Cisco Meraki MS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
59 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Mikel Seidl | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

The most easy to manage networking equipment for small teams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meraki Switches as our distribution switches across our 160 acre campus. These switches have changed our networking workflow entirely. The insight that the web GUI offers our small team of admins makes managing the spread out network that we have very easy to manage and maintain. It also makes switch and port configuration a quick and easy task for even inexperienced network admins.
  • Ease of Management
  • Reliability
  • Network Monitoring and Insight
  • Ease of Switch Firmware Upgrades
  • Cost - The yearly cost is much higher than standard switches
  • Meraki Support and Cisco TAC can clash sometimes
  • Some changes still need to be made from the Command Line
Meraki Switches are great for most mid to large size environments where ease of management is important for the team of network admins. Meraki can be managed by less experienced admins and Meraki Support is super helpful when needed. These switches can be used in any environment in need of robust switching. Small business with single locations may be better served by more basic switches.
Meraki support is always helpful when we run into any issues. They have helped us through config and best practices in many cases as well. They have been one of the most effective support groups I have worked with. The only occasional downside is more unique to us. We use some Cisco Catalyst switches for data center management and other Layer 3 functions. When issues come up in the Data center that has both Cisco and Meraki, the two support groups tend to shift blame towards each other for a bit until we find the issue.
Read Mikel Seidl's full review
Simon Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2020

The right choice for remote offices

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently deploy the Meraki MS switches at sites where there are few or no IT staff.
The typical use case that I’ve deployed is for sites in the 10 - 300 user range. For sites bigger than 100 users I’ll typically install a Cisco Catalyst core and use the Meraki as access switches, especially in wiring closets. If the site is small I’ll typically deploy a couple of these devices to account for potential failure scenarios. Ensuring that the internet connectivity on remote sites is "robust" is extremely important as this connectivity is required to manage the devices.
  • Visibility of sites through a single pane of glass.
  • Excellent troubleshooting capability
  • Automatic upgrades of the operating system
  • No support for EIGRP
  • Changes can sometimes be slow to apply
  • No Netflow support, however application visibility can be gleaned from the portal
I’d typically install these devices as access layer switches. Now, depending on the use cases I’d potentially choose a model that is capable of taking a redundant power supply and has the capability of physical stacking. It is possible to create virtual stacks as well. I don’t typically deploy these switches as core devices as there is limited support for routing protocols.
Generally, the online support that you get through the Meraki portal is excellent. You can raise, update and close your calls from the Meraki portal. You can also purchase a product called Meraki Now! with response contracts similar to Cisco’s Smartnet, however, it’s really dependant on what jurisdiction you are in - something to check before ordering!
Read Simon Watkins's full review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Meraki MS Switches are excellent for campus distribution switching

