Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
65 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 18, 2020
Kurt Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Managing the switches is very simple and done exclusively through SSH (We use Putty). Our network team was able to get setup our multi-floor network very easily, and once the first floor was built, adding the next three was very simple, once the framework was in place. Our network team loves them, and so does the rest of IT. We have a small team, and these switches are easy to manage.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
December 15, 2020
Josh Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We use some of the advanced customization and manageability. We use it to add our own vlans for each port and to route traffic between networks. We do not customize any user interface or anything like that though. We also use different SNMP traps and monitor the netflow usage on them.
Read Josh Norris's full review
December 04, 2020
John Castillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Similar to the deployment benefits the advanced customization and manageability, they have some complexity to set up and we have not decided to implement at this time. We will look into it in the near future.
Read John Castillo's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

I think the 9300 series is definitely the nice successor of the 3850 series.
It's a robust and efficient switch that you can use for different scenarios (core , distribution, access switches).
You can stack them the same way it used to be with 3850 (meaning stack and stack power) which is very good for redundancy purpose.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We have tried using DNA servers in demo environment to control and automate some of the tasks of the switches needed, but did not find much benefit in our environment, and with a relatively low switch count, opted out of using it and instead use our standard way to automate tasks on the switches using Orion and such...
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We use the Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches in the same way that we used its predecessor, the Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches. I know that you can do some additional manageability via Cisco DNA Center which we are currently not using.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We have utilized DNA Center to take advantage of the new cutting-edge features available in the Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches: enhanced mobility and wireless integration, management, and monitoring of the Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches, standardization of firmware and policies across the organization, PoE enhancements for integration with building management, and easy onboarding of new devices. This has saved us a ton of effort and cost in management.
Read this authenticated review
September 08, 2020
Lawrence Mashimbye | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are easier to manage and bring a lot of benefits to the network including virtualization, automation, and storage.
Read Lawrence Mashimbye's full review
August 05, 2020
Alejandro Araya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Esperamos aprovechar al máximo la capacidad de administración de los switches Catalyst 9300, durante 2019 cuando implementemos nuestro centro de ADN. Esto mejorará en gran medida nuestras capacidades de gestión central y orquestación. Hasta entonces, seguimos administrando nuestra infraestructura de la manera tradicional, que puede ser bastante tediosa y lenta.
Read Alejandro Araya's full review
June 14, 2019
Roger Qian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

As stated previously, we are still in early stage. But we have purchased 70 Catalyst 9300 switches to replace the existing. However, we will deploy them in legacy mode. Therefore, I do not have much comments on this, but through the lab testing and the proof of concept project, we will eventually enable these advanced features into the production environment when the time comes.
Read Roger Qian's full review
September 26, 2019
Artur Rutkowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

For now, we manage our hardware in classical way, but in the future, we plan to manage it in a modern more advanced way, therefore, Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are the best choice for our growing company.
Read Artur Rutkowski's full review
June 14, 2019
Jesse Myhre | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We are still using the basics for customization and manageability but are looking forward to the more advanced features that they are capable of. I will update my review when we have used more of the features.
Read Jesse Myhre's full review
June 11, 2019
Elden Torres | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

The customization and other capabilities were hindered from troubleshooting and patching the Cisco Bug CSCvi49725 C9300. Manageability of more than 100 9300 switches by Cisco Prime Infrastructure is a benefit.
Read Elden Torres's full review
May 07, 2019
Christoph Neulinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

In way of customization, what changed between the old and the new Cisco office LAN switches for us is that we no longer have uplink port on all members of a stack but only on two of the stack switches. Before, we only used the uplink of two of the stack switches but had unused uplink ports on all of the other stack members.
Read Christoph Neulinger's full review
August 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We expect to take full advantage of the manageability of the Catalyst 9300 switches, during 2019 when we implement our DNA center. This will greatly improve our central management and orchestration capabilities. Until then we're still managing our infrastructure the good old way, which can be quite tedious and time consuming.
Read this authenticated review
July 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We are not yet using these capabilities yet. We manage them individually over SSH still. We are testing a few of these with Cisco's new DNA center platform with the hopes of centrally managing all of our switches.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We are planning to use DNA functionality. We have purchased the product and started to integrate these 9300 catalyst switches to the DNA center so that we can start managing them through that. We would like to leverage the DNA tools to troubleshoot network level issues and get to the root cause analysis as soon as possible to meet the SLA expectation of the customer.
Read this authenticated review
June 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Stacking multiple switches into one logical switch has its benefits. Management is easy since you only manage using 1 management IP.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2019
Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We used simplified automation and assurance: goal-based policies are created once centrally, applied network-wide. No more constant cutting, pasting and tweaking device by device is needed for our network administrators. They create once, apply network-wide using cross-domain policy enforcement and automation. The Catalyst 9000 family also offers multiple programmability options to further simplify configuration and adapt to changes.
Read Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero's full review
June 26, 2018
Ryan Steele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We have not done anything with customization on the switches. We are going to start to leverage the new management features with DNA Center.
Read Ryan Steele's full review
June 11, 2018
Mark Ciecior | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Most organizations don't have the personnel or drive to build a custom management platform. Despite the open nature of these switches, a Cisco-branded management platform will be looked at first before anything built in-house.
Read Mark Ciecior's full review
January 08, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Like the automation features I have not been able to utilize this yet.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

  • Perpetual POE - keeps phones and APs powered up while the switch reboots (such as for an upgrade).
  • High/Low priority POE ports - specifying which ports to maintain during limited power losses.
  • Stacking - improved functions. For example, so long as one switch is fully up and in control, the ports of other stack switches will come online BEFORE those other switches even finish booting.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

The Catalyst 9300 Series is described by Cisco as the next generation of the industry's most widely deployed stackable switching platform, recognized as CRN's 2018 Overall Network Product of the Year. And for security, IoT, and the cloud, these switches form the foundation of Cisco Software-Defined Access, their enterprise architecture solution.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Competitors

HPE Networking Switches, Dell PowerConnect Switches, Ruckus ICX Switches (formerly Brocade ICX Switches)

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9300 series of stackable LAN switches.

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.9.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.