Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Reviews

133 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 77)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 26, 2020
David White | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Continuously monitoring changes to data.
  • Allowing users to have multiple device backups with a single account.
  • Clearer understanding of the number of devices a user currently is backing up.
  • Ability to move an existing backup from one device to another device.
Read David White's full review
November 11, 2019
Cameron Council | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It supports multi-user environments now so that no matter the amount of users on a PC a safety net is present.
  • It allows for backing up of all users in case of hardware failure.
  • Implementation of the software would be helpful. The current batch file does not function as well as it could.
  • There are some small bugs when changing users using a GUID reset command.
Read Cameron Council's full review
October 14, 2019
Gail Dutchess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Code42 really does a very good job of backing up files. The integrity of the files remains good so long as the file was not corrupt to begin with.
  • The with proper setup, managers and users can be alerted based on a scheme set by the user when the work-station has not been backed up for a specified amount of time. We use the default of 3 days for warnings and 5 for critical back-ups.
  • Backups can be scheduled to run during times when internet traffic is high. Meaning, if the user has a low connection, running backups in the background can slow the processes. The ability to choose time to backup is very helpful in these situations.
  • The User Dashboard is user-friendly meaning that once the user logs in, the tabs and options are relatively self-explanatory.
  • Code42 allows the user to choose what files to back-up. This is quite useful as many of the files on a system (such as app data) take up room and speed given the changes within these files make through the day.
  • 2-factor authentication is available as well as users/admin archive key password or custom key.
  • When set up to initiate a backup every time a change is made, the likelihood of "losing" a file is minimized.
  • The login for Code42 still lets you get through to the backups however, one cannot make any adjustments. One must now use the login located at www.crashplanpro.com. I have been frustrated about why I could not see my bills, add licenses, etc by not having this information. It would be helpful to put a re-director for those accustomed to using the old login site.
  • History logs for devices have never worked. The workaround is to go into the device to review the logs. Logs are important when trying to figure out which file threw an error when backing up and why.
  • Not much has changed in online/offline indicators and moving files to a new computer. On the surface, it seems simple but it usually takes 2 or 3 reinstall attempts to get Code42 to recognize the new computer. For example, the backup shows current but is offline.
Read Gail Dutchess's full review
September 26, 2019
Craig West | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Backup does a nice job behind the scenes and you don't even know it's running
  • Will send email updates and alerts you of any known issues.
  • Backup capabilities to both the server and local drive
  • Unlimited data backup is the major strength for Code42
  • Always need to make a checkmark if you want to see old deleted files - Sometimes tedious if you forget to mark this.
  • Unable to download multiple versions of the same file. If you have a file with 3 different time stamps, Code42 will only download the latest version - Thus, if you needed to down load all different versions to see which is the correct one, you have to download them separately.
  • Although Code42 will work on 2012 Windows Server, it is not technically supported and phone support for troubleshooting is limited
Read Craig West's full review
June 15, 2019
Michael Bartlett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Protects against ransomware- in a worst-case scenario, you can retrieve all the files in the condition they were in before the attack.
  • Good interface- easy for users to restore their own files in case of an inadvertent deletion.
  • Highly configurable to manage bandwidth and local resources.
  • Can back up to the Code42 cloud and local storage devices.
  • Would like to see a way for company admins to lock a user out of their archive to prevent deletion for HR or legal reasons
Read Michael Bartlett's full review
August 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cost effective
  • Easy to implement
  • Simple to Use
  • Does not allow you to backup data to a local file repository.
  • Backup speed varies.
  • Depending on how much data there is, it doesn't always complete a backup in one backup session.
Read this authenticated review
January 20, 2019
Liz Wade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Code42 is the most affordable backup system offering unlimited storage that I could find. I came from SOS Online Backup, which I ultimately decided to drop after my monthly rate for their unlimited plan increased by 20x.
  • With Code42's unlimited storage option, I don't have to worry about the fact that my backups are significant in space. As a photographer with thousands of images at stake, I need to run large backups often.
  • Code42 runs continuously and silently in the background of my desktop computer. It is truly "set and go", so I don't have to think about it when I'm away. It runs until the designated drive has been fully backed up to my cloud storage. It will then automatically email me once the backup is complete (or, it will email me if it encounters any errors).
  • Customer service is above par. Anytime I need help, a chat agent is available (chat is my communication preference), they are always friendly, and go above and beyond to resolve my needs.
  • Code42's desktop client was recently changed; the interface is different and, I feel, it has been simplified too much. I found myself looking for controls that are no longer there. For some, this might be a plus, but I liked to have more control and see more details of my backup.
