Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Reviews

44 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Alejandro Araya | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Review: Cisco Catalyst 9300 is the best!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Stability of the connection between the regions and campus.
  • They support the industry’s highest density 802.11ac Wave 2 deployments with Cisco Multigigabit Technology.
  • This allows us to auto-provision end-user computers, phones, and access points without an engineer having to touch each switch to ensure proper VLANs and QoS are set up.
  • Leadtimes are often quite long.
  • Strong security, advanced QoS, comprehensive IPv6 support, Layer 3 static routing, and true stacking.
  • The hardware is reasonably priced, however, the licenses can be a surprise on the initial investment budget.
Read Alejandro Araya's full review
Roger Qian | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

My First Taste of Catalyst 9300 Series Switches

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Using Power of Ethernet to deliver the network connection for IP Phones and Wireless Access Points.
  • Catalyst Switch stacking capability makes it easy to use in networking management.
  • Hardware ready for Software Defined Access technology will protect the investment while the business decides to migrate to the campus fabric solution in the near future.
  • Make the IOS XE code more robust and stable.
  • It will be nice to have full SFP+ ports available on 9300 switch.
  • UPoE available on all ports.
Read Roger Qian's full review
Jesse Myhre | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Catalyst 9300 first impressions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Switching - various modules to connect to devices depending on their cabling needs
  • Ease of setup and operation - Can support zero touch setup - works with DNA center for automation
  • Routing - Supports most major IGPs for IPv4 and IPv6 - i.e. EIGRP, OSPF
  • Security
  • None at this time - haven't ran into anything that I haven't been able do with them at my company
Read Jesse Myhre's full review
Elden Torres | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Cisco bug that bites

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • StackWise technology.
  • Integrates with Cisco Prime Infrastructure.
  • The Cisco Bug CSCvi49725 C9300: Group of 4 ports stops forwarding traffic, making extremely disruptive downtime to business as usual, and causing difficulty to troubleshooting, driving up deployment costs.
  • The length of the switch is longer, even with standard power supplies, than the previous model, Cisco 3850. This makes them difficult to fit into tight IDF spaces.
Read Elden Torres's full review
SURESH GADDE | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

9300 series switches

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Higher port level bandwidth availability.
  • SDN ready platform.
  • Encrypted traffic analytics.
  • The price point is high compared to other vendor products.
  • They provide bare-bones hardware so that the customer can write their own code to operate them.
Read SURESH GADDE's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

Cisco Catalyst provides a longterm stable network fabric for enterprise infrastructures.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The device profile can be modified by installed a new license, e.g. introducing new routing protocols and advanced features.
  • Features such as stackwise and power stacking makes the devices very modular and customizable.
  • Hardware is very mature and provides years of stable operation.
  • Software is constantly updated and supported.
  • The hardware is reasonably priced, however the licenses can be a surprise on the initial investment budget.
  • Leadtimes are often quite long.
  • Global list prices seems inflated and unrealistic.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Switches

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Routing and Switching
  • Multi Gigabit
  • Run Containers
  • None at this time
  • The switch itself is quite long. Was not able to fit it in some of our cabinets. We need the 9200 for those locations.
Read this authenticated review
Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Solutions for a new era of intent-based networking.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One network, one OS, wired and wireless. The convergence is seamless with the Cisco Catalyst 9000 portfolio.
  • Policies are applied consistently for security, automation, and assurance, while segmentation separates devices and users to help reduce the attack surface.
  • They support the industry’s highest density 802.11ac Wave 2 deployments with Cisco Multigigabit Technology
  • It lacks a controller with integrated visibility between Cisco DNA and Cisco ACI
  • They can be expensive for certain customers
  • The installed base is still not very high
Read Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

