Cisco Meraki MS

Cisco Meraki MS

Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.2 out of 100
Top Rated
Cisco Meraki MS

Overview

Recent Reviews

The LAN power

9 out of 10
August 31, 2021
The Cisco Meraki MS is used in the contact center department of the company. This equipment is very important for having visibility of the …
Continue reading

Meraki Switches

9 out of 10
May 19, 2021
These are being used in two sites that are not part of the main campus. These have been critical for operations and having the ability to …
Continue reading

An easy to use solution

10 out of 10
April 30, 2021
We managed to get hold of a trial unit for our practice, having already put in the wireless solution and commenced utilizing the MDM - so …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Meraki MS, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Meraki MS?

Cisco offers the Meraki brand of Ethernet switches.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco Meraki MS?

The Cisco Meraki MS is presented by the vendor as the industry’s first line cloud managed access and aggregation switches, combining the benefits of cloud-based centralized management with a powerful, reliable access platform.

Cisco Meraki MS Competitors

Cisco Meraki MS Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Meraki MS?

Cisco offers the Meraki brand of Ethernet switches.

What is Cisco Meraki MS's best feature?

Reviewers rate Product Scalability highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses Cisco Meraki MS?

The most common users of Cisco Meraki MS are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (79)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 34)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
John Glenn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We the Cisco Meraki MS line of switches in each of our floor wiring closets. They connect back to our data center via 10GB fiber for the network backbone. Each user has a desk phone provided that uses PoE as its primary power source and network connectivity provided by the Meraki closet switches.
  • Ease of changes
  • Switching out to a different model
  • Managing the switch
  • Checking on diagnostics for each port
  • Reboot on a schedule
  • CLI options
  • Wider range for smaller applications
I really do like the switches and have only had one switch go bad in six years. We have had a fairly trouble-free engagement with Cisco Meraki MS since we purchased them. We also use them with the MX firewalls and the MR access points. You get full visibility with an easy-to-use dashboard. There is no need for a VPN to connect to them, and they have a great service agreement.
We were able to configure and install all of the switches on our own without the need to pay a consultant. We have been able to manage these switches with little to no training, and the learning curve for diagnosis has been much easier to handle with the web console management. Changing out switches for a larger model is very easy with the use of cloning.
By using the Cisco [Meraki] MR and MX products attached to our MS switches, we have been able to gain full visibility from the endpoint to the internet. It is much easier to track down an issue for a user when the path is laid out in front of you in one console and one search field. We have used this many times to both allow and block traffic. The biggest benefit is that I can manage this environment as well as other Meraki networks I have with a single login behind an MFA login.
We have had no trouble linking multiple switches together with a daisy chain cable. We have done this throughout our building and have added them as switch stacks so that they appear as one large switch. It's even better when combined with port aggregation on our fiber feed lines for 20GB throughput back to the core network.
September 13, 2021

Cisco Meraki made easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki switches and wireless access points across our entire infrastructure. It makes it very easy to scale out and scale up with minimal effort and administration. Troubleshooting user issues is very easy to navigate with the cloud portal. As well, in times of network segmentation issues local switch management is just as easy!
  • Easy administration.
  • Easy deployment.
  • Easy graphical troubleshooting portal.
  • Firmware management could be a little [more] customer change management centric.
  • Some of the online portal could be more pop-out driven instead of navigating back and forth between pages and reloading the page to do simple things.
  • Instances where Meraki switches won't have cloud access for long periods of time make it difficult to be able to maintain switch code configuration.
This is the perfect option [for] always internet connected and cloud manageable switches. Instances where you want isolated, no internet access networks for security reasons these are not the best solution.
With switch management so easy to administer we have enabled some business people to help us remotely plug in devices and bring them online with little to no IT help. This saves us scheduling IT resources to visit remote sites and enable users to be more productive, much sooner.
Cisco Meraki MR WAPs, Cisco ISR routers, Cisco 8800 IP phones, Cisco WAAS WAN optimization, Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco Catalyst Switches, Cisco Webex, Cisco telepresence devices, Cisco video conferencing, and Cisco Nexus Switches.
I give Cisco Meraki gear a near 100% rating for any business in the small to medium-sized business scenario. Only large organizations have certain business needs that Meraki gear may or may not provide the 99.9% uptime IT professionals and management would demand. Cisco Meraki gear is very scalable as an organization grows and makes it easy to scale up and scale out as needed.
August 31, 2021

