Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Reviews

131 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 74)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 11, 2019
Cameron Council | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The program aids in data migration when users are having their equipment refreshed.
  • The program has allowed for multiple issues to be resolved when data corruptions have occurred.
  • Customer support is fantastic.
Read Cameron Council's full review
October 14, 2019
Gail Dutchess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I have used Crash Plan as part of IT business management work where multiple companies backed up files. Restoration of the files is relatively straight forward. From this perspective, the return on the investment is at a minimum of 300%. IE - restoring an entire file or all files from a hard drive is worth every penny of the $10 per month.
  • From the perspective of using Code42 for my business, I have restored files from an entire drive. Because I use redundancy, I was able to restore a QuickBooks file from Code42 that backed up the NAS attached to the workstation. These two scenarios alone make the ROI for our company priceless.
  • The only negative is to be sure to pay attention when restoring files to a new computer or new OS install. It can be tricky and leave you with 2 computers "backing up" instead of one. If ignored, this can be a negative return of investment.
Read Gail Dutchess's full review
September 26, 2019
Craig West | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • You could spend thousands of dollars with other companies - But why, when Code42 can do fairly similar backups for the fraction of the price.
  • If my local drives were to crash, the negative impact and expenses it would take to replace the 80,000 plus files and folders would be incomprehensible. Backup data is necesary if you have imporant files and folders that require security.
  • Code42 backup backsup our files - especially on a server - once deleted it cannot be returned very easily - Thus, efficient pulling of the file is required to keep the business running efficiently - Able to pull the file back on line within minutes.
Read Craig West's full review
August 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Tremendous cost savings as the amount of data you backup doesn't impact cost. One flat rate!
  • Implementation time was minimal and requires little to no maintenance. Since installation, I've not had to correct or fix any issues. It just works.
  • We opted to supplement Code42 with another solution that allowed us to backup data to a local repository due to the amount for data that changes in our firm.
Read this authenticated review
January 20, 2019
Liz Wade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Code42 allows me to keep my business safe, and, up & running. Hard drive failure is unfortunately common. I would not be able to conduct business - professional consumer photography - without a secure backup system in place.
  • Code42 is the most affordable backup software on the market, so I am able to allocate my budget to other areas of my business. My previous backup system, SOS Online Backup, increased my monthly bill by 20x while reducing my storage from unlimited to 2tb.
  • Maybe most importantly, Code42 provides me with peace of mind. As a small business owner, I cannot put a price on the satisfaction of knowing that my files are safely stored offsite.
Read Liz Wade's full review
January 19, 2019
Aaron Pinsker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It is difficult to put a price on data security. While other backup options can be less expensive -- such as a local backup option that is one-time cost only, or a cloud-based solution that costs less per month - no other backup solution provides the same amount of features and flexibility as Code42.
  • Code42's ability to keep your backup archive indefinitely is a huge feature that can be, at times, priceless.
  • Clients that were using the consumer version of Crashplan at $60/year/computer faced a difficult choice when that service was discontinued- - stick with Code42 and pay more, but keep your existing backup archives, or move to a different solution that is less expensive, but start your backups over from scratch. This was a difficult and time-consuming choice for many clients, which negatively impacted every client's ROI.
Read Aaron Pinsker's full review
November 09, 2018
Kenneth Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Again, the initial backup resource drain makes some systems practically unusable and we never got any resolution from support on the issue.
  • It is a relatively minimal backup solution but has a lot of enterprise add-ons (at a cost of course).
  • It was easy to deploy via script and only required one pass to install. I didn't have to manually install on any system.
Read Kenneth Hess's full review
October 17, 2017
John Coxen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our remote workers are fully protected from data loss. By locking down the backup client, they can't "accidentally" turn it off and put their files at risk. Also, we can track the current state of all backups through the administrative console so we know to reach out to anyone if problems develop.
Read John Coxen's full review
August 11, 2017
Nathan Venno | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Your ROI on this product is great - $10/mo for unlimited storage, you can't really beat that.
  • Will save your ass and make you look like a hero when the your CFO or President gets hit with Ransomware. Or any of your end users.
Read Nathan Venno's full review
March 02, 2017
