TrustRadius
Cisco offers the Catalyst 9300 series of stackable LAN switches.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/ku/AF/F0JDW2AQTDDO-180x180.JPEGMy First Taste of Catalyst 9300 Series SwitchesCatalyst 9300 Series,Catalyst Switches have been broadly deployed in the university campuses over 14 years. The switches serve the campus network for the office space, computer lab, classroom, library, voice IP system, the building control system, and security system. They are the fundamental infrastructure of the campus network. It delivers the essential networking communication of the university teaching and learning environment.,Using Power of Ethernet to deliver the network connection for IP Phones and Wireless Access Points. Catalyst Switch stacking capability makes it easy to use in networking management. Hardware ready for Software Defined Access technology will protect the investment while the business decides to migrate to the campus fabric solution in the near future.,Make the IOS XE code more robust and stable. It will be nice to have full SFP+ ports available on 9300 switch. UPoE available on all ports.,6,The list price of the switch is almost equivalent to the cost for the previous Catalyst Switch models, which is good for the business financial plan. The dedicated management switch port is much easier for out-of-band management purposes. Catalyst 9300 is not compatible with the old switch model, which is a bit challenging for migration in some situations.,Automation is a pretty new technology. To be frank, most of the users including my company are still in the lab or proof of concept stage at this moment. It will take for a while for us to absorb and test how the product can do and then migrate into the production environment eventually. This will mean a whole infrastructure change and will also impact the business flow.,As stated previously, we are still in early stage. But we have purchased 70 Catalyst 9300 switches to replace the existing. However, we will deploy them in legacy mode. Therefore, I do not have much comments on this, but through the lab testing and the proof of concept project, we will eventually enable these advanced features into the production environment when the time comes.,Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series SwitchesCatalyst 9300 first impressionsCatalyst 9300 Series,We have started rolling out the new Cisco Catalyst 9300 switches in our environment to replace our aging network so we can work on improving our security. So far they have been incredibly easy to update, configure, and deploy even without using automated tools. The ones I have deployed so far have been rock solid and fit our needs.,Switching - various modules to connect to devices depending on their cabling needs Ease of setup and operation - Can support zero touch setup - works with DNA center for automation Routing - Supports most major IGPs for IPv4 and IPv6 - i.e. EIGRP, OSPF Security,None at this time - haven't ran into anything that I haven't been able do with them at my company,9,Saved time - took less then half the time to update and configure before sending out. Improved security - supports SSH. Also AAA which can be leveraged for device login and 802.1x for better security controls. Saved Money.,So far our organization has only used the basic features of the Catalyst 9300 but have plans to implement more of their capabilities in the feature when we get more of them installed and become more comfortable using them. We are soon to use AAA and 802.1x and am looking forward to using DNA center to help automate their configurations.,We are still using the basics for customization and manageability but are looking forward to the more advanced features that they are capable of. I will update my review when we have used more of the features.,Cisco bug that bitesCatalyst 9300 Series,The C9300-48P are used at our branch offices to connect all network devices in the branch office network.,StackWise technology. Integrates with Cisco Prime Infrastructure.,The Cisco Bug CSCvi49725 C9300: Group of 4 ports stops forwarding traffic, making extremely disruptive downtime to business as usual, and causing difficulty to troubleshooting, driving up deployment costs. The length of the switch is longer, even with standard power supplies, than the previous model, Cisco 3850. This makes them difficult to fit into tight IDF spaces.,8,Negative impact Cisco bug CSCvi49725 C9300: Group of 4 ports stopped forwarding traffic.,The Cisco bug CSCvi49725 C9300: Group of 4 ports stopped forwarding traffic, did not have any time saving, and caused a bad perception of an otherwise good product.,The customization and other capabilities were hindered from troubleshooting and patching the Cisco Bug CSCvi49725 C9300. Manageability of more than 100 9300 switches by Cisco Prime Infrastructure is a benefit.,9300 series switchesCatalyst 9300 Series,Ours is a hospital set up with about 400 beds. We do need to make sure our IT services provide uninterrupted, high-quality network availability to our patients, care providers, and other ancillary staff. We were using Cisco 3750 access switches before and have just migrated and/or are in the process of migrating them to 9300 series access switches. Since we planned to migrate our entire access layer switches to a new platform, we had to choose one with an ease of deployment, and 9300 fit the bill. They provide a great balance of performance and cost. Also, features like more bandwidth per port, and less latency on the network, help us to provide reliable 24x7 SLA based operations to our customers. Cisco also provides a multitude of SDN features, which helps the network team to build and automate network tasks, so that we can spend less time on deployment and configuration while spending more time on the healthcare business, the primary goal of our company. We are planning to use them for at least another 6-7 years, as we have the necessary port level bandwidth to support their end-user requirements. All in all, it's a great product from a great company, and we recommend it.,Higher port level bandwidth availability. SDN ready platform. Encrypted traffic analytics.,The price point is high compared to other vendor products. They provide bare-bones hardware so that the customer can write their own code to operate them.,8,The price point is high.,We have not started to use them yet, but we certainly like that these features have been added to the Catalyst products, and we plan to use them in the near future to automate some of our daily configuration tasks, etc. They are of great benifit to the network administrators and DevOps engineers.,We are planning to use DNA functionality. We have purchased the product and started to integrate these 9300 catalyst switches to the DNA center so that we can start managing them through that. We would like to leverage the DNA tools to troubleshoot network level issues and get to the root cause analysis as soon as possible to meet the SLA expectation of the customer.,HPE Aruba Ethernet SwitchesEvolving our Office LAN with the next evolution of Cisco Catalyst switches.Catalyst 9300 Series,The Catalyst 9300 Series switches are the Access Layer Switches of our office LAN. The switches are used depending on demand in a stack or as standalone switches in the wiring closets. With the power and data stacking options of the technology, we try to reach the highest possible availability for devices that have only one network card included.,High reliability Good scalability through the stacking concept One software version across the whole product line,Price,9,Ease of deployment. Enhanced PoE compared to the old office switches. No need for careful selection of PoE devices depending on their power requirement due to power stack.,With the automation, we are just at the beginning, but the selection of the switches was done to have the option to increase the automation part on the office network for day 0 deployment, change and troubleshooting. We don't use the possibilities that come with DNA at the moment as the cost for DNA is very high and the IT budget, unfortunately, is very limited. We see the potential and might migrate to a DNA solution later.,In way of customization, what changed between the old and the new Cisco office LAN switches for us is that we no longer have uplink port on all members of a stack but only on two of the stack switches. Before, we only used the uplink of two of the stack switches but had unused uplink ports on all of the other stack members.,Review: Cisco Catalyst 9300 is the best!Catalyst 9300 Series,We are using them as access switches for branch and campus network environments. They provide us with a better experience in the provisioning and management of our network at an affordable price. The Catalyst 9000 family provides enterprise-class strength to keep our business running smoothly. This family