  • When recovering files (in my case, this is most frequently images), you see files as files - I am not able to see a preview of an image. So I have to know the exact file name/number I am looking for.
  • Code42 discontinued their mobile app. In 2019, I can hardly believe this. I used the app on a regular basis, to access files while I was on the go.
  • The Code42 software is a bit of a memory hog, although this isn't a major complaint from me since I have a computer designated to only sit and run backups, and do nothing else.
Read Liz Wade's full review
January 19, 2019
Aaron Pinsker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Code42 is an extremely powerful and flexible backup program with multiple options of what files to backup, how often to back them up, how much CPU should be used during backup operations (both when a user is present and away), how much bandwidth should be used during backup (again both while a user is present and away), and a multitude of other options.
  • Unlike a number of other cloud-based backup services, Code42 can backup network drives (such as those from a Synology NAS) - this makes setting up a backup system a lot more simple and cost-effective, as you can connect multiple network drives to a single computer - and backup both that computer and the attached network drives.
  • Code42 keeps your backup history indefinitely. This means that if you delete a file, a year goes by, and you need to recover that file, you can use Code42 to do that. Most other cloud-based backup services only keep history for around 30 days before deleting them from the backup archive.
  • Another powerful feature, Code42 allows you to not only back up to the CrashPlan Central cloud, but also to an external drive or network drive. Essentially, you can use Code42 as an all-in-one backup solution for both local and cloud backups. The local backups are heavily compressed with data deduplication to save space on the backup destination, thus allowing you to keep a long history of backups.
  • The cloud-based backups can be heavily encrypted with a custom made encryption key that even Code42 can't recover.
  • The Code42 program installed on your computer is Java-based vs. a native application. While this makes development for Code42 easier, there are a lot of drawbacks to Java programs including more resources usage, less stability, and overall more clunky interface.
  • While this was also in the Pros category - Code42 is an extremely powerful and flexible program, which adds a great deal of complexity. Setting up Code42 isn't always a simple procedure, and depending on the complexity of your backup set, can take a while to tinker around with the settings to get everything to work properly.
  • The Code42 desktop program consists of a Java program front end, as well as a backend service - there are times when the backend service will crash, and the front end Java program will refuse to load. Typically, restarting the service or restarting the computer will resolve the issue, but sometimes more in-depth troubleshooting is required.
  • Perhaps one of the biggest downsides to Code42 is its price - at $10/month/computer Code42 is more than double the price of some existing backup services such as Backblaze (priced at $50/year/computer). To add salt to the wound, about a year and a half ago, Code42 (Crashplan at the time) discontinued their consumer options - which were very reasonably priced at $60/year for a single computer or a family plan priced at $150/year for up to 10 computers. When these options were discontinued, the cost of backing up with Code42 was effectively doubled for the same feature set.
  • Along with the previous example, before Crashplan became Code42, Crashplan had the option to back up to a remote machine on a different network with a free Crashplan account. This option was eliminated when the consumer line of services were discontinued.
  • While the backup service provided by Code42 are still first in class, the above two controversial changes have broken some trust between Code42 and its clients.
Read Aaron Pinsker's full review
November 09, 2018
Kenneth Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Once the original backup is created, Code42 runs in the background and doesn't adversely affect user productivity or system performance.
  • Code42 is relatively easy to set up and deploy. A technical advisor walks you through the process, which is very handy and makes the process painless.
  • Code42 is centrally managed via webpage which gives administrators a lot of power and visibility into current backup status.
  • The first backup is taxing on the system. Some users report that their computers become almost useless. You can set maximum usage and idle time usage parameters but the original backup is still time and resource consuming. Be prepared.
  • The initial setup is lengthy and confusing. If it weren't for the walkthrough with the technical support administrator, I would never have attempted it.
  • Feedback from the admin portal is non-existent. We had multiple systems whose backups wouldn't start and finally realized, through other means, that we were out of licenses.
  • Users can stop and disable the service.
Read Kenneth Hess's full review
October 17, 2017
John Coxen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tech support is some of the best I've encountered. Every support engineer I've dealt with has been friendly, responsive and very well trained on every aspect of their product.
  • We have a small staff and can't afford to dedicate anyone to administering any one system. CrashPlan works very well in 'set it and forget it' scenarios. We check the console regularly, update the software when updates come out and restore users files as needed. The rest of the time, it just runs.
  • All the documentation on the support site is very clearly written and very version specific. If you need to upgrade from version x.y.1 to version x.y.2, you'll find an upgrade document that specifically addresses that upgrade, not just a general upgrade document that's 10 version out of date.
