Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
59 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Bruno Carvalho | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2020

A powerful, secure and reliable Core/Distribution switch

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series for use in a network distribution scenario. They are highly complete, robust switches with a lot of performance and technology, and have many SFP and SFP + ports. We use it to interconnect the access switches that connect users' computers in the buildings to the building where the Switch Core is located in the organization's data center. We connect these switches with single-mode fiber.
  • Layer 2/3 Switches.
  • Easy installation and configuration.
  • High quality guarantee and support.
  • Outstanding performance.
  • It has WLan functionality too.
  • The price is expensive.
I recommend using the Catalyst 3850 Series Switches for core and distribution scenarios where it requires a lot of performance, throughput, SFP and SFP + ports, and many simultaneous connections. Our distribution scenario with this technology is totally safe and super dimensioned. We have no problems with lack of security, performance, and 10GbE SFP+ ports. A differential of this switch is the ability to also be a WLAN Controller and manage some access points that are connected to this equipment and providing a wireless network to users.
Read Bruno Carvalho's full review
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Using Cisco 3850 as an aggregation switch

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Catalyst 3850 Switch as an aggregation layer switch to connect multiple access switches to it then connect it to the core switch to save fiber cable running cost. We are using this type of switches as a layer 2 switch to pass traffic from access switches to be routed at core layer switch.
  • Layer 2 connectivity
  • Good performance
  • Fiber or copper only, no mix and match.
Cisco Catalyst 3850 Switch is well suited when used as L2 aggregation switch, some are using it as an access switch. It would be less appropriate as a core switch for handling a lot of traffic or to be used with high density of users in one place, here I recommend 4500 devices.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
Nick Sevening | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

The solid base to a strong LAN

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The 3850 switches are being used across our ACI corporate office environment, providing user access. They are stacked and patched to patch panels to provide said access and connect back to the 4500X core.
  • Stacking.
  • Modular.
  • High capacity.
  • Buggy code.
  • ISE integration issues.
  • Noise.
Branch LAN access is a particularly strong point with the easy addition of stacking as well as modular uplinks. Alternating stacks and patches can provide a very clean network closet and allow for easy patching. They have the power needed and can handle the throughput of a typical branch office, supporting POE for VoIP and other applications.
Read Nick Sevening's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

CAT 3850

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently using Cisco Catalyst Switches as access, distribution and core network components in our campus networks. At the moment most of them are model 3850. But from the beginning of this year we need to migrate to the SDA network and are currently implementing also 9300 and 9500 series. So we are looking for the best practices for such a migration.
  • Dot1x
  • Mab
  • Initial setup.
  • Console interface.
Cisco switches are quite well suited for campus network switching, stacking and redundancy. At the moment I can see no really good alternative to them in this area. If the network is based only on Cisco components and/or using some special Cisco authorization (such as ISE) or monitoring solution from Cisco, the Catalyst switches are just perfect.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

Efficient but buggy

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it at the aggregation level and some access on campus. At the aggregation level, it permits us to have modular aggregation, thanks to stack feature. Moreover, we can mix 1G and 10G devices depending on the environment. At access level, it permits us to have dual power access switches and fiber access port for site security stuff.
  • Power modularity.
  • Stack.
  • Stability over upgrade.
  • Rolling upgrade on stack.
Catalyst 3850 Series is well suited to the aggregation level of a campus. It permits us to have modularity and flexibility. Thanks to the stack, we can start from 1 switch to 8 and mix 1G/10G connectivity. I think this series is not adapted for distribution with a high level of aggregation, there is not a VSS feature.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

More opportunities for flexibility

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Cisco Catalyst Switches for our communication network in our organization for more than 10 years. These switches work for a long time without human intervention, and ours is a difficult external environment. They are very simple and flexible to configure, which allows you to quickly and accurately adjust to the current needs of the enterprise.
  • Simple and flexible configuration.
  • Long uptime.
  • Web configuration.
The most appropriate situation for using Cisco Catalyst is to build stretched networks using wifi access points. This system allows you to connect different devices with different purposes wherever there is a Cisco Catalyst Switch. It is not convenient to use them in data center networks since they do not have all the necessary functionality required.
Read this authenticated review
Thomas Surber | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2019