The LAN power

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The Cisco Meraki MS is used in the contact center department of the company. This equipment is very important for having visibility of the applications run across de LAN network. The company [has] to think [to] change the other switches for Cisco Meraki MS in other departments the short time ago.
  • The management
  • Visibility of applications
  • Zero touch provision
  • More routing capacity
  • More performance
  • Flexible license
I think that [...] Cisco Meraki [MS] can operate in any environment or scenario, such as retail, hospitality, education, and finance. If [there] exists a scenario when Cisco Meraki MS doesn't operate correctly [it] is in the industrial sector because this situation requires more specific skills. However, in general, [it] functions in all scenarios.
[...] Cisco Meraki MS is easy to deploy because you can use zero-touch provision and this form [configurations] in few times many sites such as branches or new places. The other important benefit is the capacity [to] offer [to] resolve problems a few times across the dashboard from any place with internet access.
The principal benefit is to operate all in the only dashboard with full-stack Meraki. The dashboard is easy [to operate]. The integration capacity is the other principal benefit of Meraki solutions because [it] can apply other alternatives for operating networks. I think the full stack Meraki is a good idea for managing a network.
Because I [...] like [...] [Cisco] Meraki [MS] solutions for all benefits offered in a network. The dashboard Meraki is very important for comparison with others cloud solutions. I recommend [...] this hardware and the other Meraki solution, for example, Meraki Insight or Meraki MX, for SD-WAN and security.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cisco Meraki [MS] switches are being used in a part of the organization. They give us first-hand visibility of the state of the LAN network as well as the type of traffic consumed by the connected devices. Very practical when you do not have a lot of IT staff, and you require operational ease.
  • Scalability
  • Quality of service
  • Layer 7 Visibility
  • Handle models that are used as core
  • Umbrella integrations
  • Use for industrial scenarios
Some of the scenarios where Meraki MS Switches are best suited are:
Retail: Great flexibility and integration with APIs
Education: Centralized administration
Hospitality: Allows Integrations with APIs and visibility

Scenarios where I do not recommend it are:
Industrial: When handling IoT or Industry 4.0
Critical Environments: Extreme weather conditions
The organization has benefited from the ease of managing [Cisco] Meraki MS Switches since they allow updating activities remotely [and] perform troubleshooting from any point with internet or dashboard access. Another benefit is to be able to create configuration templates for the different sites where switches are added. In addition to that, I can configure the equipment without having them physically on the site, and when they arrive at the site, perform a plug and play.
The ability to integrate [Cisco] Meraki Switches with the entire full-stack is one of its main advantages, as well as the ability to integrate with APIs to obtain greater benefits from the information collected by the equipment. The visibility of the applications at layer 7 level that pass through the switches is a great benefit since we can carry out a census of which are the most consumed applications within the organization.
Due to the deployment capacity that they have with the creation of templates, zero-touch implementations can be practically carried out. One of the main benefits is all the assurance that it gives you at the network level without the need to buy an extra license, as is the case with Cisco Enterprise, where you require a DNA Center.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Meraki MS switches are being deployed across our organization to replace older HP switches. Those older switches had no centralized management and gave practically no visibility into the traffic flowing across the network.

The Cisco Meraki MS switches allow a novice admin to modify network ports. I am easily able to find client stats in a branch location and Cisco Meraki MS allows for easier troubleshooting than standalone managed switches.
  • You typically set up a network, then leave it alone. Who wouldn't want a centralized point-and-click interface to set this up?
  • No more blindfolds on what's going on with your network. You will actually see how your network is being used and what apps they are using.
  • The tools you get for managing the network are actually useful. For example, the ability to schedule firmware upgrades across an environment is nice.
  • If you're hoping to get Cisco CLI access, look for a different product. You simply get a point-and-click interface, which means limitations on some of the more complex feature sets you can get from other Cisco products.
  • If you don't keep up on the licenses, you lose the ability to control your switch on the website. It's not a good product for people who are looking to save cash on a long-term purchase.
  • There are some weird limitations on the Meraki MS390 that make it feel like it is different hardware from the rest of the Meraki line and crammed into a Meraki case.
If you're not looking to do anything fancy on your network, then the Cisco Meraki MS switches will handle most all of your needs. You get VLANs, port aggregation (LACP), IP interfaces, and basic L3 routing. If you're the programmer type, there are APIs galore for you to explore.

