Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches

Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches

TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.0 out of 100
TRUE
Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches

Overview

Recent Reviews

Efficient but buggy

4 out of 10
January 30, 2020
We use it at the aggregation level and some access on campus. At the aggregation level, it permits us to have modular aggregation, thanks …
Continue reading

CAT 3850

7 out of 10
January 30, 2020
We currently using Cisco Catalyst Switches as access, distribution and core network components in our campus networks. At the moment most …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 3850 series of stackable network switches.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Cisco Nexus Series Switches?

Cisco Nexus is a series of network switches.

What is Ruckus ICX Switches?

Ruckus acquired the ICX series of campus switches, and in turn Ruckus was acquired by ARRIS in December 2017.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 3850 series of stackable network switches.

Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 3850 series of stackable network switches.

What is Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 40)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use stacks of Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches as distribution switches on our campus and big sites (office and factories). We also use them as layer-3 switches on our small sites, like the dealer sites. They manage the GRE tunnels pretty well, contrary to our old 3750X, which was managed by the CPU (and where the consequence was a high CPU utilization). We also chose these switches because they support the VRFs.
  • Stacking
  • GRE tunnels
  • VRFs
  • Stable platform
  • The price is too expensive
  • We found a bug with a high-CPU utilization; the checks from Cisco on all their platforms should be better given the price of their products
  • New licensing method
Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches are really good switches, easy to manage, robust, and globally stable. We use them on a lot of big sites as distribution switches or as core switches on smaller sites. We mount GRE tunnels between these smaller sites and the main sites. By the way, as Cisco pushes to move on the new Catalyst 9xxx platform, with good performance and better prices, we use more and more Cisco Catalyst 9300s instead of the 3850 model.
We are currently not using these features especially because we didn't implement the DNA center for now. But it is for sure the future and we will use automation features really soon, I think. And it is more and more the case as we switch, little by little, to the Catalyst 9xxx series.
Umair Ali Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We have multiple shops in our plant which are connected to our primary and secondary data centers via a mesh of fiber optic cables. These cables are connected to our core switch. We needed a network switch that supports SFP modules so we can connect fiber cables directly to it without the need of any media convertors. Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches had just the right model for our requirements and we have been using them without any issues.
  • Support for SFP modules
  • Layer-3 protocols support
  • Native support for network stacking
  • Native support for power stacking
  • Support for 10GE
  • Hardware cost is expensive
  • Licensing becomes confusing with new DNA model
  • Need to purchase uplink module separately
Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches are middle- to high-performance switches which can be used in the distribution layer as well as core layer. They have a wide range of models available which offer different types of ports with the option to choose a different density of ports per unit. They also have multiple options for uplinks, which includes 10GE and 40GE connectivity options. These switches are not made for access layer use, but still some large organizations use them as access switches.
Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches run IOS-XE by default, and this IOS supports network automation and network programming via a centralized controller, such as Cisco Application Policy Infrastructure Controller. However these features are not being used in our organization and currently we do not require them. Mostly these features are used in large ISPs or MSPs where network automation is required.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches provide a stable access and distribution layer platform for our environment. These switches have workstations, access points, and VoIP phones connected to them. 3850 switches and the catalyst series have been used with the organization for the past eight years. The scalability, stability, and ease of use keep our environment operating optimally and our users notice network access without downtime or issues.
  • Simplistic management
  • Stable platform
  • Cisco IOS is very similar between different Cisco appliances
  • QoS operates effectively across Catalyst devices
  • Cisco devices always come at a high cost
  • Cisco renewals/licensing seems to always change
  • Cisco direct support is expensive
The Cisco Catalyst 3850 switches are well suited for medium to large enterprise deployments, especially where the distribution and access layer may be collapsed and a device that has more routing capabilities than a 2960 is required. In basic environments where trunking is only required then 2960 switches would be more cost effective and suitable. Depending on the size of the environment these switches may also work well higher up such as in the datacenter with the full fiber models if a higher line rate than 10 Gb isn't required.
These features have not been implemented by our organization. These models as well as future models with Cisco DNA do have interesting feature sets that would provide greater visibility and deployment options for larger organizations, but we aren't deploying these appliances that frequently to warrant the added cost of these features, such as the need for Cisco's proprietary server infrastructure to support this.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We are currently using these switches as access switches for our main campus and larger remote sites, and as core switches for small remote sites. We also have a couple clients that we support that use these as the whole stack, Core, Deployment, and Access. We also have one off temporary sites that use these switches as the whole thing: Routing, Switching and GRE tunnels back to HQ
  • Stacking
  • Robust
  • Easy to use
  • Noise
  • Heat
  • Port Failure rates
  • SFP Support
  • ASIC Performance under high load.
User access switches: Currently using these for this purpose, to support 3000+ users. POE across the whole switch is great for powering the ~40 phones per switch. Stacking allows for easy management and easy replacement if a switch does fail