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have about 30 Meraki MS Switches, with between one and four at each of our 15 plants. They serve as our primary campus distribution switches, although we do not use them in our headquarters network "core", where we have a pair of Cisco Nexus C93108TC-EX in a failover configuration. We needed a VPN mesh across the enterprise for distribution (inside one large domain-based network) and we didn't want to have to spend a great deal of time establishing VPN tunnels between every single site (to every single other site), so we went with Meraki for their ease of use and quick configuration.
  • Meraki MS switches are wonderful at allowing a network admin to configure a VPN mesh network without having to have highly specialized knowledge. Unlike Cisco switches, there is no CLI, there is only a GUI, and Meraki support helps you set it up as you add nodes to your network.
  • Meraki MS switches are easy to deploy. Full stop.
  • They can work with any firewall or ASA but I would strongly recommend using the Meraki MX security appliance if you are going to use Meraki MS switches because they were made to work together.
  • They easily stack. It's all done for you in the Meraki cloud control panel.
  • They will get an address from your admin VLAN's DHCP scope and keep it. Even if you unplug it and move it, you will not have to worry about addressing it.
  • The GUI is online and you can reach it from anywhere, so as long as you have the credentials, you can manage the network from any device that has a browser.
  • The GUI isn't always self-explanatory or completely intuitive, so you might need some help from Meraki support to get things set up.
  • You can't configure some things down to a very granular level and not all advanced features are even available on Meraki MS switches. This is why we don't use them in our CORE, we only use them for campus distribution stacks. They work very well for that purpose.
Meraki MS switches are an excellent choice as distribution (campus) switches for a small to medium-sized enterprise like mine, although I can envision them being really useful in the same role in a large enterprise, as well. You probably won't want to use them as your core switch(es) because there are some important advanced L3 features that you won't find on them, but as I said, for a small business that is not looking for complex addressing options and HA / SRST options, they would be fine in the core. Just do a little bit of homework if Meraki MS is going to be your only network switches including core(s). As always, if you DO use them in your core, be sure to have full redundancy (have a warm spare nearby) and make sure you understand how to swap Meraki MS switches on the web control GUI so that you can do so quickly if needed.
Meraki support is excellent. They are also highly proactive. They literally replaced all of a particular model of our MS switches when it was discovered that they were not sure about the longevity of a particular chassis fan inside those switches. Without us having to do anything other than ask, they shipped us all new replacements (with a better fan in them) for the 10 or so of the switches that were in the affected model group, and we shipped the defective ones back to them int he same packaging, prepaid. None of the recalled switches had ever experienced a fan failure, but they were not willing to let them run in a production environment. I like that. Meraki MS support staff are also quick to get back to you and very knowledgeable about their product. I actually contact our Meraki rep to instigate a support case (although i could call support directly), and he gets the details from me first, then opens the ticket for us and explains it to support. This means that I only even need to talk to one person, and I like that, too. Meraki MS switches are designed to be essentially "plug and play", so support is generally not needed unless the end user is not following the deployment and operation guides.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Laurance J. Specht | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Get Meraki Switches!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Meraki MS Switches manage all the wireless networking, VOIP and security cameras across our entire organization. They provide reliable and cost-effective network switching solutions for over 350 WAPS, VOIP phones and security cameras across 3 campuses. They are easy to manage online and have a number of great features to help with networking needs.
  • Network device management
  • Wireless network health
  • Network stability
  • Lower entry price points
Cisco Meraki MS Switches are the best in the market place. They are cloud supported, easy to configure and full featured. If you are doing any scale of networking that involves multiple-use scenarios and a variety of devices, Meraki MS Switches are the best choice. Cisco support is second to none and the switches have a great ROI.
Cisco support for the Meraki products is great. I have a dedicated representative who I can reach out to at any time. They offer numerous online resources and easy to follow tutorials to help the most novice user feel like a pro. When I need support they were ready and quickly helped me solve my problems.
Read Laurance J. Specht's full review
ILEANA COLMENTER | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

A whole network based in Meraki Switches! GOAL!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We establish meraki switches as a standar for our LAN Network. So, in the head offices and branches there are MS installed to ensure the visibility of the network, topology and warranty the troubleshooting in case of a failure in any branch office. It helps to simplify the processs of audit the network every year and ease the fact that we don’t have an It manager in each office of the group.
  • Cisco Meraki MS Switches allow to configure virtual stacking.
  • Cisco Meraki MS Switches show the network’s topology and it is updated instantly.
  • Allow physical stacking in all models
  • Cisco Meraki MS Switches could add more troubleshooting functionalities like cabling testing (in fiber ports).
Cisco Meraki MS Switches perfect suit in organizations who don’t have a formal IT team in each branch and want to optimize the operation. Users support, updated information of the network, connected Meraki AP (to get full visibility). Also, it is recommended in the hospitality complex and retail. There are tons of functionalities that help develop new features in the network to offer new services to clients.
Cisco Meraki MS Switches offer you a 7x24 support in various idioms. They have the best SLAs in the industry. In the case of RMA, Cisco Meraki MS Switches sends you a new switch instead of pieces replacement (and if your switch model is out of stock or EOS, they send you the latest model in the market).
Read ILEANA COLMENTER's full review
Eric Krueger | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Jump right in to a Meraki near you!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki Switches are now our being used for the core switching in our organization. The switch over was made in order to facilitate a smaller IT staff who could manage the switches easier. The web-based interface UI made it easier to have remote administration as well as more functionality to conform to our business needs.
  • The web UI is easy to use, and very intuitive.
  • Remote cloud based administration makes support easier with a smaller staff.
  • Some of the reporting customization could use some tweaking.
  • A few more analytical tools.
For the company with a smaller IT staff, these switches are great. This allows us to do some of the analytics and customization ourselves without relying on an outside vendor all the time. We do not have to have a full-time CNA in-house in order to manage our switches.
Ease of use, great Cisco support, customization, and security all contribute to this. One of the other great factors is the ease of setup and customization right from the start. We are able to get our systems set and start running analytics right away to provide reports to upper management quickly.
Read Eric Krueger's full review
Andrew Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Cisco Meraki MS Switches are great switches for your users