  • The Administrative console takes a bit of getting used to. Basic functionality is pretty straightforward but some of the deeper admin functions took some time to find.
  • Software for hybrid setups is always lagging behind other configs.
Read John Coxen's full review
August 11, 2017
Nathan Venno | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Backup - this software does a great job at backup.
  • Runs in the background and doesn't cause any issues.
  • Alerting is excellent and on point.
  • Restore process is a little convoluted - once you understand it, it is pretty easy to use, but it can be hard to figure out the first time. Support is very helpful in this regard.
  • While it does do versioning, it can miss a few hours of time (up to 24 I've discovered), but even then, better a few hours then an entire system.
Read Nathan Venno's full review
March 02, 2017
Alan Richtmyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Crashplan backs up everything with ease. By default it starts backing up your user profile without even having to configure it, and thats enough for many people to get up and running right away, but it is highly configurable if you want.
  • Restoring files is pretty effortless as well. Easy to browse to the file(s) you want, choose a point in time if you want, and restore. Viola!
  • Versioning is a great automatic feature as well. Many of my users have taken advantage of restoring a previous version of a file they've mistakenly overwritten.
  • Being able to backup to multiple destinations is great too. You can connect your own storage, choose it as a destination and it starts using it. The local destination backup option makes restoration of large data much quicker.
  • Their version 5 client is almost too hands off. While one can appreciate the simplicity and cleanness of its design, I often prefer to get under the hood right away.
  • I wish they would make it easier to open the client from the system tray in version 5. In previous versions you would just double click the icon. Now it takes 3 clicks to expand the tray icon, open the settings and choose to open the actual application.
  • Sometimes destinations are offline when you need to restore, and usually at the worst time. We use CrashPlan to restore data for laptop replacements, and there are times when the destination is offline and you have to wait a while for the restore option to be available.
Read Alan Richtmyer's full review
January 20, 2017
Cedric BARNET | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Continuous incremental backup
  • Reduplication and compression that really limits the storage needs
  • File level restore
  • Dashboard reliability
  • Client interface
  • Easier upgrade process
Read Cedric BARNET's full review
October 28, 2016
Rex Sarchet | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ease of installation and deployment could not have been easier. The hardest part was getting our sales associates to actually click a link!
  • The back up is complete and transparent to the end user. Very hands off!
  • The admin portal is very user friendly. I can quickly determine who has recently backed up and those who have gone some time without an active backup.
  • As I mentioned previously, the file access in cold storage is a bit clunky. I would think that if I had admin rights I should be able to recover files from there relatively easily. But that is not the case.
  • I would like to see them have a different license tier for accounts in cold storage. The data there is not being manipulated, it is sitting stagnant and we are paying the same licensing as if it were an active backup.
Read Rex Sarchet's full review
October 25, 2016
David Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It has a very easy to use UI so end users will have no problem understanding and using the application.
  • It is not intrusive at all in terms of system resource consumption and you will hardly notice it is running in the background.
  • Administration is extremely easy with the web console and allows you to push any changes to specific organizations or to the company as a whole.
  • The support staff and website documentation for issues or processes are very detailed and easy to understand.
  • Currently CrashPlan seems to be rolling out a lot of updates in very short time intervals. Given our change management processes, it is difficult to keep up with the latest and greatest releases.
Read David Lo's full review
October 07, 2016
Ken Bailey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The installation and upgrade process of the server has been one of the easiest implementations I've been a part of.
  • The ability to lockdown options to ensure that our business requirements are met for compliance.
  • The support structure is top notch. Highly responsive and knowledgeable.
  • Some functionality is not available when implementing the cloud solution vs the on premise.
Read Ken Bailey's full review
September 07, 2016
Clifford Goeke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • After the install the user doesn't have to do anything. Our remote users were used to having to copy data to an external drive for archiving. Which meant it usually wasn't done. The central office didn't have access to any of those files either.
  • I am able to monitor which users are backed up and contact those that appear to be having issues.
  • Since the install package exceeded the attachment size allowed with our email client I included an HTML link to the location of the download.
  • The install took less than 10 minutes including the download of the software. Our documentation included screen shots of what the user should expect to see. This allowed remote users to install without having central IT get involved.
  • The management website times out frequently requiring a re-login.
  • Some of the information reported isn't consistent. Because each user can have multiple devices the number of devices doesn't match user number.
  • The number of users is the number of accounts that you have set up. Not the number of active users.
  • Some of the settings report inaccurately when first entering the screen. Refreshing the screen will update the settings. The help desk is aware of the problem and they are working to resolve the issue.
