Cisco 800 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 800) Reviews

21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We operate a large construction site with dozens of large offices, some without the ability to connect back to our primary data center via LAN. Our Cisco 800 Series Router allows us to ensure devices in those locations are able to reliably connect to our internal network seamlessly whether they have a dedicated microwave link or rely on LTE communications.
  • Dynamic routing
  • LTE failover
  • Multiple interface options (Copper and SFP options)
  • Better PoE capabilities
  • More powerful equipment (larger locations can get some slowdown with heavy usage).
  • More reliable power supplies.
Recommending this device completely depends on the use case. If you are looking for a device that can be easily configured to dump clients on your private network, these are the ones to get. We've sent them home with users, sent them to small offices, or just for a meeting off-site. You can turn almost any internet connection into a home office. It's been very helpful during COVID-19 as we have needed to setup multiple offices outside of our normal area. Setup in the field does not require a technical person, just plugin and you are up and running.
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main goal of purchasing these devices were to get some of our buildings that don't connect directly to the main network to be as safe and secure as the rest of the network. Typically this isn't a problem if you setup a SDWAN or metro-E but when you are forced to put these sites on their own they can sometimes feel under-protected. The [Cisco 800 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 800)] is the little brother of the ISR 2XXX and 4XXX that we use elsewhere, but hoped to get similar features with its use.
  • Great price in comparison to its higher end siblings
  • Not a ton of setup pains for initial config
  • Cisco backed devices that are well made and fairly easy to operate
  • Cannot expand functionality with add-on modules
  • Not a ton of processing power compared to other models
  • Maybe a little light on advanced features
I would be likely to recommend [Cisco 800 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 800)] (or other devices in the series) as a means to protect external parts of your business. Not that there aren't other options out there that can do very similar functions, but being able to get a Cisco branded device that does it at these price levels is pretty nice.
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a few of these ISR 800 series routers. Mainly for off-site locations that are too far to get fiber run to. In these cases, the site operates mostly independently but that was proving to be a problem for administrators being able to get the users functioning as if they were on the network. These routers mostly fix that issue!
  • Help smaller sites tie into HQ network services.
  • Bundle a lot of higher end features into a cheaper box.
  • Easy to setup and get running.
  • Can't handle huge workloads.
  • Needs monthly reboots to keep operating at good levels (I think log files are filling, causing memory errors).
  • Most bug patches are a headache to perform.
They do have their place in the overall scheme of things. When you're not trying to host 1000 clients at a major site, and just need to get a smaller group of individuals either tunneled back to the network or on their own with a decent router, I'd recommend this to those types of scenarios for sure.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At two remote sites outside our main head quarters we are using these 800 series Cisco ISR routers. Initially purchased as a VPN tunnel only device to bring the remote site back to the network, we were having bandwidth issues. When we changed over to a metro-E connection and used this device as its own firewall and router it really helped us get those sites back online in a smoother way.
  • All in once device makes management easier
  • Many connection types even wifi and LTE
  • Some models can incorporate voip and other voice telephony options
  • They lack a bit in processing power and speed
  • VPN tunnel is lacking in overall bandwidth
  • If you have a larger site you may need to step up to more powerful line
Only in very specific circumstances would I recommend this to a colleague. Mainly if they have a situation where a smaller remote site needs a vpn tunnel backhaul or better yet a metro-e connection. Even a cellular connection is possible but you would not really want to push many devices through it if you have any bandwidth concerns.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Ricardo Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our current setup is HQ with two branch offices. The 800 Series router is installed at the branch offices.
  • Ease of Use
  • Has adequate security feateres
  • All around good product
  • Needs to improve performance a bit
  • Not agile enough
  • Be sure to note your requirements before purchase
I think it is best suited for a small to medium business with branch offices. Our current enviromement is best suited for the 800 Series routers. It's simple with no complexity and great features. Cisco has offered a robust unit that is extremely versatile.
I think Cisco is a good product that offers a huge list of options where you can get support from. I find that forums, blogs and communities really assist wit resolving any issues that you might come across.
This router is easy to use and manage. It provides the features, most important the security our organization requires to function properly. There is also cohesion between the HQ router we are currently using.
Read Ricardo Adams's full review
July 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco 890 ISRs is one of the most common platforms supporting smaller sites within in our network.
It provides wired and wifi connectivity between branches and HQ.
  • Routing, switching, wifi support etc.
  • It is a very versatile platform deployed in many of our locations.
  • Great solution for networks with an on-the-go setup.
  • Being one of the most versatile routing/switching platforms available, it fulfills most functions one would need in a compact appliance.
  • I have not experienced lack of functionality in any areas we use the appliance for.
  • One small feature I would like to have is 19" rack mount.
In order to support wifi functionality well, It is well suited for it to be deployed close to the users. One additional feature it could support would be a connector for an external wifi antenna.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2019
Alexander Battaglia, CCIE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco routers are used at the perimeter of our environment to terminate our ISP connections. While all internal users and our customer utilize these devices they are managed solely by a single department. We utilize Cisco routers due to their BGP convergence performance and our engineers' familiarity with IOS.
  • BGP convergence
  • Intuitive CLI
  • Feature-rich
  • Expensive
  • Embedded packet captures are not very intuitive
  • Rollback options/commit-confirm type commands found in Juniper and IOS-XR routers would be very helpful to see in IOS and IOS-XE
Cisco routers are the go-to router for any mid-size or large company network. The various model types make it easy to find a device that suits the companies use case and the industry understanding of Cisco makes it very simple to support. Cheaper options to Cisco exist which make Cisco harder to recommend for smaller companies.
Read Alexander Battaglia, CCIE's full review
May 21, 2019
Andrew Larkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[We're] Using this router as a CPE device for our ISP segment to terminate multiple WAN link types.
  • Right price point
  • Right features
  • Right from factor
  • Support for legacy tunneling in base license instead of additional license
  • Well suited for link termination for broadband customers and SME fiber services.
  • A full featured, flexible endpoint platform is critical for our segments.
Read Andrew Larkins's full review
March 02, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use these small routers to build up the PPPoE dialers with multiple public IPs behind it.
Mostly we connect a Cisco ASA firewall behind it and give one or more public IPs directly to the other companies of suppliers at the customer site.
This device makes it possible to use one fiber PPPoE session to serve multiple suppliers for one customer.

