Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Cisco Meraki MS

Cisco Meraki MS

Overview

What is Cisco Meraki MS?

Cisco offers the Meraki brand of Ethernet switches.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Cisco Meraki MS

6 out of 10
February 07, 2024
Incentivized
We use Cisco Meraki MS switches as a replacement for our old Cisco Catalyst switches because our environment is quite simple and we don't …
Continue reading

Cisco Meraki MS

8 out of 10
February 07, 2024
Incentivized
We use Cisco Meraki MS to deliver an easy, manageable solution to switching to many of our clients. Many clients have small network teams. …
Continue reading

Easy to Manage

8 out of 10
December 08, 2023
Incentivized
Use them as our floor switches. We have 9 of them and configured as two stacks. We have staff workstations and audio/video devices, …
Continue reading

Cisco Meraki MS review

8 out of 10
December 08, 2023
Incentivized
Organisation had pockets of areas where network connections were not great and Cisco Meraki MS Wireless Access Point helped giving great …
Continue reading

Meraki World!

8 out of 10
September 19, 2023
Incentivized
These switches are used for connecting small offices, typically we were looking for access switches and these come in handy. We use layer …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Cisco Meraki MS?

The Cisco Meraki MS is presented by the vendor as the industry’s first line cloud managed access and aggregation switches, combining the benefits of cloud-based centralized management with a powerful, reliable access platform.

Cisco Meraki MS Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Cisco offers the Meraki brand of Ethernet switches.

HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches, MikroTik Routers and Switches, and Fortinet FortiGate are common alternatives for Cisco Meraki MS.

Reviewers rate Product Scalability highest, with a score of 9.1.

The most common users of Cisco Meraki MS are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(158)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 76)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Cisco Meraki MS 120, ms 225 and ms 350 devices in access , distribution and core switching. The devices can be stacked and uplinked to 10 G bits per second. The scope is to have a switching platform managed from a single point of manage that you can control from anywhere and any desk or device.
  • Cloud managed
  • Simplicity of manage
  • Testing ports conectivity
  • Logs
  • Refreshing time
  • Multigigabit ports
Cisco Meraki MS Switch is a solution that we are using in different scenarios. You can use for a big company with different branches where you can configure all the network in a simple way or you can use Cisco Meraki MS switching in a small company where they don't have a big IT department to manage all the devices. You can also see the wifi and firewall in the same dashboard.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Deploying different sizes of networks. We usually mainly use Cisco Meraki MS for the small / medium networks. Deploying all in one solution (Cisco Meraki MS, MX and MR). Managing and applying automations based templates. Leveraging on Meraki dashboard to send webhooks to our monitoring platform and tools. Integrating the Meraki dashboard with 3rd parties tools and other management solutions.
  • Automation
  • Configuration Simplicity
  • Templates
  • Integration with 1000eyes
  • Documentation
  • API
Good for small and medium network sized (all in one solution). Thanks to the Meraki dashboard you have the ability to manage and apply configuration.
February 07, 2024

Cisco Meraki MS Lover

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Im selling Cisco Meraki MS, MX and MR everyday. There are different products inside the Cisco Meraki MS, MX and the MR that make it easy for the customer to choose from depending on their needs and size of their network.
  • Easy to connect
  • Easy to deploy
  • Easy to start it on dashboard
  • I see Cisco Meraki MS products as a perfect product
  • Maybe it would be better if there is a way where the power cord can be included with the hardware instead of selling it separately
Don’t have any reason to say where the Cisco Meraki MS is less appropriate. Maybe the only thing I can mention is that I wish that the power cable is in the box.
February 07, 2024

Cisco Meraki MS

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Cisco Meraki MS switches as a replacement for our old Cisco Catalyst switches because our environment is quite simple and we don't need the full feature set of the Catalyst series.
  • Switching
  • Monitoring
  • Reliability
  • Ease of management
  • More features
Because the Cisco Meraki MS platform is cloud-based, options are limited for you when cloud connectivity is not yet established. More troubleshooting options should be available to establish and troubleshoot initial cloud access.
February 07, 2024