"My Review of Cisco Switches"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Stability of the connection between the regions.
  • It is used in the majority of the organization across multiple locations.
  • This allows us to auto-provision end-user computers, phones, and access points without an engineer having to touch each switch to ensure proper VLANs and QoS are set up.
  • We use it more for our own cloud platform and it works great.
  • Ability to do routing network packets.
  • Servers, printer and PCs have been able to connect to the each other via the Cisco Switch.
  • The price a little bit high.
  • Strong security, advanced QoS, comprehensive IPv6 support, Layer 3 static routing, and true stacking.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Fair and honest

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • They are port dense enough to allow us to deploy an easy to manage number of devices while still meeting the needs of the building.
  • Easy to manage. The Catalyst switch and the IOS software inside have been great. We have hit a few small bugs and issues in the software but a quick update later they are running strong.
  • The hardware is very stable. I have only had one or two switches that had hardware issues in the 17+ years of using all kinds of different models. I cannot say that about all networking gear.
  • Power supplies, I have had many power supplies go bad over the years. They are hot swap-able (if you have the redundant power or power stack) and easily replaced but there have been a lot of bad ones.
  • Power over ethernet has been an issue a couple of times. Since I use these as access layer I have lots of utilization via phones, laptops, cameras, other devices. I have ran into power issues where I was consuming more POE than the switch could handle several times.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Cisco Catalyst is a pretty solid choice, but is it the only one?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Stacking is quite good and starting with the 3850 the connections at 480Gbs. In INSTALL mode, with a couple of commands, you can upgrade the entire stack.
  • Port security is quite easy and customizable. Together with DHCP snooping and dynamic ARP inspection, you can guarantee a good level of security
  • Usually they are pretty stable if they are running a basic configuration. We haven't have any hardware issues with 3850 in years.
  • Bugs. Cisco (but also other vendors) is not exempt from bugs. Sometimes they can be quite frustrating, and also create serious issues to users
  • The price is still too high, even if the new 9300 has the same price as the 3850. With 3850, to get to the L3 license from the L2, the price is just ridiculous
  • Sometimes waiting 6 weeks for a switch is too much. They can definitely improve the shipment time.
Read this authenticated review
Brandon Hudson | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2018

Catalyst-astic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • LAN switching
  • Voice segmentation
  • Routing and MPLS tagging
  • Port aggregation
  • Per port costs are higher than other vendors, even though those vendors do not provide as much out of their switches, the number is a selling obstacle
Read Brandon Hudson's full review
Mark Ciecior | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • 1X integration with ISE
  • API access, with Python bindings
  • The guest shell allows customers to do almost anything they need with these switches.
  • Cost
  • Some of the default settings are ridiculous. I always update the log and debug settings to include the timestamp, and auto secure is a must. Why shouldn't these be defaults?
  • The LAN Lite image is useless, I have no reason to sell such a limited switch.
Read Mark Ciecior's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

Next Gen Catalyst Good choices

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • They're dependable, I've been working with a wide variety of Catalyst Switches, specifically 3750 and 3850 series for 8+ years. Only once have I encountered an issue with the hardware.
  • Layer 2 Access control, as well as the ability to handle closet routing, should the need arise. The versatility of this line of Switches is outstanding. From POE to VoIP solutions the 3850 line provides it all.
  • The new generation of 9300 and 9500 Switches promise much much more, we've only been using them for a few months in-house and have yet to implement the SDA architecture. However the North and South bound API'S included with this OS are very robust and pretty awesome.
  • The CLI is a bit of a legacy. Maybe a revamp of this portion.
  • More robust out of the gate routing capabilities. Stop license gating features. For the 3850 series perhaps adding a more robust API as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2018

Catalyst Switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • CDP neighbor protocol is convenient
  • Cisco IOS is easy to use and consistent between models
  • Great for serving numerous 1G connections
  • We have had some issues with the 715w power supplies failing
  • We sometimes have issues with the switch denying PoE but a reload usually resolves this (c3750x)
  • Switches take a long time to boot up, sometimes up to 15mins
  • Can only power stack 4 switches
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9300 series of stackable LAN switches.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No