of products provides advanced security features that protect the integrity of the hardware, as well as the software and all the data that flows through the switch and the network. You can choose different models and features that can be adapted to your business.,Stability of the connection between the regions and campus. They support the industry’s highest density 802.11ac Wave 2 deployments with Cisco Multigigabit Technology. This allows us to auto-provision end-user computers, phones, and access points without an engineer having to touch each switch to ensure proper VLANs and QoS are set up.,Leadtimes are often quite long. Strong security, advanced QoS, comprehensive IPv6 support, Layer 3 static routing, and true stacking. The hardware is reasonably priced, however, the licenses can be a surprise on the initial investment budget.,9,I like the way Catalyst implements VLANs; very easy and straightforward. The flexibility of the modules that can be added to the Catalyst switches of the 9300, 9500 (line cards) and 3850 series is impressive. These switches are capable of speeds of 10/25/40/100 GB, which means that instead of replacing a switch, simply update the module. This has saved and helped us tens of thousands of times in recent years. The reliability and great technical support substantially cut down on the amount of attention these switches require. Often we find our selves forgetting the switches are even there because they "just work". Dependability like that is in my opinion priceless.,Many benefits have been achieved by incorporating the 9300 or 9500 series switches. We have made some APIs through the same IOS, but we have not integrated it with the most powerful solutions (DNA Center, ISE and Stealthwatch). We have them internally and in the near future (January 2019) we will be implementing a complete SDA solution. Once this is completed, I will love to see how much automation and other features included in this package are revealed.,We expect to take full advantage of the manageability of the Catalyst 9300 switches, during 2019 when we implement our DNA center. This will greatly improve our central management and orchestration capabilities. Until then we're still managing our infrastructure the good old way, which can be quite tedious and time-consuming.,Cisco Catalyst provides a longterm stable network fabric for enterprise infrastructures.Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series Catalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 9300 Series,We use Cisco Catalyst 3850/9300. It provides a stable fabric for our internal network infrastructure. We always install these devices as switch stacks to ensure full redundancy on both power and the dataplane. The switch stacks can always be expanded with more interfaces as the installation grows. This can even be achieved without service windows and zero network outage.,The device profile can be modified by installed a new license, e.g. introducing new routing protocols and advanced features. Features such as stackwise and power stacking makes the devices very modular and customizable. Hardware is very mature and provides years of stable operation. Software is constantly updated and supported.,The hardware is reasonably priced, however the licenses can be a surprise on the initial investment budget. Leadtimes are often quite long. Global list prices seems inflated and unrealistic.,8,The Clock Signal Component Issue had a negative impact on our ROI. However this was mainly an issue with our Cisco routers and firewalls. The Catalyst 3850 had some issues with keeping persistent OID values. E.g. we were monitoring the power supply status on a 3850 stack, but the targeted OID values kept changing every time the stack was reloaded. There was no fix addressing this issue. We had a container on a remote site where the AC had failed. The temperature went above 70 degrees Celsius and the equipment managed to still switch packages. Which was quite impressive, although the expected lifespand of the switches may have been reduced due to internal components overheating.,In our organization we're utilizing virtualization on Cisco's ENCS platform and the hypervisor platform is always accompanied by a Catalyst Switch stack, due to the limited number of physical interfaces on the ENCS hardware. We did however upgrade to the Catalyst 9300 due to its DNA center support, which we will implement next year.,We expect to take full advantage of the manageability of the Catalyst 9300 switches, during 2019 when we implement our DNA center. This will greatly improve our central management and orchestration capabilities. Until then we're still managing our infrastructure the good old way, which can be quite tedious and time consuming.,,Providing high density interface fabric for end devices Redundant switch stacks Reliable switch platform,Product Features Prior Experience with the Product Existing Relationship with the Vendor,Configure them according to best practice utilizing the CLI.,8,8,9,We use the NBD support level. It’s expensive but necessary.,9,20,6,N/A,We plan on utilizing the industrial versions under harsh conditions in offshore windfarms.,10,No,We always conduct a Proof of Concept project, so that we establish trust in new products or models. But as long as the required features, price and support is good enough, we would always consider the hardware.,Implemented in-house,Yes,Change management was a small part of the implementation and was well-handled,Finding the correct software, suitable for our specific feature requirements, without being too new- or too old.,9,Online training Self-taught,8,As long as you have general network switch experience, configuring and working with the C9300 platform will be pretty straight forward.,9,No - we have not done any customization to the interface,No - we have not done any custom code,We plan to migrate the C9300 we already own and have deployed over to our Cisco DNA Center.,Yes,Yes,At one point we experienced redundancy/failover problems with an older 720 supervisor board installed in a set of Catalyst switches. TAC weren’t able to solve the issue within reasonable time, so they simple offered us a trade-in to the upgraded and newer version of the supervisor board, Sup 2T. Which solved the issues. Excellent service!,Stackwise expand as you grow. Even without reloading the switch Stackpower, ising power modulets across switch chassis for redundancy. Modular design for easy uplink boost, if interface density becomes too high.,Most Catalyst seitches are noisy and uses alot of power, so when testing or using them in an office environment, they should be installed remotely to where people are located and accessed via remote.,Yes, but I don't use it,9,8,10,10,Cisco DNA Center Cisco Enterprise Network Compute System,Cisco CNA Center,File import/export,9,Just get people on the integration team with experience from earlier Catalyst platforms.,We were able to get a decent discount, compared to their Global Price List. There's also the possibility to arrange Cisco's so-called Learning Credits, which is a kind of kick-back, which can be used for attending training or Cisco Live.,It's always a good thing to spend some time with your key account manager, to establish a professional relation. This might help you to get a better discount and access to their ressources in the long run.,No,The DNA Center integration,DNA Center Integration which will enable us to install the hardware and roll-out configurations based on existing templates. Patch management from DNA Center,No,NoCisco Catalyst 9300 SwitchesCatalyst 9300 Series,We use them as our access layer switches. Providing multi-gig connectivity to our Meraki access points. We also like the fact that they can run containers, this is a new feature we are being exposed to, so we are still testing this new feature.,Routing and Switching Multi Gigabit Run Containers,None at this time The switch itself is quite long. Was not able to fit it in some of our cabinets. We need the 9200 for those locations.,8,Our Cisco switches generally have good ROI since we run them for 8-10 years.,We are not yet using these capabilities yet. We manage them individually over SSH still. We are testing a few of them using Cisco DNA center.,We are not yet using these capabilities yet. We manage them individually over SSH still. We are testing a few of these with Cisco's new DNA center platform with the hopes of centrally managing all of our switches.,Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series SwitchesCatalyst 9300 Series,The Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are primarily utilized for the user access level. We use stand-alone switches at small sites and stacks in some slightly larger where a chassis would not be best. We also utilize the mGig line for 3800 and 4800 series APs.,Throughput. Stacking. Programmability. mGig.,Buggy IOS sometimes (still