Podio Reviews

101 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 22, 2020
Olivia Sheppard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for a "home base" practice management software because it does not force useless features on you that don't pertain to your practice area. You simply choose the apps that work well with your practice and don't bother with the apps that are not helpful for you. I do supplement with a CRM.
Read Olivia Sheppard's full review
April 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a team of 2 people or 2000, Podio will be a great resource for you.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Podio is suited as:
  1. Great for a CRM.
  2. A project management tool.
  3. Invoice tracking.
  4. Cost/expense tracking.
  5. Sales pipeline.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This software is great if you are coordinating with an external team for a project. It would be great for internal projects as well, but it's only really needed for complex projects involving multiple people and processes. The development process for our website took much less time than we anticipated because we were able to interact with our external development team in real-time to report bugs and share updates.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Podio is greatly well suited for the generation of custom forms and as a way to create a central knowledge base for a company. The ability to integrate via APIs and create standardized forms can allow you archiving for project delivery. It is a suitable replacement for base camp which provides a lot more features and workflow processes.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Podio is well suited for multi-department companies that need to be able to log communication between each other in order to have a historical record of what happens on a daily basis. We are roughly 150 employees and 8 different departments. Previously, we relied on email and a more crude workflow program. That program just couldn't handle the volume of tasks/requests/jobs that an agency of our size produces, hence why we needed a more robust platform. Podio fit that bill nicely.
Read this authenticated review
July 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Really good for flexible database structures. If you need a ton of automation, be prepared to invest time in learning the complexities of Globiflow, but for basic functionality, it's easy to learn and use.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2018
Kris Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Podio is well suited to use in ticket style environments that also utilize workflows or life cycles. I feel the reporting area needs great improvement but this system works well for task management and contact management. Multiple Workspaces do help to create team specific areas for working categorized items. Private workspaces are also a nice feature.
Read Kris Lambert's full review
December 12, 2017
Kim Westermann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We've used Podio for staff recruitment, event planning, and our agency wide intranet. Our property management team has also used it for specific projects, like tracking all of the tasks associated with turning an apartment. Individual employees use it to manage their own task lists. It works less well for calendar-based tasks or for complex and long term project management (i.e. new construction). There are times when a project is just too complicated for Podio automations, so the software should be used to track basic items and remind users where they can find more information.
Read Kim Westermann's full review
October 03, 2017
Bohdan Cole | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for full scope project management and task management. It could be better for client facing avenues and tracking tasks/notifying clients when something is done- and separating what the client sees, versus what internal teams see. It is a robust tool that has many uses. It would be great if it could start to import links, project managers and other team member names from the Sales/Companies/Clients entities, into things like Project portals- knowing that they are the same and have the same people involved.
Read Bohdan Cole's full review
March 21, 2017
Tip Iuliucci | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As I indicated, we use it to track leads as "projects". This works well and using the email notifications or push notifications allows us to quickly communicate on the status/progress of these projects. We've not figured out yet how to use it to manage our active clients/pipelines. That's something we're going to explore for our needs
Read Tip Iuliucci's full review
February 25, 2016
Amy Smoucha | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Podio is flexible enough to be useful to almost any non profit or business. We built a suite of apps for event planning that completely streamlined our planning and logistics.
Read Amy Smoucha's full review
June 08, 2016
Morgan Kendrick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Podio is well suited for media production. We can add our own fields and apps to the website, which really helps our department, because we do specific things in the media production field that other people may not do, such as filming location, and Service Level Agreement file attachment option.
Read Morgan Kendrick's full review
February 16, 2016
Bargav Kondapu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Most of our team members, work in a different timezone, but Podio made our team communication easier. We use Bitbucket for code hosting and integration. Podio did a wonderful job of integrating with Bitbucket
Read Bargav Kondapu's full review
September 30, 2015
Harold Klaassen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Podio is best suited for small to mid-sized companies. The workflows shouldn't be too complicated. Podio is very well designed to easily connect with other tools, so it can fit in almost every existing tool set you might (want to) use.

