Podio

Podio

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.6 out of 100
Citrix Podio

Overview

Recent Reviews

Workflow Program Review

8 out of 10
June 03, 2021
Podio is used across the entire company. It solves any communication problems in each department of our agency, as we are able to log/keep …
Continue reading

Great Organizational Product!

10 out of 10
April 07, 2020
Our entire organization uses Podio....Manufacturing, AP/HR, Customer Service, Inventory. It helps keep us organized between departments. …
Continue reading

Podio stands strong in workflows

10 out of 10
September 18, 2019
We leverage Podio as a collaboration tool in order to get our engineering and sales teams to work together. Podio provides us with easy to …
Continue reading

Podio for Projects

6 out of 10
December 07, 2018
We use Podio in primarily a testing manner. Many of our clients use Podio and we integrate our primary product with Podio. We use the …
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 18 features

Task Management (23)

9.0
90%

Workflow Automation (24)

8.9
89%

Team Collaboration (25)

8.6
86%

Document Management (21)

8.1
81%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Podio, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.podio.com/site/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $9 per month

Features Scorecard

Project Management

8.7
87%

Professional Services Automation

8.7
87%

Product Details

What is Podio?

Podio is a cloud-based collaboration service that was founded in 2009 and acquired by Citrix in 2012. Podio supplies a web-based platform for organizing team communication, business processes, data and content in project management workspaces; also it may be used as a social intranet or as a light CRM platform. Its reporting features allow a user to observe sales pipelines and manage budgets and time. Its task management interface is meant to be lively and dynamic as a social networking site's to facilitate sharing and task delegations, and supports document uploading. Workflows can be improved via automation of various triggered tasks. It integrates email and many familiar programs and applications (e.g. Dropbox, Gmail and Google Apps, Gotomeeting, Excel) to expand functionality, and it is mobile accessible. Podio began as a free service and a free option still remains, though three tiers of paid plans (Basic, Plus, and Premium) are now offered which expand support options from implementation only to a priority lifetime user able to gain support at any time (Premium), and limited access to shared projects for subordinate team members. However core features are supported across the tiers.

Podio Integrations

Podio Competitors

Podio Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Podio?

Podio is a cloud-based platform for organizing team communication, business processes, and reporting in project management workspaces; also it may be used as a light CRM platform. It enables workflow automation and integrations. It includes a free version and paid packages with additional features.

How much does Podio cost?

Podio starts at $9.

What is Podio's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support for Waterfall Methodology highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Podio?

The most common users of Podio are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 41)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Bella Castilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The quality build tool that helped me a lot in the recent two projects, that they had a lot of data in bulk which Citrix [Podio] managed very well and did notify me on every single step so that I did not miss any main deadline.
  • Another stand-out feature that I like the most which is its notification and alerts system. The software notifies me of the task progress, tells me about the due date, and alerts me when the task gets overdue.
  • This helps me a lot in sharing the real-time progress on the projects to the customers to engage them confidently with the work productivity.
  • The main drawback that I faced while starting on the platform that it is not easy to customize according to the needs. There are some rules and restriction on the platform which do not allows having the platform in your own customizable style.
  • Secondly, customer support is drastically unprofessional. Recently I got stuck in some features which I wanted to explore. For which I texted their support and they were really unprofessional, did not even listen to the query full, and never respond again which is the biggest drawback.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Compartmentalized, in a good way. Every option for a project is represented and easy to see.
  • Customization: They work with our teams to help develop the tool and customize it to unique processes within our organization.
  • @Mentioning makes tagging associated workers with each job a breeze.
  • Needs to be mobile friendly.
  • Needs to crash less/have fewer issues. It's a regular thing for our teams to experience outages, or for Podio to be needing updates by the provider.
  • It has gotten better, but it can be glitchy (a user may input something, only for it to not actually take effect, costing time and money to find where the issue was and potentially miss deadlines). It's understandable that the platform is constantly improving and adjusting to the needs of our agency, and we appreciate that it's not a one size fits all solution. Because of that, we're more prone to be okay with minor outages.
Gill Riskoff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I can easily collaborate with each other and could insert URLs and videos for throwing better effect on the presentations, in this way I am in the position of better guiding my customers.
  • It allows me to do commenting so that being a team we can give suggestions to one another thus, enhancing the work efficiency.
  • It is an affordable platform which provide better services in less cost.
  • Project sharing is a bit difficult. [Citrix Podio] must introduce some new and advanced features for sharing projects.
  • It is also difficult to remove someone from ongoing project.
April 22, 2020

