Cohesity Helios Reviews

59 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 43)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 17, 2020
Surender Vangala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cohesity is cheaper as compared to other legacy backup products. It has easy and simple hardware & software installation, easy management, and comes with lots of modern era features. Cohesity comes with built-in features like reports, offers lots of additional apps in their app store (some free and need to pay for few), Helios Cluster Management and Ransomware protect are two good features.
Read Surender Vangala's full review
February 25, 2020
Ezra Owen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I personally believe that the backup software is better than Veeam so far. I have not delved into it as much as I have with Veeam yet, but so far easier to use. Much better as a back-end than both Dell EMC and PV due to the data reduction.
Read Ezra Owen's full review
February 22, 2020
Kurt Pritchett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The Cohesity appliance is much easier to manage due to the application and storage altogether. There is no need to manage servers and storage separately, like with Veeam and Networker. EMC and Veeam support is excellent, but Cohesity support is on another level.
Read Kurt Pritchett's full review
January 29, 2020
Joshua Van Camp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We felt that Cohesity had the most features at the best relative price point. Rubrik seemed to be quite a bit more expensive and without the file services that Cohesity offered. StorageCraft is a good value play, but didn't seem to have nearly the depth and features of Cohesity.
Read Joshua Van Camp's full review
January 27, 2020
Jay Stelmach | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Only Rubrik was on par with Cohesity. In the end, it was the elastic search that tipped the scales in Cohesity's favor. Unitrends has great options and had the cost been an issue, I likely would have gone with Unitrends or Veeam. Both were suitable.
Read Jay Stelmach's full review
December 20, 2019
Carl Holzhauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cohesity is faster and much easier to use and understand than any of the other products. Plus, to the best of my knowledge, the others don't let you use their platform for hosting datastores for ESXi.
Read Carl Holzhauer's full review
June 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Excellent technically, great support team and excellent value for the price.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Obviously these types of advanced solutions tend to be very expensive and are also somewhat tough to manage, install, implement, etc. We found Cohesity to work best with the existing infrastructure in our environment, and our virtualized hybrid cloud approach. It was also the most cost-effective solution, so it was a relatively easy decision once we got to that point.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2019
Pranav Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Veeam Backup & Replication
Veeam was more like a normal backup solution. Cohesity is a unified suite for managing secondary data, and backup is just a feature. We were able to get a lot more functionalities from Cohesity, apart from just back up. Also, pricing for Cohesity was much more reasonable with better payment terms.
Read Pranav Sharma's full review
November 21, 2019
Shawn Gifford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Commvault, Rubrik, Veeam Backup & Replication and System Center Data Protection Manager (DPM)
I reviewed, demo'd, or used all of the above solutions, and after performing a MAUA, I found Cohesity to be far better than the others for our needs. The support for tape, the good support for Hyper-V, and the Secondary HCI-nature of the system for Cohesity meant cost savings initially. After implementing we found it to be capable of so many other uses that we hadn't planned for. I recommend trying it and seeing how it works in your environment!
Read Shawn Gifford's full review
October 02, 2019
Tim Kovars | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Versus the legacy options, Cohesity blows them out of the water on simplicity and value for the product. The searching and restore options are fantastic. Being able to simply add to the cluster without any downtime has been great, along with no secondary heads to run the backups. Compared to Rubrick, the ability to do more than just backups helped put Cohesity over the top.
Read Tim Kovars's full review
December 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We replaced Veeam and Exagrid with Cohesity. We liked Veeam well enough, but the Exagrid backing storage was a big negative for us. The costs were very high, and we saw no innovation as far as using flash instead of committing half of the storage to fully hydrated data. We also looked at Rubrik, which is a good product, but we felt that Cohesity could do more and at a lower price point. Our other option was to use Veeam with some version of FreeNAS or Windows S2D, but these were not as polished or capable as the Cohesity ecosystem. In any case, I would urge anyone still on the Exagrid upgrade treadmill to pull the bandaid off now.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cohesity is more user-friendly than Avamar. It is on par with Rubrik in the sense that you can have a physical appliance and a virtual appliance. With Veeam you need to provide an additional storage for it to point to. We selected Cohesity because they provided the best pricing to do the same thing as the other companies.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cohesity is much better than any of our previous products and is much more mature than Rubrik. We did a proof of concept on bother Cohesity and Rubrik and Cohesity was the better product for our use case. If they continue to improve the features, as they are already doing, it will be an even better product.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cohesity was the fastest by far. Cloud usage is very simple if you compare it to Commvault. Policies are not only based on SLA policy like Rubrik but on VM's groups.

