Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
166 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

David Lester | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Commvault - The Swiss Army knife for Data Protection.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Other backup products have a tendency to be rigid in design. Many times it is necessary to choose a backup solution that best fits the environment and sacrifice features for functionality. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is centered on adaptability. The product framework provides infinite flexibility while also providing backward capability to previous configurations. Utilizing vendor APIs allows for less product development time, more reliable operations and better support. The integrated auditing and logging mechanisms provide extensive analysis of processes.
Read David Lester's full review
Christopher Jon Olesch Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

Your Commvault solution awaits....

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I've supported many backup applications, where most other backup solutions cause pain-points Commvault comes out ahead. If your organization doesn't fit the mold of out-of-box or cookie-cutter solutions, Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery offers custom solutions.
Read Christopher Jon Olesch Jr.'s full review
Adnan Sadique | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2020

Commvault: Complete BaaS solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery can easily support large and complex environments, geographically scattered across multiple Data Centres, as we have. You can manage/monitor everything up to the central management console. You can easily set up a multi-tenanted BaaS model and segregate backup data into individual tenant-based storage policies if required.
Read Adnan Sadique's full review
Colin Bogan | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

My Commvault review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Commvault is very well suited for our situation where we are deploying MediaAgents and storage at a customer site, backing up their data, and then replicating those backups to a secondary site (cloud, hosted data center, or second customer site). The auxiliary copy capabilities, ransomware protection, and granular control for each copy make Commvault a very reliable product.

Reporting and alerting are major advantages that Commvault has over other products we support. With so much capability built into the product, we don't have to rely on 3rd-party tools to help us manage our Backup As A Service offering.
Read Colin Bogan's full review
Jason Elsmore | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

GO Commvault!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery sure brings the swiss-army knife of features to the table to provide almost any kind of data protection solution for it's customers. I've enjoyed using Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery for the past 13yrs. The next biggest challenge I'm seeing at this current time is with specific Google Cloud Platform offerings.
Read Jason Elsmore's full review
Anirudh Srinivas | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

The one stop shop for all data protection and recovery needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is best suited for small and large environment who need fewer admins and would like automate most of the operations. The tool is best suited for companies would like to backup different types of applications, middleware and data off prem and on prem.
Read Anirudh Srinivas's full review
Paul Sevick | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

CommVault is the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CommVault can backup just a few servers but where it shines is in larger environments with many servers scattered in different offices running different OS's. You can everything up to single location, manage and deploy everything everything from one console. It can eliminate multiple backup hardware scattered all over the related individual backup problem and centralize everything.
Read Paul Sevick's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I feel that Commvault's Active Directory Recovery and Testing of the recovery could be improved, but this could very well be a situation where I am not fully understanding the scope. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is spot-on in all other areas and will be a perfect fit for anyone with a decent-sized IT footprint.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Commvault in my company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is well suited for our environment, which has a huge number of different Operating Systems that need protection. One less appropriate scenario for Commvault is trying to improve as a DATA mover instead of just a backup/restore/DR. CommVault has all our data, but the tools to manage data such as legal searches and migration of VMware is lacking--it's there, but other tools do a much better job. If Commvault is going to become a leader in DATA and not just backup/restore, they need to really improve these data tools to be industry leaders, not just an add-on to backup.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

The solution for all your data protection needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is best suited for a large environment that is hybrid and a mix bag of applications, storage devices, and operating system. It's really a good fit like our environment where we are in a transition of physical to virtual and on-prem to Cloud provider. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery really covers these arenas really well.

I believe it's less appropriate for a small SMB that does need not a robust backup infrastructure due to cost.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2020

There's a lot to be said for not having to worry about backup and recovery.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I've been creating and using backup systems for over 40 years, and I know how hard it is for a single solution to work well in different environments. I've been very surprised to find that Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery does a really good job with just about everything in the backup/recovery space. It is both very, very capable, and flexible, suitable for very large and complex environments.

Until recently it had one fatal flaw in environments with huge files to back up (terabytes each), but that has now been addressed with "extent-based backups", allowing multiple backup streams to back up different parts of the same file(s). With more tuning and maturity, that feature will have huge benefits in all kinds of enterprise-class situations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

Calm-Vault

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Commvault works well in a granular recovery situation. The misconception that backup and recovery is disaster recovery needs to be communicated effectively to the organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery review from an MSP/CSP perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is best where a managed service offering needs to be built to provide service for clients. Especially where there is the requirement for long-term retention of data, Commvault is by far the leader of this piece of the puzzle in particular.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

With Commvault, One Size Does Fit (Almost) All

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a diverse environment that supports AIX, Linux, Windows, and multiple databases or other applications, Commvault is hard to beat. They really do cover lots of platforms. This keeps you from having to run many different applications just to do backups. However, if you are a smaller shop, or maybe a VMware only shop, I think there are better choices available.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Protecting your data, from all threats including you.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is well suited for most environments. It has cloud capabilities that reduce storage requirements and allows a third party to maintain the media. Utilizing the cloud can reduce the cost, however, time to restore and business continuity will be impacted.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Happy and Protected.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Client based remote backups - Well Suited