Solid Software

Olivia Sheppard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Maintains client contact information.
  • It's customizable, so I can add apps that I will use and do without things I don't need.
  • It's good for keeping track of tasks.
  • Each app needs to integrate better with the apps within the platform
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Super easy to use!
  • I love that you can set up a project and individual tasks. Those tasks can be assigned to various team members so there is no confusion over who is responsible for the tasks.
  • I love the daily email reminders. Keeps everything right in front of you so you know what deadlines you have for that day.
  • Sometimes it's a little hard to tag someone in a response. If I'm commenting on a task and that person is not associated to it, but is associated to the bigger project it would be nice to be able to tag them in a comment if you need to communicate with them in order to accomplish your task.
  • It would be GREAT if there was integration with the google calendar.
Heather Neisen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Keeping track of hundreds of our client contacts and key information and meeting notes.
  • Customizable apps that work with Globiflow to remind us of key deadlines.
  • Customizable templates within apps that remind us to log the right information.
  • The interface is not pretty. It could use some design upgrades.
  • Globiflow is complicated to use and takes a lot of time to set up correctly. The training forums are complicated too.
  • Every so often the entire site goes down - comes back without info lost, but downtime is hard during a business day.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Custom forms
  • Workflow generation
  • Surveys
  • Project scoping via forms
  • Form signature using right signature
  • Additional API integrations
  • Project management workflows
  • Custom actions for workflows which can be triggered via both push and pull methods
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It's very flexible; you can create whatever you want based on your data structure.
  • It's easy for non-tech people to use.
  • The integration with Globiflow makes it more than just a database..
  • Some of the documentation on calculations could be easier to understand.
  • It needs inline editing of records.
December 07, 2018

Podio for Projects

Kris Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Create Ticket Style tasks to work existing items.
  • Using flows to follow an item from inception to sale.
  • The reporting for Podio is difficult to create and minimal.
  • Booking Page connected to the calendar would be nice.
Stephanie Simon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Incredibly easy customization of applications.
  • Powerful communication platform.
  • Great integration with 3rd party application allowing for additional features in Podio.
  • Strong automated task assignments.
  • Calendar functionality is very limited to a point that it is a feature we cannot use.
  • Printing format of reports could have a better design.
  • It would be great if we could hide archived workspaces.
Kim Westermann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Podio tasks lists are very helpful - employees can keep private task lists or assign their tasks to shared workspaces so their colleagues can pick up on something if they are out sick.
  • Workspaces are very flexible and can be set up to include any number of employees or outside partners. You can design your own apps to help get work done, so everything is 100% customizable.
  • The chat function and the activity feed in workspaces gives people a place to chat without filling up everyone's email inboxes.
  • The calendar function in Podio is its weakest function. It's hard to sync Podio calendars to Outlook calendars, and the personal calendar is difficult to customize.
  • There is a definite learning curve with Podio, especially for older employees who didn't grow up with social media.
  • You really need a Podio administrator who helps people set up workspaces and apps for the first year. There is a danger in over-using the software, or expecting it to fix other organizational issues.
Bohdan Cole | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Documents feedback, keeps tasks organized under a particular entity.
  • Notifying team members when something is needed (assuming you tag them).
  • Support Ticket documentation.
  • Unless you setup a set email folder for new Podio notifications, it is easy for some notifications to get lost when you need a team member to know about something.
  • Attachment limit size per task- 100MB- a bit too small.
  • Seems to be having a lot of downtime lately
March 21, 2017

Join the Podio Rodeo!

Tip Iuliucci | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The phone app works great
  • Allows us to communicate inline on a specific project or task
  • Easy search functions
  • Customizable
  • Good product support
  • Could be easier to learn how to customize the product
  • Offer fee-based support options to help groups like us to customize the software
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ability to create customized web forms (think Google Forms)
  • Ability to push calendar notifications to various email platforms
  • Mobile application is extremely helpful for when projects need to be completed on the go
  • The calendar is helpful, but it's not customizable yet. It'd be great if there could be color coding options to help with the organization.
June 08, 2016