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Cisco Meraki MS Switches for POE user switches. They are managed through a dashboard. The dashboard makes it so much easier to configure and manage. They were fiber linked between buildings. The Meraki MS Switches are used throughout the entire organization at Stephenson Equipment Inc. Very reliable equipment.
  • Managed by a dashboard instead of a command line. You don't have to be an expert to configure them.
  • You can see a list of clients that connected and how much bandwidth they have used.
  • The dashboard shows you the historical bandwidth up through the last month. This will allow you to troubleshoot issues.
  • Licensing. You have to purchase licenses either yearly or every 3 years. I would love to see this one purchase and you own it for life. The equipment will still work after the license expires if you don't renew but you can't change/manage it without a valid license.
  • I would like to see them have a 10G MS switch.
Cisco Meraki MS Switches are well suited to companies with small IT staff. The dashboard makes it easy to configure and manage. They are great switches but they do not have as much power as the regular Cisco switches. The Cisco Meraki MS Switches are not good for Network Backbone or SAN switches. I would use a regular Cisco switch in those cases. In my scenario, the Meraki switches were used for Users, Cameras, Phones, and Printers. The regular Cisco switches were used for the Backbone, servers, and SAN.
I've never had a problem with tech support. They were very helpful every time I called them. Meraki will proactively let you know when they release firmware and you can automatically schedule it to be installed. They will advance ship replacement switches so you don't have to lose productivity and plan your downtime.
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

One of the best hardware on the market

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meraki switches for the whole organization. We bought to replace our aged Cisco and Alloy switches.
Cloud management and support bring our everyday configuration and monitoring tasks to a high modern level.
Now I can see much more info about what's going on switches and create reports.
  • It is Cisco switches with some improvement in managed access.
  • The switches are very reliable.
  • The support service from Meraki team are great.
  • License cost a bit high.
  • Some parts of web interface are little bit overloaded with functions.
  • No local Telnet and SSH access.
Meraki has all of the range of switches. We use them for data center critical load/access. They may be suitable for user-level access as well but a little overpriced with licenses and support cost.
We have few cases with support for Meraki switches. One of the issues was with ports and VLANs configuration - really unclear situation.
We had a faulty switch and tried to replace it with a new Meraki. Tech expertise from Meraki support was quick and professional.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Nothing else compares

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki MS switches mostly at remote locations where we do not have any, or very limited, on-site IT staff. The remote cloud management makes it extremely easy to manage. Whether it's just making changes to a switch or settings up a completely new one, it's pretty much plug-and-play.
  • Remote management.
  • Integrates nicely with other Meraki products.
  • It can be used anywhere from a home/small office to a large enterprise.
  • Some advanced features that you might find in a regular Cisco switch might be missing.
  • Upgrading firmware almost forces you to update all switches in a network at the same time. It would be nice to do one at a time.
  • I would like to see better reporting.
As an L2 switch, Meraki switches are great in just about any environment. I use an 8-port switch at home or we have entire facilities that have multiple 48-port switches. While there have been some times that we elected to use a straight Cisco switch as opposed to a Meraki, I honestly can't think of the reason why. I can say that it was extremely minuscule.
While it's rare that you need to reach out to support when we did it's been a pleasant experience. They were able to quickly diagnose what is going on, and where the issue is with bad config.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Switching into the Next Decade with Cisco Meraki MS Switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our entire organization is built upon Cisco Meraki Suite. We utilize varying Cisco Meraki Switches in our infrastructure. The type of switch depends completely on the needs of the business unit where the implementation will occur. For instance, we have spoke switches, small retail switches, large hub switches and enterprise-grade corporate facility switches.
  • Ease of deployment
  • Security rules
  • Failover-mode
  • Topology
  • The ability to utilize SSH for the switches.
  • Network alerting
  • Lack of IP address management
For any business with small hub sites, Cisco Meraki is perfect as you can manage that infrastructure remotely from your headquarter campus. However, the larger enterprise will struggle within the Meraki space as it is missing critical features—IPAM, network monitoring, built-in 802.1x, reporting. There have been great strides so far within the space and I think there are more to come!
The support team at Meraki unbelievable once you get them on the phone or through email. For the past 15 months though it seems like there is a lot of change and minimal L3 support for escalated troubleshooting. A lot of assistance is needed from your neighborhood solutions/technical engineer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Ideal cloud managed switches

