Cisco Meraki MX Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
83 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Luis Lozada | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Meraki MX - User friendly firewall

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to set up and configure - makes deployments a lot smoother.
  • Cloud management - priceless.
  • User-friendly web-based GUI - very easy to navigate to the different settings.
  • CLI access from the portal would be nice. Fortinet has this feature and it's invaluable for troubleshooting.
  • The MXs need true SD-WAN functionality; not just a failover mechanism.
  • The MX has NG firewall functions, but fall short compared to a Fortinet firewall.
Read Luis Lozada's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Control and visibility of traffic
  • Easy control of devices via web interface
  • Visible control in real-time of the applied policies
  • Technical support in different languages
  • Integration with Amazon Web Service and MS Azure
  • IPv6 integration is not working.
  • Licensing can be somewhat confusing when combined with other Meraki products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Meraki MX64 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Compact all in one security appliance.
  • Centralized cloud management interface.
  • Offers HA in the branch.
  • Network security.
  • Limited firewall throughput upto 250Mbps.
  • Limited VPN throughput upto 100Mbps.
  • Not rack mountable.
  • Up to 50 users.
Read this authenticated review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Meraki MX Appliances are awesome for small to medium-sized business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Meraki MXs are simply great at being easy to setup, deploy and maintain without advanced skills. They are so simple to use that one can just plug them in, give them a few IP addresses and ranges and they work.
  • Meraki MX appliances are compact and fit in a single rack unit (1U) space, and they consume less electricity and generate less heat than similarly-sized (as far as capacity goes) devices.
  • Meraki MXs have a cloud control panel (like other Meraki devices do) that is very easy to understand. If you don't understand it, their support and customer success account managers are right there to help.
  • Meraki MXs are not inexpensive. They cost quite a bit more than your average sonicwall or watchguard.
  • Like all Meraki devices, if you stop paying the subscription (which is their entire license model) you can no longer manage the device. For Meraki, subscription is equal to use license.
  • Meraki MX can't do everything that a full-blown Cisco ASA can do and that's because the user can't program every feature that they have. For some very advanced firewall features you might have to open a ticket with Meraki support and have them add a configuration setting for you using the command line, which users do not have full access to. Even then, we have found that there are some advanced settings that they simply can't do. Steer clear if you have a very large, complex environment that needs and advanced firewall. For that you'll need a Palo Alto or a large FortiGate, something like that.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Brian Duffy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Meraki MX: easy to setup and manage, lacking some critical features

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • VPN Setup: extremely easy, do not need any technical knowledge, anyone can do it.
  • Administration: can administer from anywhere you have an internet connection.
  • Reliability: solid reliable product:
  • Setup: setup is extremely easy, no technical knowledge needed.
  • Lack of DNS capability: it is uncommon for a gateway device not to have the ability to be a DNS server, it can act as a DHCP server so why not a DNS server. DNS server would add a lot of value as it would reduce the need for one to be put on the internal network
  • Support: support is atrocious. They do not work to provide you with helpful solutions but provide canned answers without digging into the details of your network or researching your network errors.
Read Brian Duffy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Cisco is not just Cisco.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy administration through cloud dashboards.
  • Unified view across multiple locations and multiple product lines (firewalls, access points, switches, cameras).
  • Functionality is being abstracted and hidden in the dashboard, what's not in the dashboard can't be used.
  • Didn't cater well for complex use cases.
Read this authenticated review
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

Gateway Security Nirvana

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides for a comprehensive, graphical view of LAN and WAN status, including bandwidth consumption over time.
  • The security center allows you to view affected clients and the threats that were levied against them. You can configure the system to email reports. I have one waiting for me in my inbox every morning, so I can review the activity of the previous day. For real-time views, I can simply access the dashboard.
  • The content filtering is easy to configure and works extremely well. Traffic shaping allows you prioritize traffic on the network, such as VOIP and video conferencing, while limiting others, such as social media and music streaming services. You can also assign flow preferences by VLAN; for example, I channel VOIP traffic through a separate WAN interface from all other traffic.
  • The device makes it easy to configure VLANs, by which you assign uplinks and bandwidth limitations and also provide addressing via DHCP.
  • I have appreciated the lengths to which Cisco has gone to document the Meraki product line. And when that hasn't sufficed, the Meraki tech support has been incredible. They will log in to your network and help you get things properly configured if there is an issue or you want to make changes.
  • I purchased the Meraki Insight product, which allows for an extra layer of monitoring of what is happening on your network and monitors connectivity to other networks. It also allows you to set alerts for when your network, your ISP's network, or the remote connection is having an issue. This is extremely helpful, but I feel this should be included in the base product considering the price of the support package.
  • It is designed to work with other Meraki products. If you install this product but your switches, APs, cameras, etc, are from another vendor, you will be missing out on the integrations and insights that come from managing your network from a single, cloud-based dashboard.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
James Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

Great firewall solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The cloud management console is incredibly easy to use and very powerful
  • The device looks the part, so for an open plan office it looks good
  • Forms part of the Meraki estate to easily add wireless and switches into the network
  • Very quiet operation, doesn't make nearly as much noise as other firewalls
  • Not cheap to purchase initially
  • While the interface in the cloud is great (and constantly improving) it's aimed towards the less techy, and so certain features are squirreled away.
  • once you have committed you have to pay for the cloud access for them to work. DO your homework on costs
  • Can be difficult to sort issues if your internet connection drops internally
Read James Martin's full review
Marc Benner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

