Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches Reviews

18 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 11, 2020
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

To be honest, we didn't really look very hard at any other network switch providers since we are already a heavy Cisco shop. Cisco has treated us well over the years by providing solid support, excellent reliability, and advanced security options that are top notch. One of the companies that we acquired did have a pair of Arista 7000 switches, so we did have to manage those for 18 months during the transition off of their network. The CLI and GUI on the Arista were pretty painful to use.
Read Mark McCully's full review
June 13, 2020
Bart Verbaandert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

These cat 9400 switches are the logical evolution of the cat 6500 series for us. Where we used cat6k (or 4k5 for that matter) before, we're using the cat9400 now in its place. It allows us to migrate seamlessly without much interruption and actually provides us higher speed and port density while maintaining the rich and full feature set needed in an enterprise environment.
Read Bart Verbaandert's full review
December 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco is embedded into our environment, introducing a new vendor takes time from supply chain, development, NERC CIP certification, and IT support perspectives. We will look at these options in the future so we can be flexible when Cisco is no longer the right fit for our organization.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2019
Eric Stearns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have Cisco Catalyst 4510 switches in some other facilities. While those work well, the Catalyst 9400 switches are several leaps ahead in terms of performance and usability. All of the Catalyst 9000 series use the same operating system which makes them easier to configure than the dis-contiguous Catalyst 3850s and 4500s.
Read Eric Stearns's full review
June 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We ran a proof of concept for HPE and Cisco switches. Cisco won out due to the following:
  • Cisco's positive track record of previous Catalyst switch platforms we've had experience with (2900, 4500, 6500).
  • Large TCAM space to support large ACLs used to lock down endpoint access.
  • Cisco's community is large so it's typically easy to find answers online to questions we have about design, installation, or troubleshooting.
  • Catalyst 9000 is a newer platform than Aruba's switches that were perceived as re-branded HP Procurve switches, which have been around longer. While we can't say for sure this will amount to better ROI, we certainly felt like we'd get more life out of the Cisco 9000s.
  • ROI for Aruba Mobility Access Switches was low due to an unexpected EoS/EoL announcement, affecting our campus access switch deployment. This forced us to replace Aruba MAS switches sooner than expected, leaving a bad taste in our mouth.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Due to the good performance and simple operation, as well as the good price-performance ratio, we quickly decided on these models.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Some older moduar and non-modular devices like 6500, 5000, 4500, 3500, 2900 even the 1900 and etc. Honestly said - I have contact with almost every version of catalyst in the last 10 years. I have also used Soho devices branded by Linksys and some Meraki devices but have no further experience with them.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches Scorecard Summary

What is Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches?

The Catalyst 9400 Series is presented by Cisco as the next generation of the industry's most widely deployed enterprise switching platform, recognized as CRN's 2017 and 2018 Network Product of the Year. These modular access switches are built for security, IoT, and cloud. The vendor states they deliver state-of-the-art high availability, support up to 9 Tbps, provide the latest in 90-watt UPOE+, and form one of the building blocks for SD-Access, Cisco's enterprise architecture solution.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches Competitors

HPE Networking Switches, Dell PowerConnect Switches, Ruckus ICX Switches (formerly Brocade ICX Switches)

Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9400 enterprise series of LAN switches.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches are from Enterprises and the Hospital & Health Care industry.