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Meraki switches at all of our remote sites, this enables us to easily manage these sites, giving us the ability to quickly make switch port changes without the need for complicated CLI commands. This means the level of training required for staff members supporting these sites is minimal.
  • Easy to use
  • Firmware updates can be automatically scheduled for convenient times
  • Easy to add and remove vlans
  • We have found them not very good for core switches, so we are using another vendor for this
  • Quite expensive
We find that Cisco Meraki switches are very well suited to locations or businesses that need basic switching with little management or upkeep required for them. They are also well suited to companies that would like technicians of all levels to perform basic functions like assigning vlans to ports given that the interface is very simple to use.
We have never had any problems with the customer support, always quick to respond and always very helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2019

Meraki Makes Networking Easy and Fun

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use a total of five Meraki MS switches across my organization: two 10G switches (MS425-16) and three 1G switches (MS225-48). The 10G switches are 16 port models that provide networking for a Nutanix cluster, while the 1G switches power my network for workstations, printers, APs, etc. Like all Meraki products, they are cloud-managed devices, enabling me to monitor and configure them from anywhere I have Internet access.
  • Complete network view. You can easily see every device on your network through the consolidated Meraki dashboard and, even better, label them so you know exactly what they are! I have every device labeled so it's a cinch to know what devices and users are doing on the network, which Meraki cleverly maps for you.
  • You can configure the switch port by port through the cloud-based dashboard. These things are no joke—there is absolutely nothing you can't do through the interface, so no more command line! Configuring and monitoring your network could not be any easier or more fun. Even updating the firmware is done over the web, which can be scheduled for middle-of-the-night installations so your users are not impacted--all while you sleep!
  • Hardware is robust! They come with a lifetime warranty (as long as you maintain the licenses, which you have to have anyway for them to be of any use since they are cloud-managed). Support has been outstanding, too. Responsive support personnel that really know their stuff—they log into the interface with you and help you with any trouble you may be having.
  • Since all the switches are managed together, everything is done from the same dashboard. I can also see my Meraki APs and firewall, too, which all work together seamlessly to provide robust networking.
  • Extremely fast! No users complain about network performance anymore, which was an issue before these were installed. No issues with PoE, either, which was also an issue with my old Netgear switches.
  • There is literally no feature or capability I want for, yet each firmware somehow adds value that I had not considered before. If you do find something lacking, there is a "make a wish" on every dashboard page where you submit your idea to Meraki.
  • I honestly cannot think of anything I don't like about these switches. If they have any downside, it's the price of the hardware and the licenses. However, their performance, stability and robust feature set have created considerable ROI.
If you can afford them, you will not be disappointed. Really, find a way. This is the way networking should be: managed in the cloud and fun! And I have learned to trust these things. I've never had a network issue that can be traced to these switches. The two years I've had them in place have taught me these are reliable. I no longer worry about my network. They can work on any size network, although they honestly would be overkill for a home office or the like. They scale, so you can power anything from a small office like mine to an entire campus or municipality, managing everything through the cloud, so it doesn't matter where the network admin is in relation to the hardware.
I've used support a half dozen times, and every time the response has been quick, professional and, most importantly, highly competent. I could not be more pleased with Meraki's support.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
Luis Lozada | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2019

