Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
65 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 18, 2020
Kurt Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Creating the various purpose-specific VLAN's on each floor on the switch stacks is fairly straight-forward, and easy to expand to new floors. It makes scaling a very straight-forward affair, with nothing unpredictable. It also makes integrating these various VLAN's into our Palo Alto firewall's security zones very simple. Everything just works. ISE allows us to enforce user-level access as well, something which we certainly could not do on our aging HP ProCurve switches.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
December 15, 2020
Josh Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We use these as the core of our virtual networks and it functions well as this. We are also able to use VLCs to be able to make everything redundant. It saves time because we can centrally manage them and copy paste the configs whenever we need to add more of these into the rack.
Read Josh Norris's full review
December 04, 2020
John Castillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

These switches combined with Cisco DNA, Prime, and ISE can lead to some serious automation that can really simplify deployment long term; however, the initial setup would be very complex, time consuming, and require a great deal of expertise. We will not be implementing these initially. We do have Prime and ISE, which are key components, so we will be looking into this in the near future.
Read John Castillo's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

In order to use all those recent features, you need to setup a DNA Center.
First of all this is quite costly. And when I saw a demo I was quite impress by what can be done with those new automation features.
But at the end of the day, it's consuming a lot of time to setup this DNA infra and the ROI is not so interesting to me.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

In order to use this features, a DNA server controllers are needed. To use Analytics you only need one, to perform automation and such tasks you need 3. While in demo and theory this is great! The setup time needed for the controllers is long, the return on layer 2 switch is low, as you mostly used for mgmt or very smaller scale traffic. if you plaining to do 200 switch deployment then DNA servers/services is the way to go, but for smaller deployments, unless analytics is a must, I would say invest time to setup 1 controller. If you dont need any of this then I say skip it.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

At this point in time, our organization has not had the time to move into the realm of automation. It is something that we are interested in and we know that our current infrastructure running Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches can support. We hope to begin moving in this direction.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Integration with DNAC gives you great visibility and security and makes it easy to manage entire sites and unify policy across the board. It also makes the management and upgrades of the appliance simple and easier to manage across large organizations. There is a significant improvement across the board from its predecessor, the 3850.
Read this authenticated review
September 08, 2020
Lawrence Mashimbye | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Cisco software-defined access makes it easier to roll out the new campus Catalyst 9300 Series Switches through DNA center and that saves a lot of time in configuration.
Read Lawrence Mashimbye's full review
August 05, 2020
Alejandro Araya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Se han logrado muchos beneficios al incorporar los interruptores de las series 9300 o 9500. Hemos creado algunas API a través del mismo IOS, pero no lo hemos integrado con las soluciones más potentes (DNA Center, ISE y Stealthwatch). Los tenemos internamente y en el futuro cercano (enero de 2019) implementaremos una solución SDA completa. Una vez que esto se complete, me encantará ver cuánta automatización y otras características incluidas en este paquete se revelan.
Read Alejandro Araya's full review
June 14, 2019
Roger Qian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Automation is a pretty new technology. To be frank, most of the users including my company are still in the lab or proof of concept stage at this moment. It will take for a while for us to absorb and test how the product can do and then migrate into the production environment eventually. This will mean a whole infrastructure change and will also impact the business flow.
Read Roger Qian's full review
September 26, 2019
Artur Rutkowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Our organization doesn't use these features yet, but we will probably use them in the near future, therefore Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches were the best possible choice for a modern company.
Read Artur Rutkowski's full review
June 14, 2019
Jesse Myhre | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

So far our organization has only used the basic features of the Catalyst 9300 but have plans to implement more of their capabilities in the feature when we get more of them installed and become more comfortable using them. We are soon to use AAA and 802.1x and am looking forward to using DNA center to help automate their configurations.
Read Jesse Myhre's full review
June 11, 2019
Elden Torres | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

The Cisco bug CSCvi49725 C9300: Group of 4 ports stopped forwarding traffic, did not have any time saving, and caused a bad perception of an otherwise good product.

Read Elden Torres's full review
May 07, 2019
Christoph Neulinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

With the automation, we are just at the beginning, but the selection of the switches was done to have the option to increase the automation part on the office network for day 0 deployment, change and troubleshooting.
We don't use the possibilities that come with DNA at the moment as the cost for DNA is very high and the IT budget, unfortunately, is very limited. We see the potential and might migrate to a DNA solution later.
Read Christoph Neulinger's full review
August 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

In our organization we're utilizing virtualization on Cisco's ENCS platform and the hypervisor platform is always accompanied by a Catalyst Switch stack, due to the limited number of physical interfaces on the ENCS hardware. We did however upgrade to the Catalyst 9300 due to its DNA center support, which we will implement next year.
Read this authenticated review
July 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We are not yet using these capabilities yet. We manage them individually over SSH still. We are testing a few of them using Cisco DNA center.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We have not started to use them yet, but we certainly like that these features have been added to the Catalyst products, and we plan to use them in the near future to automate some of our daily configuration tasks, etc. They are of great benifit to the network administrators and DevOps engineers.
Read this authenticated review
June 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Yes, benefited from the PnP feature for 0-touch provisioning.
Also benefited from the QoS policy feature in DNA-C for supported devices.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2019
Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Our products and services can be customized, ordered and delivered at the click of a button using web-based applications. Business data can be acquired, analyzed and exchanged in near-real time. Geographic boundaries between businesses and consumers are diminishing. And the network is at the center of communication to and between the applications driving the digital economy.
Read Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero's full review
June 26, 2018
Ryan Steele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We will start to use these features with the roll out of Cisco DNS Center that will work with the catalyst switches. The virtualization technology in the switch is a new concept for us. I think we will start to leverage that in the near future. We should start to see improvements in efficiencies with these new switches.
Read Ryan Steele's full review
June 14, 2018
Brandon Hudson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

Combined with ISE we have been able to implement secure connectivity throughout our network.
Read Brandon Hudson's full review
June 11, 2018
Mark Ciecior | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

The single most useful feature in the new automation abilities is being able to run packet captures directly on an access switch. This saves minutes if not hours each time a capture needs to be set up.
Read Mark Ciecior's full review
January 08, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

I have not been able to utilize the automation features yet. We are still maturing that direction but I have not been able to partake just yet. Its on the road map for the next year or two.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Benefits

We are still setting up the DNA Center, so we haven't really started with programmability yet. But the added assurance and visibility has been eye-opening on what we've been missing.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

The Catalyst 9300 Series is described by Cisco as the next generation of the industry's most widely deployed stackable switching platform, recognized as CRN's 2018 Overall Network Product of the Year. And for security, IoT, and the cloud, these switches form the foundation of Cisco Software-Defined Access, their enterprise architecture solution.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Competitors

HPE Networking Switches, Dell PowerConnect Switches, Ruckus ICX Switches (formerly Brocade ICX Switches)

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9300 series of stackable LAN switches.

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.9.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.