Citrix Virtual Apps

Citrix Virtual Apps
Formerly XenApp

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
Citrix Virtual Apps

Overview

Recent Reviews

XenApp 6.5 Review

8 out of 10
July 15, 2021
XenApp is used to farm out our HIS and EMR systems to all clinical personnel both on site and remotely. Being able to limit the number of …
Continue reading

Still the king.

8 out of 10
May 24, 2016
XenApp is used in organization wide to deliver a consistent application experience across multiple platforms. We use XenApp to publish …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 5 features
  • Security (20)
    9.2
    92%
  • Application support (20)
    9.0
    90%
  • Ease of deployment (19)
    9.0
    90%
  • Device support (20)
    8.8
    88%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Citrix Virtual Apps, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Citrix Virtual Apps?

Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) is software for application virtualization, specifically for deploying needed WIndows apps across a host of devices, providing compatibility and mobile accessibility to a team of users.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops?

Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops (formerly XenDesktop) is a virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) and application virtualization solution from Citrix.

What is Parallels RAS?

Parallels Remote Application Server (Parallels RAS, formerly 2X RAS), is application virtualization technology, billed as a solution to extend the life of legacy OS (like Windows XP) with its virtual desktop for any device. Maltese company 2X Software developed the technology, but was acquired by…

Features Scorecard

Application Virtualization

8.9
89%

Product Details

What is Citrix Virtual Apps?

Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) is software for application virtualization, specifically for deploying needed WIndows apps across a host of devices, providing compatibility and mobile accessibility to a team of users.

Citrix Virtual Apps Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) is software for application virtualization, specifically for deploying needed WIndows apps across a host of devices, providing compatibility and mobile accessibility to a team of users.

Reviewers rate Security highest, with a score of 9.2.

The most common users of Citrix Virtual Apps are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (74)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-20 of 20)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Pietro Di Cino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company has implemented Citrix Virtual Apps in order to guarantee remote access to selected software all over the group. The architecture is designed with a central server in the headquarter and remote apps distributed to the employees. The advantage of Citrix Virtual Apps is that every user receives only the apps that can use in coherence with his business role. During COVID-19 lockdown, the company has been ready in order to guarantee access for all the employees and the business continuity.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Citrix Virtual Apps helped us limit our costs significantly as we could now access remote devices and applications including managing the security of the devices remotely. It offered secure access to us. We did not have to build a data center of our own. Everything was on the cloud. It was very convenient and required minimum maintenance on our part. Rather than having a big network team and having to purchase various servers ourselves, We relied on Citrix Virtual Apps that provide us remote desktop access to various applications and servers. Thus it cut down on our infrastructure costs significantly while delivering efficient service as downtime was minimal.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly Xenapp) in my organization to work remotely as a virtual office. It comes out to be an effective tool for a virtual office. You don't even require a hardware computer at your office seat desk to work remotely from home, You can directly use Citrix Virtual App to work using various different organizational tools, softwares, programs, etc,
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Citrix Virtual Apps is currently used globally, In the United States, England, France, Germany, Japan, India, Australia, and China. Citrix Virtual Apps provides secure remote access for contractors and consultants who need to work in remote environments. It has alleviated the need for access globally and provides access for users outside of the local regions. We have been able to provide secure access to desktops, and applications regardless of the proximity of their location. We have been using the product for the past ten years and with the Covid-19 pandemic, also provided a means for additional users to work securely from home. Today we have Citrix environments in the cloud as well as on-premise datacenters. We have migrated away from using VPN because Citrix Virtual Apps is more scalable and configurable.
July 15, 2021

XenApp 6.5 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is used to farm out our HIS and EMR systems to all clinical personnel both on site and remotely. Being able to limit the number of installations of our software on a minimum number of XenApp servers allows us the ability to quickly update the software and maintain a consistent user environment for all users.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Citrix XenApp is utilized at our Datacenter to provide our third-party offshore contacts a single pane of glass in which to interact with company resources. XenApp also prevents any customer data or proprietary code from being downloaded from company resources to third-party contacts via the Citrix Receiver App or website.
Michael Wachter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is being used for users who need to access business applications that are not available off-property or off-network. This allows them to work from home or other locations as if they were in the office. This application is used throughout our business both nationally and internationally and is easily accessible.
Ariel Dupar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use XenApp 6.5 and XenApp 7.5 to give access to our internal users and vendors to use applications. It [provides] secure access.

