Cohesity Helios Reviews

59 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 48)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We onboarded with Cohesity to replace an existing backup solution that we felt were no longer innovative while price for renewal kept increasing year by year. Cohesity was both competitive and showed innovation that was regarded as a leader in its field while providing much for solutions than just simple backup allowing us to converge not just the infrastructure but also different solutions into one.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cohesity is used by our internal IT department for backup and restore. It has been used mostly for backups using ESXi. MSSQL and Exchange will also be backed up with Cohesity. You can create BackUp groups and link them to vCenter Folders. As soon as you create a VM in this folder it will be automatically backup.

Also SQL Backup is easy to set up and once you know how the restore is also easy.
Read this authenticated review
January 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cohesity allowed us to backup data more effectively and restore the data fast. We have less issues in Hyper-v and Vmware compared to other products. Also the addition of Helios and marketplace add new options that other products can not provide.
Read this authenticated review
July 17, 2020
Surender Vangala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cohesity for in-house backup solution for our entire Infrastructure which earlier was outsourced to 3rd party vendor. Mainly we have vSAN && traditional VMware infrra with Windows, Linux which is hosting MSSQL, ORACLE, SAP HANA & SAP BASIS application. We are able to use lots of improvements in both performance and RPO.
Read Surender Vangala's full review
April 07, 2020
Scott Noel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We were using Cohesity as a network file solution, however that has changed and now we us it as a backup solution. Currently it is being used in all 3 of our locations. The backup solution is being used to backup SQL and Oracle databases, File level backups, and VM backups.
Read Scott Noel's full review
February 25, 2020
Ezra Owen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have 4 units spread across several data centers and on-premise locations. Two units used as a File Server and 2 units used as a repository for backups.
Read Ezra Owen's full review
February 22, 2020
Kurt Pritchett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cohesity is currently being used on our environment for backup and recovery of structured and unstructured data. We also use the replication feature to replicate all data off-site for disaster recovery. We use Cohesity to backup Microsoft SQL databases as well and have given our DBA's ability to backup and restore databases for themselves. It's currently only used within our technology department but could be used in the future by other admins throughout the district to restore data on their own, thus alleviating this task from our department. We were using EMC networker and backing up data to Datadomain, and I can tell you had the backup and recovery software and storage all is one is easier to manage.
Read Kurt Pritchett's full review
January 29, 2020
Joshua Van Camp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cohesity was brought into our organization as a replacement for traditional magnetic tape backups. We also were looking for a replacement for legacy NAS devices for the storage of unstructured data like home and user drives across the organization.
Read Joshua Van Camp's full review
January 27, 2020
Jay Stelmach | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, Cohesity is only being used by IT. We are working on the ability for end-users to log into the portal to be able to restore files that they own (primarily in their own user profile). This product is our backup and recovery solution and it has been a fantastic improvement over our previous utility. IT has been able to eliminate the use of tapes in our environment and speed up the restoration of files due to the elastic search function.
Read Jay Stelmach's full review
February 19, 2020
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cohesity in our organisation mainly as a backup product. This is for backups of vmware vcenter environments, Office 365 mailboxes, SMB and NFS file shares, Oracle and SQL. It is used to replicate our backup data to our remote site as well as archive to the cloud when required.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
December 31, 2019
Miranda de Wilde | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a cloud provider and have two Cohesity clusters. In these clusters, we have a total of 20 nodes (hardware C2500 and C2505) with a total of 24.5 TB Storage Capacity for Metadata. Our customers have protection jobs with their
own storage domain.
With this, we provide our customers with a reliable backup solution. Customers can restore backups themselves, both on file and VM levels. Backups for O365 are also slowly getting there. Even when it is in the cloud, customers still want this environment to be backed up 'locally'.
We ourselves make internal use of all the above functions and the Active directory backup option. We are very satisfied with this.
Read Miranda de Wilde's full review
June 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently utilize Cohesity as our primary data backup, archival/restore platform, BUT, we have also incorporated this platform as part of our enterprise NAS (secondary NAS). So far, things are going well, but we do have a learning curve that we are trying to get through and utilize this technology to its fullest capability. Backups are primarily SQL databases, file level backups and all our VM backups (as Cohesity replaced the previous VM backup system).
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our experience with the Cohesity DataProtect Platform has been overwhelmingly positive as we been able to manage our 500+ VMs and physical servers with only a few backup policies. Backups: VMs are currently being added to jobs automatically through tagging. But, we also manually add VMs to jobs at times as we need to split up the load of VMs to multiple backup jobs. We try to keep a ratio of 15 VMs to 1 job. After getting a Cohesity Agent on a SQL server and syncing it with Cohesity, it is simple to set a backup/retention schedule for Log, Incremental, and Full backups based on policy. We utilize the Cohesity APIs to produce daily reports on jobs that have succeeded, failed, paused, etc. We send an email to our Systems team with this information and log it in a .csv. This allows us to give a timeline to backup auditors as well as let us know when something isn't going right. Restores: We have used Cohesity to restore granular files as well as restore SQL databases. VM's restore to vSphere directly. VM's typically restore quite quickly and work right away as long as they're restored to the original vSphere they came from. Individual files can be searched on multiple VM backups and downloaded locally or placed back on source machine. SQL Databases can be restored to any SQL server instance, not only the original. As long as the SQL versions match. *We have had some luck restoring databases from older SQL versions to newer SQL versions.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our primary initiative was with the Cohesity Data platform, and we used it as a SaaS solution tied to our Amazon cloud. It has consolidated all of our applications, containers, backups, etc. onto a single pane of glass for super simple management, remediation, and repair if it's needed. We love it.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2019
Carl Holzhauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cohesity across 7 locations to backup and replicate our data. Cohesity allows us to have several copies of our data in different data centers.
Read Carl Holzhauer's full review
December 09, 2019
Pranav Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It all started with one Cohesity box, and currently we have 8 fully populated systems across locations. Cohesity is a blend of cost-effective storage designed for secondary or archival data, and integrates well with a number of other systems like Vmware, PureStorage, or AWS with its large array of APIs available to the user. We are using it for backing up VMs, indexing data, and restoring data, and it's lightning fast. At the same time the data compression and dedup is robust and best among the products we came across.
Read Pranav Sharma's full review
November 21, 2019
Shawn Gifford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cohesity is now being used across the organization for two primary purposes and several secondary uses. The main use was originally as our secondary storage and data protection. It is fully utilized for this. We also now use it increasingly for file services, moving old NAS units to Cohesity workloads. Finally, we also take advantage of our Cohesity units for file analytics via the Marketplace apps.
Read Shawn Gifford's full review
October 02, 2019
Tim Kovars | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It was easy to implement and do a POC. After it was shown to be the superior product it was easy to flip to production.
Issues have been dealt with promptly or put on the roadmap for a future release. Backup and restore became as easy as they're supposed to be.
Read Tim Kovars's full review
December 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cohesity as our primary backup solution as well as leveraging the native cloud capabilities for DR purposes. We have a small cluster with room for a fourth node to grow in the future. Thus far it has really sped up our backup and restore times, as well as enabled us to increase our backup frequency. We did not need to increase our retention, although we more than likely could given the great dedupe and compression we are seeing with the solution. It mainly addressed the issue of costly collocation fees for offsite backup. Replacing our old solution with Cohesity and cloud blob storage has been a monetary benefit.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We were using Cohesity as a network file solution, however that has changed and now we us it as a backup solution. Currently it is being used in all 3 of our locations. The backup solution is being used to backup SQL and Oracle databases, File level backups, and VM backups.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cohesity is backing up all of our NAS shares, SQL data, and VMs. The only complaint I could have is that the Support team is slow to respond to significant issues. The product itself is great, as long as you can get answers from Support when needed. I would recommend this product to other administrators.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using it to backup VMware environment, SQL and Exchange servers. We have two clusters that replicate to each other; this process is also very fast. GUI is simple and very responsive. Implementation took only a few hours and backups begin the same day it has been physically racked.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are an MSP in the Netherlands. We use Cohesity to back-up all our own systems and a lot of systems of our customers. We offer back-up as a service for our customers with Cohesity. The interface and scalability makes it very easy for us to provide back-up as a service.