Read Clifford Goeke's full review
August 31, 2016
Kayle Day | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Device Refresh/Restore.
  • File Recovery.
  • Non-intrusive backups (no file sync!).
  • Administrative Portal.
  • File search across whole organization - a real loss of potential for expanding as a DLP product.
  • Deployment. It's doable, but it's not as easy as it should be.
Read Kayle Day's full review
April 20, 2016
Leora &quot;Sparky&quot; Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Crashplan is simple to configure and starts working right away. No need to go through extensive setup to get it going, once the backup app is installed, off it goes.
  • Backing up network shares is as simple as pointing the Crashplan backup app to the drive and letting it go. It's fast and easy to configure.
  • Crashplan will do backups as often as every 15 minutes if you want, which provides extra coverage against ransomware and viruses. Restores are simple and easy and can be done from the same app that is installed to perform the backups.
  • I don't really have any cons, this is what a backup program should be.
Read Leora "Sparky" Thomas's full review
July 15, 2016
Courtland Sorenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Unlimited backup
  • Restoring small files to phone when necessary
  • Gives small companies a tool to protect everything, at reasonable cost
  • User Interface needs help
  • Agent sometimes stops
  • Needs to backup exchange better
  • Needs to backup SQL better
Read Courtland Sorenson's full review
June 24, 2016
Samuel Laflamme | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • When the deployment is finished, you can forget about until you need it.
  • The fact that the user can recover the data themselves is also a time saver.
  • It's also a great protection againt ransomware.
  • The Bandwidth management is also great.
  • The backups are encrypted.
  • My users can recover data themselves.
  • The client uses a lot of memory. For this kind of app it's essential to have a low memory footprint.
  • A lot of small files can make the app behave slowly.
  • The de-duplication could be improved. It's better on Windows 2012 R2.
Read Samuel Laflamme's full review
June 16, 2016
Kevin Henningson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Runs quietly in the background. Most of our employees do not know it is even running.
  • Ease of use. VERY user friendly.
  • Support of the product. Code 42 is constantly making sure that we the users are always up to date and they actually listen to us on what we would like to see of the product to improve it.
  • Code 42 is always asking on how to improve the product. They receive so much feedback there really isn't that much to have them change. It is a product that is constantly evolving.
Read Kevin Henningson's full review
February 03, 2016
Michael Knight | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Once CrashPlan is fully set up and synchronizing, it truly is a "set it and forget it" solution. Backups, by default, happen every 15 minutes and the user only needs an internet connection for this to happen.
  • The administrative console is wonderful for IT to support its end users. We can download all user data if needed and centrally control the settings, including what folders/files are backed up, without interrupting the user.
  • We originally rolled out the product en masse about a year ago and this was supposed to install CrashPlan quietly and log the user in using their AD credentials. The former worked fine, however, the latter seems to have been sporadic. Most users are working fine but we have found a few cases recently that the data was not being backed up and in one instance, the hard drive failed causing the user to lose important work. We are having to work around this but would have liked Code42 to implement a better means for central deployment.
  • The current mobile apps work fine and allow a user to download any backed up file. I would personally like to see them be able to backup the contents of phones and tablets though.
Read Michael Knight's full review
May 25, 2016
Tyler Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use and deployment. Once deployed, users don't really need any training as the product is already backing up and if there are any problems the users will have no problem figuring out if need be. You are able to deploy with SCCM and even by hand it takes no longer then 3 minutes.
  • Remote restore is particularly efficient. You can pull up the user and their machines that are being backed up and choose which time frame, which day all the way down to minute to restore. simply amazing.
  • Back up! This barely uses any resources and the users will never notice. The only downside I guess you can say is the initial backup. One of our users had roughly 2 TB to back up. It had shown us that it will take 4+ months to back up. I realized this was from our horrible network at work.
  • There truly isn't much room for improvement but if I have to nit pick, maybe more admin console features.
  • Have a full feature list of commands you can set regarding the console view.
  • Be more visible regarding upload speeds and time left.
Read Tyler Smith's full review

What is Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)?

CrashPlan is a cloud backup solution from Code42 in Minneapolis, MN.
Categories:  Data Loss Prevention

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Features

Has featureAutomatic, continuous data protection
Has featureFull visibility of all protected devices and data in a single dashboard
Has featureSelf-service restore

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Competitors

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free 30 Day TrialFree
Standard$6per user/per month
Premium$9per user/per month
EnterpriseContact sales team

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)?

CrashPlan is a cloud backup solution from Code42 in Minneapolis, MN.

What is Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.8.

Who uses Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)?

The most common users of Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) are Mid-size Companies from the Information Technology & Services industry.