For less than 5 users you can use Podio for free. That is perfect for selecting a right tool for you. Start building the apps you need, or look for them in the app market. Import demo data and tweak the apps and work spaces until it matches your requirements. If you find it too difficult or you are missing key functionality then Podio isn't the platform for you and your business.
Read Harold Klaassen's full review
June 03, 2015
Jan Florian Maas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Some people seemed to be confused by too many options. Customizing your work in a digital workspace needs means rethinking your possibilities by knowing your toolset well. In the beginning, I was a little bit frustrated, because I didn't see all these options and there was a lack of best practise. Studying the large Podio App Store solutions helped me to understand. If you do not have the time it's the best moment for getting in contact with one of the Podio partners.
Read Jan Florian Maas's full review
March 17, 2015
Nando Cabán-Méndez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Better-suited:
Small companies with a distributed workforce that need structure in their process (as opposed to relying on shared spreadsheets or post-it-notes for process)
Great for any team that has had trouble implementing other, more rigid, project management tools (since they can customize this one)

Less-suited:
For technical reasons, it's not very good if you need or want to include clients in the conversations. One can work around this limitation, but also found out our clients didn't care to see the ghost inside the machine.

Read Nando Cabán-Méndez's full review
February 27, 2015
Keller Baum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Podio works well for dynamic teams that need to communicate on the fly and have active users. As a platform it might be more difficult for teams with very specific processes or needs. Important factors to consider are mobile vs desktop access, the need to integrate with other data(custom db, exchange vs gmail, etc), and how structured system data needs to be.
Read Keller Baum's full review
February 04, 2015
Emre Tuncbilek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Podio is one of the most cost and effort effective ways for small and medium sized businesses to consolidate spreadsheets, manage calendars, and create a platform for employees, vendors and clients.

There are very large enterprises using Podio, but due to its workspace based user management it may not be ideal for certain applications.

The best way is to start with a small project / product management team and then decide whether it is the optimal solution for you.
Read Emre Tuncbilek's full review
March 05, 2015
Dimitris Rakopoulos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Since it is a custom solution it can address a wide range of scenarios ranging from project management to invoice tracking. I think that Podio is a marvelous tool for any company that requires a way to handle internal or external processes with ease without having to spend lots of money to build a complex system.
Read Dimitris Rakopoulos's full review
March 04, 2015
Stephen Gaschignard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are just looking for a task manager or team tracker, Podio is going to be too much with too many features. However, if you are looking for a comprehensive project management tool with all the features you need in one spot then Podio is just what you need.
Read Stephen Gaschignard's full review
January 30, 2015
Derek Allard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Podio is ideally suited to website design and development work. I looked at Basecamp as well but that was too rigid for me. I needed the ability for my project management tool to be more robust and Podio fit the bill. I've been very pleased with it.
Read Derek Allard's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (21)
9.6
Resource Management (18)
6.8
Gantt Charts (6)
5.7
Scheduling (18)
5.5
Workflow Automation (22)
8.0
Team Collaboration (23)
10.0
Support for Agile Methodology (12)
8.6
Support for Waterfall Methodology (9)
7.5
Document Management (19)
8.6
Email integration (19)
8.7
Mobile Access (19)
7.3
Timesheet Tracking (11)
8.5
Change request and Case Management (16)
8.2
Budget and Expense Management (13)
9.6
Quotes/estimates (6)
8.8
Invoicing (7)
8.1
Project & financial reporting (7)
8.4
Integration with accounting software (4)
8.7

What is Podio?

Podio is a cloud-based collaboration service that was founded in 2009 and acquired by Citrix in 2012. Podio supplies a web-based platform for organizing team communication, business processes, data and content in project management workspaces; also it may be used as a social intranet or as a light CRM platform. Its reporting features allow a user to observe sales pipelines and manage budgets and time. Its task management interface is meant to be lively and dynamic as a social networking site's to facilitate sharing and task delegations, and supports document uploading. Workflows can be improved via automation of various triggered tasks. It integrates email and many familiar programs and applications (e.g. Dropbox, Gmail and Google Apps, Gotomeeting, Excel) to expand functionality, and it is mobile accessible. Podio began as a free service and a free option still remains, though three tiers of paid plans (Basic, Plus, and Premium) are now offered which expand support options from implementation only to a priority lifetime user able to gain support at any time (Premium), and limited access to shared projects for subordinate team members. However core features are supported across the tiers.

Podio Integrations

Podio Competitors

Podio Pricing

Starting Price: $9

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Podio Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No