Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
43 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The Cisco Catalyst is THE series to use if you want to create stack within your network cabinet. It's really easy in terms of management and installation. As soon as you get familiar with Catalyst stack, you don't want to do something else. The only concern is about the upgrade, because if you have for example a stack of 8 48ports, you will bring down at the same time, potentially around 400 users, so you need to be careful and do it outside of business hours.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Thomas Osborne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

These 2960's are great switches for management, wireless, and WAN implementations. I could see these switches being used as access layer switches as well. There are some benefits for the 2960 over other switches, but I'll leave those advantages to Cisco, as they know the in's and out's better than a user such as myself.
Read Thomas Osborne's full review
December 10, 2020
Darshan YS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches could handle more bandwidth and are more stable compared to the NETGEAR Ethernet Switches. The Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are more pricy. I feel the price is worth it when you out weigh the pros and cons of the system, as reliability is very important for the smooth operation of a technology business.
Read Darshan YS's full review
December 09, 2020
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco is famous for its excellent hardware and software which makes the difference between it and its competitors. The compatibility that Cisco gives with almost all the market solutions makes a big difference, too. Also you can find a lot of documentation on the web that will help you in case you need it.
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
November 29, 2020
Engr Umer Usmani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In my Network i used complete CISCO solution but evaluated D-Link and Juniper while purchasing Cisco.
Read Engr Umer Usmani's full review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are considering choosing a cheaper solution when we need to change out our network devices. Cisco switches offer great redundancy and stable work, but the overall price for such a small organization as ours is a bit excessive.
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco is very strong in hardware and software compared to other vendors in the current market. We have benefited more from Cisco switches, compared to other switches. Mainly, implementation and usage will be very easy compared to the other ones. They are very fast.
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2019
Saira Sandoval | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

These devices are used in my organization as access layer equipment. Tests were carried out on these devices with 3750 equipment and were not functional for large capacity issues. Therefore, stack batteries were removed and replaced with 2960X stack batteries, but only as an access layer because they do not have several capacities that we require for our organization.

Read Saira Sandoval's full review
September 22, 2019
Wouter Hindriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Had hardware problems and software issues with HP switches before making the switch to Cisco catalyst.
Read Wouter Hindriks's full review
May 21, 2019
Steven Van Jaarsveld | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

For many years now Cisco Switches have been the pinnacle of network switches. They continue to provide industry-leading quality that is unmatched by any other switching competitor in the market. Yes, some competitors make cheaper switches, but the Cisco switches provide many enhanced features and capabilities that make them stand out above the rest. Troubleshooting issues on Cisco switches are so much easier than on any other competitors' switch.
Read Steven Van Jaarsveld's full review
January 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are a purely Cisco shop, and we have not used alternative products. Cisco Switches have adequately covered all the needs we have for these switches.
Read this authenticated review
June 25, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have tried HP switches, Brocade and are beginning to test Juniper edge devices to compare to our Cisco Catalyst switches. The other brands can often match the features that are essential to our networks. They typically can be configured similarly but often take a bit more work to provide what is needed. Some of the brands can even be obtained for lower cost, but the support of the product is where we feel that the value lies in the Cisco product. We are still actively testing and comparing the offering from some of the vendors mentioned but feel that we get good value out of our investment in Cisco Catalyst switches.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches?

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are fixed and smart-managed Gigabit Ethernet switches that provide enterprise-class access switching for branch offices, out-of-the-wiring-closet applications, and critical Internet of Things (IoT) deployments, as well as small and medium-sized businesses. They operate on Cisco IOS Software and support simple device management and network management via Command Line Interface (CLI) as well as an on-box web interface.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches?

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are fixed and smart-managed Gigabit Ethernet switches that provide enterprise-class access switching for branch offices, out-of-the-wiring-closet applications, and critical Internet of Things (IoT) deployments, as well as small and medium-sized businesses. They operate on Cisco IOS Software and support simple device management and network management via Command Line Interface (CLI) as well as an on-box web interface.

What is Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.