of interfaces. NIM and SM-X provide a great deal options: TDM, E&M, FXO, FXS, switches and servers are all options.
  • Robust IP feature set: Routing protocols, NBAR, Netflow, QoS, DMVPN. This large IP feature set gives us the ISR makes it a highly re-usable router, capable in many different use cases.
  • I would like to see an extremely simpler licensing. ISR still suffers from Cisco licensing complexity.
  • I would like to see improvements in IOS-XE incorporating some of the capabilities found in IOS-XR e.g., config commits and rollback. This may require an IOS fork but unifying IOS-XR and IOS-XE would be a welcome change.
  • I would like to see unified SD-WAN, Voice, and IOS-XE image. I believe this is already on the roadmap.
Great router for small to mid-size branch or remote corporate office having WAN circuits at 1Gbps or less. Greater than 1Gbps, you should be looking at ASR1K. Great fit for where you need analog telephony and real QoS, where you need real netflow. If you expect to run DMVPN, IPsec, and assured capacity regardless of feature turned on, this is a great router.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2018

Cisco ISRs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Allowing my company to process and serve customer products. We use Cisco Routers in our core environment and for our customer premise locations. We deploy these ISRs with MPLS Service Providers and DMVPN deployments. It allows us to extend services and support to our products at customer sites. They are currently used by several departments.
  • Stability.
  • Dependability.
  • Reliability.
  • Software.
  • Licensing.
  • Security.
They're great for reliability, once configured properly. We have hundreds of ISRs deployed with uptimes over 5 years. They work well with MPLS deployments. DMVPN Hub and Spoke is also a great technology option with these routers. We also utilize HSRP for hardware redundancy as well. We rarely have a Cisco ISR hardware failure, if any.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2018

Cisco Routers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With the flexibility of ISR routers, they are being used throughout my organization for a number of uses. We use them for voice, branch office, WAN edge, cloud edge, and other things.
  • Route with various routing protocols
  • Provide services such as DHCP
  • Large number of connectivity options for about any kind of WAN connection
  • Can be buggy at times
  • Licensing can get confusing
Well suited in about any instance depending on the model you use, except for end device connectivity.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

Finally a router worth keeping

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Routers are in use to provide support for multi-protocol routing and basic ACL functionality. They provide our BUs with reliable connectivity options to the internet and branch locations.
  • Route packets and connect to circuit vendors
  • TAC support for routers is great
  • Hardware longevity is awesome as well
  • They need to finish the SD-WAN integration with Viptela
Cisco Routers are great in data centers. Other vendors come into play in the smaller router sizes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2018

Review A1

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ISR 4000s are deployed in several locations and are used as routers and phone gateways.
  • Easy to configure
  • Reliable hardware
  • Reliable software
  • Not Sure
  • Best for a business of any type.
  • Home office may be less appropriate due to price and higher skill set needed to operate.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2018

Cisco Router Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We resell Cisco Routers to our customers to be deployed at their respective branches. These are being used by all of our customers. There are no problems using Cisco Routers other than bug's related to IOS software.
  • fast and reliable
  • good ROI
  • flexible
  • IOS improvements
  • more memory
  • more powerful CPU
So far Cisco Routers have been suited in any environment we have deployed them on.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2018

Cisco Routers are a Must for any Enterprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We exclusively utilize Cisco for routing, switching, and WiFi. While we still have some legacy 2821, 2921, and 3900-series routers in our large enterprise, the current standards are - Telecommuters (881) - Small-to-Medium sites (ISR 4k) - Large Hospitals/Office Buildings and Internet Edge (ASR 1000).
  • Routing
  • QoS
  • MPLS
  • Netflow/App Monitoring
  • N/A
Used anywhere we need to ride a circuit - less than line-rate and needing QoS.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)

Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) provides a scalable, flexible foundation so you can quickly integrate leading IT initiatives like SD-WAN and edge compute, while meeting the explosive network performance need driven by cloud-based application adoption.
Categories:  Software-Defined WAN,  Routers

Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No