The Cisco Meraki MX Firewall has made network management less stressful

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of Configuration.
  • Clear information on what the device is doing to block Malware or prevent Intrusions.
  • Reporting of issues when they arise via email.
  • Not as flexible for advanced users who may have some very specific settings they would like to change. This does not affect our team but I have heard others complain outside of our organization.
  • Client VPN is a bit spotty. There is not a specific client for this which would make set up a lot easier. Setting up the VPN in Windows is not as robust as we would like.
Read Marc Benner's full review
Jonathan Tanis | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

I wish all products worked like Meraki

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of Setup - When your device is shipped, you can log in to your dashboard and start setting it up. Then, once you connect it, it grabs all the settings from the cloud. We switched over from our previous solution in a couple hours, and if you know what you are doing, you could accomplish it faster.
  • Ease of Administration - With the dashboard, you can administer everything remotely. The Meraki Dashboard is also easy to use. It has lots of capabilities that we don't currently take advantage of such as Content Filtering. Connecting branch offices and remote workers is very simple to roll out as well.
  • Features - Our previous HP switches would constantly have ports go, and it was hard to tell which ones. With Meraki, we haven't had any ports fail in 3 years, but if we do, you can monitor and see which users are using which ports on the connected switches.
  • RADIUS - We've connected JumpCloud with the RADIUS functionality and it works great.
  • The menus took some getting used to initially, but fortunately, their documentation and support have been great and I got the hang of things.
  • Cost. I wish they cost less. But, you get what you pay for, and I think they are reasonable.
  • Not many complaints. I feel like a bit of a fanboy, but I've been really happy with my Meraki devices.
Read Jonathan Tanis's full review
David Perkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Meraki MX Firewall - Excellent choice for schools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to configure and deploy
  • User-friendly management console
  • Excellent Layer 7 filtering capabilities
  • The license must be active, therefore, yearly licensing costs must be calculated and budgeted.
  • Increased granularity in the dashboard controls
Read David Perkin's full review
Scott Stefan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

Cisco Meraki MX is a great firewall and IPS solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to manage.
  • Industry-leading security protection.
  • Great support when needed.
  • Great performance and uptime.
  • Price can be out of the range for some small businesses.
  • An active license needs to be renewed and active at all times.
  • Support response for low-level tickets can be long at times.
Read Scott Stefan's full review
Randy Haan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Cisco Meraki Firewall review – no more all nighters !

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Static and Dynamic WAN IP assignment is simple to use and set up
  • 4G Failover is crictical on our retail outlet and allows for maximum uptime
  • High Availibility for our Data Centers and key locations
  • Easy to manage and configure even from a smart phone or tablet in the field
  • One pane of glass for our entire WAN and Security
  • Muiltcast over WAN - This is a key technology for notification and paging that Meraki has promised for 4 years but has not delivered.
  • Manage discrete aspects like built in wireless or firewall rules by policy rather than my template.
  • Capacity to group large numbers of networks in regions or segments. Hard to search thru 500 networks when they are all in a single drop down list.
Read Randy Haan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliances Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The dashboard brings all management features with you wherever you are. All you need is an Internet connection and a browser and you can manage the solution. The dashboard tracks your uplink connectivity to the dashboard and double checks with you all changes impacting the connectivity, making it much safer to enact changes remotely. Dual WAN connections are greatly simplified and site-to-site VPNs automatically connect regardless of what WAN connection is active.
  • Site-to-Site VPNs are the easier to setup than any other vendor’s solution. You simple pick two or more devices to tunnel together and then select what network subsets should be allowed to cross the tunnel and you are done. The solution handles all the details. Site-to-site VPNs can dynamically follow IP changes with no need for static IPs.
  • For MSPs the dashboard is even more convenient as all your clients are on the same MSP account. Switching between managing different clients Meraki equipment is a few clicks once you login to the dashboard. Two-factor authentication is available for enhanced dashboard security.
  • Some advanced enterprise features are missing, but for SMBs this solution is a dream to deploy and manage. Complex environments should look elsewhere, but I personally have not ran across anything that Meraki has not been able to handle so far. On the dashboard is a “Make a Wish” button to request new features. In three years, I have made three wishes and they were all were granted.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (15)
8.7
Visualization Tools (15)
8.3
Content Inspection (15)
7.9
Policy-based Controls (15)
8.2
Active Directory and LDAP (13)
9.0
Firewall Management Console (15)
8.8
Reporting and Logging (15)
7.4
VPN (15)
8.6
High Availability (12)
8.6
Stateful Inspection (14)
7.4
Proxy Server (10)
6.7

About Cisco Meraki MX

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a Unified Threat Management (UTM) and Software-Defined WAN solution. As a UTM product, Meraki MX provides content filtering, app-specific traffic control, intrusion prevention, malware protection, and site-to-site VPN that is deployable on hardware or virtually. It also enables firewall management remotely for 24x7 monitoring and accessibility.

Cisco Meraki MX Downloadables

Cisco Meraki MX Competitors

Cisco Meraki MX Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No