new). Overpowered for small businesses. Licensing limitations ($$).,10,Makes the transition to DNA possible. Support for 3800 and 4800 APs. Better stacking capabilities than previous stackable models.,We are still setting up the DNA Center, so we haven't really started with programmability yet. But the added assurance and visibility has been eye-opening on what we've been missing.,Perpetual POE - keeps phones and APs powered up while the switch reboots (such as for an upgrade). High/Low priority POE ports - specifying which ports to maintain during limited power losses. Stacking - improved functions. For example, so long as one switch is fully up and in control, the ports of other stack switches will come online BEFORE those other switches even finish booting.,Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches, Cisco Catalyst 3560-CX Series Switches, Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches, Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches, Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches, Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches, Cisco Catalyst 6800 Series Switches and Cisco Catalyst SwitchesCisco Cat 9300 review - My favorite new switchCatalyst 9300 Series,Used as access switches in the Enterprise network. Feature rich platform which helps with QoS deployments, supports ETA and is supported by Cisco DNA-C.,QoS ETA Cisco DNA-C support,Documentation of bugs ASIC documentation Upgrade cycles,9,Reduced QoS deployment time Supports PNP so reduced deployment time too Ease of management due to stacking,Yes, benefited from the PnP feature for 0-touch provisioning. Also benefited from the QoS policy feature in DNA-C for supported devices.,Stacking multiple switches into one logical switch has its benefits. Management is easy since you only manage using 1 management IP.,HPE Aruba Ethernet SwitchesSolutions for a new era of intent-based networking.Catalyst 9300 Series,We are using them as access switches for branch and campus environments. They give us better experience provisioning and managing our network at an affordable price. The Catalyst 9000 family provides enterprise-level resiliency to keep our business up and running seamlessly. They give access to Cisco’s best in class security portfolio anchored by Talos, Encrypted Traffic Analytics, Trustworthy Solutions, MACsec encryption and segmentation. This product family provides advanced security features that protect the integrity of the hardware as well as the software and all data that flows through the switch and the network.,One network, one OS, wired and wireless. The convergence is seamless with the Cisco Catalyst 9000 portfolio. Policies are applied consistently for security, automation, and assurance, while segmentation separates devices and users to help reduce the attack surface. They support the industry’s highest density 802.11ac Wave 2 deployments with Cisco Multigigabit Technology,It lacks a controller with integrated visibility between Cisco DNA and Cisco ACI They can be expensive for certain customers The installed base is still not very high,9,We obtained twice the port density at a lower cost. Reduce our operating costs via accelerating changes with programmability. Cisco DNA Premier, Advantage and Essentials subscription-based software licensing lets us purchase the features and capabilities we need.,Our products and services can be customized, ordered and delivered at the click of a button using web-based applications. Business data can be acquired, analyzed and exchanged in near-real time. Geographic boundaries between businesses and consumers are diminishing. And the network is at the center of communication to and between the applications driving the digital economy.,We used simplified automation and assurance: goal-based policies are created once centrally, applied network-wide. No more constant cutting, pasting and tweaking device by device is needed for our network administrators. They create once, apply network-wide using cross-domain policy enforcement and automation. The Catalyst 9000 family also offers multiple programmability options to further simplify configuration and adapt to changes.Cisco Switches - Great for Enterprise NetworkingCatalyst 2960 X/XR Series Catalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 9300 Series,I can't imagine any LAN without Cisco Switches. They are as essential as anything else that you need to set up a LAN network. I never had any huge problems using this platform, and they can actually work forever without breaking. You can select from multiple models and features that can suit your business.,Switching Routing Operation,No complaints at this time.,10,Saved time Saved money Improved operations,Yes, we do use automation, but using standard scripts.,I think we are using most of the features.,HPE Networking SwitchesCisco 9000 seriesWe use the 9000 series for ACI and SDN. That forms our core network.,SDN for the 9000 series. Large administration base Industry standard,Needs more constant innovation Cost,8,Easy SDN migration path Native Cisco DNA,HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches,No,I would love to visit a VAR that was as neutral as Switzerland to evaluate the features and cost with various switching gear. If we had to start fresh and I do mean true greenfield- this would have been a good route. Often though you are dealing with a Vendor strategy that existed well before most of us started at our companies.,In-person training Self-taught,8,9300 switch can be self taught if you have solid foundation of Cisco Knowledge. Otherwise, I don't recommend winging it if this is a brand new deployment."My Review of Cisco Switches"To split the charge between the regions, and help in the stability of connections. In our case we use it to split the deploy and user charges around the world, actually when we count to go in production with the new game, we try to use this type of switch. It helps us to define with monitoring tools (Orion the charge).,Stability of the connection between the regions. It is used in the majority of the organization across multiple locations. This allows us to auto-provision end-user computers, phones, and access points without an engineer having to touch each switch to ensure proper VLANs and QoS are set up. We use it more for our own cloud platform and it works great.,Ability to do routing network packets. Servers, printer and PCs have been able to connect to the each other via the Cisco Switch. The price a little bit high. Strong security, advanced QoS, comprehensive IPv6 support, Layer 3 static routing, and true stacking.,9,Cisco's Catalyst documentation is superb and if you can't find what you're looking for there, you can find a ton of great blogs by certified Cisco engineers. I like the way Catalyst implements VLANS; very easy and straightforward.,,split charge for the environment set up network security switching capacity for fast, uninterrupted service, even during high-traffic times,Existing Relationship with the Vendor,First, power on the switch and verify that all the indicator lights are working fine. Then, you will need to console into the device. Using a rollover cable, console into the switch from your computer. You will need to download and install Putty for this or use whichever tool you prefer.Run Putty and select serial connection with 9600 speed. Once you are connected to the switch, it’s important that you run and carefully check the output of the following commands:show versionshow running-configshow vlan briefshow vtp statusFor spare switches, make sure to delete the flash:vlan.dat file to erase the previous VLAN configuration.,9,9,9Fair and honestCatalyst 3650 Series Catalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 9300 Series,They are our primary access layer switch. We use them in our distribution centers and our office buildings. We have anywhere from a single switch in some locations to stacks of up to 6 in a single node. They very effectively give us the ports needed to get our users on the network and operating.,They are port dense enough to allow us to deploy an easy to manage number of devices while still meeting the needs of the building. Easy to manage. The Catalyst switch and the IOS software inside have been great. We have hit a few small bugs and issues in the software but a quick update later they are running strong. The hardware is very stable. I have only had one or two switches that had hardware issues in the 17+ years of using all kinds of different models. I cannot say that about all networking gear.,Power supplies, I have had many power supplies go bad over the years. They are hot swap-able (if you have the redundant power or power stack) and easily replaced but there have been a lot of bad ones. Power over ethernet has been an issue a couple of times. Since I use these as access layer I have lots of utilization via