Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Reviews

44 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Alejandro Araya | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Review: Cisco Catalyst 9300 is the best!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I like the way Catalyst implements VLANs; very easy and straightforward.
  • The flexibility of the modules that can be added to the Catalyst switches of the 9300, 9500 (line cards) and 3850 series is impressive. These switches are capable of speeds of 10/25/40/100 GB, which means that instead of replacing a switch, simply update the module. This has saved and helped us tens of thousands of times in recent years.
  • The reliability and great technical support substantially cut down on the amount of attention these switches require. Often we find our selves forgetting the switches are even there because they "just work". Dependability like that is in my opinion priceless.
Read Alejandro Araya's full review
Roger Qian | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

My First Taste of Catalyst 9300 Series Switches

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The list price of the switch is almost equivalent to the cost for the previous Catalyst Switch models, which is good for the business financial plan.
  • The dedicated management switch port is much easier for out-of-band management purposes.
  • Catalyst 9300 is not compatible with the old switch model, which is a bit challenging for migration in some situations.
Read Roger Qian's full review
Jesse Myhre | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Catalyst 9300 first impressions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved time - took less then half the time to update and configure before sending out.
  • Improved security - supports SSH. Also AAA which can be leveraged for device login and 802.1x for better security controls.
  • Saved Money.
Read Jesse Myhre's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

Cisco Catalyst provides a longterm stable network fabric for enterprise infrastructures.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The Clock Signal Component Issue had a negative impact on our ROI. However this was mainly an issue with our Cisco routers and firewalls.
  • The Catalyst 3850 had some issues with keeping persistent OID values. E.g. we were monitoring the power supply status on a 3850 stack, but the targeted OID values kept changing every time the stack was reloaded. There was no fix addressing this issue.
  • We had a container on a remote site where the AC had failed. The temperature went above 70 degrees Celsius and the equipment managed to still switch packages. Which was quite impressive, although the expected lifespand of the switches may have been reduced due to internal components overheating.
Read this authenticated review
Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Solutions for a new era of intent-based networking.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We obtained twice the port density at a lower cost.
  • Reduce our operating costs via accelerating changes with programmability.
  • Cisco DNA Premier, Advantage and Essentials subscription-based software licensing lets us purchase the features and capabilities we need.
Read Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

"My Review of Cisco Switches"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Cisco's Catalyst documentation is superb and if you can't find what you're looking for there, you can find a ton of great blogs by certified Cisco engineers.
  • I like the way Catalyst implements VLANS; very easy and straightforward.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Fair and honest

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • They have provided a very stable platform for the users and the decreased outage time has paid dividends over the years.
  • We are approaching a time where Catalyst may not be the right choice any longer as Meraki switches and Cisco are further integrated.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Cisco Catalyst is a pretty solid choice, but is it the only one?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have 90% of the global network running with Cisco and the uptime is pretty good. Downtime means we lose money, so it's really important.
  • The price is not helping while creating a BOM and/or a CAR. Business is not always happy when we have 150k in Cisco switches.
  • The hardware lifetime is around 5 years.
Read this authenticated review
Brandon Hudson | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2018

Catalyst-astic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reliability has limited outage costs
  • Ease of deployment has prevented large acquisition costs
  • Ability to stack has reduced the demand for larger modular switches
Read Brandon Hudson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

Next Gen Catalyst Good choices

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • They've definitely been a positive for our bottom line. The reliability and great technical support substantially cuts down on the amount of attention these switches require. Often we find our selves forgetting the switches are even there because they "just work". Dependability like that is in my opinion priceless.
  • The flexibility of modules that can be added to both the 9300, 9500 (line cards), and 3850 series Catalyst Switches is awesome. These switches are capable of 10/25/40/100 GB speeds this means that instead of replacing a switch you just upgrade the module. This has saved us tens of thousands over the last few years.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2018

Catalyst Switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reliably serve our clients
  • Modular switch is easy to replace individual components rather than whole switches
  • Adding switches to a stack is easy and saves install time
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9300 series of stackable LAN switches.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No