Remote Offices: With GRE support on hardware, we are able to plop down a switch and use it for that site, no additional hardware required.
We have not benefited as we do not use automation or virtualization at this time, as our organization does not require this. In the future, I would like to see these features used, however they are not needed for the switch to be fully functional. Docker support on the switch seems nice, however.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3560-CX Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
The whole organization is using Cisco Catalyst equipment. Cisco provides the backbone of our network as well as all endpoint switching. Cisco equipment allows secure connectivity for all clients and systems on our network. The 3850 series switches particularly offer a lot of flexibility when it comes to both Layer 2 and Layer 3 switching.
  • Reliable as hell - rock solid switches. Once configured, we rarely think about them.
  • Excellent support - Smartnet support may be expensive, downtime costs more.
  • Industry standard - hiring technicians that are proficient with Cisco is easy - not the case for other vendors.
  • Cisco should consider lowering their cost. Competitors are becoming more reliable and are far less expensive.
If you are building an enterprise environment I absolutely recommend Cisco Catalyst. There is nothing more dependable or reliable on the market and you won't have difficulty finding engineers to support it. If you are building a small office network with low requirements, you should look at alternatives to see if you can justify the cost.
We are not using any of these specific functions.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series are used as core switches for our network in all offices all around the world. We also have implemented Wireless LAN Controller in that and using it for or Wireless Network Controller. Catalyst 3850 is connected to my WAN gateway and connects to the internal network. They are very robust and easy to work with. We also export NetFlow from the device to monitor traffic from it.
  • Switching
  • Very robust platform
  • Add-on options such as Wireless LAN Controller; WLC job also does very well with handling entire traffic
  • Platform doesn't allow performance monitoring. Allowing this would be helpful.
  • It doesn't allow CBQoS monitoring either, which could be improved.
Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series is used in all office locations including the Datacenter. It has a Wireless LAN Controller, which makes it my first choice. The platform works completely fine for my Wireless Access Point connections. Also, it is my core switch for all office locations. The platform is very robust. It has a few issues such as clock synchronization and power supply stops responding and a few more that make it difficult to use sometimes. It may not be a good idea to buy it now as Cisco recently announced End of Life for this platform. I believe it is to promote Cat 9000 series switches.
Unfortunately, we haven't looked at the virtualization feature of this platform. We don't have any need to use StackWise Virtual Technology yet. Also, we haven't looked at the automatic backup feature yet. But that's something I would want to start working on.
Bruno Carvalho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use the Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series for use in a network distribution scenario. They are highly complete, robust switches with a lot of performance and technology, and have many SFP and SFP + ports. We use it to interconnect the access switches that connect users' computers in the buildings to the building where the Switch Core is located in the organization's data center. We connect these switches with single-mode fiber.
  • Layer 2/3 Switches.
  • Easy installation and configuration.
  • High quality guarantee and support.
  • Outstanding performance.
  • It has WLan functionality too.
  • The price is expensive.
I recommend using the Catalyst 3850 Series Switches for core and distribution scenarios where it requires a lot of performance, throughput, SFP and SFP + ports, and many simultaneous connections. Our distribution scenario with this technology is totally safe and super dimensioned. We have no problems with lack of security, performance, and 10GbE SFP+ ports. A differential of this switch is the ability to also be a WLAN Controller and manage some access points that are connected to this equipment and providing a wireless network to users.
Our Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches allow you to collect and analyze traffic using the NetFlow protocol and using another platform known as Prime Infrastructure from the same manufacturer. The organization has benefited mainly from performance, intelligence, security, traffic analysis capacity, and also wireless network control and management. These switch models also have technology that saves energy and that in years is a big saving for us.
January 30, 2020