Musing on the Cisco 3850 Switch

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
The 3650CX is a great switch to for small or home offices (Fanless), the 3850 running 16.x code is a power house switch with great PoE resources and has all the bells and whistles. The 9Ks are great switch and I see these becoming the front line ordered switch and at some point replacing the 2960 and 3850 in the IDF.
  • They meet the need in office on a desk to out on a warehouse or factory floor
  • Have the PoE power to support everything a company will need
  • have a matching product for your need from a few ports to 48 PoE port with uplinks that connect back a MDF or DC Distribution
  • I am not a big fan of the way Cisco licenses their product, Smart Licensing to me misses the mark of easy of use, Client don't have a dedicated resource to learn and care for their licensing.
  • I think Cisco needs to move to more of a security tie in with the switch, they have the horse power monitor and even move to enforcement controlled by single system across the board.
  • Pricing seem to be getting more and more out of balance to Cisco competitor driving Small to Medium sized companies to request "other" companies product quotes with their Cisco quote.
The 3850 is prefer for the IDF and even MDF have the Power/power and speeds running just about any sized company. The use of the WLC option is something that just makes the 3850 and even better switch for all companies environments. The move to a "Linux" based OS will drive update and and innovation even faster at Cisco .
Read Thomas Surber's full review
Fernando Salazar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Excellent switch core solution for a midsize enterprise.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a core switch, replacing a 3750. It increases the performance and reduces the use of memory from 75% to 30%.
  • We used as a core switch replacing a 3750 series, improving performance
  • Use routing features to manage traffic more efficiently
  • Use access list to improve security
  • Security, make the access list more user friendly
  • Improve graphic interface to allow full configuration from there
  • Core switching for medium size enterprises.
  • Manage network segregation by using VLANS, and assure security with access list.
Read Fernando Salazar's full review
James Jakimowicz | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 3850 - Worth Every Penny

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Catalyst 3850 switches as edge devices in our metro network and datacenter. We make use of their layer 2 and layer 3 functionality. They were chosen for their feature set and their rock solid reliability. I would certainly recommend these to anyone looking for a reliable and capable edge switch. These are high-end edge switches that come with a justifiable price tag to match.
  • Reliability - These switches are incredibly stable.
  • Layer 2 and Layer 3 features including support for various routing protocols.
  • Easy stacking.
  • Price is the only real downside, but if you have a need for these switches it is easy enough to justify the cost.
They're well suited for enterprise environments on the network edge where you may be utilizing routing of some kind. These work very well at the edge, if stacked then you can also give yourself some redundancy. I wouldn't recommend these for deployments that don't require the nicer features and would recommend going with a lower model.
Read James Jakimowicz's full review
Jurek Plona | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Cisco 3850 review.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as access switches configured in stacks with redundant up-links to the core, in many wiring closets.
  • Providing user access to corporate network.
  • Support advanced features including QoS.
  • Performing at high efficiency level.
  • PoE availability between various models.
The switches have versatile use scenarios. Besides working in the assessment layer, based on performance and feature set, they can be used as core switches on smaller sites.
Read Jurek Plona's full review
Stanley Chua | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 3850

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as edge switches for the buildings. They are 1U switches and can be stackable.
  • Stable
  • Different sizes to choice from
  • Easy to manage
  • Sometimes has bugs
Cisco Catalyst switches are high end switches which may be out of budget for a small company.
Read Stanley Chua's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Cisco Catalyst for a large layer 3 network and it is very stable.
  • Enhanced Interior Gateway Routing Protocol (EIGRP)
  • Spanning tree
  • Perfomance and stability
  • Warranty
  • Stability
  • More features
Cisco Catalyst are very good for camera surveillance multicast networks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Cisco Gear - Top Quality Products

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is a great product and we have very few problems. Usually few and far in between but overall, extremely happy with it. I would highly recommend as well as many other Cisco switches as they are typically the cream of the crop. Will continue purchasing products as long as they continue providing quality products
  • Long lasting
  • Few problems
  • Great support
  • Simplified configuration
For our campus, they are great for the size of our institution. If we were slightly smaller, I would say this may be overkill. Overall, I think it provides the proper solution for myself and our users.
Read this authenticated review
Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

My Review of Cisco Switches

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
While at Diamond IT, I implemented Cisco Catalyst switches for municipal governments as well as school districts. The problems they address are the reliability of equipment, uptime, and feature requirements.

