Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.7 out of 100
Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cisco Catalyst 9k Review

5 out of 10
December 04, 2019
We use these 9407 switches to aggregate LAN to WAN connections and as discrete data center switches in a secure environment.
Continue reading

Easy and fast

8 out of 10
February 12, 2019
We use Cisco Catalyst Switches for our infrastructure and to enable our business to perform better in various aspects.
Continue reading

Cisco Is worth it

9 out of 10
June 13, 2018
We use them as a collapsed core design at all of our remote offices. They allow us to perform all the requirements of a medium to small …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9400 enterprise series of LAN switches.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://engage2demand.cisco.com/lp=567?…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is Cisco Nexus Series Switches?

Cisco Nexus is a series of network switches.

What is Ruckus ICX Switches?

Ruckus acquired the ICX series of campus switches, and in turn Ruckus was acquired by ARRIS in December 2017.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches?

The Catalyst 9400 Series is presented by Cisco as the next generation of the industry's most widely deployed enterprise switching platform, recognized as CRN's 2017 and 2018 Network Product of the Year. These modular access switches are built for security, IoT, and cloud. The vendor states they deliver state-of-the-art high availability, support up to 9 Tbps, provide the latest in 90-watt UPOE+, and form one of the building blocks for SD-Access, Cisco's enterprise architecture solution.

Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches Competitors

Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9400 enterprise series of LAN switches.

HPE Networking Switches and Dell PowerConnect Switches are common alternatives for Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches.

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Hospital & Health Care industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Reviews and Ratings

 (19)

Reviews

(1-11 of 11)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
November 24, 2021

Excellent performance

Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When you have a different data center and you need to interconnect them is well suited. Also is your business request high throughput 9400 Cisco Series it will be your solution? Also, if you are planning to implement solutions like DNA it will well suited too.
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches are enterprise-class network core switches. They are not meant for small to medium size companies or satellite offices. These switches are useful to provide a highly available network backbone where all of your firewalls, edge routers, top-of-rack switches, and fabric interconnects can terminate on a scalable and secure network.
December 04, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9k Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Catalyst Switches are well suited for those that enjoy software headaches and double-dipping support contracts (SmartNet and DNA Advantage). Cisco introduced the platform without clear documentation on licensing (our involvement was the onus for Cisco to create clear documentation at the cost of our time and frustration), configurations (dropping GLBP yet allowing it to be configured), features (selling us Stack Wise as replacement for GLBP) or intentions (we purchased the 9407 to replace a currently supported 6509 and literally a week or two after purchase, Cisco dropped the 9600 series as the replacement for the 6500-E series). The pains in Cisco licensing, software quality and lack of transparency in regards to hardware and features is disheartening.
July 10, 2019

Awesome!

Benjamin Salmond | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I only work on Cisco products so I have a little bit of a bias. With that being said, I have had to work on Brocade and Juniper a few times, as well as other Firewall products, and I have found them confusing and not user-friendly. I think that the configuration of the Catalyst IOS is very straightforward and easy to teach others. For me, they are great for the access, distribution, and even core of the campus architecture, depending on the amount of traffic necessary, such as a collapsed core.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Catalyst 9000 switches are well suited for:
  • businesses looking to replace their campus switches and need a platform that will be around for a while.
  • businesses requiring programmability of the network devices.
  • businesses that need newer standard support such as multi-gig ethernet and 802.3bt (POE++).
  • businesses that want to use Cisco's Software Defined Access.
Cisco Catalyst 9000 switches are less suited for:
  • businesses that want the latest features but aren't willing to run the latest code non-maintenance release code.
February 12, 2019

Easy and fast

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you are looking for a simple and secure solution for an IT infrastructure, you will be able to make great use of the product Cisco Catalyst Switches. The high performance and stability guarantee a good foundation for your business.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I simply don't use any other switches in professional usage. I prefer a homogeneous environment - especially when using other Cisco features like ISE. Deployment of 802.1X with Catalyst switches is rather simple. With a mixed environment with other vendors, it is painful. The scenario in which Catalyst Switches are not suitable is a very simple network with one or two switches - the functionalities simply are not used then.