Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
44 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 28, 2021
Muhammad Hassan Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Yes we can see the data movement and if we want to scale our current infrastructure we can easily upgrade it and can add a switch into the network.
Read Muhammad Hassan Khan's full review
June 02, 2021
Om Khard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are designed to enable time-saving automation, greater scale with virtualization, and analytics. We use automation techniques like Python3 (using socket, netmiko, sys, request, telnet, ssh etc, packages), Ansible for device configuration. Since Ansible is an agent-less automation tool it doesn't require any of the login/signup formalities, it only requires while connecting to the device that when login in to the Switch/Routers. Ansible performs with Idempotency, which means it will change where the changes will be required.
Read Om Khard's full review
May 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Today, my local organization didn't go into SDN, so so far we are not taking advantage on any on those points (time saving automation and virtualization). We are definitely looking forward to it so that we can make our network administrator life a bit more easy and comfortable on a daily basis.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Thomas Osborne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We use our 2960 switches for basic switching and device management. We don't use these for automation, virtualization, or analytics. We have DNA center in our environment and mainly use cat 9k's for our cores, distribution layers, and access layer switches. We mainly do our automation and analytics with DNA.
Read Thomas Osborne's full review
December 11, 2020
Darshan YS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We do not use these particular features of the Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches. I am not so capable of commenting on the usefulness of the feature.
Read Darshan YS's full review
December 10, 2020
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We have benefited from time-saving automation and data analytics. We are using time-saving automation at the moment to expand network devices or if we need an extra switch in the actual network. And we're using data analytics to see the traffic that is passing through the switches and get better information in case of issues with network performance.
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

In our organization, we used Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches for their main purpose only, so I would say we didn't use the benefits of time-saving automation. Of course, manageable switches offered some quick solutions when necessary to deploy network solutions or changes remotely.
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We have benefited from time-saving automation and data analytics. We are using time-saving automation at the moment to expand our network devices. And we are using data analytics to see the traffic that is passing through the switches and get better information in case of issues with network performance.
Read this authenticated review
November 27, 2019
Saira Sandoval | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Processes have been configured to optimize processes in the area. This includes the automated backups of each stack we have in our organization. It has saved us a lot of time with the optimizations of these processes. Virtualization capabilities have been used, issues has been discarded by the throughput of the team.
Read Saira Sandoval's full review
September 22, 2019
Wouter Hindriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We are saving a lot of time with the automation features. This enables us to prepare the configuration from the office and when connected at the remote site the switch will discover the configuration and deploy/upgrade itself.

I have no experience with the virtualization and analytics features.
Read Wouter Hindriks's full review
May 21, 2019
Steven Van Jaarsveld | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Our organization has not been able to benefit from these features as we are only the systems integrator for our customers who use these switches. However, a large number of our customers who have purchased and utilized these switches have benefited from the features, especially the reduced power consumption and smaller port count for smaller or remote offices.
Read Steven Van Jaarsveld's full review
June 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We have benefited from the netflow management and SNMP management.
Read this authenticated review
January 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We have not utilized these capabilities on our Catalyst Switches, but we plan to in the near future. We do like that these options are available to us for future use.
Read this authenticated review
June 25, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Currently my organization has not taken the leap into SDN, so we aren't taking advantage of the automation capabilities of the Catalyst line yet. We are looking into that and hope to move toward testing some of the automation capabilities in the future though. If we can leverage the features advertised it should turn out to be a tremendous benefit for us.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches?

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are fixed and smart-managed Gigabit Ethernet switches that provide enterprise-class access switching for branch offices, out-of-the-wiring-closet applications, and critical Internet of Things (IoT) deployments, as well as small and medium-sized businesses. They operate on Cisco IOS Software and support simple device management and network management via Command Line Interface (CLI) as well as an on-box web interface.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches?

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are fixed and smart-managed Gigabit Ethernet switches that provide enterprise-class access switching for branch offices, out-of-the-wiring-closet applications, and critical Internet of Things (IoT) deployments, as well as small and medium-sized businesses. They operate on Cisco IOS Software and support simple device management and network management via Command Line Interface (CLI) as well as an on-box web interface.

What is Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.