Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) Reviews

61 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Support and stability are better with the XenApp platform.
Read this authenticated review
January 30, 2018
Keith Kyaw, MBA, ITIL, CCA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xenapp is a more mature product than VMware Horizon View with wider application and OS support. Citrix proprietary HDX and ICA protocols are more efficient than VMware PCoIP protocol for remote users with low bandwidth and high latency access. Both products still rely on Microsoft for Operating System and RDS Cals but utilization in XenApp is more flexible on the model of licensing agreement your organization may have with Microsoft.
Read Keith Kyaw, MBA, ITIL, CCA's full review
February 06, 2018
Ariel Dupar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Citrix has come a long way in this type of service, compared to its competitors. We also select Citrix because we have the complete suite from this manufacturer (Netscaler, XenServer).
Read Ariel Dupar's full review
March 23, 2017
Eric Mueller, CSM, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We tried Microsoft's RemoteApp before settling on Citirx's XenApp. RemoteApp is not scalable for large implementations, management can not be guaranteed, and multiple server management is not available. RemoteApp is best suited for smaller environments that do not require complex publishing. Citrix XenApp provides customers with improved maintenance and manageability, improved end-user experience for application delivery, and increased performance for users.
Read Eric Mueller, CSM, PMP's full review
March 24, 2017
Daniel J. Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've tested the trial however due to my mature relationship with Citrix products/support/security I still favor XenApp for our current environment. However VMware is a solid competitor and comes down to cost and functionality.
Read Daniel J. Lewis's full review
October 18, 2016
Stephen Karras | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There really is nothing else on the market that compares to XenApp application delivery. Sure, one could argue VMware Horizon View can do similar, but I would compare View more to XenDesktop than XenApp. XenApp is the only product on the market with the stability, support and outstanding reputation to deliver business critical apps to your end-users.
Read Stephen Karras's full review
June 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Other products were more cost effective, offered a better support contract, had less dependencies on third party programs, were much simpler to configure, had better documentation, and didn't require as much hardware.
We chose Citrix over the alternatives, because one of our customers required the use of Citrix for the connection of Third Party vendors.
Read this authenticated review
September 25, 2015
Jordan Berkebile | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I know there are other alternatives for application and desktop delivery, however, I cannot speak of their effectiveness and efficiency, as the bulk of my experience has been with XenApp, XenDesktop, and other Citrix solutions.
Read Jordan Berkebile's full review
March 29, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xenapp, though more expensive than the alternates I have tried, is both more user friendly (managing and using) and MUCH faster when it comes to real life use. The IMA/FMA nuts and bolts of Xenapp compresses the screen shots and mouse/keyboard clicks better than the alternates making the over all user experience faster and smoother. Printing services baked into Xenapp are also more mature than these alternates.
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • RDS Remote App
Protocol, protocol, protocol. The feature sets between RDS RemoteApp and XenApp are very similar now as Microsoft has done a lot in this space to close the gap. In the end, the main reason to go with Citrix XenApp over RemoteApp is to leverage the ICA protocol. For decades, ICA has been the best of breed for application presentation and continues to lead the pack.
Read this authenticated review

Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application support (16)
5.6
Device support (16)
9.6
Ease of deployment (15)
2.3
Application packaging (11)
8.0
Security (16)
5.6

What is Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp)?

Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) is software for application virtualization, specifically for deploying needed WIndows apps across a host of devices, providing compatibility and mobile accessibility to a team of users.

Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp)?

Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) is software for application virtualization, specifically for deploying needed WIndows apps across a host of devices, providing compatibility and mobile accessibility to a team of users.

What is Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Device support highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp)?

The most common users of Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.