One of the great things about Cisco gear is they always work. They have a high reliability in terms of hardware lifespan, as well as stability of IOS.
  • Excellent uptime. They rarely go down
  • A massive amount of features
  • Easy upgrade and maintenance
  • Name recognition
  • A wide variety of training and documentation to assist in support.
  • Cisco is more expensive which is why many small organizations sometimes do not opt to use them.
  • Better built-in GUI for less experienced users. The java based GUI is buggy. CLI configurations are my preference.
  • Fast track to Level 2 or 3 Cisco Support would be nice. This is true of all vendors however. Sometimes you can get stuck redoing all troubleshooting steps you've already done with Level 1 support.
When more advanced network requirements are needed, as well as great uptime. Their TAC support is excellent as well. They may be higher in cost but they are also higher in reliability.
Read Steve Davis's full review
Hawkinson, John | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2019

Bulletproof switch

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Cisco Catalyst Switches as our standard enterprise and WAN switch solution. They connect almost 100 WAN sites, 2,000 VOIP phones, and 300 wireless access points. The business services that we provide would cease to function without the catalyst switch.
  • They are bulletproof, you can abuse and neglect these things and they just keep working.
  • PoE (power over ethernet) is simple and dependable.
  • They are super forgiving of configuration mistakes.
  • I have always wanted a wireless way of connecting to the console. We have very small network closets and struggle to balance a laptop and make configuration changes.
  • If physical labeling of the device is neglected it is difficult the know which device is which in a stack.
  • They are sometimes extremely loud and difficult to install in non-dedicated areas.
  • If you need an enterprise-grade access layer switch, you won't regret the catalyst.
  • Small business or in the home you would be over buying for the catalyst.
Read Hawkinson, John's full review
Toni Pohjavirta | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Catalyst 3650 Switches Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They are my edge devices in my large campus offices and also my small office switches as those can do all the smart things such as application visibility and also policy enforcement and QoS.
  • QoS
  • IP Nbar application visibility
  • TrustSec
  • Exporting the Network Based Application Recognition (NBAR) information
Unified way to provide visibility and policies to the edge
Read Toni Pohjavirta's full review
Manuel J Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2019

Catalyst Switch Review From HCR

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The switches provide access to our clients for day to day business objectives. They also provide PoE services for cameras, phones, and door locks.
  • Provide access to end users
  • Easily configurable for basic needs
  • Allow devices to be powered via Ethernet
  • Price point on a perpetual licensed model is high compared across the industry.
  • Licensing model is getting better with Smart Licenses however not all devices support this.
These switches are installed in areas to provide client access, they are well suited for this task. In SMB environments they are a bit out of reach due to price point.
Read Manuel J Gomez's full review
Gabriel Fortin | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2018

Catalyst and Nexus

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They are being used to configure access for users and as distribution layers for the access switches. In some cases we have these switches as core switches for buildings.
  • Aggregation points
  • Access Points
  • Core Users
  • Use stand by configuration and not the "on enter command"
These are very flexible switches that can be placed in very different places and scenarios. Depending on the traffic size you will use one or the other but it's still the best solution for switches.
Read Gabriel Fortin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Cisco Catalyst Switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Catalyst switches are used in our law firm for end-user access. We use 48 and 24 port switches to connect end users to our applications on our LAN as well as for them to use our Wan connections.
  • An industry-leading vendor, high throughput.
  • Top notch security controls.
  • Good interoperability with other vendor's network appliances.
  • Cisco Catalyst switches are among the most expensive switches on the market.
  • Advanced training is required to use advanced features of the switches (memorization of the CLI commands).
  • Some features are not available when using the Cisco proprietary protocols.
Cisco Catalyst Switches work best for two uses: access and core switching. A core switch is a high-capacity switch positioned in the physical core, or backbone, of a network. Access switches are positioned near the end users endpoints and allow those endpoints access to the network and applications. Different models are available for each use case.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Cisco Catalyst - the industry standard for a reason.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization is using Cisco Catalyst equipment. Cisco provides the backbone of our network as well as all endpoint switching. Cisco equipment allows secure connectivity for all clients and systems on our network. The 3850 series switches particularly offer a lot of flexibility when it comes to both Layer 2 and Layer 3 switching.
  • Reliable as hell - rock solid switches. Once configured, we rarely think about them.
  • Excellent support - Smartnet support may be expensive, downtime costs more.
  • Industry standard - hiring technicians that are proficient with Cisco is easy - not the case for other vendors.
  • Cisco should consider lowering their cost. Competitors are becoming more reliable and are far less expensive.
If you are building an enterprise environment I absolutely recommend Cisco Catalyst. There is nothing more dependable or reliable on the market and you won't have difficulty finding engineers to support it. If you are building a small office network with low requirements, you should look at alternatives to see if you can justify the cost.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches - A quality product that is tough to beat!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Cisco Catalyst switches since 2001. Catalyst Switches are being used for a site core stacked switching solution and for an access solution. I chose the 3750 and 3850 models to be our core switches. Their stacking capability allows additional switches to be added to the stack to expand the core as needs increase. In locations where only a single access switch is needed we chose the 3560 series, as it is a lower cost device and still provides all the capabilities of the 3750 except stacking. Both of these models accept SFP modules which we fill with fiber uplinks to interconnect.
  • We chose Cisco Catalyst because it was the industry standard when we first entered the switched network arena back on 2001. Many network admins had a good working knowledge of this product, so finding programming and installation experience was easy.
  • Cisco Catalysts are extremely dependable. I still have some original C3548XL’s from 2001 that are still functioning. Most times we have only replaced them because needs changed and we needed more ports or needed the ability to have layer 3 capability.
  • Catalysts offer a good level of security and are easy to customize ports for specific needs.
  • I still like the CLI interface as I have used it for years, but the browser based interface makes it easy for the network techs to do basic checks, etc. when they need to enable ports, look into a port lockout, etc.
  • Price point has always been higher and a concern as compared to other products.
  • Ongoing support costs are also pricey, but if you have a large enough quantity installed, you can purchase a couple of spares and self-insure at a lower cost.
I like to use Catalyst Switches for a site core stacked 3750/3850 switching solution. I use edge switching using 3560s for access and to interconnect with fiber via SFPs. This provides the lowest cost solution that can handle most traffic/environments as compared to a modular solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the 2960-L for the use of lots of ports for low cost, with all the benefits of the Cisco IOS software.

