Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point Reviews

94 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 30, 2021
Miguel Maldonado | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The Cisco Meraki MR solution, as it does not need a WLC controller, has an advantage over other brands and is inclusive over the Cisco Aironet solution, since it allows them to be implemented, that is, to perform the configuration from anywhere in the world before the equipment reaches the site and only with an internet connection download the previous configuration and the equipment is fully functional in minutes. In addition to this, the license, whatever it is, includes a level of support for replacement of parts without the need to pay extra.
Read Miguel Maldonado's full review
May 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Meraki Wireless Access Points were superior to Cisco Aironets:
Cloud-based dashboard for managing all Meraki devices.
Alerts when devices or network is impacted.
Easy deployment of Firmware upgrades.
Faster network speeds.
Wider network coverage.
Required less number of Access Points compared to Cisco Aironet.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Honestly, both were very good, but it came down to price and integration with other Cisco devices that we're also using in our distributed offices.
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2020
Tim Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We tried other cloud AP vendors over the years from UniFi, Aerohive and Aruba, but none of them have the feature set and integration with other products like Cisco Meraki APs happen to have. The fact they detect and work with so many other devices is astounding and relieving at the same time.
Read Tim Roberts's full review
December 14, 2020
Salvador Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have evaluated another access point of this range of the Fortinet and Ubiquiti brand, which are of similar characteristics but not the same since in performance they remain a little lower in the quality of data obtained, as well as in the Wi-Fi spectrum since their coverage area is smaller.
Read Salvador Pineda's full review
December 12, 2020
Victor Lau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Meraki is a good choice for a full featured solution for many remote locations and varying type of WiFi users. Not a great solution for single site or few type of WiFi user profiles. Not well suited for large sites as the license costs compound and will be less costly to use an on premise Controller.
Read Victor Lau's full review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've found that Meraki Wireless Access Points are able to stack up against all of the other access point manufacturers I've used. I think they are more usable and easy to understand when compared to others like Fortinet, Aruba, or traditional Cisco wireless. I do think the features offered are enough for almost all companies looking for a good wifi plan. They have less detailed settings than Aruba and Cisco so if you have complicated deployments they might be missing some options you are after. Keeping it simple is how Meraki wins. They also have a much easier way to do a zero-touch deployment. You can add the access points in the dashboard and get them running very quickly. They can be managed from anywhere without a VPN or local connection which gives them an edge over their competition.
Read this authenticated review
November 16, 2019
Andy Bolom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point in my personal opinion is one of the best solutions out there today when it comes to wireless networks.
Read Andy Bolom's full review
November 06, 2019
Francisco Davila Romero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Operationally - they are similar according to the model we mostly use. But the configuration is simpler with Meraki, it's a bit more intuitive.
Read Francisco Davila Romero's full review
October 15, 2019
Branden Beachy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used the traditional Cisco wireless products in the past, and while the hardware has always been great, the user interface has always disappointed us with its complexity and unfriendliness. Also, the move to cloud management seems to work well with this type of product, and it eliminates another piece of hardware and failure point in our system. We considered a solution like Ubiquiti, which would save us money, but it doesn't seem to be designed for large scale implementations and lacks a lot of the management features that we need.
Read Branden Beachy's full review
September 10, 2019
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used Netgear APs in the past and while capable, they are completely outclassed by the Meraki experience. Granted, you pay a premium for the Meraki gear, but the cost premium does truly buy a significant step up in features and functionality.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
November 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Meraki provides a management portal which makes the provisioning and configuration process much easier than with other vendors. It also provides out of the box security and visibility features without needed to purchase additional products or add on licenses. The performance is also on par with many other competitor's wireless solutions.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Great customer service, sales and support.
Great UI.
No on-prem management server necessary.
Better hardware.
Read this authenticated review
October 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The Fortinet solution is really good, but can be a bit cumbersome to get working. Once you have the Fortinet configured, it works well, and also has a web portal you can use to manage the APs.