Meraki: Your dream cloud come true

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The MS switches are used across the entire organization. The greatest feature is the cloud access management portal which addresses many problems such as updating the config to support a new VLAN or updating VLAN information on a port(s).
  • Cloud management: second to none.
  • Ease of configuration: VLANS, trunk/access ports, and stacking can all be quickly accomplished on the portal.
  • Ease of setup and initial configuration. Within a matter of minutes, you can have your switch/switches connected and operating.
  • In certain deployments, configuring certain parameters, such as specific VLANs, IPs, etc. would make it smoother.
  • I understand it now, but the term virtual stacking has been a term I have had to explain to many end-users who understand stacking as stacking cisco switches with a stacking cable and that the multiple switches look like one big switch with one IP address.
The Meraki solution is best suited for sites/customers who want a one-stop-shop for cloud management of their network. You can set it and forget it, to a certain degree, and make changes on the fly. The solution is less appropriate for sites/customers who feel that they need only physical access to their network devices, and have not come to terms with cloud management.
All of my experiences with Meraki's support have been outstanding. They make sure things are operating the way the switch was/is intended to work in the network.
Read Luis Lozada's full review
Eric Loranger | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Migrated to MS Switches and could not be happier

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The MS Switches are great for us as we can manage everything under one dashboard. Port changes, v-lans, firmware upgrades are all very intuitive and easy to configure. We have been running them for a few years, none have failed and the support is good when I have a question.
  • V-Lans are easy to separate traffic.
  • Management under one dashboard makes our lives extremely easy.
  • Give us the flexibility to setup ACLs, routing, and DHCP quite easily.
  • Port tracing doesn't always work correctly and can take a few refreshes to show the correct topology when trying to find a user's port.
  • We had a couple bad ports when new but the hardware was replaced right away.
  • Really no big problem to complain about I'm happy to say.
Great for small to medium business, especially when you don't have the budget for top-line engineers. They are pretty easy to set up for someone familiar with networking without having to do everything via command line. We have about 250 users and they work quite well in our various sites.
Read Eric Loranger's full review
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2019

Meraki delivers on Enterprise Grade solution down to your everyday needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki MS Switches are used by our organization as our sole backbone for network infrastructure. We host a 4-floor building with about 200 employees with Meraki Switches at even floors distributing network access. We currently have no other solution in place to support the network outside of Meraki and for good reason! Meraki solves a big problem for us: they bring enterprise-grade network gear down to a small business platform and small business pricing.
  • Cisco Meraki and their switches like any of their products have a centralized GUI interface. This makes deployment, configuration and monitoring simple. It is very user intuitive and quick to learn.
  • Cisco Meraki MS Switches are quick to deploy and become operational. Meraki switches can be unboxed, configured and deployed in minutes.
  • Cisco Meraki MS Switches are highly scalable! They support up to 40G uplinks. This is huge in support of enterprise-grade service.
  • Cisco Meraki MS Switches also have advanced troubleshooting tools we use often such as Packet Captures with a high level of detail and cable testing even.
  • The smaller end MS Switches have virtual stacking capabilities and not physical like some of the higher models. We personally would like to see all switches have the option to be physically stacked.
  • Would like to see increased functionality and customization in reporting/alerts and notifications. Meraki has some templates and walk through options but they do not always offer the data we are looking for and often spend some additional hours making custom offline reports.
  • Would like to see the ease of use of third party of local hosting integration to schedule download or push of logs, events, reports etc. We do not always want to store stuff within Cisco Meraki's cloud.
Cisco Meraki MS Switches are perfect for any small business or home network. Meraki is also perfect for an enterprise-grade solution such as dorms and many campus environments. They are a very robust end product to deliver network to your customer! I would not personally use Meraki as my core switch to delivery the core backbone infrastructure but would as distributions. Meraki will impress time and time again.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

Meraki is a good bang for your buck!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have over 13 CISCO switches in our environment. We have 8 port switches to 48 ports switches, including some fiber switches for our campus area network. When I started this project to switch over to Meraki, we had three different switch vendors and 3 different ISP connections on our campus. I would have to walk over to each physical network and log in to check out and troubleshoot. I first switched the firewalls of the individual network and Meraki to manage everything in one single place. I did not have to walk anymore to those networks and I then saw everything in one plane of glass. Just recently I replace all of my switches over to Meraki and it is great. I also dropped one of the ISP connections because I am able to manage guest access better. That saved me money!
  • The Meraki Dashboard
  • Customer Support Center
  • Easiness of Use
  • I would like a NOC display area.
For internal iSCSC and other internal networks that do not connect to the internet, this is not a good solution. I would recommend other Cisco products. If you are an MSP, you need to get your customers over to Meraki. You will be able to see the status of the networks you manage in one place.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Meraki makes it EASY!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Meraki MS switches throughout our entire network, connecting multiple buildings with both fiber and ethernet. It addresses the need to manage our switches from the cloud, making changes and seeing immediate results.
  • Cloud based management
  • Managing all switches under one dashboard
  • Easy to configure and make changes with little to no downtime
  • Some firmware issues never seem to be addressed
  • Licensing costs
  • No ability to view any logs
It is well suited for organizations that have a large inventory of equipment that needs to be managed from a single dashboard. It would work very well for organizations that have multiple locations and want to be able to manage from anywhere.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