If you want to get CLI access, it's not going to happen. If your switches are offline, you can't control it through the cloud (though you can log into the web interface locally). If your company is stingy on license renewals, stay far away.
I'm able to deploy the configuration to a network switch without having to touch it. Stacking switches is a no-brainer and things just seem to hum along. If a switch ever dies, we can easily replace it with an RMA unit and slap on the same config as the one that died.
We have this switch connected up to a Cisco Nexus 5K with no issues. Can't say there are any other integrations, per se.
Part of the Cisco Meraki MS schtick is its virtual stacking, which means you don't need to physically stack them together to get easy management. If you're the kind of admin who likes a physical connection, a good number of models can be physically stacked together, so that's nice.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki MS switches throughout the company and are replacing legacy hardware as we go. It has helped tremendously when trying to diagnose network issues. Instead of the command-line interface used with legacy hardware, you get a nice graphical user interface. This makes it easier to navigate through settings.
  • Provide details on the switch as a whole.
  • Provide details down to a single port.
  • Replace hardware quickly if needed.
  • Provide an overview of the network. Can help track down devices.
  • Maybe with the cost. They are pretty expensive.
  • Would be nice to be able to use them if we didn't want to continue the support. You have to have support on them or they basically become a brick.
  • Nothing else that I can think of.
The Cisco Meraki switches are well suited for any environment. They are great for a novice or a pro. There is pretty good information out there to help with setting this up and they also have the support that you can call. I can't really think of any scenario where it wouldn't be appropriate.
Deploying Cisco Meraki devices has been super easy and has cut down the time it would have taken with legacy devices. This time equals money that the company saved. Managing it has been the same. It is a lot easier to see what's going on in the environment than having to run command lines to get the data.
We have integrated a bunch of wireless access points. The functionality that Meraki gives, makes setting up wireless SSID's and policies very easy. This also helps with diagnosing issues on the network and gives a nice view of all wireless devices connected. You can also see a heat map of where all the devices are within your organization and the building.
The overall scalability would be a 9 because you can easily add more switches to your environment with minimal configuration. Even deploying new switches at other locations. All you have to do is go into the dashboard and add them to your inventory. You can configure them before you hook them up. Once hooked up they will talk to your dashboard and get all the correct settings.
May 19, 2021

