Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
65 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 18, 2020
Kurt Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reliable, effective switching. You set it up, and it just works.
  • High uptime. We've never had a 9300 go down. Not once. We've had individual PSU's die, but they are all interconnected, so one or two failed PSU's in our typical stack per floor (6x 9300-48P's), really has no impact.
  • Timely firmware updates. Cisco updates firmware in a timely fashion. You pay for it, certainly, but expedient firmware updates, especially when dealing with vulnerability mitigation, is absolutely critical for an Enterprise-grade switch.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
December 04, 2020
John Castillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The introduction to our sites of Wifi is a great return
  • The length of time these switches will last with support is important
  • We have had to buy new racks in smaller IDFs, which increased our cost
Read John Castillo's full review
November 10, 2020
Aaron DeFrates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Have had the ability to use switches well after lease expiration and continue to function no issues.
  • Rare that any technical support is ever needed.
Read Aaron DeFrates's full review
August 05, 2020
Alejandro Araya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I like the way Catalyst implements VLANs; very easy and straightforward.
  • The flexibility of the modules that can be added to the Catalyst switches of the 9300, 9500 (line cards) and 3850 series is impressive. These switches are capable of speeds of 10/25/40/100 GB, which means that instead of replacing a switch, simply update the module. This has saved and helped us tens of thousands of times in recent years.
  • The reliability and great technical support substantially cut down on the amount of attention these switches require. Often we find our selves forgetting the switches are even there because they "just work". Dependability like that is in my opinion priceless.
Read Alejandro Araya's full review
June 14, 2019
Roger Qian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The list price of the switch is almost equivalent to the cost for the previous Catalyst Switch models, which is good for the business financial plan.
  • The dedicated management switch port is much easier for out-of-band management purposes.
  • Catalyst 9300 is not compatible with the old switch model, which is a bit challenging for migration in some situations.
Read Roger Qian's full review
June 14, 2019
Jesse Myhre | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved time - took less then half the time to update and configure before sending out.
  • Improved security - supports SSH. Also AAA which can be leveraged for device login and 802.1x for better security controls.
  • Saved Money.
Read Jesse Myhre's full review
May 07, 2019
Christoph Neulinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Ease of deployment.
  • Enhanced PoE compared to the old office switches.
  • No need for careful selection of PoE devices depending on their power requirement due to power stack.
Read Christoph Neulinger's full review
August 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The Clock Signal Component Issue had a negative impact on our ROI. However this was mainly an issue with our Cisco routers and firewalls.
  • The Catalyst 3850 had some issues with keeping persistent OID values. E.g. we were monitoring the power supply status on a 3850 stack, but the targeted OID values kept changing every time the stack was reloaded. There was no fix addressing this issue.
  • We had a container on a remote site where the AC had failed. The temperature went above 70 degrees Celsius and the equipment managed to still switch packages. Which was quite impressive, although the expected lifespand of the switches may have been reduced due to internal components overheating.
Read this authenticated review
July 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our Cisco switches generally have good ROI since we run them for 8-10 years.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The price point is high.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2019
Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We obtained twice the port density at a lower cost.
  • Reduce our operating costs via accelerating changes with programmability.
  • Cisco DNA Premier, Advantage and Essentials subscription-based software licensing lets us purchase the features and capabilities we need.
Read Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero's full review
June 26, 2018
Ryan Steele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our budget ask is larger because of the costs associated with purchasing catalyst switches
  • We don't have many hardware issues because we use catalyst switches
Read Ryan Steele's full review
June 14, 2018
Brandon Hudson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reliability has limited outage costs
  • Ease of deployment has prevented large acquisition costs
  • Ability to stack has reduced the demand for larger modular switches
Read Brandon Hudson's full review
June 11, 2018
Mark Ciecior | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The insight gained into the access layer has finally provided some return on my IT investment.
  • Customers who have used Avaya or Extreme switches for a while, and are ok with the limited feature set, rarely see the ROI in Catalyst switches.
Read Mark Ciecior's full review

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

The Catalyst 9300 Series is described by Cisco as the next generation of the industry's most widely deployed stackable switching platform, recognized as CRN's 2018 Overall Network Product of the Year. And for security, IoT, and the cloud, these switches form the foundation of Cisco Software-Defined Access, their enterprise architecture solution.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Competitors

HPE Networking Switches, Dell PowerConnect Switches, Ruckus ICX Switches (formerly Brocade ICX Switches)

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9300 series of stackable LAN switches.

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.9.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.