Alan Richtmyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our company has a mostly mobile workforce. We had struggled with a way to have everyone's files backed up. A local backup solution wasn't going to cut it, especially for those that never use VPN, and would be a huge administrative burden. Adding a cloud backup solution, with unlimited storage space for every user was a perfect choice.
  • A per a user backup solution it has also aided the helpdesk team with the replacement of computers. It saves a ton of time to be able to image a new computer, start a CrashPlan restore and just give the computer to the user, knowing all their files will be there.
  • We've taken advantage of CrashPlan to recover from a ransomware attack, with zero loss of files. We would have at least lost the affected users' files without a local backup, and restoration of the network share files would have taken a great amount of time if we had to do it via tape.
Read Alan Richtmyer's full review
January 20, 2017
Cedric BARNET | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Great return on investment
  • Good image impact when we can perform a disaster recovery
  • Scalable to keep growing revenue and customer base
Read Cedric BARNET's full review
October 28, 2016
Rex Sarchet | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We are still relatively new to using CrashPlan but it has already helped us with our file retention. We used to remove hard drives from displaced associates and keep them under lock and key for a year, then destroy them. We now just move their files to cold storage and we can then repurpose the hardware.
  • We no longer have to pay Iron Mountain to house our displaced associates' hard drives.
Read Rex Sarchet's full review
October 25, 2016
David Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • CrashPlan has been very effective in mitigating ransomware attacks. Since it keeps versioning of files you can simply restore from the web console and avoid ransomware attacks.
  • There have been instances where hard drive failures recovery would cost more to send out for third party repair compared to just restoring the archive from a storage server and using a new drive.
Read David Lo's full review
October 07, 2016
Ken Bailey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saves time during upgrades for users and techs.
  • Can eliminate IT from Legal Hold responsibilities.
  • Numerous users using to restore lost documents on per needed basis by themselves with the easy to use UI.
Read Ken Bailey's full review
September 07, 2016
Clifford Goeke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We were using iDrive for the central office backup. With the amount of data we were using monthly the upgraded plan would have cost us as much as the entire install of Crashplan.
  • Getting a backup solution for our remote users was a very high priority. We paid for the dedicated engineer to help with the install. This saved a lot of time researching or hunting information for the install. It paid for itself is saved time for our IT department.
Read Clifford Goeke's full review
April 20, 2016
Leora &quot;Sparky&quot; Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The licensing cost is negligible on our budget, but the return and peace of mind is significant. It has already saved our butts against ransomware viruses and we've lost data in natural disasters before - now we're prepared if it happens again!
Read Leora "Sparky" Thomas's full review
June 24, 2016
Samuel Laflamme | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It cost a lot of money.
  • We can recover from errors made by user or hardware failure.
  • Its help us protect against ransomware.
  • Crashplan's security is compliant with our standard.
Read Samuel Laflamme's full review
June 16, 2016
Kevin Henningson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I cannot give a dollar amount. I can say it has saved us alot of time and energy for using the backed up data for many of our employees. It has saved a few employees' jobs, for example, a computer crashing or virus infection that we were able to bring back their information and saved data.
Read Kevin Henningson's full review
May 25, 2016
Tyler Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • There has only been positive impacts. Being able to quickly migrate users from crashed hardware (laptops & desktops) is extremely time efficient.
  • We have probably made our money back from the man hours saved from restore files and migration within the first 3 months.
  • Very easy admin console so currently admins being trained for the position has saved time and effort.
Read Tyler Smith's full review

What is Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)?

CrashPlan is a cloud backup solution from Code42 in Minneapolis, MN.
Categories:  Data Loss Prevention

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Features

Has featureAutomatic, continuous data protection
Has featureFull visibility of all protected devices and data in a single dashboard
Has featureSelf-service restore

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Competitors

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free 30 Day TrialFree
Standard$6per user/per month
Premium$9per user/per month
EnterpriseContact sales team

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)?

CrashPlan is a cloud backup solution from Code42 in Minneapolis, MN.

What is Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.8.

Who uses Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)?

The most common users of Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) are Mid-size Companies from the Information Technology & Services industry.