Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
65 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 18, 2020
Kurt Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Cisco 9300 series switches have become ubiquitous for in-office switching for us. While we rely on the larger Nexus switches for our datacenters, switching in the offices is handled entirely by the Cisco 9300's. These provide all office-switching for us, for phones, zero clients, videoconferencing units, servers, etc. They allow us to support multiple VLAN's per port, which works really well for us, as we have 1 port per desk at most desks. This allows us to daisy-chain our laptops or zero clients off of our Polycom phones, while still assigning the highly restrictive Voice VLAN per floor to the phone, and the workstation or zero client VLAN, to the laptop or zero clients, respectively.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
December 15, 2020
Josh Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use [Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches] as a Core network infrastructure. We connect them across the WAN to 2 locations. We use them as our routers as well, which allows us a better ROI whenever we are considering what we need to buy for our different data centers. This way we don't need an extra piece of routing equipment.
Read Josh Norris's full review
December 04, 2020
John Castillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches have been purchased as a replacement for our existing 3850 deployment. They address end of life as well as the ability to support new projects that include Wifi 6 and widespread POE of cameras and paging.
Read John Castillo's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, we are using Catalyst 9300 series for different purposes.
On the remote factories, those switches are used as Core switches and doing routing.
On our main sites, those switches are acting as distribution switches and are the perfect interface between bigger core switch (like 9500 for instance) and smaller access switches (like 9200L).
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Layer 2 9300 switches for our Layer 2 needs, such as smaller switches for ilo(out of band management) or Internet aggregation and or for simple user connections or expanding on wireless infrastructure POE aggregated switches. this are low power, low maintance switches that are usually very handy and are work horses in a smaller less demanding infrastructure environment.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are used throughout our environment and relied upon to keep things running. We use these at all levels of our network. By using Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches as a standard, we are able to easily manage our environments, regardless of which location around the world we are looking at. The switches themselves provide the reliability and performance that we expect from a Cisco product.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have used the Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches for a wide variety of applications, such as DMZ switches, server switches, access switches, and even distribution switches for smaller organizations. They come in many different flavors, which gives customers a variety of options for many different scenarios and price points for their use. Also leveraging DNA Center adds additional features such as automation, network security, and visibility amongst others.
Read this authenticated review
September 08, 2020
Lawrence Mashimbye | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have implemented Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches on a campus LAN to power wireless access points, and the performance has changed to be very fast and stable.
Read Lawrence Mashimbye's full review
August 05, 2020
Alejandro Araya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Los estamos utilizando como conmutadores de acceso para entornos de red de sucursales y campus. Nos brindan una mejor experiencia en el aprovisionamiento y la administración de nuestra red a un precio asequible. La familia Catalyst 9000 proporciona fuerza de clase empresarial para mantener nuestro negocio funcionando sin problemas. Esta familia de productos ofrece características de seguridad avanzadas que protegen la integridad del hardware, así como el software y todos los datos que fluyen a través del conmutador y la red. Puede elegir diferentes modelos y características que se pueden adaptar a su negocio.
Read Alejandro Araya's full review
June 14, 2019
Roger Qian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Catalyst Switches have been broadly deployed in the university campuses over 14 years. The switches serve the campus network for the office space, computer lab, classroom, library, voice IP system, the building control system, and security system. They are the fundamental infrastructure of the campus network. It delivers the essential networking communication of the university teaching and learning environment.
Read Roger Qian's full review
June 14, 2019
Jesse Myhre | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have started rolling out the new Cisco Catalyst 9300 switches in our environment to replace our aging network so we can work on improving our security. So far they have been incredibly easy to update, configure, and deploy even without using automated tools. The ones I have deployed so far have been rock solid and fit our needs.
Read Jesse Myhre's full review
June 11, 2019
Elden Torres | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The C9300-48P are used at our branch offices to connect all network devices in the branch office network.
Read Elden Torres's full review
August 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cisco Catalyst 3850/9300. It provides a stable fabric for our internal network infrastructure. We always install these devices as switch stacks to ensure full redundancy on both power and the dataplane. The switch stacks can always be expanded with more interfaces as the installation grows. This can even be achieved without service windows and zero network outage.
Read this authenticated review
July 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use them as our access layer switches. Providing multi-gig connectivity to our Meraki access points. We also like the fact that they can run containers, this is a new feature we are being exposed to, so we are still testing this new feature.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ours is a hospital set up with about 400 beds. We do need to make sure our IT services provide uninterrupted, high-quality network availability to our patients, care providers, and other ancillary staff. We were using Cisco 3750 access switches before and have just migrated and/or are in the process of migrating them to 9300 series access switches. Since we planned to migrate our entire access layer switches to a new platform, we had to choose one with an ease of deployment, and 9300 fit the bill. They provide a great balance of performance and cost. Also, features like more bandwidth per port, and less latency on the network, help us to provide reliable 24x7 SLA based operations to our customers. Cisco also provides a multitude of SDN features, which helps the network team to build and automate network tasks, so that we can spend less time on deployment and configuration while spending more time on the healthcare business, the primary goal of our company. We are planning to use them for at least another 6-7 years, as we have the necessary port level bandwidth to support their end-user requirements. All in all, it's a great product from a great company, and we recommend it.
Read this authenticated review
June 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Used as access switches in the Enterprise network. Feature rich platform which helps with QoS deployments, supports ETA and is supported by Cisco DNA-C.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2019
Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using them as access switches for branch and campus environments. They give us better experience provisioning and managing our network at an affordable price. The Catalyst 9000 family provides enterprise-level resiliency to keep our business up and running seamlessly. They give access to Cisco’s best in class security portfolio anchored by Talos, Encrypted Traffic Analytics, Trustworthy Solutions, MACsec encryption and segmentation. This product family provides advanced security features that protect the integrity of the hardware as well as the software and all data that flows through the switch and the network.
Read Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero's full review
May 07, 2019
Christoph Neulinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Catalyst 9300 Series switches are the Access Layer Switches of our office LAN. The switches are used depending on demand in a stack or as standalone switches in the wiring closets.

