Cisco Catalyst Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
338 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 57)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 11, 2021
mike nugent | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I can't think of any situation where you would not want to use this type of switch. Once installed, it did not take long to see a company-wide improvement in throughput. By comparison, our old system seemed to have a choke, it was slow. The upfront cost for the hardware and management will pay for itself through increased productivity. We should have realized this years ago and made the update to our equipment.
Read mike nugent's full review
May 06, 2021
Diego Gamez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The Catalyst Cisco equipment complies with everything related to an Enterprise Switch; they provide access to the corporation quickly and safely, but the most remarkable thing is that they are very solid. I have had almost no incident regarding some physical failure with the equipment.
Read Diego Gamez's full review
May 04, 2021
Umair Ali Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cisco Catalyst Switches are enterprise-grade switches and they are made to handle a large amount of traffic efficiently. They are available in multiple sizes, port speeds, and port density which make them suitable for Core, distribution, and access layers. However, they are not well suited for small businesses that do not have large networks or the budget required to purchase and maintain these switches.
Read Umair Ali Khan's full review
May 03, 2021
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Depending on the network layout and size of the organization, Cisco Catalyst switches can be selected to be used within most areas of the network i.e, core, distribution, access layer and WAN edge. For larger networks the chassis models can provide the required line cards to build a powerful network backbone and the fixed port models can be used alone or stacked to cater for the required ports per access area. In smaller networks, the fixed models can be used throughout the network by deploying the most suitable Cisco Catalyst model in each network area.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
May 03, 2021
Luis Tusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cisco Catalyst Switches can be used in scenarios where it is required to segment a business network or any business that contains different services such as voice, data and video, to have a better management and administration of network resources and additionally to be able to apply security policies segment-based network per defined VLAN.
Read Luis Tusen's full review
May 03, 2021
Darian Rawson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cisco Catalyst Switches are well suited to any business that needs dependable and fast network access with minimal roadblocks. They do lend themselves to larger businesses or corporations rather than smaller agile companies which would benefit from smaller devices to support their needs. Catalyst Switches are fantastic for large expandability but can quickly create an out of control mess if not handled by system administrators.
Read Darian Rawson's full review
December 15, 2020
humberto martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

[Cisco] Catalyst Switches are not cheap so they are great option if you have enough budget, also your network administrators will need deep technical knowledge (Cisco offers a wide range of technical resources though) but if you want to have a less specialized team you may want to check other options like Meraki (other high profile Cisco products)
Read humberto martinez's full review
December 13, 2020
Andrew Yudin, MBA/CCNP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

[Cisco Catalyst Switches] are well suited in the Enterprise data center environments such as Telco providers, offering up to 32x 100-Gigabit ports for backbone connectivity. The higher-end models such as Catalyst 9500 is less appropriate for a small or medium network.
Read Andrew Yudin, MBA/CCNP's full review
December 13, 2020
Dustin Reeves | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Campus deployment is where cisco catalyst switches REALLY thrive
  • Satellite locations that dont require a lot of config and really good templating makes these switches great to push out a standard config and run.
  • Anywhere you need to put a switch that requires HIGH PORT DENSITY cisco catalyst stacking really shines
Read Dustin Reeves's full review
December 10, 2020
Tom Shepherd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would always highly recommend a Cisco Catalyst Switch to a colleague or a customer and they are well known and some of the best in the business, normally the reason an alternative is suggested or used is down to price. Another benefit is using storage and switches from the same vendor which makes support calls easier.
Read Tom Shepherd's full review
December 09, 2020
Curt Sminkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I honestly can't imaging not using Cisco Catalyst Switches. I've used them exclusively in the last 4 places where I have worked. Yes, the can be pricey as compared to other vendors. We've found at places where we have no IT support, such as smaller remote offices, Cisco Meraki switches do become a good option as they are much easier to manage remotely.
Read Curt Sminkey's full review
December 09, 2020
Brian O'Connor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