  • Stability on routing.
  • HA solutions like HSRP.
  • Easy to manage remotely and through custom scripts.
  • GUI for configuration like ASDM for ASAs, so it will be a more manageable first line support.
  • Make it easier to build op Site2Site VPNs and adjust the profiles.
We stopped using other router equipment than Cisco. Our business relies on the stability of Cisco routers.
We are supporting over 250 locations with only three network engineers, so we need routers that are reliable and stable to be able to support so many devices.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use all Cisco Routers across the entire organization. They address WAN configuration as well as creating multiple Vlans to different areas of our business. We also have them setup to fail over multiple internet services at each of our locations for uptime purposes. We are confident they are very secure and provide us with a robust back end for our network.
  • Uptime has been very high.
  • Remote diagnostics and reporting is great.
  • They work very well talking to our other Cisco Routers throughout our organization.
  • We would like to see more of the Cisco Routers with ability to connect to the cloud without investing in new routers.
Cisco is a enterprise-grade router and they are rock solid and dependable.

Read this authenticated review
June 14, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our VoIP infrastructure which is also Cisco.
  • Route
  • DHCP for a small network
  • ISR for smaller networks
  • Updates of CME/SRST functions
We only use them in our VoIP networks currently. We like how they perform for remote site survivability. Can't really offer much for other scenarios where they don't work well.
Read this authenticated review
June 12, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Routers just work. You design, implement, and with regular maintenance, they keep going and going. Very reliable pieces of hardware.

  • GRE Tunnels
  • WAN
  • Route
  • LOS
  • Bugs
  • Price
Suited for WAN aggregation
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco 800 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 800)?

Cisco 800 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 800) are designed to supply data, security and wireless capabilities in a simple to use form.
Categories:  Routers

Cisco 800 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 800) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco 800 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 800)?

Cisco 800 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 800) are designed to supply data, security and wireless capabilities in a simple to use form.

Who uses Cisco 800 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 800)?

The most common users of Cisco 800 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 800) are from Enterprises and the Government Administration industry.