I have worked with Aerohive in the past and not a big fan of their product. The biggest issue I have with those APs are any type of updates. In many cases updates/upgrades went smoothly, however in most cases they didn't. Many times the APs were get stuck in a process, and after calling support they would tell me that the AP would need to be taken down and factory defaulted. That option is usually not feasible because of the area/location its installed. It came to the point that I stopped upgrading the firmware because I could not trust the AP would come back online
Read this authenticated review
August 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Meraki Access Points are almost plug and play whereas Cisco LAN controllers require lots of configuration beforehand. The GUI for Cisco Meraki Access points is a lot easier to use and contains almost all the functionality of traditional Wireless LAN controllers. Easy to deploy new devices with existing configurations in Cisco Meraki than the traditional Cisco Meraki Lan Controller.
Read this authenticated review
October 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Prefer Meraki, obviously, as we have used them for 10 years. Performance has been good, and you just can't beat easy to manage.
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2019
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As an overall preference, Cisco Meraki Wireless was selected because of their customer service and attention to detail to the account. They have carved out a nitch in the market and are growing their own way and style under Cisco but feels so different than Cisco. Comparing Cisco Meraki Wireless to Aruba or Cisco itself is apples and oranges. They can be compared but you need to understand your deployment. For dorms, office areas, standard businesses restaurants, etc., Meraki is bar none. For football stadiums or other large public venues, you may want to explore elsewhere.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
February 04, 2019
Mauro Osvaldo Sepulveda Gutierrez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Meraki offers cloud management, this is very important to us because we did not want more physical infrastructure on our site, and the trend of the market is all on the cloud. So this solution makes sense for what we were looking for. Another advantage of these devices is the price, they are cheaper than other vendors, and Cisco bought them and Cisco usually means good quality, In [summary] these devices are a really good option for wireless network management.
Read Mauro Osvaldo Sepulveda Gutierrez's full review
September 12, 2018
Joe Spradlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • I needed to have layer 7 traffic shaping and Aerohive didn't offer that at the time I went with Meraki AP's.
  • The interface for Aerohive was not appealing to me or my network administrator.
  • The Aerohive did not have an integrated MD solution that we needed to maintain our NIST 800-171 compliance.
  • Basically, everything that Aerohive did, Meraki did much better and had a more feature rich environment.
In a nutshell, if you are looking into a Wi-Fi infrastructure and are vision oriented, you want to make sure that the solution is scalable. The Aerohive devices to me were just not in the same league as the Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point devices.
Read Joe Spradlin's full review
March 09, 2018
Kewyn Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The simplicity of the deployment and the ease of administration were two main factor 2 consider. Also, all the options that the tool offers to control the users and to apply different traffic shaping and policies over the different wifi networks
Read Kewyn Medina's full review
October 17, 2017
Jon Gabriel Bolland II | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used SonicWALL for years. It was easy to misconfigure or miss a configuration. We had the Global Systems Management, but it didn't work as well as Meraki and was dependent on the VPN working first. So you really couldn't deploy a device without touching it.
Read Jon Gabriel Bolland II's full review
July 02, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected the Meraki AP due to the fact that our entire internal network structure from firewall to switches were Meraki as well. This allows us to manage all network related equipment from a single dashboard, add/remove devices as needed, and allow for remote administration of various sites with a rare occurrence of having to travel on-site.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point?

Cisco offers the Meraki (MR) line of wireless access points supporting basic LAN with inbuilt antivirus (NAC), cloud management with network-wide access control, and location analytics, as well as support for indoor and outdoor spaces of various sizes across different product models.
Categories:  Wireless LAN

Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point?

Cisco offers the Meraki (MR) line of wireless access points supporting basic LAN with inbuilt antivirus (NAC), cloud management with network-wide access control, and location analytics, as well as support for indoor and outdoor spaces of various sizes across different product models.

What is Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point?

The most common users of Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.