Cisco ASA Reviews

171 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 47)

Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Cisco ASA In a Nutshell

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco ASA seems to be more reliable to me. However, Watchguard has multi-wan routing built-in natively to the appliance. Outside of the multi-wan functionality; however, I find the Cisco ASA to be more reliable and dependable. The Cisco ASA is more focused on security, whereas the WatchGuard focuses on being an all-in-one appliance.
Read Steve Davis's full review
Simone Duarte | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2019

A next generation firewall of high performance and quality.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose Cisco ASA as a highly reliable product. It has been around for many years and I have rarely heard of any hardware issues. The 24x7 warranty and support is amazing and it surprised us positively. In case of any hardware defects, a new appliance will be shipped to us by the next business day.
Read Simone Duarte's full review
Jyrki Halonen | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Cisco ASA FW in front of SDN

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

For next generation firewall feature sets FortiGate is a bit better and gives better value for the investment. However in the whole Cisco environment I find Cisco ASA to work better when defining end to end use cases with some orchestrator. Over all we have found the place for both of these firewalls in different roles.
Read Jyrki Halonen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Industry Standard and for Good Reasons

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco ASAs are a world apart from SonicWall's, and even more so pfSense. Sonicwall's are okay for SOHO purposes; they're not expensive, but they're not as robust either. They often choke bandwidth because of CPU limitations. pfSense is a Linux-based firewall, and it does the bare minimums. I'm not sure it's even worth comparing, but it has none of the tools to secure a network like robust reporting or VPN connections. I said this earlier, but I want to repeat it: there's a reason Cisco ASAs are an industry standard.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

One of the best firewalls in the industry

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SSL VPN on other devices is lacking direct RDP plugins and such, no specific IPS and IDS support the same way that Firepower replaces a dedicated IPS. Failovert and general maintainence is not as great on other firewalls. Management of other products I think is better than Cisco's ASDM, but it is still much better and clear to manage rules via ASDM.
Read this authenticated review
Steven Van Jaarsveld | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Cisco ASA Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Fortinet FortiGate and Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series
When comparing Cisco ASA to other vendors' products we needed to bear in mind that most other security vendors offer a next-gen Firewall solution while the ASA is still a legacy firewall. Based on this, Cisco ASA is by no means a loser here. Cisco ASA is an extremely capable firewall based on the offerings it has and in a legacy firewall shootout is by far the superior firewall.
Read Steven Van Jaarsveld's full review
Dalibor Cvetanovic | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2019

Cisco ASA Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The ease of use and the in house experience was the big factor for purchasing Cisco products. Though the other two products worked within our environment, they proved a little difficult when working with other Cisco products. This could have been due to the lack of knowledge/experience with these products.
Read Dalibor Cvetanovic's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2019

Decent Firewall at a decent price point.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our Palo Altos and Cisco ASAs are pretty comparable. They both seem to work well when used in an HA pair. They can both do IP/Port based ACLs. But the Palos also have APP-ID which helps to make sure that the traffic passing through your firewall is the type of traffic you'd expect it to be. I will say this has been both a good and bad thing. On occassion there have been some false positives, but overall APP-ID works very well and helps us maintain a tighter security posture than we could with ASAs alone. The ASAs though tend to be cheaper which makes them appealing for areas where you can/will take a more layered approach to security. Additionally the Junipoer SRX that I've used in the past were fairly capable of IP/Port based ACLs and seemed to work fairly well.
Read this authenticated review
Larry Chisholm | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2018

Cisco ASA - Solid contender, but don't use the ips!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco made sense from the standpoint that my engineers already knew it and there was little learning curve. Personally, I prefer a purpose-built hardware solution. Untangle is not ready for the enterprise as a whole but works great to do web/application filtering . Checkpoint and Palo are VERY high cost and have few support options.
Read Larry Chisholm's full review
Carlos Daniel Casañas Bertolo ஃ | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2018

Robustness and quality above all!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Above all, the robustness and quality of the components, the support and the rapid resolution of warranty issues. Cisco is a serious company and demonstrates this by making the processes with the client as easy as possible.
Read Carlos Daniel Casañas Bertolo ஃ's full review
Richard Oberle | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2018