For either ourselves or our customers it helps in the business continuity and disaster recovery. We can restore files/folders/VM's very quickly when needed.
Read this authenticated review
September 08, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a managed service provider (MSP) in the Netherlands that were the first adopters of the product in our country. We use it for backing up all our client's virtual machines throughout data centers in the Netherlands. We run the Fundaments Cloud and deliver Infrastructure as a service. Cohesity delivers a multi-tenant portal for the backups and provides a plugin for vCloud Director. It can backup thousands of virtual machines without scaling issues.
Read this authenticated review
November 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cohesity is used to replace our older backup and archive solutions because they are too old and expensive.
We currently mainly use it to back up our VMWare virtual desktop and server environment. We are also archiving our Microsoft Exchange email environment to the Cohesity cluster. It could also be a potential solution in the future for file server archiving.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (44)
9.0
Live recovery (45)
9.3
Recovery verification (41)
8.7
Business application protection (42)
8.3
Multiple backup destinations (45)
9.0
Incremental backup identification (46)
9.3
Backup to the cloud (36)
8.9
Deduplication and file compression (48)
9.3
Snapshots (43)
9.6
Flexible deployment (44)
8.9
Management dashboard (48)
8.8
Platform support (48)
8.6
Retention options (48)
9.2
Encryption (44)
9.4

What is Cohesity Helios?

Cohesity Helios is a data backup and recovery software product focused on eliminating mass data fragmentation and consolidating silos.

DataProtect utilizes Cohesity’s DataPlatform service which is designed to consolidate secondary storage and associated workflows, to provide users with end-to-end protection for virtual and physical workloads, databases, applications, and storage with a single web-scale solution.

Key Features

● Hyperconverged data protection eliminates need for separate backup software, target storage, proxy and media servers, and cloud gateways

● Unified user interface for managing and provisioning data protect services, connected via core to cloud and edge

● Policy-based automation; users can assign policies to one or all jobs globally to automate operations and meet business SLA requirements


Categories:  Data Center Backup

Cohesity Helios Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cohesity Helios?

Cohesity Helios, with Cohesity DataProtect, is a backup and recovery product from Cohesity headquartered in San Jose, which provides users with end-to-end protection for virtual and physical workloads, databases, applications, and storage with a single web-scale solution.

What is Cohesity Helios's best feature?

Reviewers rate Snapshots highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Cohesity Helios?

The most common users of Cohesity Helios are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.