Efficient but buggy

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use it at the aggregation level and some access on campus. At the aggregation level, it permits us to have modular aggregation, thanks to stack feature. Moreover, we can mix 1G and 10G devices depending on the environment. At access level, it permits us to have dual power access switches and fiber access port for site security stuff.
  • Power modularity.
  • Stack.
  • Stability over upgrade.
  • Rolling upgrade on stack.
Catalyst 3850 Series is well suited to the aggregation level of a campus. It permits us to have modularity and flexibility. Thanks to the stack, we can start from 1 switch to 8 and mix 1G/10G connectivity. I think this series is not adapted for distribution with a high level of aggregation, there is not a VSS feature.
We do not use Catalyst's automation stuff because we need to cover other scope OAS 2960x. So we have deployed a complete framework to configure and audit switches with external automation like Ansible.
We do not use advanced features like virtualisation because we use them only as switching without any routing stuff.
January 30, 2020

CAT 3850

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
We currently using Cisco Catalyst Switches as access, distribution and core network components in our campus networks. At the moment most of them are model 3850. But from the beginning of this year we need to migrate to the SDA network and are currently implementing also 9300 and 9500 series. So we are looking for the best practices for such a migration.
  • Dot1x
  • Mab
  • Initial setup.
  • Console interface.
Cisco switches are quite well suited for campus network switching, stacking and redundancy. At the moment I can see no really good alternative to them in this area. If the network is based only on Cisco components and/or using some special Cisco authorization (such as ISE) or monitoring solution from Cisco, the Catalyst switches are just perfect.
We are using the catalyst switches together with monitoring, config management and firmware deployment tools and it gives us the ability to save some time on deploying, operating and troubleshooting. Stacking mechanism is also very helpful and gives us great ability to plan and implement a highly scalable network. Virtualization benefits are not really necessary in campus networks.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We have used Cisco Catalyst Switches for our communication network in our organization for more than 10 years. These switches work for a long time without human intervention, and ours is a difficult external environment. They are very simple and flexible to configure, which allows you to quickly and accurately adjust to the current needs of the enterprise.
  • Simple and flexible configuration.
  • Long uptime.
  • Web configuration.
The most appropriate situation for using Cisco Catalyst is to build stretched networks using wifi access points. This system allows you to connect different devices with different purposes wherever there is a Cisco Catalyst Switch. It is not convenient to use them in data center networks since they do not have all the necessary functionality required.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst 3850 Switch as an aggregation layer switch to connect multiple access switches to it then connect it to the core switch to save fiber cable running cost. We are using this type of switches as a layer 2 switch to pass traffic from access switches to be routed at core layer switch.
  • Layer 2 connectivity
  • Good performance
  • Fiber or copper only, no mix and match.
Cisco Catalyst 3850 Switch is well suited when used as L2 aggregation switch, some are using it as an access switch. It would be less appropriate as a core switch for handling a lot of traffic or to be used with high density of users in one place, here I recommend 4500 devices.
One of the great automation examples we are using in this switch is the archive feature to enable automatic backup capture from the switch to our backup server, this feature saves time and effort and keeps doing the backup on a specific period of time which be easier than doing it manually.
Nick Sevening | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
The 3850 switches are being used across our ACI corporate office environment, providing user access. They are stacked and patched to patch panels to provide said access and connect back to the 4500X core.
  • Stacking.
  • Modular.
  • High capacity.
  • Buggy code.
  • ISE integration issues.
  • Noise.
Branch LAN access is a particularly strong point with the easy addition of stacking as well as modular uplinks. Alternating stacks and patches can provide a very clean network closet and allow for easy patching. They have the power needed and can handle the throughput of a typical branch office, supporting POE for VoIP and other applications.
Our organization has not utilized any of the automation pieces with this branch switch.
Fernando Salazar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use it as a core switch, replacing a 3750. It increases the performance and reduces the use of memory from 75% to 30%.
  • We used as a core switch replacing a 3750 series, improving performance
  • Use routing features to manage traffic more efficiently
  • Use access list to improve security
  • Security, make the access list more user friendly
  • Improve graphic interface to allow full configuration from there
  • Core switching for medium size enterprises.
  • Manage network segregation by using VLANS, and assure security with access list.
Not yet, we are in the process of evaluating DNA solution to get the advantage of analytics and be able to live monitor our network and be aware of all traffic issues faster.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
I used Cisco Catalyst for a large layer 3 network and it is very stable.
  • Enhanced Interior Gateway Routing Protocol (EIGRP)
  • Spanning tree
  • Perfomance and stability
  • Warranty
  • Stability
  • More features
Cisco Catalyst are very good for camera surveillance multicast networks.
They have DNA automation and it help us save time.
Thomas Surber | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3560-CX Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
The 3650CX is a great switch to for small or home offices (Fanless), the 3850 running 16.x code is a power house switch with great PoE resources and has all the bells and whistles. The 9Ks are great switch and I see these becoming the front line ordered switch and at some point replacing the 2960 and 3850 in the IDF.
  • They meet the need in office on a desk to out on a warehouse or factory floor
  • Have the PoE power to support everything a company will need
  • have a matching product for your need from a few ports to 48 PoE port with uplinks that connect back a MDF or DC Distribution
  • I am not a big fan of the way Cisco licenses their product, Smart Licensing to me misses the mark of easy of use, Client don't have a dedicated resource to learn and care for their licensing.
  • I think Cisco needs to move to more of a security tie in with the switch, they have the horse power monitor and even move to enforcement controlled by single system across the board.
  • Pricing seem to be getting more and more out of balance to Cisco competitor driving Small to Medium sized companies to request "other" companies product quotes with their Cisco quote.
The 3850 is prefer for the IDF and even MDF have the Power/power and speeds running just about any sized company. The use of the WLC option is something that just makes the 3850 and even better switch for all companies environments. The move to a "Linux" based OS will drive update and and innovation even faster at Cisco .
The switch just meets the need and runs like a champ, Cisco put the homework into get the product where companies wanted/needed it to be and is a good choice for clients adding to an installed base or even a green field installation. The uplink options from 10-40G means the switch will be in clients networks for years and years.
July 05, 2019

