Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Reviews

44 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Alejandro Araya | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Review: Cisco Catalyst 9300 is the best!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have not done anything more than testing on the 9300 or 9500 Switches. We have done some API through the IOS itself but have not integrated it with the more powerful solutions (DNA Center, ISE, and Stealthwatch). We do have them in-house and in the near future (January 2019) we will be implementing a full SDA solution. Once this is completed I will be excited to see how far the automation and other features included in this package reveals.
Read Alejandro Araya's full review
Roger Qian | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

My First Taste of Catalyst 9300 Series Switches

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Catalyst 3850 switch is pretty solid and stable in our production environment. They have delivered all features we were looking for while purchasing the switches in a few years ago. Since it has been for five years in use, Cisco just released Catalyst 9300 as the new generation Catalyst switch, plus with SDA capability. Catalyst 9300 will be the major switch product to serve our campus network.
Read Roger Qian's full review
Artur Rutkowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

An overall good switch for versatile use cases

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have and use all of the mentioned devices, but each device has its role in the company. When we don't need as much "power" we use the 9200 series when we need a bit more "power" we use the 9500 series, but overall the 9300 series is the most versatile solution. It's a worthy successor of 3650 series.
Read Artur Rutkowski's full review
Jesse Myhre | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Catalyst 9300 first impressions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have only really used Cisco Catalyst Switches and haven't used any others because of the ease of use and great support that we get from Cisco. Over the years we have had older Catalyst Switches run for years with no issues or downtime so the choice to stick with Cisco with our network refresh was easy.
Read Jesse Myhre's full review
SURESH GADDE | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

9300 series switches

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

At one point during the purchasing process, we had to work with Arista to get their cost structure for these kinds of switches. They offered switches at a much lower cost compared to Cisco, but we backed out at the last minute, looking at the benefits with the Cisco Catalyst switches, even though they are little more cost to the company.
Read SURESH GADDE's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

Cisco Catalyst provides a longterm stable network fabric for enterprise infrastructures.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have a few HP Procurve switches which have a very similar CLI interface. They are ok and still in production, but in our experience it’s much easier to find support online due to the volume of Catalyst switches utilized in the green energy business
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Switches

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are moving off 3650s and 3750s. We like that these new 9300s can run containers and handle multi-gig traffic for our Meraki access points. Looking forward to trying this out. These are also compatible with Cisco's automation and centrally manage platform, DNA center.
Read this authenticated review
Christoph Neulinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2019

Evolving our Office LAN with the next evolution of Cisco Catalyst switches.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As we have only Cisco Switches in our office and data center networks, the probability of choosing switches from another vendor was very low. As the experience with the Cat 3750 we used before in our office environment was good and our network administrators have a good knowledge in operating Cisco devices without it, it was an easy decision.
Read Christoph Neulinger's full review
Justin McDermott | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2019

Cisco 9000 series

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The 9300 is really only comparable to the new Aruba 8400. The size and soft cost of going with 2 networking vendors Ifwas not worth the savings in dollars. Maybe if you were an HPE shop and had a Cisco core switch, this would make sense for the same reasons we chose Cisco.
Read Justin McDermott's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Fair and honest

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I would call this a tie. If you only need a port for a user to plug in and nothing else on the switch then I think Meraki wins. If you need a port for a user but run a few other things on the switch like maybe EIGRP, or you want automation in the background, then Catalyst wins. On a purely cost basis Meraki wins as the cheaper option although the new 9300's are going to be a lot more comparable and may take this out of the concerns.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are primarily a Cisco shop. We occasionally compare with other vendors but have found no compelling reasons to change. Cisco routinely leads the way in new developments, customer support, and maintains the concept of separate ASICs for functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

Cisco Catalyst Switches as foundation of our network

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Without switches to connect the other services or devices, there would be no network. Cisco Catalyst Switches and Cisco Nexus Switches are the foundation of our network
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Cisco Catalyst is a pretty solid choice, but is it the only one?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco is a major player out there, and they invest a lot in research. You cannot go wrong with Cisco, but keep your eyes open for other possibilities. We are evaluating other vendors to see if we can improve our network and suffer less vendor lockdown.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2018

Catalyst Switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We currently use Arista switches for our research network as they had more 10G capability in the past but they are considerably more expensive and the new 9300 series is being considered to replace them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

Our Legacy Hardware that just keeps on ticking.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had selected them prior to my arrival at this company and have since begun implementing Nexus Fabric Path. Unfortunately the Nexus equipment seems to be much less stable, but there's already been a monetary commitment to upgrading, and so we're moving forward with that. We've also worked on implementing ACI in a few environments which has also not really turned out to be quite as stable as the Catalyst gear that we had in the past.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9300 series of stackable LAN switches.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No