Meraki Switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
These are being used in two sites that are not part of the main campus. These have been critical for operations and having the ability to access the graphical user interface remotely has sped support up. These devices are so much easier to use than other switch brands.
  • Remote Support
  • Easy to use
  • Price
This product will go to the top of the list of what I will use again. It makes support significantly easier and that is important to the operations here. I feel this is a strong candidate to be used in just about any configuration. It is very adaptable.
All network companies have something to learn from Meraki. Cisco Meraki MS is on another level when it comes to ease of use while remaining at a high level of functionality. The Meraki product line will continue to grow in market share because of the simplicity of what it can do.
We have tied these to the Cisco firewalls and they work perfectly with them. We have lessened the number of trips to different sites for network issues. This is a very important part of the puzzle for us. We have a small infrastructure team and when they do not need to travel it helps.
Meraki is really benefiting from the Cisco relationship when it comes to scalability. Meraki has grown its level of scalability. I am fond of the options this gives us when necessary. We can add to this system when we need to. We have not reached that point yet but it is nice to know it's there.
JASON WORKMAN | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Meraki MS switches across the entire organization. We have the MS-350s at our main data center and a few satellite sites and the MS-210's at the reminder of the satellites. The switches perform great and provide everything a midsize to enterprise organization would need from a switch. The cloud dashboard and visibility into the switching network are unparalleled by any other vendor. Configuration of the switching network is seamless.
  • switching
  • Network analytics
  • Cloud alerting/outages
  • Ease of configuration
  • Traffic analysis
  • Ability to seamlessly troubleshoot the switching network.
  • I don't have any CONS in the way of their switching products.
I think Meraki is a hefty switch for small businesses. However, for medium business and large enterprise networks, Meraki is a great product. I gave Meraki a 10 out of 10 because I've had no issues with the switching products. I absolutely love every aspect of them, from configuration to management. I come from a Cisco switching background and Meraki is everything Cisco is with all of the analytics and visual dashboards added.
Advanced configuration for dummies. Coming from the Cisco command-line configuration, Meraki is everything a Cisco switch has to offer and more.
We don't have any Cisco products, we replaced them with Meraki.
Meraki scales up very easily and quickly with data center switches connected via backbone and satellite site switches added and configured upon connection to the internet.
Tom Shepherd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki was used in one of the environments that we support under our managed service offering. IT was used across three sites to for wired and wireless networking for client access and server connectivity. It provides an easy to manage solution that doesn't require specialist training and expertise to maintain.
  • Management
  • Scalability
  • Ease of deployment
  • Cost
  • Feature limitations
It's well suited to small and medium sized organisations that require high performance high quality networking but do not have a requirement for more advanced features. It is less appropriate in larger organisations or those with complex requirements as this is better suited to the traditional Cisco networking portfolio where more advanced features are supported
The ease of deployment was a big factor in the decision making process for this customer as they do not have a dedicated IT team in house so they just needed something that would be easy to setup and manage in the long run. They also have multiple sites and being able to manage the different environments all from one place greatly helped.
We have used the Cisco Meraki Insight tool to get better monitoring of performance related issues. There were issues with a certain application and it was considered that the network might be causing them so we used this tool to investigate that further, It was very simple to deploy and gave us a lot of insight, as the name would suggest!
The scalability is one of the key features and is very ease to use and understand quickly. Additional modules can be added with ease without having to build configs and apply them manually as in a traditional cisco networking infrastructure. This makes it ideal for fast paced environment where requirements are often changing.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki MS on clients' sites where we don't have a human presence. We use these switches for LAN users and also to connect Meraki Wifi access points. It is very simple when we ask the client to install a new device and it helped us to have easy management of the infrastructure, easy change deployment and it is also easy to schedule the OS upgrades.
  • "Plug and play" network devices, very easy to be installed by your client
  • Very useful dashboard from where it is possible to check the status of the infrastructure and fix the issues.
  • Automatic and scheduled OS upgrades.
  • Not manageable locally; it would be good to be able to connect on the devices via ssh or at least console.
  • Advanced features should be available like a normal Cisco switch, even if it is in CLI, in particular for Core switches.
Cisco Meraki MS is very well suited for small or very small sites like shops where you want to deploy your local network very easily, and without technical competencies onsite. It is also possible to deploy it for bigger office environments as it is flexible and very easy to manage. I would prefer "classic" Cisco switches for difficult environments like factories and industrial buildings.
Cisco Meraki MS is really easy to deploy. You just need a be sure that the device has access to the Internet to connect to the Meraki cloud from where it is possible to configure it. It was very helpful for us, especially with the COVID crisis where the travels on sites are quite difficult. This solution allowed us to continue the deployment of new sites.
We have full Meraki infrastructures for the LAN and WLAN which allow us fast deployments for the users. The advantage is also to have a full view of the connectivity and of the traffic when we have to troubleshoot users' issues. We also have a lot of information from the dashboard to prevent and fix abnormal situations that happen on the network.