We are saving [by] not implementing a firewall ACL and giving Citrix XenApp access (integrated with several domains).
Keith Kyaw, MBA, ITIL, CCA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use XenApp to publish all our global applications for remote access from anywhere and any device with an internet connection. It centralizes our data in US and Europe while allowing access from over 40 countries easily and securely with minimal technical support for users. It ensures our users have the latest applications they need and collaboration data is centralized securely while accessing the workflow over the internet. Because of the HDX (formerly ICA) protocol, the required bandwidth is low which is essential for our remote users in satellite locations. When there is a published application update, there is minimal downtime and we can be sure all our users have the latest and same version of published applications on XenApp because the update is done in the data center where XenApp servers are located as opposed to user desktops and laptops.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is used by our entire company and is a pivotal part of our IT Infrastructure. We have offices and construction trailers location through out the country and using XenApp allows us to publish the same applications and access to all of them regardless of their location. In addition it gives our home office users easy access to resources from outside the home. A second big factor in using XenApp is the need to only upgrade applications once. If we tried to run these applications locally an upgrade would be a big endeavor but with XenApp it is only needed on the actual XenApp servers and everyone has the latest and greatest. The final business problem it addresses is remote access speed. Companies that use a VPN have to deal with issues of opening large files and having them transfer over Wan links. XenApp deals with that by opening everything locally, in the same location as the files themselves, allow remote users the same speed of access as if they were sitting locally to the files.
Stephen Karras | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As a senior consultant, engineer, and solutions architect who specializes in virtualization and cloud technologies, I can confidently say, Citrix XenApp is THE number 1 solution on the market for application delivery. Nothing else even comes close. XenApp is currently being used by enterprises across the globe, big and small, for application delivery. The days are gone where an admin had to have access to a physical laptop and desktop to grant users access to applications necessary for the workforce to perform their jobs. With XenApp the workforce simply calls the help desk and is granted access to a new application within minutes.
May 24, 2016

Still the king.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is used in organization wide to deliver a consistent application experience across multiple platforms. We use XenApp to publish full blown desktop applications to mobile devices and for delivery to physical and virtual desktops (XenDesktop).
May 06, 2016

Xenapp review

Derick Stinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We have an application that is a fat client app that needs to be delivered to our clients. Citrix's Xenapp is the perfect delivery method as it provides a secure easy method for those deliverables. It addresses the problems of having to deploy new releases to multiple users by deploying to a set of load balanced servers.

April 29, 2016

XenApp in Your World

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use XenApp to publish internal applications to end users without having to install 10-24 different applications on each computer. By doing this we have a central location with all of our applications. We can easily maintain and update the applications from one location (our data center). It is used for everyone in our company. It also is great that we can access our applications at home securely.
September 28, 2015

DoD deployment works well.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is deployed in a data center supporting Department of Defense clients. It supports multiple clients with a broad use base. The environment consists of developmental (sandbox), production, and test. Some clients are leveraging XenApp exclusively for published desktops and others are hosting workhorse development applications for SQL development. The goal is to allow effective consolidation of resources for multiple customers by leveraging shared resources.
September 25, 2015

XenApp 6.5

Jordan Berkebile | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use XenApp across the whole organization to provide users across the world with access to their important applications, anywhere and anytime. We utilize XenApp, Web Interface, Provisioning, and STA/XML Broker servers to accomplish this. Applications are streamed from the server, and users access these applications through an accessible published web interface site.
September 18, 2015

Xenapp review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is used across our entire organization. Almost every department has users who access at least one application via Citrix XenApp. XenApp allows us to quickly give users access to applications without having to install it on the user's PC. It also allows the users to access their applications from anywhere and from any device.