With the power and data stacking options of the technology, we try to reach the highest possible availability for devices that have only one network card included.
Read Christoph Neulinger's full review
February 06, 2019
Aleksander Ostoja | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I can't imagine any LAN without Cisco Switches. They are as essential as anything else that you need to set up a LAN network. I never had any huge problems using this platform, and they can actually work forever without breaking. You can select from multiple models and features that can suit your business.
Read Aleksander Ostoja's full review
June 26, 2018
Ryan Steele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cisco Catalyst switches in our access layer. They provide a great balance of performance and cost. They come in a variety of models with different features. They have modular power supplies and modules. This ensures they provide the roustabout redundancy we need. With IoT and other technologies, these switches ensure that we can keep up with the needs of the business. Whether it's from a user or security perspective the catalyst switches have us covered.
Read Ryan Steele's full review
June 14, 2018
Brandon Hudson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cisco Catalyst Switches for multiple applications within multiple layers. They provide us dependable port connectivity as well as additional functionality such as 802.1x.
Read Brandon Hudson's full review
June 11, 2018
Mark Ciecior | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Financial institutions are very interested in the Encrypted Traffic Analytics feature, specifically the ability to do a crypto audit with StealthWatch to meet their regulatory requirements.
Read Mark Ciecior's full review

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

The Catalyst 9300 Series is described by Cisco as the next generation of the industry's most widely deployed stackable switching platform, recognized as CRN's 2018 Overall Network Product of the Year. And for security, IoT, and the cloud, these switches form the foundation of Cisco Software-Defined Access, their enterprise architecture solution.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Competitors

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9300 series of stackable LAN switches.

What is Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.9.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.