Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches

Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.2 out of 100
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches

Overview

Recent Reviews

Very good access switches

9 out of 10
January 07, 2022
We have been using Cisco 3650 series switches for more than 5 years for most of our access switches (either PoE or not) to provide access …
Continue reading

Cisco Lover

10 out of 10
May 19, 2021
These are used to connect hosts, they are configured with VLAN and each client has their own connection and protocols meaning all subnets …
Continue reading

Cisco Catalyst 3650

8 out of 10
February 02, 2021
Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches are used on the edge of our network. They provide access to computers in offices, classrooms, and computer …
Continue reading

Catalyst for your business

10 out of 10
December 09, 2020
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are used in almost our entire organization as access layer switches. They are quite robust and …
Continue reading

Cisco stability is on a level

8 out of 10
December 08, 2020
We have been searching for a very stable and reliable switches for our head office for quite some time as we have had increased request …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 3650 Series of campus LAN switches.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is Cisco Nexus Series Switches?

Cisco Nexus is a series of network switches.

What is Ruckus ICX Switches?

Ruckus acquired the ICX series of campus switches, and in turn Ruckus was acquired by ARRIS in December 2017.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 3650 Series of campus LAN switches.

Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Reviews and Ratings

 (47)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 30)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Cisco 3650 series switches for more than 5 years for most of our access switches (either PoE or not) to provide access to all our different hosts (printers, IP phones, Access Points, laptops). It's been very reliable and stable since that. They are doing what we need
May 19, 2021

Cisco Lover

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
These are used to connect hosts, they are configured with VLAN and each client has their own connection and protocols meaning all subnets can't see each other. We also have servers, firewalls, NVRs connected to them. Cisco rarely presents any issues, and, with the network engineer, we have all issues get resolved.
Ahmed Mujeeb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Back in 2018 at our core layer, we were using Cisco catalyst 3560, but due to the end of support and some issues in switching we decided to upgrade our core layer with Cisco Catalyst 3650 and bought WS-C3650-48TS-S, which was ample for our network and since then it is perfectly working.
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our LAN network to interconnect our users to access file servers, email, print servers, business software etc. The Cisco switches are equipped with PoE capability which allows us to connect our IP Phones and Wifi APs which are PoE enabled thus saving us costs on installing additional power outlets for these devices.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has used Cisco Catalyst 3650 series switched as the backbone to our large scale distributed CCTV network. The high performance reliable backplanes have been able to handle the massive throughput that is required to record and monitor feeds from hundreds of high definition cameras across various sites within the organization. A strong support contract also provides assurance against lengthy downtime / periods without coverage when failure occurs.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use two specific models for the distribution and core scenario, the [Cisco] Catalyst 3650 and 3850 switches. Both are layer 3 switches, with advanced routing features, advanced security, high processing capacity and also layer 2 features like spanning tree and Vlans by example. Connected to these models are 2960X switches for the access function where computers and IP phones and cameras are connected.
December 10, 2020

Great networking device

Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our network includes 3650's to bring a stable network across more than 20 buildings, apx 4 per building. Each building hosts around 50-100 network devices such as pc, printer, ip phones and televisions. The switches allow a easily manageable remote ssh to make changes and check for errors as necessary.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are used in almost our entire organization as access layer switches. They are quite robust and resistant compared to other companies' that we have used. The Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are a very good option if you are looking for stability.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been searching for a very stable and reliable switches for our head office for quite some time as we have had increased request for a stable fast and reliable network in our HQ and branch network as the data amount we process increases dramatically.

We have struggled with that until we have contacted Cisco and started to architect our solution that included mobile access, fast gigabit connections and the application support that the switching might provide.

Now after the implementation we have been quite happy with the solution as we have not experienced any downtime or significant performance issues up to now.
Vin Campbell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have three Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches in a stack--two mirrored switches (24 ports each) and one 48-port switch that acts as the primary network switch for the entire network. The two mirrored 24-port switches are used as the backend of our virtual server network (NetApp FAS device plus dual Dell ESX VMware host servers. These are fully manageable network switches and have been in service going on eight years now as the backbone of our corporate on-site network.
Wien Dai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Catalyst 3650 switches are the workhorse in our network as access layer switch. We have more than 60 of them. They are inexpensive, very reliable and efficient. I think over the 10 years, I only saw 1 or 2 switches went dead. They are easy to configure. Commands are consistent. It gives monitoring software good counters to monitor. The switch offers many ways to troubleshoot potential problems.