We have been able to deploy our sites and our network and grow little by little very easily. The maintenance and the upgrade are very well managed. Until now, we didn't have any defective devices.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of our Ethernet switches are running a switch in the [Cisco] Meraki MS line. We have, between all locations, 40 switches in all. The problem it solved for us, was enable an easy to use interface for our service desk to respond to port changes and network troubleshooting. It also helped us gain valuable insight into how the network was performing overall as well as help with us with some automation needs across multiple switch changes at once.
  • Easy to use
  • Automation and mass changes
  • Insight and reports of traffic type and bandwidth usage
  • Alerting
  • Great customer support
  • People who are coming from enterprise switches or command line options may feel limited
  • If internet is having issue, managing the switches can become more burdensome
  • Switches do not have as many advanced features as enterprise switches
  • Delay in reporting and debugging
[Cisco Meraki MS is] best suited for companies with multiple sites that want visibility and switch management in one platform. The Meraki series is most likely a better fit for small to mid-size companies that are comfortable with a cloud first approach. IT departments that have a string desire to use advanced features and "get under the hood" may be unhappy with Meraki. Your only way to mange the switches it really through there cloud, the switches have a very debug centered local webpage. Companies also looking for 40/100 GBPs would have a wider model range in another vendor, Meraki also dos not support Fibre Channel. If departments also want to control updates on a certain version, Meraki may not be ideal, they do not let you get too far behind in firmware. They have in the last 6 years really kept adding so many new features and have a good value stream and have been increasing the product portfolio a lot.
Deploying a new switch is very easy and takes us almost no time at all. The user interface is designed for managing multiple switchports at once, so someone needed to update a VLAN across multiple switches, [Cisco Meraki MS] makes this very easy. The service desk is also able to login and view cable testing issue, duplex mismatches and how busy an uplink trunk is and really empower them to own the ticket and feel like they are able to work network issues without immediate escalation
Azure Active Directory provides SAML SSO which is a huge requirement of ours and makes delegation of roles and permissions easier
We also use Meraki Wireless access points, which is great because the graphs and network topology that there cloud is able to create helps us understand the network. The access points also tell the switch what port it is plugged into
Very scalable and easy add more switches, we just buy a license and put into the portal and then plug the switch into our management network, it checks into the cloud and is able to get a pre-built configuration. The configuration is also very easy to update and change as needed, when changes that could impact the internet access to the switch, a friendly warning comes up and has saved us a few times from making a bad config.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We managed to get hold of a trial unit for our practice, having already put in the wireless solution and commenced utilizing the MDM - so were very much sold on the Meraki ecosystem. This switch is being used in a satellite office as the core switch to connect the server with the firewall and users.
  • Simple to set up (plug and play)
  • Very slick looking kit (great for architects that are conscious on looks)
  • Wealth of configuration options
  • Connects to the Meraki cloud solution
  • You have to remember that when the Meraki support ends you need to renew it and so there is a cost that won't stop
  • Switches only recently added dual power supplies, which is needed for resilience but took time for it to come out
  • Not a cheap solution
Great for most scenarios where you want intelligent switches and either have little knowledge on switch configuration (e.g. the standard Cisco range and the dark art of learning their configuration language)or a detailed knowledge and enjoy the ease of the interface to get complex configurations done for you.
The web interface makes managing the solution very simple. Some complex tasks are made easy to do via the intuitive layout of the site. I've found that it's reporting features and automated troubleshooting tools make it easy to identify issues and resolve them. Integration of all aspects of the meraki hardware is also useful.
As and when we've expanded our solution, it's been simple. We added a satellite office and it was an easy task to push out the configuration to the new devices.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meraki switches are excellent cloud-based switches that can take place of other switches. We are using Meraki devices (switches, MX, and more) in a couple of our networks that were recently acquired. The business problems that the MS switches address are similar to regular switch solutions. The difference is that MS switches are super easy to maintain and there are a lot of features being that they are cloud-based.
  • Ease of Management
  • Ease of Monitoring
  • Ease of Deployment
  • Could have more features potentially
  • Data center driven switches
MS switches are well suited for an organization that needs basic switching with ease of management. The Meraki TAC support is outstanding providing any support just by owning the device and carrying the license. These switches are very easy to management, so you don't have to worry about what will be impacted when you make a change because the Meraki Dashboard will tell you!
When it comes to deployment, management, and monitoring of network devices that are available on the market, I'd say that Meraki takes the cake. These devices are extremely easy to manage, monitor, and deploy. A deployment of a normal switch might take 5-8 hours of configuration, verification, etc. With Meraki, it might take 1-2 hours because you don't need to worry about hardening commands, additional licenses, etc.
Having Meraki MR AP's has been very nice for our organization. These AP's register with the cloud and are managed by the cloud. This is great to have for ease of management. Also, integrating with the MS switches makes it easy to see important information that would otherwise be challenging to gather.