Cisco Meraki MS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We use Cisco Meraki MS to deliver an easy, manageable solution to switching to many of our clients. Many clients have small network teams. The ability to log in and configure ports from a cloud management helps them to easily manage their switching network. Port profiles allow the quick configuration of multiple ports, and large scale changes are very easy. Clients love the visibility, and ease of configuration. One thing that could improve, is when port profiles are in use, the switch overview screen displays the incorrect information for each configured port. If this could match the info related to the port profile configured, it would improve this feature.
  • Port Profiles
  • Large scale changes
  • Firmware upgrades
  • Autostacking
  • Port profile visibly on switch port overview
  • There are no large scale switch models such as the 9600/9400
Cisco Meraki MS is easy to configure and manage, small teams can really benefit from using the dashboard. Alerts help to keep on top of issues and port schedules can help to reduce power usage by power of devices in times they may not be required.
Andreas Kvist | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We resell Cisco Meraki MS all the time. The visibility in the dashboard is really great, usage of ports etc is great. Setting up vlans and grouping switches by using tags are very simple. Our consultants are very happy with using the products and so is the customers. They are also sturdy, I don’t see any support cases either. Meaning that I’m confident reselling the MS series.
  • Visibility
  • Ease of configuration
  • Rliability
  • Resell the MS through distribution
  • Please use the same OS over catalyst and Meraki
Small, not knowledgeable customer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
better connectivity with nice performance and much better security
  • easy plug and play inatall
  • easy to troubleshooting
  • easy to deploy
  • more pratical training
  • more presentation content
  • more design scenarios
SMB is nice core scenarios not so much
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I work for Deutsche telekom, and we install MS devices for end customers. We use Cisco Meraki MS switches a lot for customer installations from MS120 to MS130 to MS 390 or 9300. whether in the access or core area via a flexible stack. The rollout and operation of the devices are quick and easy. The dashboard offers many options for this.
  • Simple administration and configuration
  • Software update and management
  • Operation and replacement of the devices in the event of a fault
  • Spanning tree configuration (MST, Per-VLAN)
  • Exchange of devices from different model series incl. migration of the configuration
  • Better event logging and troubleshooting options for error analysis
Cisco Meraki MS is well suited for the use of temporary locations. Branch offices, trade fair stands, and laboratory locations must be set up and operated on short notice. Locations with few technical staff that are operated on-site by employees themselves. The switches can be quickly installed and configured.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Due to reliability, support, and ease of use, we migrated from a Ubiquiti stack to Cisco Meraki MS. We have a small infrastructure team that doesn't have deep networking experience. The single pane of glass dashboard and intuitive structure made supporting the network a breeze. In addition to daily support, firmware, and configuration updates are simple to push out individually or en masse.
  • Intuitive Port Configuration
  • Quick Stacking
  • Low Stress Maintenance
  • Only MSP's get dark mode
  • Could use an inexpensive 4-8 port offering
I came into my org from the MSP space ripped out a Ubiquiti stack, and brought in Cisco Meraki MS, and we have loved it since.
December 08, 2023

Easy to Manage

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Use them as our floor switches. We have 9 of them and configured as two stacks. We have staff workstations and audio/video devices, printers, etc. plugged into these switches. We use the Cisco Meraki MS portal to manage these switches.
  • Easy to manage
  • Stable
  • Easy to monitor
  • More filter options for bulk operation
Easy to manage, making changes.
December 08, 2023

Cisco Meraki MS review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Organisation had pockets of areas where network connections were not great and Cisco Meraki MS Wireless Access Point helped giving great network connected to lots of devices and a single pan of view for managing it.
  • Wireless connectivity
  • Security
  • Mapping
  • Features
  • Frequency of Updates
Wireless connectivity to any device whether that is a patient monitoring device or an asset with wireless connectivity. Also, allows one to get a single pane of view of all devices connected.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We typically use Cisco Meraki MS switching for most of our remote sites where connectivity requirements are relatively simple and locations are very remote. Meraki Dashboard allows us to provision new hardware using existing onsite resources (technical, but non-IT people, like electricians, mechanics, etc.) and avoid costly technician deployments. The ease of consumption of telemetry in Dashboard allows non-networking IT teams and site management personnel to understand usage patterns and real time issues without having to engage support teams and without being overwhelmed by technical detail.
  • Traffic accounting, patterns, visualisation
  • Ease of deployment
  • Simplicity of management (e.g. automated updates)
  • Lack of detailed troubleshooting information (e.g. failures to find a path to internet)
  • Limited port security options
  • Limited optical performance information
Cisco Meraki MS is brilliant in very simple environments where basic segregation is required. Many features are pre-configured as defaults and this makes it easy to configure security and stability features like STP protections and UDLD. It is capable of some more complex functions, such as dot1x authentication. TAC support is easy to access and usually timely. Bundling support into the license and making it available through Dashboard is great.

We have had issues monitoring the Cisco Meraki Dashboard using legacy SNMP based system - this means we now effectively have one more network monitoring screen to watch. We also sorely lack an ageing timer for stick MAC address port security - essential in uncontrolled locations with no NAC available. We have also had issues with devices pulling DHCP leasing from the wrong VLAN on initial provisioning and then struggling to transition to our management VLAN when the full config is pulled.
September 19, 2023

Meraki World!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
These switches are used for connecting small offices, typically we were looking for access switches and these come in handy. We use layer 2 switches and some layer 3 switches depending on the need. We require stackable switches and MS switches are perfect for these
  • Stacking
  • User interface
  • Cloud based
  • Security
  • More robust
  • Improve on latency
We use these for small offices where they come in perfectly. we use a MX as a firewall to protect the access layer but where this is needed for isolated LAB these switches are perfect and since they are cloud managed, it can be configured on the go
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The problems of repetitive updates were solved. It is important for those who are looking for the ease of access of being able to update their systems properly, and with increased ease to use this product. It had greatly helped the efficiency of my and my team.
  • Cisco Meraki MS is easy to collaborate on with others.
  • The purpose of Cisco Meraki MS is fulfilled, as it properly makes updating networks easier than before.
  • I would rather have a more minimalistic user interface.
Cisco Meraki MS is well suited when working with network architecture, and me and my team have thoroughly appreciated its helpfulness to our project.
August 26, 2023