phones, laptops, cameras, other devices. I have ran into power issues where I was consuming more POE than the switch could handle several times.,10,They have provided a very stable platform for the users and the decreased outage time has paid dividends over the years. We are approaching a time where Catalyst may not be the right choice any longer as Meraki switches and Cisco are further integrated.,I have not been able to utilize the automation features yet. We are still maturing that direction but I have not been able to partake just yet. Its on the road map for the next year or two.,Like the automation features I have not been able to utilize this yet.,Meraki MS Switches,I like these for port density I like these for simplicity while still being feature rich The price point on the 9300's has made these an easy choice and are now our standard platform.,Price Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor,I'm a CLI junkie and actually enjoy hand jamming configurations. If you do not like that look into the automation tools in conjunction with the switches to automate and streamline these. They integrate very well.,8,10,10,I did not.,5,1500,2,We are boring. They are just access switches,Probably just keep them as access layer switches.,10,Not Sure,I wouldn't, I would test features again and come out to the same decision.,Yes,Yes,I cannot think of any exceptional interactions but they are generally very easy to work with.,I like how easy software updates and upgrade are to execute.,The job is a learning curve. I have not found anything that I would call cumbersome.,10Next Gen Catalyst Good choicesCatalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 9300 Series Catalyst 9400 Series Catalyst 9500 Series,We're using Catalyst Switches for both access and a collapsed core solution. I find the 3850 product to be a great option for just about anything access-related. We're currently using both the 9300 and 3850 series switches as classroom access solutions. We're using them mostly for our students to connect back into our private cloud solution. They work great for this.,They're dependable, I've been working with a wide variety of Catalyst Switches, specifically 3750 and 3850 series for 8+ years. Only once have I encountered an issue with the hardware. Layer 2 Access control, as well as the ability to handle closet routing, should the need arise. The versatility of this line of Switches is outstanding. From POE to VoIP solutions the 3850 line provides it all. The new generation of 9300 and 9500 Switches promise much much more, we've only been using them for a few months in-house and have yet to implement the SDA architecture. However the North and South bound API'S included with this OS are very robust and pretty awesome.,The CLI is a bit of a legacy. Maybe a revamp of this portion. More robust out of the gate routing capabilities. Stop license gating features. For the 3850 series perhaps adding a more robust API as well.,9,They've definitely been a positive for our bottom line. The reliability and great technical support substantially cuts down on the amount of attention these switches require. Often we find our selves forgetting the switches are even there because they "just work". Dependability like that is in my opinion priceless. The flexibility of modules that can be added to both the 9300, 9500 (line cards), and 3850 series Catalyst Switches is awesome. These switches are capable of 10/25/40/100 GB speeds this means that instead of replacing a switch you just upgrade the module. This has saved us tens of thousands over the last few years.,We have not done anything more than testing on the 9300 or 9500 Switches. We have done some API through the IOS itself but have not integrated it with the more powerful solutions (DNA Center, ISE, and Stealthwatch). We do have them in-house and in the near future (January 2019) we will be implementing a full SDA solution. Once this is completed I will be excited to see how far the automation and other features included in this package reveals.,We have not as of now. Currently in a design and change state where we will be implementing some of these more advanced solutions in the coming months.Cisco Catalyst Switches as foundation of our networkCatalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 9300 Series Other,We use them in each part of our business: offices, manufacturing, and Nexus for Data Center. The Catalyst Switches are reliable, easy to configure and provide all the features our business requires: high-speed switching, QoS, Multi-Chassis Eth-Channel and many others.,QoS Low latency Reliability Resiliency,Programmability,10,Resiliency and reliability to help us to continue the business even in a critical situation. This increase avoids the loss of revenue.,We are starting now to automate simple processes and configurations, however, we need to complete standardization of our sites before we can take full advantage of automation.,Our sites are a very mixed environment. Offices, manufacturing sites, laboratories and each of them rely on the network in a different way. Thanks to Cisco Catalyst Switches we can have a single OS and few platforms to achieve very different results and support modern and legacy devices.,Cisco Application Centric Infrastructure, Cisco FabricPath, Cisco Nexus, Cisco Sourcefire SNORT, Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers, Cisco Wide Area Application Services and Cisco Webex Teams (formerly Cisco Spark)Cisco Catalyst is a pretty solid choice, but is it the only one?Catalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 9300 Series,We are trying to follow the hardware refresh policy that Cisco is somehow enforcing. So every, 4-5 years, we change all the catalysts in the entire organization. At the moment we have mostly 3850 and just started the installation process of the new 9300. As access layer switches we use them to connect users.,Stacking is quite good and starting with the 3850 the connections at 480Gbs. In INSTALL mode, with a couple of commands, you can upgrade the entire stack. Port security is quite easy and customizable. Together with DHCP snooping and dynamic ARP inspection, you can guarantee a good level of security Usually they are pretty stable if they are running a basic configuration. We haven't have any hardware issues with 3850 in years.,Bugs. Cisco (but also other vendors) is not exempt from bugs. Sometimes they can be quite frustrating, and also create serious issues to users The price is still too high, even if the new 9300 has the same price as the 3850. With 3850, to get to the L3 license from the L2, the price is just ridiculous Sometimes waiting 6 weeks for a switch is too much. They can definitely improve the shipment time.,7,We have 90% of the global network running with Cisco and the uptime is pretty good. Downtime means we lose money, so it's really important. The price is not helping while creating a BOM and/or a CAR. Business is not always happy when we have 150k in Cisco switches. The hardware lifetime is around 5 years.,SD-Access is "included" in the 9300 license, but we don't use it since the entire ecosystem is really expensive and not mature yet.,We manage the switches in the "old" fashioned way, with a monitoring tool (not Cisco), and actually we are ok with this solution.,Brocade ADX and Arista Campus Switches,We use them as access devices in the LAN for users With IP Base license we use them as L3 switches With Advanced IP service license they can be used as core switches for the campus with dynamic routing protocols,Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product Existing Relationship with the Vendor,We use a template in order to have the same configuration in every site.I suggest to study Cisco documentation and also to use the Cisco community knowledge base to get a standard and suitable configuration for your company.It's part of the best practice to consider security features like port security, broadcast storm control and DHCP snooping,6,6,7,Usually we plan and deploy every solution internally.When we implemented the first data center, we just went to the Cisco HQ to discuss in detail about the solution and also we did some testing in the lab. All of this was free of charge and we successfully designed and implemented our DC.,6Cisco Switches are a Must for any EnterpriseCatalyst 2960 X/XR Series Catalyst 3560-CX Series Catalyst 3650 Series Catalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 6800 Series Catalyst 9300 Series Catalyst 9400 Series Catalyst 9500 Series Other,We utilize Cisco exclusively for our routing, switching, and WiFi. We have limited use of 2960-series, but have a large deployment of 3560, 3650, 3750, 3850, 4500/E, 6500/E - and are now installing the 9300, 9400, and 9500 series switches. The 9000-series come in so many different varieties they can fill any need for access, distribution, core; from small sites