Cisco Catalyst Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
337 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 55)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 11, 2021
mike nugent | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Our IT consultant was tasked with the design and implementation of our system. I can see why they chose to use Cisco hardware. They spend their time installing the equipment and not figuring out why it isn't working the way they expected it to. Once the network was up and running, we have not needed them to correct any issues. That's what we pay for, and it's worth it to just set it and forget it.
Read mike nugent's full review
May 06, 2021
Diego Gamez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

The way Catalyst equipment is deployed is very versatile for multi-user environments, to segment medium and large offices, as well as to include them in the datacenter. It has been very convenient to deploy them in different remote offices and company locations. As well as for temporary offices and permanent locations of the corporation.
Read Diego Gamez's full review
May 04, 2021
Umair Ali Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Cisco Catalyst Switches support advanced centralized management via Cisco DNA center or Cisco Prime infrastructure. However, our organization is planning to purchase any one of these tools as per our environmental needs but currently, these tools are not being used in our organization and they are still in the demo and procurement phase.
Read Umair Ali Khan's full review
May 03, 2021
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We have only used the standard features of the Cisco Catalyst switches which were good for our requirements.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
May 03, 2021
Luis Tusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

The Cisco content switching product line has managed to overcome the communication challenges in our company, and these challenges go beyond IT problems, such as slowing down our servers, information security and staff overload. of you.

The implementation of Cisco content switches within our data center has provided tangible returns to the business, improving profitability and employee productivity.
Read Luis Tusen's full review
May 03, 2021
Darian Rawson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We have not had to rely on the advanced customization features across all business segments. The nice thing is that for the most part the switches are plug and play. However, issues that pop up when device creep grows exponentially beyond what is on paper to include all manner of devices down the line, those issues can be mitigated by administrators to reduce network overhead and ensure the best environment for all employees.
Read Darian Rawson's full review
December 15, 2020
humberto martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

It is highly customizable, since we use them only for a very specific task (servers and SAN traffic) we dont use advanced features, we use vlans, routing and port secutiry.
Read humberto martinez's full review
December 13, 2020
Andrew Yudin, MBA/CCNP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Our organization utilized advanced manageability and customization by taking advantage of built-in ASIC templates to enable universal deployments and configure the switches for specific features.
Read Andrew Yudin, MBA/CCNP's full review
December 13, 2020
Dustin Reeves | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

* Greatly, we are a very robust / nimble environment, so at times ive used 3850's as Layer 2 switches, then turned around and really LEVERAGED the Layer 3 properties and routing capabilities. Without the customization we wouldn't have been able to achieve a nimble response. Especially when dealing with "unknowns" i can typically purchase a 3850 with an IPservices license, and it will cover 99% of any "unexpected" use cases, that were not originally PART OF THE PROJECT
Read Dustin Reeves's full review
December 10, 2020
Tom Shepherd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Not so much the advanced customization but definitely the manageability. Being able to easily manage our switches for config changes or firmware updates is a huge time saver. Its also invaluable to be able to monitor the switches in great detail so we can see if there any problem of if anything has gone wrong
Read Tom Shepherd's full review
December 09, 2020
Curt Sminkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

I've generally used the SNMP from a 3rd party monitoring solution, at one company we've implemented some security features such as 802.1X that was natively supported on the Cisco Catalyst switches. ISE integration so that we can log in with our Window AD accounts. Certainly integrated PoE has been a huge help with powering Wireless access points, VoIP phones and security cameras. I can't think of any other more advanced features.
Read Curt Sminkey's full review
December 09, 2020
Brian O'Connor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We have benefited from the advanced features because with need port security, quality of service, vlan management, port blocking and CDP because of our trunking configuration.
Read Brian O'Connor's full review
December 07, 2020
Claudio Hoffer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We manage sensitive information so security is ALWAYS our biggest concern however in todays operation times we needed a combination of security, uptime, ease to trobleshoot and the fastest data trasfers possible. Cisco Catalyst continues proving that the decision we made many years ago choosing them, was the best investment our IT and company made in order to have a successful busines operation.
Read Claudio Hoffer's full review
December 05, 2020
John Jacob | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

