Cisco ASA Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
218 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 69)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 22, 2021
Chirag Deol | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were using [pfSense] before in our environment but we regularly facing difficulties over it due to software bugs & downtime. After implementing Cisco ASA, it resolved our availability issue & provides us a reliable solution with the best security features & easy to understand GUI.
Read Chirag Deol's full review
July 28, 2021
gaurav sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ASA is always better than pfSence. You have to waste lots of time on pfSence to search the features and you will never get any good documentation on configuration, but, in ASA, you can easily configure and documentation and training videos are easily available. pfSence is 10% of ASA.
Read gaurav sharma's full review
July 26, 2021
Mohit Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were using pfSense in our environment before for remote VPN but we were facing continuous configuration misbehave issues. After using Cisco ASA is have resolved our remote VPN & security issues. It has also GUI Based control access so that we can easily check & manage things easily.
Read Mohit Singh's full review
July 26, 2021
sitaram gurjar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were using the pfSense but we were not happy with the services. We were facing lots of downtime and bugs during the production hours. That's why we selected Cisco ASA. It is a really very good firewall and we haveb't faced any downtime in the last 3 years.
Read sitaram gurjar's full review
July 23, 2021
Ankit Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were using pfSense before in our environment but we were facing continuous issues in configuration management & policy-based management. After the implementation of Cisco ASA, it has resolved both the previous problems & also provided us a reliable solution with High Availability. It has also provided us best in class technical support.
Read Ankit Singh's full review
June 26, 2021
Anuja Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When we compare pfSense with Cisco ASA, Cisco ASA is better with its features and good technical support. pfSense is very complicated to configure and manage but in Cisco ASA click commands are very easy and you can configure and manage the product. No need for expert network skill for this firewall.
Read Anuja Singh's full review
June 14, 2021
Arti Agrahari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco ASA Provides easy integration with Active Directory & LDAP so that you can easily set up a Single sign-on feature in your infrastructure. Cisco ASA provides remote VPN, two-factor authentication, content filtering & multiple security features in a single device that makes it unique as compare to other available solutions.
Read Arti Agrahari's full review
June 08, 2021
VINAY Mandora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

pfSense is a nice firewall but it is minimal in features. The main advantage of Cisco ASA is routing, VPN, and NAT, and pfSense is providing these features but they are only basic. Cisco ASA provides lots of options in NAT but pfSense provides basic NAT features, so according to my experience and understanding, Cisco ASA is the better solution.
Read VINAY Mandora's full review
May 29, 2021
rahul Verma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I am a freelancer consultant so I use lots of firewalls. I recommended Cisco ASA to my client and asked him to replace pfSense because pfSense is not easy firewall. Options are very different and commands are very tricky. Lots of options are not available. But ASA is better than this. You can easily deploy, configure, and manage this.
Read rahul Verma's full review
May 25, 2021
Basant Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I don't thin[k] any basic firewall in this budget is better then Cisco ASA. ASA provides you lots of option[s] in vpn, nat and this is very easy to configure. This is not complected firewall. Beginner network also can configure this and handle this. No downtime is main advantage of this firewall.
Read Basant Gupta's full review
May 14, 2021
Rajesh Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

[Cisco] ASA is far better than pfSense[.] pfSense is a very complicated firewall and if you need any help documentation is not easily available. Cisco ASA configuration via CLI is [the] very best and fast for configuration[.]
Read Rajesh Singh's full review
April 30, 2021
dhruv gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We did not stack the Cisco ASA firewall before going ahead with it as we found Cisco ASA reviews online and came to the conclusion that it has the right set of features for our organization and we have not regretted it since then. There was a bit of a cost-benefit aspect involved but we decided to go with the popular and right fit solution.
Read dhruv gupta's full review
July 23, 2021
Ezequiel Peralta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Administration of Cisco ASA is very simple. The integration with Cisco Defense Orchestrator and SecureX with Cisco ISE brings the most powerful tools of cybersecurity. [We are] able to [perform the] best remediation in most cases. Advanced Malware for endpoint permits [us to] know advanced threats and mitigate on endpoint. [We chose it for] Cisco's threat response permit reports [to] manage and know path of malware attacks.
Read Ezequiel Peralta's full review
May 27, 2021
Neha Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

pfSense is very difficult to configure. You can't configure easily. But you can easily configure ASA through CLI. If you need to modify the NAT as per you required then you can do. But this option is not available in pfSense. In pfSense you can only configure the basic options.
Read Neha Sharma's full review
May 11, 2021
Vipin Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