to large hospitals. In addition, the mGig switches provide the 5Gig connection to the Cisco 3800 APs for increased throughput. These 9000-series are so physically advanced, the software is still catching up to what all they do!,Access Distribution Core High throughout, low latency,N/A,10,They're necessary! Long-life: we removed the last ancient 5500 about 4 years ago...and it had been running (without reboot) for 12+ years!,The 9000-series integrates with DNA-C. We are just delving into this now and it looks AMAZING!,As these scale from small deployment to large enterprise, it is very beneficial in having the same base platform and provider when it comes to central management and monitoring.,,Small-to-Medium access switches (using the 1U size switches) Medium-to-Large access switches (using the chassis size switches) Distribution (or even Core) switches with some of the higher-end catalyst with 10G (or higher) connections,10,70000,15,10,Yes,We had a remote data center (hospital) that was performing corrupted backups to the main data center. EVERYTHING checked out. We worked with Cisco and other vendors for nearly a month with no resolution. Eventually, we found that if we performed backups over one circuit va the original primary, the backups were good. Cisco high-level experts worked magic on the specific module that one circuit was coming into and found that - for unknown reasons - that module was corrupting random packet payloads WITHOUT corrupting the checksums. We don't know how it did it or how Cisco discovered it, but they sent us a replacement and everything started working again. Magic!Cisco Catalyst Switches ReviewCatalyst 2960 X/XR Series Catalyst 3650 Series Catalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 9300 Series Catalyst 9400 Series Catalyst 9500 Series,We currently use Catalyst switches in access, core and distribution infrastructures, whether simple or complex environments,Easy configuration Compatibility Price,I have no major concerns or improvements to suggest at this time.,9,Easy to manage Recurrent revenue Saas,It has been very useful when trying to look at analytics.,We use Prime and DNA, both are really useful to manage and review operating metrics and have a dashboard with the status of the network in real time,Cisco Webex Teams (formerly Cisco Spark), Avaya Enterprise Routers, Cisco Meraki MS Switches and Cisco Meraki Wireless Access PointCatalyst for intent based networkingCatalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 9300 Series,We use Cisco Catalyst switches in our access layer. They provide a great balance of performance and cost. They come in a variety of models with different features. They have modular power supplies and modules. This ensures they provide the roustabout redundancy we need. With IoT and other technologies, these switches ensure that we can keep up with the needs of the business. Whether it's from a user or security perspective the catalyst switches have us covered.,Security features Ability to adapt to new needs (through Hardware ASICs and software) Catalyst support is best of breed Modular design to grow with the need,TCO Boot times Licensing,10,Our budget ask is larger because of the costs associated with purchasing catalyst switches We don't have many hardware issues because we use catalyst switches,We will start to use these features with the roll out of Cisco DNS Center that will work with the catalyst switches. The virtualization technology in the switch is a new concept for us. I think we will start to leverage that in the near future. We should start to see improvements in efficiencies with these new switches.,We have not done anything with customization on the switches. We are going to start to leverage the new management features with DNA Center.,Catalyst-asticCatalyst 3650 Series Catalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 9300 Series,We use Cisco Catalyst Switches for multiple applications within multiple layers. They provide us dependable port connectivity as well as additional functionality such as 802.1x.,LAN switching Voice segmentation Routing and MPLS tagging Port aggregation,Per port costs are higher than other vendors, even though those vendors do not provide as much out of their switches, the number is a selling obstacle,10,Reliability has limited outage costs Ease of deployment has prevented large acquisition costs Ability to stack has reduced the demand for larger modular switches,Combined with ISE we have been able to implement secure connectivity throughout our network.,Not that I am aware of.,Dell Force10 Ethernet Switches,Network connectivity Security Voice segmentation Inline power,Product Features Prior Experience with the Product,10,10000,3,Data connectivity Voice connectivity Identity services,Spine leaf deployment SDN using ACI,10,No,Would emphasize ROI rather than cost.,Yes,No,It is always exceptional.Cisco Catalyst Switches ReviewCatalyst 9300 Series,Financial institutions are very interested in the Encrypted Traffic Analytics feature, specifically the ability to do a crypto audit with StealthWatch to meet their regulatory requirements.,1X integration with ISE API access, with Python bindings The guest shell allows customers to do almost anything they need with these switches.,Cost Some of the default settings are ridiculous. I always update the log and debug settings to include the timestamp, and auto secure is a must. Why shouldn't these be defaults? The LAN Lite image is useless, I have no reason to sell such a limited switch.,8,The insight gained into the access layer has finally provided some return on my IT investment. Customers who have used Avaya or Extreme switches for a while, and are ok with the limited feature set, rarely see the ROI in Catalyst switches.,The single most useful feature in the new automation abilities is being able to run packet captures directly on an access switch. This saves minutes if not hours each time a capture needs to be set up.,Most organizations don't have the personnel or drive to build a custom management platform. Despite the open nature of these switches, a Cisco-branded management platform will be looked at first before anything built in-house.,Avaya Ethernet Routing Switch 8800, Avaya Ethernet Switches and HPE Ethernet SwitchesCatalyst SwitchesCatalyst 3850 Series Catalyst 9300 Series,We use Catalyst Switches for all edge connections on the CU Boulder campus.,CDP neighbor protocol is convenient Cisco IOS is easy to use and consistent between models Great for serving numerous 1G connections,We have had some issues with the 715w power supplies failing We sometimes have issues with the switch denying PoE but a reload usually resolves this (c3750x) Switches take a long time to boot up, sometimes up to 15mins Can only power stack 4 switches,9,Reliably serve our clients Modular switch is easy to replace individual components rather than whole switches Adding switches to a stack is easy and saves install time,We are currently researching programmability options for the 9300 series switches including possibly bringing the Cisco DNA system on board. Currently, most configuration is done manually via the CLI (Calling Line Identity).,We are just starting to deploy the 9300 series and are learning about customizability and management options. Remotely managing the 3850 series is simple using a remote console. We also use SolarWinds for management purposes.,Arista 7000 seriesOur Legacy Hardware that just keeps on ticking.We've use Cisco Catalyst as both access switches and aggregation routers. For the most part we've moved away from them, but they still exist in our legacy environments. It provided a relatively easy and reliable way of connecting our servers together. Even comparing them to the new fabricpath environments that we've stood up, the Catalysts seem to be very reliable.,If you need a solid switch, Cisco Catalysts tend to be very stable.,I've mostly worked with legacy Catalyst switches and in those cases their are some speed/distribution limitations in comparison, but not everyone needs to go through the expense of setting up a fabricpath (spine and leaf) environment.,9,Their long term stability allowed us to go longer than normal between tech refreshes. That stability coupled with our design and business practices have allowed us to meet our SLAs and for the most part provide our clients with the 99.99% uptime that they expect.,,PyCharm, Ansible, Cisco Application Centric Infrastructure, Cisco ASA, F5 BIG-IP, Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series
Unspecified
Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches
31 Ratings
Score 9.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches
31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 31 vetted Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 25)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Roger Qian profile photo
June 14, 2019