Generally the only customization we use is the dual power options and support. Otherwise we manage our own.
Read John Jacob's full review
December 14, 2020
abdulai-fadiga ccnp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

There are a lot of benefits to the custom features of Cisco Catalyst Switches. As a telecommunication service provider with many branches, one feature that is heavily used in my company is the VPN. We are always rolling out new sites in different parts of the country, and these sites need to be connected together to enable communication across the organization. The VPN feature on Cisco Catalyst Switches is a major player in this process.
Read abdulai-fadiga ccnp's full review
December 10, 2020
Robert Rogers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We have benefitted greatly from the customization and manageability. We have segmented our network for function and security. The customization allows our network to change and grow as needed. The manageability allows our a small staff to deal with a large campus from a central location without having to travel a lot.
Read Robert Rogers's full review
December 08, 2020
Derek Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We have done quite a bit with our Cisco Catalyst Switches, including QoS, HSRP, collecting NetFlow data, integrating them with Cisco ISE (802.1x), and participation in EIGRP. These switches can do way more, of course, but that is the scope at my current place of business.
Read Derek Benson's full review
December 04, 2020
Thomas Osborne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We are currently in the process of bringing all of our Cisco Catalyst 9000 Series Switches, including 9200s, 9300s, and 9500s into DNA Center. Being able to manage all of these switches from one platform will be a huge time saver since we won't have to log into every individual switch to troubleshoot.
Read Thomas Osborne's full review
December 03, 2020
Ryhlen Schoeberl | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We are not using the manageability features. We have very few changes so we use good old fashioned CLI commands to enter new configuration changes.
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review
December 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We have experimented with using less expensive hardware but found that getting support for them can be more difficult. The overall community just has more experience with Cisco products than with other vendors. More people will have seen the issues that you have run into. Even though support contracts cost more the overall supportability is much higher
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

We are utilizing dynamic routing between different locations on our site. We also utilize advanced functions like L2TP tunnels and MACSEC to deploy secure network links for sub-contracts that need to connect their remote locations but ensure their data is encapsulated. Because these switches can act as a router, they are great for deploying where hosts may not be able to connect back to our central DHCP server.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

The application can be customised as per the company requirements, it can be used for specific task which involves SAN, routing, security purpose.

The cost of the Cisco catalyst is higher but it is quite useful in the future for the company with the customisation options available which can be used for various option which complete value of money paid.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

The biggest reason for such a large and expansive switch is to customize it with the blades of your choosing. There's a ton of options available for outfitting your 6800 series with specific blades based on ports needed, or a number of supervisors/etc. Also, manageability is high as you can tie the Cisco switch in with your existing management system.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

I would say we haven't benefited from it but not because they aren't good but because we haven't utilized them. We are an old-school shop and have always had a custom to command line configuration. Some of my engineers have utilized a few of the graphical interfaces but usually revert to command line for speed.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cisco Catalyst Customization and Manageability

The advanced customization and manageability do really have many benefits. For instance, being able to build out an expansive network of switches is easy as there are many ways to customize the rollout and design. Also management is simple when you tie them all into a network management app--Cisco supports all the leading ones.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Catalyst Switches Scorecard Summary

What is Cisco Catalyst Switches?

The Cisco Catalyst family of switches includes enterprise LAN access, distribution, and core switches. The vendor says the switches are designed for an entirely new era of intent-based networking, deliver stellar performance and functionality, and prepares a network for the future with breakthrough innovations for security, mobility, IoT, and the cloud.

Cisco Catalyst switches offer advanced security capabilities, scale for IoT, and cloud readiness.

Cisco aims to transform how people connect, communicate, and collaborate. Cisco and its valued partners sell Cisco hardware, software, and services to businesses of all sizes, governments, service providers, and consumers.

Cisco now offers a two-question, two-minute interactive tool to identify the Cisco products and services available to help users solve up to 5 network challenges.

Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst Switches Screenshots

Cisco Catalyst Switches Downloadables

Cisco Catalyst Switches Competitors

Cisco Catalyst Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst Switches?

Cisco's Catalyst is one of that company's brand of network switches.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst Switches are from Enterprises and the Unknown industry.