[Cisco Catalyst] Switches work excellent when you have a Cisco VoIP solution because of automatic VLAN tagging with the IP phones. We've deployed phones in another network with using Catalyst switches, and the implementation time is increased because of some manual configuration. I think these switches are well suite for medium to large business, but a small business may not want to make the investment of contract pricing and configuration expertise.
Read Brian O'Connor's full review
December 07, 2020
Claudio Hoffer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is all about budget. Cisco Catalyst Switches are affordable priced switches that will exceed your company needs and expectations. Install them, configure and they will work almost without intervention. I think they could be less appropriate for organizations without an Network specialist on site. There are other Cisco Series that cover this situations better.
Read Claudio Hoffer's full review
December 05, 2020
John Jacob | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have a spread out environment of numerous remote locations across the United States. Standardization is critical to keep communication flowing easily and to accommodate the rapid changes our environment often requires. The [Cisco] Catalyst Switches have the memory and resources to handle the Core and Managed switching functions in these locations, that are in a cost range that can be justified.
In the Data Centers the Catalyst server well enough for the edge and fringe managed switches but the Core functions require a little more robust power that we get from the Nexus 9000 series.
Read John Jacob's full review
December 14, 2020
abdulai-fadiga ccnp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cisco Catalyst Switches are best suited for the core of enterprise networks. This is because of the stability in design. These switches have also proven to be very efficient at handling throughput. Cisco Catalyst Switches are also very well suited for the enterprise access layer because of their efficient VLAN segmentation and access control methods. Although these are very powerful switches, they are not well suited for data centers, in part because of their limitations in features and flexibility.
Read abdulai-fadiga ccnp's full review
December 10, 2020
Robert Rogers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

They are great where you need to segment your network or apply quality of service or stack for a large number of devices. Using them in a small network would constitute overkill. They are a bit noisy, so I would not put them in an office space the requires low noise.
Read Robert Rogers's full review
December 08, 2020
Derek Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Fantastic series of switches for a small to large corporate environment in an access layer deployment. For any core layer needs, I would look toward the Cisco Nexus series. For businesses without the IT staff to configure and support them (which therefore probably don't have much use for VLANs, advanced routing, etc.), I would advise smaller businesses to steer more toward something over the counter.
Read Derek Benson's full review
December 04, 2020
Thomas Osborne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

These Cisco Catalyst 9300 Series Switches are great in situations that you wish to have good reliable switches. They integrate very well with Cisco ISE as well as DNA Center. They're a bit costly, so having these in a small office/home office scenario might not be realistic. They are very overpowered, it seems, and a market leader for everyday enterprise switching.
Read Thomas Osborne's full review
December 03, 2020
Ryhlen Schoeberl | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cisco Catalyst Switches are great for L2 routing and stacking for redundancy in the network. They also communicate with our UCS setup and have never had any issues with the setup. I would not use the 3850 as a core router. The only potential issue I see is that they are coming to end of SW support next year and end of support is in 2025.
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We are using these switches in our organization as it works at gigabit speed and makes our work reliable. We have stacked several switches so that when one of them malfunctions the other one takes over and the work is not interrupted. Provides some great security features that protects our data.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use the [Cisco] Catalyst Switches in production where they work wonderfully. The support contracts can be pricey so we often use lower end models in our lab environments. We do not have heavy workloads so do not push these switches to their limits. For our environment they are great. Reliable and easily supported.
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

[Cisco Catalyst Switches] are excellent devices for areas you would like to deploy and never have to look at again. They are rock solid and can operate in many different environments. Dusty, cold, hot - you name it - these run through anything. They work particularly well in our locations that require multiple paths back to the data centre.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  1. The performance is great, we haven’t faced any issues.
  2. Did not observe any downtime.
  3. It is highly customisable, so we can make the arrangements as per our need.
  4. It has some advanced features available (servers and Data Traffic) in it and we are planning to use them in future.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Absolutely the longest-running devices that we manage. Typically we can let a switch run for years without it needing to be rebooted or serviced. In fact, sometimes parts go bad in it but the problem doesn't exhibit itself until the device is hard reset. That's pretty outstanding and makes it easy to recommend to anyone.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cisco Catalyst Switches have been most useful for the VXLAN feature. For those unfamiliar with VXLAN, this is virtual extensible LAN. In most causes people use this in a central location among several sections making the environment look like one. In our case, we utilized it over an L3 connection between buildings 10+ miles apart with multiple 9300s. This was built to give us a true DR hot site.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Catalyst Switches Scorecard Summary

What is Cisco Catalyst Switches?

The Cisco Catalyst family of switches includes enterprise LAN access, distribution, and core switches. The vendor says the switches are designed for an entirely new era of intent-based networking, deliver stellar performance and functionality, and prepares a network for the future with breakthrough innovations for security, mobility, IoT, and the cloud.

Cisco Catalyst switches offer advanced security capabilities, scale for IoT, and cloud readiness.

Cisco aims to transform how people connect, communicate, and collaborate. Cisco and its valued partners sell Cisco hardware, software, and services to businesses of all sizes, governments, service providers, and consumers.

Cisco now offers a two-question, two-minute interactive tool to identify the Cisco products and services available to help users solve up to 5 network challenges.

Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst Switches Screenshots

Cisco Catalyst Switches Downloadables

Cisco Catalyst Switches Competitors

Cisco Catalyst Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst Switches?

Cisco's Catalyst is one of that company's brand of network switches.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst Switches are from Enterprises and the Unknown industry.