My First Taste of Catalyst 9300 Series Switches

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Catalyst Switches have been broadly deployed in the university campuses over 14 years. The switches serve the campus network for the office space, computer lab, classroom, library, voice IP system, the building control system, and security system. They are the fundamental infrastructure of the campus network. It delivers the essential networking communication of the university teaching and learning environment.
  • Using Power of Ethernet to deliver the network connection for IP Phones and Wireless Access Points.
  • Catalyst Switch stacking capability makes it easy to use in networking management.
  • Hardware ready for Software Defined Access technology will protect the investment while the business decides to migrate to the campus fabric solution in the near future.
  • Make the IOS XE code more robust and stable.
  • It will be nice to have full SFP+ ports available on 9300 switch.
  • UPoE available on all ports.
It is good to deploy at the access comm rooms serving the computers, printers, IP phones, wireless access points, and IoT devices, which are directly from the service endpoint to the comm room. It is suitable for the Catalyst 9300 Switch being deployed as the perimeter area switch due to lack of 9300-XS platform.

Read Roger Qian's full review
Jesse Myhre profile photo
June 14, 2019

Catalyst 9300 first impressions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have started rolling out the new Cisco Catalyst 9300 switches in our environment to replace our aging network so we can work on improving our security. So far they have been incredibly easy to update, configure, and deploy even without using automated tools. The ones I have deployed so far have been rock solid and fit our needs.
  • Switching - various modules to connect to devices depending on their cabling needs
  • Ease of setup and operation - Can support zero touch setup - works with DNA center for automation
  • Routing - Supports most major IGPs for IPv4 and IPv6 - i.e. EIGRP, OSPF
  • Security
  • None at this time - haven't ran into anything that I haven't been able do with them at my company
Cisco Catalyst switches are well suited for use in many different Enterprise network designs. They work well at the access layer and would be good for the distribution layer in some networks. Catalyst 9400 or 9500 would be a better option for the Core layer but we haven't implemented any of them yet so that is just my speculation.
Read Jesse Myhre's full review
Elden Torres profile photo
June 11, 2019

Cisco bug that bites

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The C9300-48P are used at our branch offices to connect all network devices in the branch office network.
  • StackWise technology.
  • Integrates with Cisco Prime Infrastructure.
  • The Cisco Bug CSCvi49725 C9300: Group of 4 ports stops forwarding traffic, making extremely disruptive downtime to business as usual, and causing difficulty to troubleshooting, driving up deployment costs.
  • The length of the switch is longer, even with standard power supplies, than the previous model, Cisco 3850. This makes them difficult to fit into tight IDF spaces.
The 9300 Series is the next generation of Catalyst Switches, and is well suited to replace switches in their end of life and with fewer features.
We've experienced CSCvi49725 Cisco bug C9300: A group of 4 ports stopped forwarding traffic, which is extremely service impacting with downtime and troubleshooting time. It's disrupting the upgrade projects of over more than 100 branch offices.
Read Elden Torres's full review
SURESH GADDE profile photo
June 11, 2019

9300 series switches

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ours is a hospital set up with about 400 beds. We do need to make sure our IT services provide uninterrupted, high-quality network availability to our patients, care providers, and other ancillary staff. We were using Cisco 3750 access switches before and have just migrated and/or are in the process of migrating them to 9300 series access switches. Since we planned to migrate our entire access layer switches to a new platform, we had to choose one with an ease of deployment, and 9300 fit the bill. They provide a great balance of performance and cost. Also, features like more bandwidth per port, and less latency on the network, help us to provide reliable 24x7 SLA based operations to our customers. Cisco also provides a multitude of SDN features, which helps the network team to build and automate network tasks, so that we can spend less time on deployment and configuration while spending more time on the healthcare business, the primary goal of our company. We are planning to use them for at least another 6-7 years, as we have the necessary port level bandwidth to support their end-user requirements. All in all, it's a great product from a great company, and we recommend it.
  • Higher port level bandwidth availability.
  • SDN ready platform.
  • Encrypted traffic analytics.
  • The price point is high compared to other vendor products.
  • They provide bare-bones hardware so that the customer can write their own code to operate them.
Cisco switches are used widely in the enterprise network, and sometimes they work seamlessly with the other hardware we have from Cisco, so these switches are the default choice for most of the enterprise networks in today's market. They operate seamlessly with other vendor products too.
Read SURESH GADDE's full review
Christoph Neulinger profile photo
May 07, 2019

Evolving our Office LAN with the next evolution of Cisco Catalyst switches.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Catalyst 9300 Series switches are the Access Layer Switches of our office LAN. The switches are used depending on demand in a stack or as standalone switches in the wiring closets.

With the power and data stacking options of the technology, we try to reach the highest possible availability for devices that have only one network card included.
  • High reliability
  • Good scalability through the stacking concept
  • One software version across the whole product line
  • Price
Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are a perfect solution for offices of big or medium-sized companies where manageability and reliability are very important. They are very good for deployment and management with automation tools.

Due to their price, they are not the best fit for small companies that have only a handful of switches and no need for automation. They are not the right solution for datacenters (there the Cisco Nexus family should be the product of choice) due to the offered bandwidth that's targeted at the office location.
Read Christoph Neulinger's full review
Alejandro Araya profile photo
May 02, 2019

Review: Cisco Catalyst 9300 is the best!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using them as access switches for branch and campus network environments. They provide us with a better experience in the provisioning and management of our network at an affordable price. The Catalyst 9000 family provides enterprise-class strength to keep our business running smoothly. This family of products provides advanced security features that protect the integrity of the hardware, as well as the software and all the data that flows through the switch and the network. You can choose different models and features that can be adapted to your business.
  • Stability of the connection between the regions and campus.
  • They support the industry’s highest density 802.11ac Wave 2 deployments with Cisco Multigigabit Technology.
  • This allows us to auto-provision end-user computers, phones, and access points without an engineer having to touch each switch to ensure proper VLANs and QoS are set up.
  • Leadtimes are often quite long.
  • Strong security, advanced QoS, comprehensive IPv6 support, Layer 3 static routing, and true stacking.
  • The hardware is reasonably priced, however, the licenses can be a surprise on the initial investment budget.
In our organization, we're utilizing virtualization on Cisco's ENCS platform and the hypervisor platform is always accompanied by a Catalyst Switch stack due to the limited number of physical interfaces on the ENCS hardware.
Read Alejandro Araya's full review
No photo available
August 13, 2019

Cisco Catalyst provides a longterm stable network fabric for enterprise infrastructures.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Catalyst 3850/9300. It provides a stable fabric for our internal network infrastructure. We always install these devices as switch stacks to ensure full redundancy on both power and the dataplane. The switch stacks can always be expanded with more interfaces as the installation grows. This can even be achieved without service windows and zero network outage.
  • The device profile can be modified by installed a new license, e.g. introducing new routing protocols and advanced features.
  • Features such as stackwise and power stacking makes the devices very modular and customizable.
  • Hardware is very mature and provides years of stable operation.
  • Software is constantly updated and supported.
  • The hardware is reasonably priced, however the licenses can be a surprise on the initial investment budget.
  • Leadtimes are often quite long.
  • Global list prices seems inflated and unrealistic.

Cisco is very capable of long term stable enterprise operation. Combined with Cisco's Smart Net Total Care its a very capable setup, which can be back fully operational within hours, in case of a major breakdown.