ASA, really means Awesome Security Appliance!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We sell both PAN and Cisco products. We feel a certain bias toward ASA as overall they are easier to deploy, easier to troubleshoot, last years beyond their supported lifetime and have extremely sturdy reliable hardware.
Read Richard Oberle's full review
Brandon Holbrook | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2018

Cisco ASA met all our network firewall needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Cisco ASA because most of the other networking equipment is also Cisco devices. With this we are able to be confident that we will not have any issues with incompatibility. The ability to integrate with other Cisco solutions that we already had in place was also a reason we chose Cisco ASA.
Read Brandon Holbrook's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Our experiences with Cisco ASA firewalls.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As Cisco is one of the top players in the network business, we can get answers to our questions from online communities along with 24/7 tech support from Cisco using our support contracts. We have considered other companies in the past, but the pricing for Cisco products has been competitive and would ultimately provide savings since we wouldn't have to retrain our staff on other brands.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

The Swiss Army Knife of Firewalls

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco certainly has the more well-known brand. Although it's more expensive than competitors, it has a good reputation for support, reliability, and security. It's also very common for IT experts to be familiar with Cisco, since it is a common and sought-after brand. The additional cost may or may not be worthwhile for your business needs - consider cheaper alternatives and weigh the pros and cons with an expert!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

Cisco ASA Rocks!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

NETGEAR and Sonicwall, they are ok, but not rock solid like Cisco.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Cisco ASA - Aging tech no longer a leader in the firewall market

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco tried to build a new platform by bolting acquired and rebranded SourceFire as a next generation platform but really missed the boat. Cisco should be considered a networking company not security. Firewall technology is changing and Cisco needs to reevaluate their place in this market.
Read this authenticated review
Sergei Chernooki | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2018

Great solution heading in right direction.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco does transport-layer inspections, NAT and VPN just great. CheckPoint is more expensive, gives greater network visibility compared to Cisco ASA, next-gen features work faster on CheckPoint (model-dependent). Management Centre for Cisco NGFW is a heavy virtual appliance with a complex interface, you may need a special training for it. FortiGate is just cheaper by price per protected Megabyte per second.
Read Sergei Chernooki's full review
Brian Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2018

Gold Standard in Enterprise Security

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We evaluated other Cisco security devices and other vendors, but chose the Cisco ASA due to it's price point and compatibility. While Fortinet and Palo Alto are leaders in the field, we found that for the price, the features we needed were fully satisfied by the ASA. We considered using pfSense as an internal firewall, but eventually decided against it as we would have to home grow hardware for it, and the ASA still did everything we needed.
Read Brian Taylor's full review
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2018

The Gold Standard in Enterprise Firewalls

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco has been in the networking industry for what seems like an eternity. That being said they take what they do and the products they make very seriously. Cisco products are created with the customer in mind, and they are made to be somewhat easy to configure, to the point that you "set it and forget it" and you never have to touch them unless there are some major changes made to your network.
Read Michael Timms's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (13)
7.4
Visualization Tools (12)
6.7
Content Inspection (11)
8.0
Policy-based Controls (12)
8.9
Active Directory and LDAP (12)
8.6
Firewall Management Console (13)
7.2
Reporting and Logging (13)
8.3
VPN (13)
9.0
High Availability (13)
9.3
Stateful Inspection (13)
9.3
Proxy Server (7)
8.2

About Cisco ASA

Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance (ASA) software is the core operating software for Cisco’s ASA suite. It supports a variety of specialized network security and firewall options, allowing users to modularize to their business needs. It is scaled for enterprises through “clustering” ASAs, enabling 128 Gbps processing load and 50 million concurrent connections.

Cisco ASA provides a robust VPN setup process and integrates with other Cisco security offerings, including Cloud Web security and Trustsec. CWS provides cloud-based systems security across public and private clouds, and Trustsec is a software-defined segmentation product that mitigates the scope of network threats and data breaches. The platform also supports IPv4 and IPv6, enabling a smoother evolution in Internet Protocols for users.

Categories:  Firewall

Cisco ASA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No