IntelliSnap VSA backups - Well Suited

Instant Failover Recovery for VMs - Less appropriate.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Why we chose Commvault

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The product is well suited for any organization that requires a robust backup and restore solution. It is not for a small company as there is a rather large equipment cost to get setup. The professional support is second to none. Just with the support model Commvault uses, that is worth the annual maintenance costs alone. We have always been able to complete a restore.
Read this authenticated review
Keith Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Love the product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In my experience, Commvault is best designed for large enterprises with sparse or segmented data deployments. If all of your data is similar, and sitting in one data center or cloud storage solution, it isn't cost-effective. In a word, overkill. I had a client that was looking for a backup solution for unstructured data in separate and air-gapped data sources. My cCmmvault rep could not offer a solution that was cost-effective and did not require multiple copies of the data, so storage made the solution nonscalable or cost-effective.
Read Keith Kelly's full review
Vladan Kojanic | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Unique backup system throughout the organization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As mentioned above, Commvault is a tool that allows you to set up a complete system from one place and for all types of backup that exist in a particular organization. It is easy to use for end users as well as system administrators. When colleagues want to see or hear about the Commvault solution, I am always happy to invite them to look at the system at work.
Read Vladan Kojanic's full review
Matthew Magbee | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 03, 2020

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Review- By someone who uses it every single day.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Nothing is perfect, nor never will it be. Commvault knows this. They also take that and spin into a way that allows them to mold and construct a "Perfect for YOU" application and solution. Where the shortfalls of most applications present hardships, Commvault thrives on these issues to make a great product. The need to address particular issues within your environment allows them to mold this solution to exactly what you need and want. That in itself is as perfect as I can ask for.
Too often the "out of the box" solution just doesn't cut it. Our entire environment is this exact scenario. Nothing in our company is cookie cutter. But I know how I want it to work and flow. I have been able to construct an operable and manageable environment with the help and guidance of this amazing team of engineers and developers.
Read Matthew Magbee's full review
Andrew Buckle | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2019

Commvault: Fast 'n' Furious

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have distributed sites over poor networks, but the client side de-duplication makes a real difference. The single pane of GUI makes familiarization easier, especially for customer service staff. Pre- and post-execution scripts are great. Good support for Microsoft products including clusters and Active Directory. Hyper-V and VMware are all supported with new machines automatically added.
Read Andrew Buckle's full review
Ali YAZICI | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2019

All about customer experience of Commvault Backup application

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Commvault offers very good backup software for big enterprise companies. It also has archives and replications in single software. Additionally, we can use workflow for programming, write scripts for backups, monthly restore tests, get snap and mount on the storage, or whatever else. Reports are very useful and user-friendly.
Read Ali YAZICI's full review
Max Pang | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Try before you Buy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CommVault is an eEnterprise scale backup solution that is able to provide data protection from ROBO to Regional/Global DC. Application aware plugins provide hot backup. AuxCopy features provide a secondary level of data protection to any medium for long-term data protection.

Dedupe tools are excellent. However, there are limitations and it would not work for clients with a DB sitting on ROBO environment.

Read Max Pang's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (57)
8.6
Live recovery (54)
8.7
Recovery verification (58)
8.5
Business application protection (61)
8.8
Multiple backup destinations (60)
9.3
Incremental backup identification (65)
9.3
Backup to the cloud (46)
8.9
Deduplication and file compression (62)
9.6
Snapshots (60)
9.3
Flexible deployment (53)
9.0
Management dashboard (55)
8.9
Platform support (55)
9.1
Retention options (53)
9.5
Encryption (52)
9.5

About Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery

Commvault is the eponymous data backup and recovery solution from the data management company headquartered in New Jersey. Its features support multi-cloud backup, protection for applications, databases, and virtual machines, end-point user data protection, and disaster recovery.

Commvault provides support for backup and recovery of files, applications, databases, hypervisors, and a variety of popular cloud storage options, including Amazon AWS, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform, and Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. Modalities can be cloud or multi-cloud, on-premises or cloud-only workloads.

Key Features

Cloud Backup and Recovery Options

  • Complete backup and recovery across files, applications, databases, virtual machines
  • Archiving for files and virtual machines
  • Encryption of data in flight and at rest
  • Compress and deduplicate data for moving workloads
  • Disaster recovery
  • Hardware snapshot management
  • Replication and virtual machine incremental replication
  • Backup operational reporting through Commvault Command Center
  • File sharing
  • Comprehensive view of data storage locations: on-premises data centers, public, and private clouds
  • Consistent service level agreements for hybrid IT environments
  • IT agility from tested data management practices
  • Policy control management for cloud and on-premises workloads

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Competitors

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No