Due to the price, most of the Cisco Catalyst Switches aren't relevant for consumer installations in private homes.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 16, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Switches

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them as our access layer switches. Providing multi-gig connectivity to our Meraki access points. We also like the fact that they can run containers, this is a new feature we are being exposed to, so we are still testing this new feature.
  • Routing and Switching
  • Multi Gigabit
  • Run Containers
  • None at this time
  • The switch itself is quite long. Was not able to fit it in some of our cabinets. We need the 9200 for those locations.
The 9300 is well suited for the access layer. I would not recommended them for the core as they are not designed for this use case. These switches can handle A LOT of traffic. Another really cool feature we are testing out is the ability to run containers directly on the switch.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 29, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are primarily utilized for the user access level. We use stand-alone switches at small sites and stacks in some slightly larger where a chassis would not be best. We also utilize the mGig line for 3800 and 4800 series APs.
  • Throughput.
  • Stacking.
  • Programmability.
  • mGig.
  • Buggy IOS sometimes (still new).
  • Overpowered for small businesses.
  • Licensing limitations ($$).
The Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are great for small-to-medium sites of a large business with higher data throughput. The mGig, in particular, is great for splitting off higher-end APs in your infrastructure that requires those high POE, 5G ports.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 14, 2019

Cisco Cat 9300 review - My favorite new switch

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as access switches in the Enterprise network. Feature rich platform which helps with QoS deployments, supports ETA and is supported by Cisco DNA-C.
  • QoS
  • ETA
  • Cisco DNA-C support
  • Documentation of bugs
  • ASIC documentation
  • Upgrade cycles
Best suited for access layer functions. Also good to use as L3 devices for small remote sites as they do support a full stack of L3 features. Less appropriate as a core switch for a large-sized network.
Read this authenticated review
Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero profile photo
February 05, 2019

Solutions for a new era of intent-based networking.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using them as access switches for branch and campus environments. They give us better experience provisioning and managing our network at an affordable price. The Catalyst 9000 family provides enterprise-level resiliency to keep our business up and running seamlessly. They give access to Cisco’s best in class security portfolio anchored by Talos, Encrypted Traffic Analytics, Trustworthy Solutions, MACsec encryption and segmentation. This product family provides advanced security features that protect the integrity of the hardware as well as the software and all data that flows through the switch and the network.
  • One network, one OS, wired and wireless. The convergence is seamless with the Cisco Catalyst 9000 portfolio.
  • Policies are applied consistently for security, automation, and assurance, while segmentation separates devices and users to help reduce the attack surface.
  • They support the industry’s highest density 802.11ac Wave 2 deployments with Cisco Multigigabit Technology
  • It lacks a controller with integrated visibility between Cisco DNA and Cisco ACI
  • They can be expensive for certain customers
  • The installed base is still not very high
Cisco Catalyst Switches are well suited for business-critical branch and campus environments where scale and an extra degree of security, resiliency and programmability are needed, They can handle the scale of the Internet of Things, where easy segmentation of the network through network virtualization will be the key to automate and secure the onboarding and access of IoT devices. They are less appropriate for data center environments.
Read Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero's full review
Aleksander Ostoja profile photo
February 06, 2019

Cisco Switches - Great for Enterprise Networking

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I can't imagine any LAN without Cisco Switches. They are as essential as anything else that you need to set up a LAN network. I never had any huge problems using this platform, and they can actually work forever without breaking. You can select from multiple models and features that can suit your business.
  • Switching
  • Routing
  • Operation
  • No complaints at this time.
They are suited for every LAN design due to the large selection of models.
Read Aleksander Ostoja's full review
Justin McDermott profile photo
January 12, 2019

Cisco 9000 series

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the 9000 series for ACI and SDN. That forms our core network.
  • SDN for the 9000 series.
  • Large administration base
  • Industry standard
  • Needs more constant innovation
  • Cost
With the 9000 series the SDN possibility is endless.
Read Justin McDermott's full review
No photo available
February 05, 2019

"My Review of Cisco Switches"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To split the charge between the regions, and help in the stability of connections. In our case we use it to split the deploy and user charges around the world, actually when we count to go in production with the new game, we try to use this type of switch. It helps us to define with monitoring tools (Orion the charge).
  • Stability of the connection between the regions.
  • It is used in the majority of the organization across multiple locations.
  • This allows us to auto-provision end-user computers, phones, and access points without an engineer having to touch each switch to ensure proper VLANs and QoS are set up.
  • We use it more for our own cloud platform and it works great.
  • Ability to do routing network packets.
  • Servers, printer and PCs have been able to connect to the each other via the Cisco Switch.
  • The price a little bit high.
  • Strong security, advanced QoS, comprehensive IPv6 support, Layer 3 static routing, and true stacking.
We also use the Cisco switch to configure access control policies for strong security, advanced QoS, comprehensive IPv6 support, Layer 3 static routing, and true stacking. It will be nice to have only one OID system and not one different architecture of DOC for each of switches. We pay a lot, we get a lot. I guess the price is ok, but we have a lot of reduction
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 08, 2019

Fair and honest

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They are our primary access layer switch. We use them in our distribution centers and our office buildings. We have anywhere from a single switch in some locations to stacks of up to 6 in a single node. They very effectively give us the ports needed to get our users on the network and operating.
  • They are port dense enough to allow us to deploy an easy to manage number of devices while still meeting the needs of the building.
  • Easy to manage. The Catalyst switch and the IOS software inside have been great. We have hit a few small bugs and issues in the software but a quick update later they are running strong.
  • The hardware is very stable. I have only had one or two switches that had hardware issues in the 17+ years of using all kinds of different models. I cannot say that about all networking gear.
  • Power supplies, I have had many power supplies go bad over the years. They are hot swap-able (if you have the redundant power or power stack) and easily replaced but there have been a lot of bad ones.
  • Power over ethernet has been an issue a couple of times. Since I use these as access layer I have lots of utilization via phones, laptops, cameras, other devices. I have ran into power issues where I was consuming more POE than the switch could handle several times.
If you are a Cisco shop and have the full stack of Cisco gear then Catalyst makes sense. Even if you're a multi-vendor shop these could still be the right choice depending on your specific need. I would say that if all you need is ports and nothing else then I would actually start looking at Meraki switches. They are more cost-effective for just a port but you lose many additional features that may be needed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Next Gen Catalyst Good choices

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Catalyst Switches for both access and a collapsed core solution. I find the 3850 product to be a great option for just about anything access-related. We're currently using both the 9300 and 3850 series switches as classroom access solutions. We're using them mostly for our students to connect back into our private cloud solution. They work great for this.
  • They're dependable, I've been working with a wide variety of Catalyst Switches, specifically 3750 and 3850 series for 8+ years. Only once have I encountered an issue with the hardware.
  • Layer 2 Access control, as well as the ability to handle closet routing, should the need arise. The versatility of this line of Switches is outstanding. From POE to VoIP solutions the 3850 line provides it all.
  • The new generation of 9300 and 9500 Switches promise much much more, we've only been using them for a few months in-house and have yet to implement the SDA architecture. However the North and South bound API'S included with this OS are very robust and pretty awesome.
  • The CLI is a bit of a legacy. Maybe a revamp of this portion.
  • More robust out of the gate routing capabilities. Stop license gating features. For the 3850 series perhaps adding a more robust API as well.
The 9300, 3850 and 3750 series switches all excel at edge switches. Living in a closet that has minimal air flow or temperature control is where these switches excel hardware wise. The low and relatively quiet operation is excellent, the StackWise capability is also a great option and improves the overall flexibility of these catalyst switches.
Also, the remote management capabilities of both the 9300 and 3850 when coupled with ISE or even the new SDA Architecture further enhances the feature-rich access switch that is the Catalyst series.