Great website

Morgan Kendrick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Descriptive.
  • I like the status feature on the main network, because you can share with everyone.
  • I like the contacts feature, because it let's me see who's available.
  • Providing less e-mails
  • Over-all look and feel
  • I don't like that it doesn't remember me when I log-in.
Amy Smoucha | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very easy for people without coding or technical skills to set up and maintain information in "Apps".
  • Platform is very easy to learn and adopt--it's intuitive.
  • Project management potential is awesome--instead of having to fit your projects into a structure that is industry specific, you can build an app that tracks what you want, in the order you want it.
  • Has a "relationship" field that allows you to relate an individual item or record to a record in another app. It effectively gives some of the functionality of a relational database.
  • Very useful for information sharing when staff members are in different regions or places.
  • Podio has different types of "contacts," including Workspace contacts, and that is a form of hard-wired data that is hard to figure out how to use. You also can't easily import or export contacts.
  • For longer term record keeping, it takes some strategic thinking to figure out how to archive, or make dormant, old or outdated information. It can be done in a variety of ways (by manipulating "views," using "category" fields or cloning apps and data to an archive workspace, but it takes some real thought.
February 16, 2016

Neat Interface

Bargav Kondapu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Neat Interface.
  • Unlike other collaboration software, Podio gives you flexibility to customize workflows with ease.
  • Multiple spaces.
  • Difficult to understand for new users.
  • Too many notifications.
Harold Klaassen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Can be used for all kinds of business departments (HR, Finance, Development, Sales, etc)
  • A big App Market Place with predesigned apps (free)
  • Low Cost solution - High Flexibilty - Easy to use
  • Podio is an open platform, it isn't difficult to connect with it or to build another interface for it
  • Automated workflows must be improved (now there are third party solutions)
  • Podio workspaces should have the ability to (co) brand
  • Faster data entry possibilities
Jan Florian Maas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • If anything has to be tweaked or changed – in Podio you can do that in minutes!
  • If you need high security and want the maximum possible transparency of what is shared to whom or who is allowed to see your data – Podio's concept of work spaces is great!
  • Easy communication – get in contact with any team member or Podio user: chat, audio or video conferencing is just one click away!
  • Work the way you want – in Podio it's easy to structure your data in Apps and to configure workflows that meet your personal needs.
  • More filter options for calendars.
  • Customizable views for Relation fields.
  • Full featured Podio mobile App for iPad.
  • A customizable profile status – would love to work with Podio in silent mode (logged in while working, but "not available" for requests when in heavy work mode)
Nando Cabán-Méndez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Tool is vastly customizable. They're not kidding when their tag line says: “Work the way you do”
  • The mobile apps are top notch. One can even customize how much of the desktop functionality one wants in the mobile app!
  • Eliminates the need for internal email. (This alone should be plenty good)
  • Expedites communication about big ideas or menial tasks. Makes teams more agile.
  • Like a set of old-school Lego, you must know what you want to do with it before digging in. Just creating an account to “give it a try” won't do. This requires planning, and discipline to execute.
  • As of the date of the review, some functions, like CRM fall a little short of dedicated SaaS solutions. A lot can be achieved, however, with API and outside extension.
  • Again, as of date of review: No built-in task dependencies or Gantt chart functionality.
  • Somewhere along the line we lost Google Apps integration, which was a great way to clean the inbox. One used to be able to create a Task from within a message, which in turn would include the body of the email message for reference.
  • Calendar integration is convoluted. Global calendar, Workspace calendars. IT gets a little unwieldy to manage.
  • Sharing with clients is impractical.
March 11, 2015

Podio Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It allows your co-workers to get notifications when a change is made.
  • It allows managers to track changes and get updates without meeting in person.
  • It's great for cross-departmental communication and approval processes.
  • It would be great it they could generate emails based off the information entered in specific fields (for example: we book our travel in this app and I would like an email with all of the information rather than going in and looking it up each time).
  • It would be more helpful if there was a better way to connect vendors with contracts ( like the way Salesforce does).
  • It's not super convenient for our accounting department when it comes to overall budgets.
March 11, 2015

Gave it a try.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use.
  • Pricing reasonable - free for us.
  • Easy access.
  • Adding 'one more thing' to check proved the downfall.
  • Interface with google docs wasn't smooth.
Dimitris Rakopoulos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Project management. A series of applications that work together in order to address any issues related to project management are available and can be customized to specific needs.
  • Resources management. A custom application can be created to handle all resource in a company with any number of parameters.
  • The sky is the limit! Since all applications are custom made, they can be altered to handle any company need.
  • A more advanced workflow system would be appreciated. Since workflows are new to the system I presume that it is something that will be improved over time.
  • More advanced field validation when creating applications would be appreciated.