To add and remove switches in Meraki, this is super easy. The reason why I didn't give this section a full 10 is because these switches are meant for smaller to mid-sized organizations. So, this being said, if an organization were to grow rapidly, at some point, you'd need to replace these switches with beefier switches that can handle more data-center technologies as well as higher loads of traffic.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are deploying more and more Meraki switches as we replace aging switches. We use these everywhere from the core to the edge.
  • Easy to deploy
  • Easy to manage
  • Easy to update
  • Not as feature-rich as other switches
These are my go-to switches. They are faster to deploy and make changes. I save so much time managing and updating these compared to any other switch I've worked with before.
Having all of the switches in one console makes it easy to see everything at once. I can search for tagged ports to group them easier and make changes as needed. The automated alerts to let me know I have problems helps solve issues sooner.
It's easy to add switches to a stack if needed.
Tim Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them as both Layer 2 and layer 3 devices at multiple branches across the whole organization. Some just layer 2 but are layer 3 capable while others are used for routing purposes so fully utilize the layer 3 capabilities that Meraki can provide. Some branches have one some have two or more depending on the branch size.
  • Cloud managed
  • Multi-layer
  • Ease of use
  • Reliable
  • Life cycle upgrades
  • Price
Remote branches where you do not have easy access or near enough you can deploy them with ease and configure, patch, and monitor them from anywhere. The advanced capabilities that Cisco Meraki brings to an environment are worth the premium price and licensing costs. They have virtually all of the normal features most Cisco switches have but with exceptional remote access.
We have been able to remotely deploy, manage and administer multiple branches core and access layer switches without having to travel to them. Considering the issues due to COVID this has reduced any extra complexity that COVID has added to any day to day administration of networks and network services across the whole organization.
Meraki integrates seamlessly with all the other Cisco products we have and makes overall management a lot easier compared to other products we have trialed or demo'd over the years. We have been able to get routers, switches wifi access points, cameras of both brands all connected and also work well out of the box with Cisco Webex too.
We have been able to grow and expand with upgrades and even replaced a few defective devices with minimal fuss.
Simon Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently deploy the Meraki MS switches at sites where there are few or no IT staff.
The typical use case that I’ve deployed is for sites in the 10 - 300 user range. For sites bigger than 100 users I’ll typically install a Cisco Catalyst core and use the Meraki as access switches, especially in wiring closets. If the site is small I’ll typically deploy a couple of these devices to account for potential failure scenarios. Ensuring that the internet connectivity on remote sites is "robust" is extremely important as this connectivity is required to manage the devices.
  • Visibility of sites through a single pane of glass.
  • Excellent troubleshooting capability
  • Automatic upgrades of the operating system
  • No support for EIGRP
  • Changes can sometimes be slow to apply
  • No Netflow support, however application visibility can be gleaned from the portal
I’d typically install these devices as access layer switches. Now, depending on the use cases I’d potentially choose a model that is capable of taking a redundant power supply and has the capability of physical stacking. It is possible to create virtual stacks as well. I don’t typically deploy these switches as core devices as there is limited support for routing protocols.
Generally, the online support that you get through the Meraki portal is excellent. You can raise, update and close your calls from the Meraki portal. You can also purchase a product called Meraki Now! with response contracts similar to Cisco’s Smartnet, however, it’s really dependant on what jurisdiction you are in - something to check before ordering!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meraki switches for the whole organization. We bought to replace our aged Cisco and Alloy switches.
Cloud management and support bring our everyday configuration and monitoring tasks to a high modern level.
Now I can see much more info about what's going on switches and create reports.
  • It is Cisco switches with some improvement in managed access.
  • The switches are very reliable.
  • The support service from Meraki team are great.
  • License cost a bit high.
  • Some parts of web interface are little bit overloaded with functions.
  • No local Telnet and SSH access.
Meraki has all of the range of switches. We use them for data center critical load/access. They may be suitable for user-level access as well but a little overpriced with licenses and support cost.
We have few cases with support for Meraki switches. One of the issues was with ports and VLANs configuration - really unclear situation.
We had a faulty switch and tried to replace it with a new Meraki. Tech expertise from Meraki support was quick and professional.
ILEANA COLMENTER | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We establish meraki switches as a standar for our LAN Network. So, in the head offices and branches there are MS installed to ensure the visibility of the network, topology and warranty the troubleshooting in case of a failure in any branch office. It helps to simplify the processs of audit the network every year and ease the fact that we don’t have an It manager in each office of the group.
  • Cisco Meraki MS Switches allow to configure virtual stacking.
  • Cisco Meraki MS Switches show the network’s topology and it is updated instantly.
  • Allow physical stacking in all models
  • Cisco Meraki MS Switches could add more troubleshooting functionalities like cabling testing (in fiber ports).
Cisco Meraki MS Switches perfect suit in organizations who don’t have a formal IT team in each branch and want to optimize the operation. Users support, updated information of the network, connected Meraki AP (to get full visibility). Also, it is recommended in the hospitality complex and retail. There are tons of functionalities that help develop new features in the network to offer new services to clients.
Cisco Meraki MS Switches offer you a 7x24 support in various idioms. They have the best SLAs in the industry. In the case of RMA, Cisco Meraki MS Switches sends you a new switch instead of pieces replacement (and if your switch model is out of stock or EOS, they send you the latest model in the market).
January 23, 2020

