Cisco ASA Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
215 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 73)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 22, 2021
Chirag Deol | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cisco ASA for routing & nating in our environment & also for accessing remote office locations via the remote VPN feature. We are also using it for the implementation of VLANs in our organization & specified traffic over it. We are using it across all the departments & the best part of this firewall is easy to configure & packet flow is easy to understand.
Read Chirag Deol's full review
July 23, 2021
Ankit Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cisco ASA 5525 for Routing & Natting in our organization & we have connected two sites with site-to-site VPN & our remote users are using Cisco Anyconnect. We have configured Cisco ASA in a way so that our remote users can access the internal resources. We have also configured VLANs for our departments to route the traffic.
Read Ankit Singh's full review
June 26, 2021
Anuja Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA is the best device for routing, nat, and basic level security. We have been using this for the last 3 years in our organization and I am very happy with all features which help us to fulfill all the tasks. We are using this for site-to-site VPN with our client and remote VPN for connecting the internal devices client from outside unsure network.
Read Anuja Singh's full review
June 14, 2021
Arti Agrahari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cisco ASA for VLAN implementation & remote VPN for our remote office locations. We are using it across all the departments as it helps us to categorize the traffic. Cisco ASA resolves our remote VPN & Two-factor authentication problems. It also helps us to prevent malicious traffic in the network.
Read Arti Agrahari's full review
June 08, 2021
VINAY Mandora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA is only good for routing, NAT, and VPN, but if you want deep-level security, application-level security, and content filtering then this is not good for you. Cisco ASA can provide you only basic security. I have been working on Cisco 5525 for the last two years and you can easily configure the NAT, routing, and site-to-site as well as remote VPN. Packet flow is very simple--we can easily understand and configure.
Read VINAY Mandora's full review
May 29, 2021
rahul Verma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA is my favourite firewall. If you are a beginner and you are thinking for learning the security then you should start with ASA...one of my clients has been using this for the last 5 years, model is 5525 and I've managed this for the last 2 years and haven't faced any issue or any misbehave. Easy commands configuration and simple commands for troubleshooting.
Read rahul Verma's full review
May 24, 2021
Basant Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As per my knowledge and experience, Cisco ASA is best for VPN, routing, and nating. they provide you basic security. I am working on ASA 5525 for the last 2 years and using it for the site-to-site VPN, nat, and routing. If you need deep security then you will have to go with Cisco firepower services because Cisco ASA provides you only till layer 4 security, and a little bit option in layer 7 security.
Read Basant Gupta's full review
May 24, 2021
gaurav sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA is one of the reliable projects of the Cisco organization. It is a device that provides you VPN, NAT, routing, and basic security. I am managing this project for my client. Currently, I am on Cisco 5525 and using this for VPN and routing. I am very happy with these services. I never faced any downtime from these services.
Read gaurav sharma's full review
May 14, 2021
Rajesh Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA is one of the [top Cisco products.] Its a security device, also its a combination of firewall, antivirus, Intrusion detection, and intrusion prevention system, NATing, and Virtual Private Network Technology. I [have been] using Cisco ASA for the last five years for one of my client sites. I am very happy with the CISCO ASA product.
Read Rajesh Singh's full review
April 29, 2021
dhruv gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using a Cisco ASA for the whole organization. It is used for providing access to our internal network for our employees when they are not in the office. We have been using Cisco ASA for many years and the hardware has not failed us even once. It is a very reliable security appliance for our office.
Read dhruv gupta's full review
July 23, 2021
Ezequiel Peralta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use ASA for VPN remote users only. The integration with Cisco ISE and Anyconnect APX license makes connections more secure because [we are] able to manage rules and policies compliance. Cisco ASA resolves the problem with the remote users connection in the time of the pandemic. In our organization, ASA is the principal firewall for the internet perimeter and datacenter.
Read Ezequiel Peralta's full review
May 27, 2021
Neha Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

cisco asa is most demanding product intruduced by cisco for small and middle sized industries for basic level security. this devices mainly use for site to site and remote vpn, NAT, Routing. you can easily to configure and added in your orgnization. if you enginers are begineer then they can also handle this in smooth way. I am using this product from last 2 yeas and this is no issue with this,
Read Neha Sharma's full review
May 10, 2021
Vipin Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