They are doing real incremental forever; no need to synthetic backup. Commvault needs to do that.

Backups jobs are using each node, which is different than Rubrik and Commvault which are assigning a job to unique nodes.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Veeam Backup & Replication and Rubrik
We used Veeam, but we ran into scalability issues; also managing everything was very time consuming. So we started looking for something else. We looked into Rubrik and Cohesity. We got a PoC for Cohesity and we were immediately happy with the options. When we put Rubric and Cohesity features against each other there was not much difference.

Since we already had a Cohesity PoC we decided to go for Cohesity.
Read this authenticated review
September 08, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Veeam Backup & Replication
We had issues with scaling in jobs and storage with Veeam. The scale-out storage they offered did not work for cloud-connect for example. When looking for a storage system that could do the scale-out correctly we came across Cohesity.
Read this authenticated review
November 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cohesity is more flexible in sizing, supports more protocols and can cover our needs easily. It supports NFS archiving without the need for an additional "translating-gateway" like many other products need.
It's easily scalable. You have everything (Hardware, Software, Engineering and Support) from one supplier. No need for 3rd party support.
Read this authenticated review
March 25, 2019
Mike O'Rourke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cohesity is far easier to use and maintain. The user interface is HTML5 and not Java. If power is lost, a call to support is not required as the Cohesity device brings itself back online.
Read Mike O'Rourke's full review
November 06, 2018
Erik Butler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cohesity was better priced, supported and honestly had more features for less money. Both operated in the same space. The ability to have NFS and Windows files share off the cohesity product was a great selling point as well
Read Erik Butler's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (44)
9.0
Live recovery (45)
9.3
Recovery verification (41)
8.7
Business application protection (42)
8.2
Multiple backup destinations (45)
9.0
Incremental backup identification (46)
9.3
Backup to the cloud (36)
8.9
Deduplication and file compression (48)
9.3
Snapshots (43)
9.6
Flexible deployment (44)
8.9
Management dashboard (48)
8.8
Platform support (48)
8.6
Retention options (48)
9.2
Encryption (44)
9.4

What is Cohesity Helios?

Cohesity Helios is a data backup and recovery software product focused on eliminating mass data fragmentation and consolidating silos.

DataProtect utilizes Cohesity’s DataPlatform service which is designed to consolidate secondary storage and associated workflows, to provide users with end-to-end protection for virtual and physical workloads, databases, applications, and storage with a single web-scale solution.

Key Features

● Hyperconverged data protection eliminates need for separate backup software, target storage, proxy and media servers, and cloud gateways

● Unified user interface for managing and provisioning data protect services, connected via core to cloud and edge

● Policy-based automation; users can assign policies to one or all jobs globally to automate operations and meet business SLA requirements


Categories:  Data Center Backup

Cohesity Helios Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cohesity Helios?

Cohesity Helios, with Cohesity DataProtect, is a backup and recovery product from Cohesity headquartered in San Jose, which provides users with end-to-end protection for virtual and physical workloads, databases, applications, and storage with a single web-scale solution.

What is Cohesity Helios's best feature?

Reviewers rate Snapshots highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Cohesity Helios?

The most common users of Cohesity Helios are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.