Deeper Insight - Meraki MS Switches

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki MS Switches are being used in numerous locations within our organization. I enjoy working with the product because it gives me deeper insights into issues within the network. It has great troubleshooting tools underneath one pane of glass. I am able to remediate issues with devices on the network in a timely manner. I love how the GUI interface is user-friendly. I love the POE functionality and features that come with MS Switches depending on model.
  • troubleshooting
  • network insights
  • port insights
  • compatibility with nexxus products
VOIP phone environments. Environment with heavy duty access of high volume devices
Read this authenticated review
Bill Holmberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2018

Meraki is the future of Networks, and you should get on board now.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them all across the organization, and gives us insights into users bandwidth usage and which apps are consuming the most.
  • A single pane of Glass for all my switches
  • They show any interruption of networking easily and at a glance
  • The alert me when they go down or come back up
  • I can get deep information about what apps are doing on the network
  • Some information gets cloudy when drilling down- but they have a new tool coming out called Insights that is supposed to deal with that (and more).
  • Traffic shaping rules should be in the switches and not just the security appliances
From small companies to large ones these are invaluable tools. I would say though that I would not use them in my Core SAN stack, where Nexus CISCO switches are likely a better fit.
The few times I needed it we got things fixed within 15 minutes. Outstanding.
Read Bill Holmberg's full review
Jon Gabriel Bolland II | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2017

Meraki Switches Deliver the Data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As some switches have aged or failed we have started replacing them with Meraki MS Switches. We made the decision based on the investment we made on Meraki Access Points and MX security Appliances. At the time they also were providing an eight port POE switch to keep and test with. After using the 8 port we decided they would be a good investment.
  • They are cloud managed through a web GUI that is intuitive.
  • They are updated automatically.
  • Meraki Support is fantastic. They really help trouble shoot strange network problems, and when it has been a firmware issue it is solved in short order not months.
  • Meraki equipment is easy to manage, you have full visibility, built in tools make things like packet capture are much easier than on Cisco IOS based devices. Making trouble shooting other network issues much less complicated.
  • Price is steep, but is inline with other vendors like HP, Brocade, and Cisco. Maybe even a little less.
  • Licensing is required to continue managing the device. But is in line with SmartNet and similar offerings, however the benefits out strip smart net.
Meraki Switches seem well suited for most situations. They support all major features, setting up QoS and VLANs is very straightforward. We use them with some Cisco IOS devices. The dashboard gives you a good look at the clients connected on your network even when they are on a non Meraki neighbor device.
Read Jon Gabriel Bolland II's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2018

An easy to use solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We managed to get hold of a trial unit for our practice, having already put in the wireless solution and commenced utilizing the MDM - so were very much sold on the Meraki ecosystem. This switch is being used in a satellite office as the core switch to connect the server with the firewall and users.
  • Simple to set up (plug and play)
  • Very slick looking kit (great for architects that are conscious on looks)
  • Wealth of configuration options
  • Connects to the Meraki cloud solution
  • You have to remember that when the Meraki support ends you need to renew it and so there is a cost that won't stop
  • Switches only recently added dual power supplies, which is needed for resilience but took time for it to come out
  • Not a cheap solution
Great for most scenarios where you want intelligent switches and either have little knowledge on switch configuration (e.g. the standard Cisco range and the dark art of learning their configuration language)or a detailed knowledge and enjoy the ease of the interface to get complex configurations done for you.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Meraki MS

The Cisco Meraki MS is presented by the vendor as the industry’s first line cloud managed access and aggregation switches, combining the benefits of cloud-based centralized management with a powerful, reliable access platform.
Categories:  Ethernet Switches

Cisco Meraki MS Competitors

Cisco Meraki MS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No