the main and big advantage is Cisco ASA is best documentation, great customer support and easy to configure and implement in existing network. if you have beginner then you can also configure the product very easily.
Read Vipin Sharma's full review
April 30, 2021
Vipin Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have chosen Cisco ASA due to its high availability & Performance. Using multiple products of the same cisco stack helps us to easily navigate things & integration.
Read Vipin Garg's full review
March 05, 2021
David Orellana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The web interface is easy to use and configure. Also, it has a better IPS option [and] you can manage various firewalls in one console. GUI is much better than ASDM.
Read David Orellana's full review
May 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco ASA is one of the more reliable security/firewall appliances on the market. Other products that I have used include; Fortinet and Sonicwall. Fortinet is an excellent alternative because it has many features, is easy to configure, and priced competitively vs the Cisco ASA. The Cisco VPN puts it over the top when choosing which appliance to go with.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We also have Juniper and Palo Alto within our group of companies. But we do like to have some diversity, [partly] because of the "one vendor = single point of failure", partly because of historical reasons. All products are good for their use.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The stability of the device is one of the main reasons. The firewall power is the most valuable asset.
It is an easy-to-deploy and dependable device that every big company trust for security.
The support provided by TAC is amazing and your escalation is taken care of by CCIE experts. Multiple BUs are involved to resolve the issue The support is above and beyond.
Read this authenticated review
May 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have been using and deploying different vendor-based firewalls.
Our main considerations for selection; use case, functionalities, and the price
of the product. When there’s a Vpn or detailed routing scenarios Cisco ASA is the
primary candidate. It’s cheap compared to other vendors. Cisco support is best
compared to other vendors' support. Local partners and Cisco teams assist with any
kind of problem. Problem resolution times are significantly lower. Smooth
integration with Cisco ISE is the primary decision factor for C2S deployments. Vpn
functionality is bundled with the product. We have quarterly audits for the
solutions and products used for external services, Cisco ASAs don’t have any
defects or findings. Setup and deployment time is low compared to other
vendors. It perfectly integrates with monitoring tools. Vpn monitoring can be
accomplished by 3rd party monitoring tools extensively. CLI usage is
a plus especially when you deploy through automation tools.
Read this authenticated review
January 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We specifically switched away from Cisco ASA in the last year. Much happier with the new product. The FortiGate firewalls have options up and down the line and they all work flawlessly together. We've got sites with large and small firewalls, all linked together. If you are paying for a dedicated WAN with your ISP - you may want to look at what the cost would be to swap to these firewalls and just link via site to site!
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2020
Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco ASA seems to be more reliable to me. However, Watchguard has multi-wan routing built-in natively to the appliance. Outside of the multi-wan functionality; however, I find the Cisco ASA to be more reliable and dependable. The Cisco ASA is more focused on security, whereas the WatchGuard focuses on being an all-in-one appliance.
Read Steve Davis's full review
December 02, 2019
Simone Duarte | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose Cisco ASA as a highly reliable product. It has been around for many years and I have rarely heard of any hardware issues. The 24x7 warranty and support is amazing and it surprised us positively. In case of any hardware defects, a new appliance will be shipped to us by the next business day.
Read Simone Duarte's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (23)
8.1
Visualization Tools (21)
7.4
Content Inspection (26)
8.1
Policy-based Controls (34)
9.1
Active Directory and LDAP (34)
9.2
Firewall Management Console (34)
8.0
Reporting and Logging (34)
8.9
VPN (35)
9.4
High Availability (33)
9.6
Stateful Inspection (34)
9.5
Proxy Server (25)
8.0

What is Cisco ASA?

Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance (ASA) software is the core operating software for Cisco’s ASA suite. It supports a variety of specialized network security and firewall options, allowing users to modularize to their business needs. It is scaled for enterprises through “clustering” ASAs, enabling 128 Gbps processing load and 50 million concurrent connections.

Cisco ASA provides a robust VPN setup process and integrates with other Cisco security offerings, including Cloud Web security and Trustsec. CWS provides cloud-based systems security across public and private clouds, and Trustsec is a software-defined segmentation product that mitigates the scope of network threats and data breaches. The platform also supports IPv4 and IPv6, enabling a smoother evolution in Internet Protocols for users.

Categories:  Firewall

Cisco ASA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco ASA?

Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance (ASA) software is the core OS for the ASA suite. It provides firewall functionality, as well as integration with context-specific Cisco security modules. It is scaled for enterprise-level traffic and connections.

What is Cisco ASA's best feature?

Reviewers rate High Availability highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Cisco ASA?

The most common users of Cisco ASA are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.