Cisco Meraki MS Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
So with Meraki switches, we primarily use those as access layer switches rather than core, which would handle routing. So the business problems, it gives you a lot of visibility into what clients are connected to. And now, the Meraki hat lets you integrate catalyst switching, which is what we typically do for core. You get the whole, you get end visibility in the dashboard
  • You can look at traffic flows really easily in the dashboard.
  • You can track down what clients are connected to what switchboard very easily in the dashboard. So it's handy.
  • Management on the Meraki MS series is difficult and you have a lot more granular control on like a Cisco catalyst.
Well suited would be for a customer that doesn't really have a whole lot of in-house support staff just because it's so easy to use the dashboard. And less appropriate is probably where they need really granular control over POE connections where they need to tell the port, this is how much power to deliver to this device rather than let it negotiate. That can be a challenge on a Meraki.
June 13, 2023

Great

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We needed a small factor managed switch on a remote site. This worked perfectly
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to deploy
  • More command based trouble shooting
For remote site that already used an mx for sd-wan
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used to have some issues regarding end users and industrial network. Meraki gave us an incredible improvemente on coverage and quality regarding insights and useful information. We started to use Meraki products on Wi-Fi but now we are expanding it to cable network with switches and core switches with great results to the business
  • Easy to use
  • Lots of useful information
  • Support
  • SD-WAN
  • Core switch routing
  • serial access
It is a great equipment, easy to use and does not require a bigger team to manage. It gives you insights and helps improving the quality for the business.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use them for access switches at one of our branch locations. One issue that I have with Meraki is it seems like not all the options are visible to the end users. You can call support and they can turn it on. The positive is they are easy to use and setup.
  • Keeping it simple
  • Fast setup
  • Support is easy to contact and visibility to the product makes it faster to resolution.
  • Missing functionality
  • No Command line or if something goes wrong no backdoor
  • No way to backup config if someone did something vicious.
Branch offices or offices where there isn't much change. Less suitable is a datacenter where customization is needed.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We deployed these switches to replace out aging switches deployed throughout our warehouses. It was a bit of an adjustment at first getting used to not having to console into each unit but with the advantages of the zero touch deployments, it quickly became favorable. Everything has been a smooth deployment with the expectation of running into issues with CDP sessions. We discovered that if We are using Extreme APs which have CDP enables, any meraki switch connected to those APs crashes the CDP process. CDP will still respond, but CDP is getting presented through SNMP. This has effected some of our configurations with E911 calling and callbacks.
  • Simplicity of Configuration
  • Dashboard management
  • Better troubleshooting tools
  • No longer need to use CLI
  • Handling CDP sessions
We have replaced most of our core MDF switch stacks with meraki and love the integration the dashboard will have with our current fleet of 9300 catalyst switches. This has made deployment and management much easier for our department. The zero touch deployment of the meraki switches has saved us a LOT of time when it comes to switch replacements or a new warehouse build.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use this product dedicated on a separate VLAN for all of the Meraki APs like the MR42.
  • Ease of deployment
  • Awesome visibility with the Meraki Cloud management
  • Ease of management in terms of upgrading firmware
  • Command line interface
  • monitor CPU, memory, and disk usage
  • merge Cisco IOS-XE and Meraki OS together so it runs as Next generation OS
1. Ease of deployment, literally plug and play.
2. Ease of management in terms of upgrading firmware.
3. Provide excellent visibility.
June 08, 2023

MS 210 Easy Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The MS 210 switches are a layer 2 stack between the SD-Wan Internet Edge and Branch switch stack.
  • Easy to configure specific VLANs
  • Easy to prune VLANs
  • Easy to monitor from a single pane of glass
  • Initial configuration in local link mode at first configuration needs to be able to flip ports from trunk (default) to access .
  • More port customization for AAA services.
  • More VRF usage
Cisco Meraki MS is very well suited to a centralized routing domain such as a school district where the entire network is located in one city and connected by fiber directly.
June 08, 2023

CiscoMerakiMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the entire Meraki stack and it works great. Integrations with other platforms - MenandMice as an example cannot integrate their IPAM/DNS/DHCP solution. Not being able to use tools like this means we have to manage DHCP on each vlan for each network within the Meraki dashboard. Vendors such as MenandMice need the ability to access our dashboard so we can have a single pane of glass to view and make enterprise changes.
  • easy firmware updates
  • great dashboard visability
  • not CLI access to get detailed information
  • lack of behind the curtain details
  • SNMP ability to pull detailed information
  • Management tools have a very hard time pulling details
Meraki is not ready for data center edge - example there is no ability to introduce BGP or other data center protocols. We have deployed full Meraki stacks at over 80 of our locations and it just works.
Return to navigation