Nothing else compares

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki MS switches mostly at remote locations where we do not have any, or very limited, on-site IT staff. The remote cloud management makes it extremely easy to manage. Whether it's just making changes to a switch or settings up a completely new one, it's pretty much plug-and-play.
  • Remote management.
  • Integrates nicely with other Meraki products.
  • It can be used anywhere from a home/small office to a large enterprise.
  • Some advanced features that you might find in a regular Cisco switch might be missing.
  • Upgrading firmware almost forces you to update all switches in a network at the same time. It would be nice to do one at a time.
  • I would like to see better reporting.
As an L2 switch, Meraki switches are great in just about any environment. I use an 8-port switch at home or we have entire facilities that have multiple 48-port switches. While there have been some times that we elected to use a straight Cisco switch as opposed to a Meraki, I honestly can't think of the reason why. I can say that it was extremely minuscule.
While it's rare that you need to reach out to support when we did it's been a pleasant experience. They were able to quickly diagnose what is going on, and where the issue is with bad config.
Eric Krueger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki Switches are now our being used for the core switching in our organization. The switch over was made in order to facilitate a smaller IT staff who could manage the switches easier. The web-based interface UI made it easier to have remote administration as well as more functionality to conform to our business needs.
  • The web UI is easy to use, and very intuitive.
  • Remote cloud based administration makes support easier with a smaller staff.
  • Some of the reporting customization could use some tweaking.
  • A few more analytical tools.
For the company with a smaller IT staff, these switches are great. This allows us to do some of the analytics and customization ourselves without relying on an outside vendor all the time. We do not have to have a full-time CNA in-house in order to manage our switches.
Ease of use, great Cisco support, customization, and security all contribute to this. One of the other great factors is the ease of setup and customization right from the start. We are able to get our systems set and start running analytics right away to provide reports to upper management quickly.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our entire organization is built upon Cisco Meraki Suite. We utilize varying Cisco Meraki Switches in our infrastructure. The type of switch depends completely on the needs of the business unit where the implementation will occur. For instance, we have spoke switches, small retail switches, large hub switches and enterprise-grade corporate facility switches.
  • Ease of deployment
  • Security rules
  • Failover-mode
  • Topology
  • The ability to utilize SSH for the switches.
  • Network alerting
  • Lack of IP address management
For any business with small hub sites, Cisco Meraki is perfect as you can manage that infrastructure remotely from your headquarter campus. However, the larger enterprise will struggle within the Meraki space as it is missing critical features—IPAM, network monitoring, built-in 802.1x, reporting. There have been great strides so far within the space and I think there are more to come!
The support team at Meraki unbelievable once you get them on the phone or through email. For the past 15 months though it seems like there is a lot of change and minimal L3 support for escalated troubleshooting. A lot of assistance is needed from your neighborhood solutions/technical engineer.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Meraki switches at all of our remote sites, this enables us to easily manage these sites, giving us the ability to quickly make switch port changes without the need for complicated CLI commands. This means the level of training required for staff members supporting these sites is minimal.
  • Easy to use
  • Firmware updates can be automatically scheduled for convenient times
  • Easy to add and remove vlans
  • We have found them not very good for core switches, so we are using another vendor for this
  • Quite expensive
We find that Cisco Meraki switches are very well suited to locations or businesses that need basic switching with little management or upkeep required for them. They are also well suited to companies that would like technicians of all levels to perform basic functions like assigning vlans to ports given that the interface is very simple to use.
We have never had any problems with the customer support, always quick to respond and always very helpful.
Andrew Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Cisco Meraki MS Switches for POE user switches. They are managed through a dashboard. The dashboard makes it so much easier to configure and manage. They were fiber linked between buildings. The Meraki MS Switches are used throughout the entire organization at Stephenson Equipment Inc. Very reliable equipment.
  • Managed by a dashboard instead of a command line. You don't have to be an expert to configure them.
  • You can see a list of clients that connected and how much bandwidth they have used.
  • The dashboard shows you the historical bandwidth up through the last month. This will allow you to troubleshoot issues.
  • Licensing. You have to purchase licenses either yearly or every 3 years. I would love to see this one purchase and you own it for life. The equipment will still work after the license expires if you don't renew but you can't change/manage it without a valid license.
  • I would like to see them have a 10G MS switch.