Cisco 3850 review.

Jurek Plona | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
Used as access switches configured in stacks with redundant up-links to the core, in many wiring closets.
  • Providing user access to corporate network.
  • Support advanced features including QoS.
  • Performing at high efficiency level.
  • PoE availability between various models.
The switches have versatile use scenarios. Besides working in the assessment layer, based on performance and feature set, they can be used as core switches on smaller sites.
To limited degree. We are still in the process of looking on implementing advanced features.
James Jakimowicz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3560-CX Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
  • Other
We are using Catalyst 3850 switches as edge devices in our metro network and datacenter. We make use of their layer 2 and layer 3 functionality. They were chosen for their feature set and their rock solid reliability. I would certainly recommend these to anyone looking for a reliable and capable edge switch. These are high-end edge switches that come with a justifiable price tag to match.
  • Reliability - These switches are incredibly stable.
  • Layer 2 and Layer 3 features including support for various routing protocols.
  • Easy stacking.
  • Price is the only real downside, but if you have a need for these switches it is easy enough to justify the cost.
They're well suited for enterprise environments on the network edge where you may be utilizing routing of some kind. These work very well at the edge, if stacked then you can also give yourself some redundancy. I wouldn't recommend these for deployments that don't require the nicer features and would recommend going with a lower model.
We are able to configure all our 3850 switches to a baseline that we have determined is well suited to our needs and we are able to do so very quickly which makes using them easily scalable. We use these for some basic analytics but have plans to make use of some of their more advanced analytics which will give us more insight into our network behavior.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Other
It is a great product and we have very few problems. Usually few and far in between but overall, extremely happy with it. I would highly recommend as well as many other Cisco switches as they are typically the cream of the crop. Will continue purchasing products as long as they continue providing quality products
  • Long lasting
  • Few problems
  • Great support
  • Simplified configuration
For our campus, they are great for the size of our institution. If we were slightly smaller, I would say this may be overkill. Overall, I think it provides the proper solution for myself and our users.
It is an excellent product that provides exactly what it’s intended to do
June 11, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 3850

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use it as edge switches for the buildings. They are 1U switches and can be stackable.
  • Stable
  • Different sizes to choice from
  • Easy to manage
  • Sometimes has bugs
Cisco Catalyst switches are high end switches which may be out of budget for a small company.
We will soon be using DNA and will add 3850 as one type of edge switch.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use the 2960-L for the use of lots of ports for low cost, with all the benefits of the Cisco IOS software.

The 2960-X, with stacking, we use at locations where they want more redundancy or where we need a lot of ports.