Where these switches in my opinion have no place is the data center, their latency tolerances are to low, buffers to small, and layer 3 capabilities to lacking with out substantial licenses. Because of this they also have limited use cases inside of a core solution, the 4500 series and the 9500 series are where i would look for the needs of a core solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 14, 2019

Cisco Catalyst Switches as foundation of our network

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them in each part of our business: offices, manufacturing, and Nexus for Data Center. The Catalyst Switches are reliable, easy to configure and provide all the features our business requires: high-speed switching, QoS, Multi-Chassis Eth-Channel and many others.
  • QoS
  • Low latency
  • Reliability
  • Resiliency
  • Programmability
Cisco Catalyst Switches perform well in all scenarios of our business. We use them for office connectivity, as an aggregation for wireless, in manufacturing sites, and as out of band switches in Data Centers. Cisco Catalyst Switches are very reliable, fast with a lot of features, and secure. Even if there may be bugs on new code, Cisco will promptly solve them.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 09, 2019

Cisco Catalyst is a pretty solid choice, but is it the only one?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are trying to follow the hardware refresh policy that Cisco is somehow enforcing. So every, 4-5 years, we change all the catalysts in the entire organization. At the moment we have mostly 3850 and just started the installation process of the new 9300. As access layer switches we use them to connect users.
  • Stacking is quite good and starting with the 3850 the connections at 480Gbs. In INSTALL mode, with a couple of commands, you can upgrade the entire stack.
  • Port security is quite easy and customizable. Together with DHCP snooping and dynamic ARP inspection, you can guarantee a good level of security
  • Usually they are pretty stable if they are running a basic configuration. We haven't have any hardware issues with 3850 in years.
  • Bugs. Cisco (but also other vendors) is not exempt from bugs. Sometimes they can be quite frustrating, and also create serious issues to users
  • The price is still too high, even if the new 9300 has the same price as the 3850. With 3850, to get to the L3 license from the L2, the price is just ridiculous
  • Sometimes waiting 6 weeks for a switch is too much. They can definitely improve the shipment time.
In a Cisco environment, buying access switches of the same vendor is almost a must, but sometimes it could be also a good idea not be locked with one vendor only. This really depends on the company and the environment.
In general, access switches are a good fit to connect users and it's not suggested to used them for servers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 04, 2018

Cisco Switches are a Must for any Enterprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Cisco exclusively for our routing, switching, and WiFi. We have limited use of 2960-series, but have a large deployment of 3560, 3650, 3750, 3850, 4500/E, 6500/E - and are now installing the 9300, 9400, and 9500 series switches. The 9000-series come in so many different varieties they can fill any need for access, distribution, core; from small sites to large hospitals. In addition, the mGig switches provide the 5Gig connection to the Cisco 3800 APs for increased throughput. These 9000-series are so physically advanced, the software is still catching up to what all they do!
  • Access
  • Distribution
  • Core
  • High throughout, low latency
  • N/A
They are excellent for our smaller doctor offices with just a single 48-port switch, though larger chassis access and distributions in a 12+ story hospital or office building. While overkill for a single person working from home, the smaller 8- and 12-port 3560cx are great for "temporary" installations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2019

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Catalyst switches in access, core and distribution infrastructures, whether simple or complex environments
  • Easy configuration
  • Compatibility
  • Price
  • I have no major concerns or improvements to suggest at this time.
With the wide portfolio that exists, we can use catalyst switches in any environment. Maybe in SB environments it is better to use SG300 / 500
Read this authenticated review
Ryan Steele profile photo
June 26, 2018

Catalyst for intent based networking

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Catalyst switches in our access layer. They provide a great balance of performance and cost. They come in a variety of models with different features. They have modular power supplies and modules. This ensures they provide the roustabout redundancy we need. With IoT and other technologies, these switches ensure that we can keep up with the needs of the business. Whether it's from a user or security perspective the catalyst switches have us covered.
  • Security features
  • Ability to adapt to new needs (through Hardware ASICs and software)
  • Catalyst support is best of breed
  • Modular design to grow with the need
  • TCO
  • Boot times
  • Licensing
When you need the features and ability to grow into switches then Catalyst is a great option. If you're worried about security and the ability to secure your infrastructure then Catalyst is a great option.

If you're looking for an inexpensive switch the Catalyst is not for you. If your looking for a data center switch then Catalyst is not for you.
Read Ryan Steele's full review
Brandon Hudson profile photo
June 14, 2018

Catalyst-astic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Catalyst Switches for multiple applications within multiple layers. They provide us dependable port connectivity as well as additional functionality such as 802.1x.
  • LAN switching
  • Voice segmentation
  • Routing and MPLS tagging
  • Port aggregation
  • Per port costs are higher than other vendors, even though those vendors do not provide as much out of their switches, the number is a selling obstacle
I cannot think of any area where Cisco Catalyst is not well suited.
Read Brandon Hudson's full review
Mark Ciecior profile photo
June 11, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Financial institutions are very interested in the Encrypted Traffic Analytics feature, specifically the ability to do a crypto audit with StealthWatch to meet their regulatory requirements.
  • 1X integration with ISE
  • API access, with Python bindings
  • The guest shell allows customers to do almost anything they need with these switches.
  • Cost
  • Some of the default settings are ridiculous. I always update the log and debug settings to include the timestamp, and auto secure is a must. Why shouldn't these be defaults?
  • The LAN Lite image is useless, I have no reason to sell such a limited switch.
Customers that want detailed logging and insight into their environment are well-suited to Catalyst switches. Small businesses that just want PoE have no interest in such expensive gear. The SMB line is very difficult to manage.
Read Mark Ciecior's full review
No photo available
June 15, 2018

Catalyst Switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Catalyst Switches for all edge connections on the CU Boulder campus.
  • CDP neighbor protocol is convenient
  • Cisco IOS is easy to use and consistent between models
  • Great for serving numerous 1G connections
  • We have had some issues with the 715w power supplies failing
  • We sometimes have issues with the switch denying PoE but a reload usually resolves this (c3750x)
  • Switches take a long time to boot up, sometimes up to 15mins
  • Can only power stack 4 switches
Catalyst Switches are best for enterprise deployments where many connections are being served and they can make the best use of the StackWise 480 technology. They are less well suited to small deployments (less than 24 connections).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

Our Legacy Hardware that just keeps on ticking.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've use Cisco Catalyst as both access switches and aggregation routers. For the most part we've moved away from them, but they still exist in our legacy environments. It provided a relatively easy and reliable way of connecting our servers together. Even comparing them to the new fabricpath environments that we've stood up, the Catalysts seem to be very reliable.
  • If you need a solid switch, Cisco Catalysts tend to be very stable.
  • I've mostly worked with legacy Catalyst switches and in those cases their are some speed/distribution limitations in comparison, but not everyone needs to go through the expense of setting up a fabricpath (spine and leaf) environment.
The Catalysts we have, have been extremely stable with some devices having more than 10 years of up time. They're fairly problem free, except for the occasional line card dying but we haven't had a ton of them. In fact we've had numerous hardware issues with the Nexus line, but hardly any with the Catalyst line.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9300 series of stackable LAN switches.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No