Cisco Meraki MS Switches are well suited to companies with small IT staff. The dashboard makes it easy to configure and manage. They are great switches but they do not have as much power as the regular Cisco switches. The Cisco Meraki MS Switches are not good for Network Backbone or SAN switches. I would use a regular Cisco switch in those cases. In my scenario, the Meraki switches were used for Users, Cameras, Phones, and Printers. The regular Cisco switches were used for the Backbone, servers, and SAN.
I've never had a problem with tech support. They were very helpful every time I called them. Meraki will proactively let you know when they release firmware and you can automatically schedule it to be installed. They will advance ship replacement switches so you don't have to lose productivity and plan your downtime.
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have about 30 Meraki MS Switches, with between one and four at each of our 15 plants. They serve as our primary campus distribution switches, although we do not use them in our headquarters network "core", where we have a pair of Cisco Nexus C93108TC-EX in a failover configuration. We needed a VPN mesh across the enterprise for distribution (inside one large domain-based network) and we didn't want to have to spend a great deal of time establishing VPN tunnels between every single site (to every single other site), so we went with Meraki for their ease of use and quick configuration.
  • Meraki MS switches are wonderful at allowing a network admin to configure a VPN mesh network without having to have highly specialized knowledge. Unlike Cisco switches, there is no CLI, there is only a GUI, and Meraki support helps you set it up as you add nodes to your network.
  • Meraki MS switches are easy to deploy. Full stop.
  • They can work with any firewall or ASA but I would strongly recommend using the Meraki MX security appliance if you are going to use Meraki MS switches because they were made to work together.
  • They easily stack. It's all done for you in the Meraki cloud control panel.
  • They will get an address from your admin VLAN's DHCP scope and keep it. Even if you unplug it and move it, you will not have to worry about addressing it.
  • The GUI is online and you can reach it from anywhere, so as long as you have the credentials, you can manage the network from any device that has a browser.
  • The GUI isn't always self-explanatory or completely intuitive, so you might need some help from Meraki support to get things set up.
  • You can't configure some things down to a very granular level and not all advanced features are even available on Meraki MS switches. This is why we don't use them in our CORE, we only use them for campus distribution stacks. They work very well for that purpose.
Meraki MS switches are an excellent choice as distribution (campus) switches for a small to medium-sized enterprise like mine, although I can envision them being really useful in the same role in a large enterprise, as well. You probably won't want to use them as your core switch(es) because there are some important advanced L3 features that you won't find on them, but as I said, for a small business that is not looking for complex addressing options and HA / SRST options, they would be fine in the core. Just do a little bit of homework if Meraki MS is going to be your only network switches including core(s). As always, if you DO use them in your core, be sure to have full redundancy (have a warm spare nearby) and make sure you understand how to swap Meraki MS switches on the web control GUI so that you can do so quickly if needed.
Meraki support is excellent. They are also highly proactive. They literally replaced all of a particular model of our MS switches when it was discovered that they were not sure about the longevity of a particular chassis fan inside those switches. Without us having to do anything other than ask, they shipped us all new replacements (with a better fan in them) for the 10 or so of the switches that were in the affected model group, and we shipped the defective ones back to them int he same packaging, prepaid. None of the recalled switches had ever experienced a fan failure, but they were not willing to let them run in a production environment. I like that. Meraki MS support staff are also quick to get back to you and very knowledgeable about their product. I actually contact our Meraki rep to instigate a support case (although i could call support directly), and he gets the details from me first, then opens the ticket for us and explains it to support. This means that I only even need to talk to one person, and I like that, too. Meraki MS switches are designed to be essentially "plug and play", so support is generally not needed unless the end user is not following the deployment and operation guides.
October 15, 2019

Get Meraki Switches!

Laurance J. Specht | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Meraki MS Switches manage all the wireless networking, VOIP and security cameras across our entire organization. They provide reliable and cost-effective network switching solutions for over 350 WAPS, VOIP phones and security cameras across 3 campuses. They are easy to manage online and have a number of great features to help with networking needs.
  • Network device management
  • Wireless network health
  • Network stability
  • Lower entry price points
Cisco Meraki MS Switches are the best in the market place. They are cloud supported, easy to configure and full featured. If you are doing any scale of networking that involves multiple-use scenarios and a variety of devices, Meraki MS Switches are the best choice. Cisco support is second to none and the switches have a great ROI.
Cisco support for the Meraki products is great. I have a dedicated representative who I can reach out to at any time. They offer numerous online resources and easy to follow tutorials to help the most novice user feel like a pro. When I need support they were ready and quickly helped me solve my problems.