we are using Cisco ASA 5525 in our two sites for Sites to Sites vpn , Nat and routing and my experience with this firewall very good. we haven't faced any issue from last 3 years and big advantage is Cisco support. they have top engineer to help the customer for implement the product.
Read Vipin Sharma's full review
April 30, 2021
Vipin Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cisco ASA for Routing & Nating also for the healthy security of the network. We are using 5 sites including some of the overseas sites. We are using it for the entire organization. It resolves the security issues we had previously in our infrastructure.
Read Vipin Garg's full review
March 05, 2021
David Orellana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The ASA platform is being retired and replaced with the Firepower platform. The ASDM IOS is very robust and stable. It has all the security needs such [as] NAT, port forwarded, ACL, SSL VPN and Site-to-Site VPN. The current version of the ASA has IPS capability.
Read David Orellana's full review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used the Cisco ASA to provide Internet connectivity to our office, as well as protecting our organization from viruses and malware. It allowed us to work remotely by setting up a VPN. We were able to maintain a reliable connection and allowed our organization to conduct business efficiently.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Cisco ASA at a part of our company for many years to great satisfaction. This part is mainly a Cisco-only network and through the years have been using Cisco equipment in all kinds of manners (like switches, wireless, etc). We are of the opinion that having multiple vendors throughout the group is a good thing.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA is a very advanced device used for network and security. It is also used by many clients as a headend for Site to Site or Route-based VPN. It is very well known for Stateful filtering and addresses the concerns of load balancing, packet filtering, AAA support, and much more. It is the most advanced and stable version. The device can be customized with an advanced version of the license to support big enterprise customers support a huge amount of thought, both normal and encrypted traffic.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA is being used across the whole organization. Even
we deploy Cisco to other companies. Its main usage is for Site to Site and
Client to Side Vpn services. We had used Cisco ASAs for data center server and
client segmentation. It solves the connectivity of external 3rd parties and
supplies chain customers to access internal resources securely. Thousands of
clients are accessing the internal applications through Cisco ASAs. Its unique
capabilities fit our Disaster Recovery and multi-sites connectivity scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
January 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our Cisco ASA firewall was being used at a remote location for site to site VPN and client VPN capabilities. It was used primarily by site users so they could work from home.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2020
Fraser Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use a pair of Cisco ASAs in an active/standy pair as our internal firewalls. To segment traffic between VLANs. It is used across the entire organisation. The main concern it addresses is of course security and only allowing users to get to resources that they are allowed to go to and have a reason for going to.
Read Fraser Clark's full review
January 15, 2020
Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA was used at the organization I was employed in. Also, I deployed it to several companies as a VAR. Cisco ASA was deployed as a standalone product, as well as in an HA environment for reliability. Cisco ASA was used as an edge firewall for organizations in all environments; it was deployed.
Read Steve Davis's full review
January 09, 2020
Robert Ross | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our Cisco ASA's act as our perimeter gateways for our corporate offices. We also have our two largest sites outside of our headquarters using the devices to connect via a VPN. This allows for access to corporate information housed on storage area networks based in the corporate data centers
Read Robert Ross's full review
December 02, 2019
Simone Duarte | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA is a next generation firewall that I have used and managed for almost 2 years. It is robust equipment that is positioned on the edge to protect from virtual attack, and it also makes web content filtering to block access to undue pages from certain sectors in the company. Two units were purchased at each branch.
Read Simone Duarte's full review
October 04, 2019
Jyrki Halonen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using a Cisco ASA firewall in front of our SDN data centre network to form first line protection against the Internet. We automate all our configurations to this platform with other Cisco tools and ASA fits fine to this zero touch day 2 operation model.
Read Jyrki Halonen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (22)
8.2
Visualization Tools (20)
7.5
Content Inspection (25)
8.2
Policy-based Controls (32)
9.1
Active Directory and LDAP (32)
9.2
Firewall Management Console (32)
8.1
Reporting and Logging (32)
8.8
VPN (33)
9.4
High Availability (31)
9.6
Stateful Inspection (32)
9.4
Proxy Server (23)
7.8

What is Cisco ASA?

Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance (ASA) software is the core operating software for Cisco’s ASA suite. It supports a variety of specialized network security and firewall options, allowing users to modularize to their business needs. It is scaled for enterprises through “clustering” ASAs, enabling 128 Gbps processing load and 50 million concurrent connections.

Cisco ASA provides a robust VPN setup process and integrates with other Cisco security offerings, including Cloud Web security and Trustsec. CWS provides cloud-based systems security across public and private clouds, and Trustsec is a software-defined segmentation product that mitigates the scope of network threats and data breaches. The platform also supports IPv4 and IPv6, enabling a smoother evolution in Internet Protocols for users.

Categories:  Firewall

Cisco ASA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco ASA?

Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance (ASA) software is the core OS for the ASA suite. It provides firewall functionality, as well as integration with context-specific Cisco security modules. It is scaled for enterprise-level traffic and connections.

What is Cisco ASA's best feature?

Reviewers rate High Availability highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Cisco ASA?

The most common users of Cisco ASA are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.