The 3850's are used with stacking and power stacking in our data center for high availability and high bandwidth.
  • The same configuration is available on almost all of the switches.
  • We manage all our Cisco switches (14 different models) at over more than 200 location with one tool. This is possible because of the compatibility of the software.
  • Best of all, the switch is really good and stable.
  • Out of the box central management for multiple versions and lots of locations.
We always use Cisco Catalyst Switches at customer location because of the stability they offer.
Not all of these features are available for older models. We have 14 types of switches in production and try to keep them at a baseline for compatibility, so we rarely use this function currently.
February 15, 2019

Cisco Catalyst Switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
Cisco Catalyst switches are used in our law firm for end-user access. We use 48 and 24 port switches to connect end users to our applications on our LAN as well as for them to use our Wan connections.
  • An industry-leading vendor, high throughput.
  • Top notch security controls.
  • Good interoperability with other vendor's network appliances.
  • Cisco Catalyst switches are among the most expensive switches on the market.
  • Advanced training is required to use advanced features of the switches (memorization of the CLI commands).
  • Some features are not available when using the Cisco proprietary protocols.
Cisco Catalyst Switches work best for two uses: access and core switching. A core switch is a high-capacity switch positioned in the physical core, or backbone, of a network. Access switches are positioned near the end users endpoints and allow those endpoints access to the network and applications. Different models are available for each use case.
Our firm uses Hyper-V virtualization and the Catalyst switches VLAN support has enabled seamless virtualization of all of our servers. They have also scaled well as we have increased our headcount from 13 to 59 users. As of now, we have not used any of the Catalyst switch analytics features yet.
Toni Pohjavirta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
They are my edge devices in my large campus offices and also my small office switches as those can do all the smart things such as application visibility and also policy enforcement and QoS.
  • QoS
  • IP Nbar application visibility
  • TrustSec
  • Exporting the Network Based Application Recognition (NBAR) information
Unified way to provide visibility and policies to the edge
Using the plug and play feature with deploying the hardware, really simplifies the on-boarding process of new sites or areas
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
They are installed in the cabinets for the clients' printers. The 6800 are the transport that is switched between the buildings. The 3850 series is used when we install 802.1X with ISE and TrustSec. The hardware is installed globally in our own and customers' locations where we offer managed services. We decide how we build the network at these locations.
  • 3850-series for TrustSec and 802.1X in the cabinet
  • 6800-series as stable transport between the buildings on the campus
  • 2960 as cheap environment
  • [enforce] TrustSec on cheap edge switches
  • good and stable switches with a long lifetime
  • worldwide deployment is possible and the same UI is there
  • flexible form Layer 2 to LAyer 3 with dynamic routing
  • high density of fiber ports, even 10G available
We are planning for the use of DNA assurance in our installation.
Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
While at Diamond IT, I implemented Cisco Catalyst switches for municipal governments as well as school districts. The problems they address are the reliability of equipment, uptime, and feature requirements.

One of the great things about Cisco gear is they always work. They have a high reliability in terms of hardware lifespan, as well as stability of IOS.
  • Excellent uptime. They rarely go down
  • A massive amount of features
  • Easy upgrade and maintenance
  • Name recognition
  • A wide variety of training and documentation to assist in support.
  • Cisco is more expensive which is why many small organizations sometimes do not opt to use them.
  • Better built-in GUI for less experienced users. The java based GUI is buggy. CLI configurations are my preference.
  • Fast track to Level 2 or 3 Cisco Support would be nice. This is true of all vendors however. Sometimes you can get stuck redoing all troubleshooting steps you've already done with Level 1 support.
When more advanced network requirements are needed, as well as great uptime. Their TAC support is excellent as well. They may be higher in cost but they are also higher in reliability.
I love the ability to easily update configurations across devices. The ability to update from tools, CLI, or web GUI, as well as to export configurations and modify for new switches makes configuration quick.
There's a lot of knowledge online, a lot of engineers who know the product, and TAC support is easy to use.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
They are very robust and versatile switches with extensive security features. I have helped solve access layer connectivity problems, also prevented the spoofing of Mac addresses and IP addresses.
  • ARP spoofing.
  • IP spoofing.
  • Storm control.
  • Manage rapid per VLAN spanning tree.
  • Use of TACACS and radius.
  • Managing storm of broadcast through storm control.
Containment of broadcast storm.
Use of IP DHCP snooping.
[Our organization has benefited] through the improvement of processes, via the automation provided and accompanied by solutions such as Cisco DNA and SDN.