The downside is this series reaches its end of life. Cisco will soon stop selling them and in several years, will stop supporting them. So, it's time to look for replacement models. One of them is Catalyst 9200 series.

In general, as a Network Manager, I like Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches. They are like Toyota Camry or Honda Accord cars, running smoothly and economically.
Paul Sevick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Cisco Catalyst switches are the backbone of our network infrastructure and seamless integrate all of our workstations, servers and IP phone system. They have proven to be robust and reliable for the many years we have had them in service. In conjunction with the Cisco Networking Assistant management and configuration are a breeze.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Cisco Catalyst switches for many years and the 3650 was a natural choice. It has been delivering our core networking with performance and stability. It is feature rich and management is easy. Being the big market leader has created a huge community support platform, so help is never far away.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Catalyst is used across the organization. It is used to connect buildings in different countries. Cisco Catalyst products are very reliable and they can work for years with no downtime. The company recently refreshed the old switches and routers that worked for years, but they never failed any single time. These products can be configured in so many different ways according to the business necessities and they provide very strong security protection to the valuable infrastructure.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a network of more than 150 users and our original solution was very slow and had lots of issues, despite the fact that it's a small network. We decided to bet on Cisco for all our network infrastructure from 2960 to 3650. We made the change about 10 years ago and we have no regrets. My organization has grown up with Cisco supporting our communications and our users have forgotten that there is even a network - it's so seamless. We have connected our branches and sales posts with encrypted networks and equipment - all with excellent uptime. We haven't looked back since switching to Cisco.
------
Teniamos una red de mas de 150 usuarios que presentaba lentitud y muchas colisiones, a pesar de ser una red peque~na. Decidimos apostarle a Cisco para toda nuestra infraestructura de redes desde los 2960 hasta los 3650. El cambio fue hace unos 10 a~nos y no nos arrepentimos, hemos crecido con Cisco soportando nuestras comnunicaciones y el usuario se ha olvidado que existe una red. Hemos conectado sucursales y puestos de ventas con redes encriptadas y equipos en alta disponibilidad. Todo sin volver a ver hacia atras.
Jorge Alberto Aguirre Aguilar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a robust core switch device, it helps us guarantee continuity of operation to our customers (and maintain SLAs). It has all the necessary technical functionalities for a team of our size (11-50 employees). With the new licenses, the added security layer allows us to protect all areas of our network. Switches typically are always the weakest link in terms of cybersecurity for companies, and Cisco takes care of that with their switches.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Reliable switches that work well in small branch offices, set up as a layer 3 switch, it does primary routing to our main data centre with a failover setup to our secondary data centre. Cost effective, considering there is no need to purchase a separate dedicated router, it comes with 2x 10G interface which is enough for primary uplink to data centre and primary downlink to a stack of access switches.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the 3650 at most levels for our sites. They are very reliable, predictable, and effective. They provide the necessary bandwidth for connecting out sites throughout our fiber backbone. I am very happy with the secure remote management capabilities that allow both ease of access and adequate security.
June 24, 2019

Catalyst 3650

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Catalyst 3650 for our access switches for end users and devices. They provide stability and flexibility to meet our business needs. We have not had a major issue due to this piece of hardware in the entire time that they have been in service. Great stable POE is also a great benefit.
June 12, 2019

3650 Switch Review

Steven Agate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this model of a Cisco switch to provide data services to all of the county's edge networks delivering services to staff and public. Multiple business objectives are met and leveraged with this technology use. An example would be at our bus terminals delivering WiFI solutions to the public and county staff with a backbone using this model of a Cisco switch.
Steven Van Jaarsveld | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We make use of the Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches primarily for LAN deployments for our customers. Most of our customers use these switches as access layer switches at their office sites, but in some cases where the customers have a small wired network, they even use the Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches as core switches. One of the business problems these switches address is network connectivity in offices where it is not otherwise viable, or where a customer doesn't want to install a pure wireless network.
Yash Tooray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are resellers of these switches and have gotten a lot of interest due to their specific features. Especially with the 48 port model, with its stackability being key, grouping up to 9 is a key feature. A full stack bandwidth of 40gbps makes it worth the money spent. The limited lifetime warranty also makes it very attractive compared against other brand competitors.