The 2960-X, with stacking, we use at locations where they want more redundancy or where we need a lot of ports.

The 3850's are used with stacking and power stacking in our data center for high availability and high bandwidth.
  • The same configuration is available on almost all of the switches.
  • We manage all our Cisco switches (14 different models) at over more than 200 location with one tool. This is possible because of the compatibility of the software.
  • Best of all, the switch is really good and stable.
  • Out of the box central management for multiple versions and lots of locations.
We always use Cisco Catalyst Switches at customer location because of the stability they offer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2019

Enterprise Campus use of 3850 Series Switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
48U-L, for Layer 2 Access Switch for end users. 12 or 24XS, for Layer 3 Distribution Switch to aggregate building-level Access Switches.
  • Layer 3 Distribution
  • Layer 2 Access
  • Rich Feature Set: Flexible NetFlow, MPLS, Multicast, Built-in Wireshark
  • StackWise Logical Stacking
  • These switches have the ability to do Wireless and act as a WLC, but the feature set is extremely lacking.
For enterprise access and distribution, these things are great. Compared to earlier models these devices seem nothing but superior. They have been extremely reliable, as expected from Cisco.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Many, many years of experience with Cisco Catalyst Switches

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company has been using Catalyst Switches since I was hired 10 years ago. We use them for user access, core switching, and data center switching. In the modular series, it is easy to find and purchase any type of interface you need. These switches are extremely stable, easy to maintain and troubleshoot, and Cisco support is always available if there is an issue.
  • Support for several types of interfaces on a single chassis.
  • Hardware and software stability. We have some switches on our network that are at least 15 years old.
  • Ease of implementation and software upgrades.
  • The price point for some of the modular products, particularly in the 6500 series chassis makes it difficult for some companies to implement. So, competitors sometimes "win" because Cisco is just too expensive.
These switches are so versatile, they can fit into any corporate organization. In fact, there is a 12 port switch sitting on my desk for testing, and I can't even hear it. The larger modular chassis are great for distributing out to buildings with multiple floors and network closets.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

Cisco Switch for Managed Services

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They are installed in the cabinets for the clients' printers. The 6800 are the transport that is switched between the buildings. The 3850 series is used when we install 802.1X with ISE and TrustSec. The hardware is installed globally in our own and customers' locations where we offer managed services. We decide how we build the network at these locations.
  • 3850-series for TrustSec and 802.1X in the cabinet
  • 6800-series as stable transport between the buildings on the campus
  • 2960 as cheap environment
  • [enforce] TrustSec on cheap edge switches
  • good and stable switches with a long lifetime
  • worldwide deployment is possible and the same UI is there
  • flexible form Layer 2 to LAyer 3 with dynamic routing
  • high density of fiber ports, even 10G available
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches

Cisco offers the Catalyst 3850 series of stackable network switches.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No